We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Papermoon Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Kalkan
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lyn and i have just returned from 10 nights at Papermoon.overall the stay we had was very good but could be so much better with a few extra touches. I agree with most of what the other reviewers say, on a general basis it is a very good place to stay and the new family owners have done a lot to improve the hotel. Just a couple of comments that we did pass on to Burc and Salem
The apartment we were in (9) had only limited storage space for us 2 and it can accommodate 3 with the sofa bed. there is no drawer space at all although there is quite enough room to accommodate 1 set and possibly 2 and easily enough room for another small wardrobe.
ourselves and other guests made what we thought were useful comments not ( will not criticise) and they seem genuinely pleased and said they would act on most of them.
the family were in a different type of trade in Istanbul and this is their first hotel venture and i am sure that next year it will be an even better place to stay. the work they have done so far is commendable from what this hotel was and i wish all of the family the very best for the future.

Room Tip: apt 9 is located in the seperate block to the main hotel and in front of it is the lounge area for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeleypitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    22
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
57
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I went there with a close friend of mine, and it was spectacular! The staff was lovely and caring and the condition of our room was so great. I love how the people are so nice and eager to treat you like family. The pool was definitely clean, which is very important for us! I'd recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

That's awesome! The best holiday ever! Papermoon is like home, it's not just a hotel. When u met that family u never want to go home back. Also u need to try special 'papermoon coctail'. Every night i planned going out with my friend after a drink at moon bar but its impossible! U cant leave that hotel. When u go u will see how enjoyable they are. Be sure that whenever u go u have 3 handsome friends, mum and dad in there. Thanks to that sweet family :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amartharien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived at this B&B/Hotel having booked as a result of the ratings on Trip Advisor. First visit to Turkey therefore unsure what to expect. Papermoon in undergoing change and the family who run the place are doing a great job. The pool area is second to none - so clean and relaxing. The rooms are spotless, linen/towels clean and fresh and so nice to see them being laundered on the premises and hung out to dry daily! The staff are simply lovely - nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast is Turkish so please do not go there expecting a full English - but then why would you go to Turkey and want a fry up???? Because the Hotel is so small you get to meet everyone - especially around the pool bar and in the evenings. We met some great people (you know who you are!!!) and that just would not have happened if we had been in a bigger less personal place. Some people have commented that the rooms are small etc and some of them are but, really, you will not be in your room for any length of time because there is so much to do in and around Kalkan why sit in a room?? The guys suggested some really nice place to eat and arranged transport for us. One note of caution; if you are not mobile you may struggle with the hill........I walked up and down at least twice a day to work of some of the calories! All in all a great place - give the owners a call of you need further information - as I said nothing is too much trouble for them.

Room Tip: The rooms are basic: do not expect 5 star. All you need is there\; clean linen, clean towels, peac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraB015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Could not have wished for a better hotel and all the staff were excellent and made you feel at home, Nothing is to much trouble and the cleaning excellent. The boys behind the bar are very engaging and could not wish to meet nicer people. We had our meals out and always drank at the bar and meet nice guests who never had a bad word, even people from other hotels and villas dropped in and came back, that is what papermoon is about. Well done Burc Onur and Cilam, sorry if i have spelt your names wrong.

Regards room 11 or Android man.

Room Tip: i had a 2 bed apartment which was brilliant and met our needs and size is important to us. If bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haveadrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Pool area and general seating/bar areas are really lovely with plenty of sun beds.. The hotel was full when we were there but sunbeds were available at any time of the day. The owners pay constant attention to keeping the area and pool clean and in good condition. I understand the new owners (a family run business) have been there approx 3/4 months,now and will do their utmost to make your stay as comfortable as possible.. The family are absolutely charming and helpful and will do their best to accommodate any requests.. The rooms themselves are fairly standard,but are absolutely spotless and cleaned daily. The aircon works really well which was great.relief as some days it was 39 deg when we were there.and also this was incl. in the room price. The bar area was attractive and nicely lit in the evening great spot to meet the other guests if you wished. I totally agree with the other reviewer 'benvalenuk'. in that the family who run it are so lovely, they made the holiday more special and memorable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie-herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I had booked to stay for nine nights in the 'Roof top Suite with roof terrace' room 12 with booking.com.
When we arrived at 11.30pm we were shown the apartment and were met by what could only be described as a couple of small, tatty rooms with headroom suitable only for a couple of 'Circus Midgets'. The 'Romantic Roof Garden' consisted of two chairs on a large slab of unattractive concrete, accessed through a small window/door. This suite is totally 'Unfit for purpose' (infact unfit for any purpose that I can think of!!) Please do not book it!!
We immediately refused to stop in this suite saying that it was dangerous (headroom and unstable stair- rail) and unsuitable (number and steepness of steps). The young boy in charge (Onur) said that he could only move us that night to room 7 but would move us as soon as he possibly could, which we had little choice but to accept.
Room 7 is small, has a tiny balcony over looking the Kalamar Road but with no chairs. It has single beds and a wardrobe with three hangers which also houses a tatty old fridge. There is little or no storage space and suitable only for either a one night stay for a couple or more for a single person who could then use the second bed for clothes etc.
After two nights nothing had been said about us moving rooms and when I asked how much we were being charged to stay in room 7 I was horrified to told that it was 'All our fault' and that we would be charged the same rate as the suite we had booked!!
We ended up having to pay for an extra night (cancellation fee) but at least for the room that we had actually stayed in. The attitude of the two 'boys' in charge was aggressive and unhelpful.

We moved to a Hotel nearby and enjoyed a lovely holiday.......

Room Tip: Do not book the 'Roof suite' room 12 or room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenarteco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kalkan hotels
0.7 mi away
Samira Resort
Samira Resort
#9 of 39 in Kalkan
444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kelebek Hotel
Kelebek Hotel
#17 of 39 in Kalkan
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kulube Hotel
Kulube Hotel
#14 of 39 in Kalkan
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sevgi Hotel
Sevgi Hotel
#29 of 39 in Kalkan
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lizo Hotel
Lizo Hotel
#22 of 39 in Kalkan
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soothe Hotel
Soothe Hotel
#26 of 39 in Kalkan
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papermoon Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papermoon Hotel & Apartments

Property: Papermoon Hotel & Apartments
Address: Yaliboyu Mah. Cumhuriyet Cad. No 63, Kalkan, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kalkan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kalkan
#7 Family Hotel in Kalkan
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kalkan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Papermoon Hotel & Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a 9-minute walk from Kalkan’s marina and beaches, Papermoon offers a terrace restaurant and comfortable accommodation with air conditioning. Facilities include an outdoor swimming pool.All accommodation at Papermoon features a minibar, a private bathroom and a balcony. The hotel also offers self-catering apartments, complete with a kitchen and a spacious living area.As well as a fresh-water outdoor swimming pool, Papermoon also has a children’s pool. Guests can also benefit from free Wi-Fi access in public areas.The hotel's Cyprus Kitchen restaurant serves Mediterranean and Middle Eastern dishes for breakfast and dinner. The pool bar serves a variety of cocktails and snacks.Kalkan’s city centre with its many shops, bars, and restaurants is only a 7-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Papermoon Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papermoon Hotel And Apartments
Papermoon Hotel Kalkan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing