We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Hotel Sonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We enjoyed Kas and this hotel so much that we stayed an extra night! The staff were helpful and friendly, especially if you chat with them a lot. The hotel is very, very clean and pleasant. Our room was sunny and cheerful and medium-sized. It is located just away from the town center, a very short walk. We never had any noise. They booked a kayaking trip for us that worked out fine (By the way, the underwater city = not impressive as all the tourist brochures try to promote), have a laundry service, but also told us where we could get laundry done cheaper, and they have a big breakfast with all the Turkish standards, and a fancy capuccino machine. There is no elevator, but the hotel owner told us that he specifically put us on the second floor because he likes to save the first floor rooms for older visitors, so they are pretty thoughtful and considerate. When we left, one of the owners gave me a flower and a pepper from his little garden boxes on the front steps.

If in Kas again, we would definitely return to the Sonne hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2011

Perfect destination close to city center which you can also get boat tours , clean , safe, friendly and perfect breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blaze81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

The hotel is nice and very clean. Breakfast on the terrace was great.Not expensive.
The biggest problem we encountered was the owner. On booking.com we found that check in was between 3 and 10 pm.We arrived at 9 pm on the dot and the owner didn't even greet us but started to complain very aggressively about our late arrival. He was saying that he was expecting us at 6pm and that as a punishment (and we thought it was a joke) we should carry our luggages by ourselves to the second floor ( it is custom in Turkey that the staff carries the luggages of his guests). Also he said that for this time he was going to accept us, but it was just an exception. We tried to be very apologetic to him and we were a bit shocked. Last thing he didn't even say bye when we left.Minor issues, the location wouldn't be bad but the street was extremely noisy (we woke up at 6 am by the noises from the street) and the air conditioning wasn't working.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Traveltheclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The best breakfast we had in Turkey was on the rooftop at Otel Sonne, served by Erica, the charming and helpful housekeeper who deserves a raise. We were very comfortable in the spacious "junior suite," also on the roof with amazing views. This was a perfect location for exploring Kas and the surrounding areas. They'll give you beach towels to use for the day. The reception manager steered us to a pricey view restaurant and had difficulty booking some of the day trips that we wanted, such as sea kayaking, but it was no problem to book with the many travel agencies in the town.

Room Tip: Rooftop suite is worth the extra charge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strangersblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A small hotel with a dozen rooms and a top floor breakfast room with a wonderful view which is also used at night for relaxing with a drink enjoying the twinkling lights. The breakfast is a typical Turkish breakfast - cereal is available. The hotel is in town, but there is free public parking available. The rooms are clean and adequate, the balcony comes with a clothes line and pegs for drying your hand washed items.
Kas is a charming sea town and there is plenty to do around here. "Bear" helped us with planning a driving trip inland to Elmali and gave us tips on where to stop and what to see & eat. It was a lovely day and we felt we saw the real Turkey away from the tourists.
Kas is a great central location for exploring nearby Oludeniz, Patara, Tlos, or if you want to chill out on a boat, take a day trip with Xanthos and do the boat tour to Kekova. You will get to climb up to the castle & tombs at Simena and swim in small coves.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hedgewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We loved, loved, loved staying at Sonne Otel. Close to the city center and the beaches. Kemal and his staff were so attentive and informative. Thanks to Kemal, we managed to see a lot of highlights of the region as we made our way around the coast up to Selcuk. Kemal understood how important it was for us to pack in as much as we can in our short visit and as soon as we arrived (late night), he contacted the agency, who ended up coming to the hotel, and helped us arrange a day trip and a diving excursion.
We were so sorry that we couldn't move our schedule to staying with them, in Kas, for longer.

Room Tip: Don't miss Kas and Sonne Otel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ghazaalarefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My friend and I visited Kas for a 4-day weekend and stayed 3 nights at Sonne Hotel. The hotel is a short walk to the main goings-on of the town, but it's far enough away that we could leave our terrace door open at night to let the spring breeze in. The room was a bit small, but so clean, cozy, and comfortable. Breakfasts on the terrace in the morning were delicious and the view was a gorgeous one to slowly wake up to. I will definitely recommend Sonne to anyone who's headed to Kas.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjh4009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
2.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
2.5 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#3 of 49 in Kas
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Payam Hotel
Payam Hotel
#6 of 49 in Kas
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hideaway Hotel
Hideaway Hotel
#4 of 49 in Kas
630 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.3 mi away
Kas Artemis Hotel
Kas Artemis Hotel
#2 of 49 in Kas
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonne

Address: Hastane Cad. No: 6 | Yeni Cami Yani, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Kas
Price Range: £42 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sonne 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing