We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“does not honor reservations”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Santosa Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Santosa Pension
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“does not honor reservations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked two rooms at Santosa pension several months in advance of my visit to Kas. When our party arrived (after a long journey in), the owner informed us that he did not have two rooms available at the pension. He had only one room but that the four of us (two couples traveling together) could share the room. I explained that I had booked in advance and had even confirmed my booking with someone at the hotel directly, but he simply reiterated that even though that was the case, he did not have two rooms available (no apology). He showed us the room he had available which only had sleeping space for 3, but he said he could bring in a roll away for a 4th spot (this would have made it nearly impossible to move in the room, and that's without all of our luggage). The price for the room was only slightly lower than the price I had booked two rooms for.
After it was clear that I was both angry and unwilling to take this room, the owner finally apologized. He then showed me and the rest of my party another option - two rooms in someone's (presumably a family member's) house up the road. When I arrived to look at it, a woman was removing what was clearly her child's belongings from one of the rooms. The owner said we could stay there for the same price as I had booked. After turning down this option, the owner said that he also had a two bedroom apartment with an ocean view available (his personal winter-home) that we could use for the same price. It was 7KM away. We checked it out, but it was not air conditioned and not clean (the view was fantastic though). As a group, we decided that none of the options presented worked for us. The owner was also kind enough to return the down payment I had already paid to hostelbookers (20 lira) for our reservation.
While I appreciate that the owner tried to find us other options, we were close to being left without a place to stay because he does not honor existing reservations (We were lucky to find the last available room at a pension down the road). I was later told by others in the town that this was not the first time this occurred to guests at Santosa (and other reviewers here confirm this). While the owner gave us a sad story about how busy his life was at the time, I believe that he was able to get a higher price for our room from someone who did not book in advance and was unwilling to kick them out for our reservation.
If you are traveling without reservations, this is probably a great little spot to stay, but if you like to be sure that you have a room booked in advance, this is not the place for you.
It ended up working out for the best for us, because the pension we did stay at (Hideaway Hotel) had an excellent staff, food and rooms. I would recommend checking out that pension.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    45
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
67
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

In my first travel to Kas i preferred to stay at Santosa between 29.08-04.09.
Breakfast is included in the prices and some days you are offered dinner for a reasonable price. I ate fish and loved it.
The rooms and the service is reasonable for a small pension.
The staff is helpful and will advise you for a boat trip and other activities for reasonable prices.The pension is a great place to stay but if you are looking a closer pension to the seaside i advise you look a little more down the road

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ersin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and loved it. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Good wifi and breakfast (all the important things ticked when backpacking!)
Dennis, the owner, it incredibly helpful and friendly!
He met us at the bus stop and when he didn't have availability for us to stay longer he offered us a place on the hammocks on the rooftop terrace in case we couldn't find a bed elsewhere.
Kas is a beautiful town and we were sad to leave. Would highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

If you are looking for relaxing, calm and nice place to stay in Kas, then the pension Santosa is the perfect place for you. Just a 5 minutes walk to city center.
The rooms are quite nice, rather small, but very clean. You do not need more.
The breakfast is served on the lovely terrace with beautiful view of the Kas.
The owner is friendly and cordial as his wife who is always ready to help you.
He organizes ones per week the barbecue and do not miss it.
It's the great opportunity to try some Turkish specialties perfectly made by his wife.
In short, staying there is the perfect choice.
Enjoy it ! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjafra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed three days at Santosa and really enjoyed our experience. The location is a 2-minute walk from the beach and less than 5-minute walk to the city center. The rooms are small but very clean, and quiet for sleep. Also, best breakfast we had in Turkey with super fresh products. The owners are very nice and helpful and they make great barbecues with mezzes, which are a must try during your stay. I would definitely go back if I went back to Kas!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joellelatour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We are not surprised by the negative stories of other visitors to this place. We arrived in Kas by bus and walked up to the street with 3-4 pensions, among them Santosa. We asked the lady at the door if there was a room available. She said yes and showed us a room downstairs. It looked like a cellar, very depressing. She asked 70 lira for the room. We said we would go next door to see if they had a room available. All of a sudden she had a room available on the second floor as well. Far better room and nice view over Kas. 'Same price?' we asked. She said yes so we took it. Later that evening we met the owner of the place who started whispering when he found out we were the couple staying in the room on the second floor for 70 lira. 'Please don't mention to other guests what you payfor the room. My wife knows nothing about the prices.' He asked if we stayed a couple of nights and we said yes. Two days later, after we were almost forced to join the barbecue, he told us out of nowhere that we had to leave the room the next morning. "I forgot about people coming the next day" (something a lot of customers of this place mention). We think he found customers who were willing to pay more for the room. Unbelievable. Apart from this we found the breakfast ok but the barbecue highly overrated (Lonely Planet recommended it so we went for it, alas).

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirali, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Santosa Pension can be a little difficult to find at first, but it is very close to town, and the sea.

The Family that run the Pension are wonderful.

The place is clean, and welcoming, and the room we has was spacious and well airconditioned.

Deniz (Owner) offers a BBQ once a week. If you have the opportunity take him up on it. We had fresh fish, and all sorts of local Turkish food, it was one of the best meals we had in Kas. Thre is a buffet style breakfast in the mornings, this is basic fruits and bread, with hard boiled eggs, and also a muesli option.

We initially had booked 4 nights here, and extended our stay.

Kas is such a great town, not overly busy, without all the pushiness of larger touristy areas (Bodrum).

Santosa Pansion also has a very laid back feel, it is quiet and relaxing, the family who run it are great, and very honest.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: When we booked we opted for "seaview" room. There are non of these here. We asked for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davediggler666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.0 mi away
Meltem Pansion
Meltem Pansion
#9 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Medusa Hotel
Medusa Hotel
#25 of 46 in Kas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Habesos Hotel
Habesos Hotel
#42 of 46 in Kas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hideaway Hotel
Hideaway Hotel
#3 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kayahan
Hotel Kayahan
#5 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kekova
Hotel Kekova
#22 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santosa Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santosa Pension

Property: Santosa Pension
Address: Suleyman Cavus Cad. Recep Bilgin Sok. No:4 Kas Merkez, Kas, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Would you like a holiday in the heaven of Mediterranean, with the comfort and composure of your house? Santosa Pansion is a pansion which is founded to deal out to all requests with high quality. Santosa Pansion is in the city center of Kaş, and is comfortable, clean and decent.The pansion consists of 11 rooms; all with incredible views of Kaş from beautiful terrace’s where you can eat your breakfasts and/ or dinners. On the other hand, you can drink, read books/ magazines or sleep in hammock any time of the day. All rooms have 24/7 hot water, AC and private WC and bath.In history, Antiphello’s was the old name of Kaş. It was a fishing village in old years, but now it is a very modern tourism center. Kaş's population is about 10.000 and the destination is full of possibilities.Kaş is one of the most important and beautiful diving centers of Turkey. There are a lot of scuba diving schools and experienced divers from all over the world come here to enjoy the beautiful diving. On the other hand, you can try other activities such as paragliding, Sea kayak, Blue Travel, Bicycle Tour, Horse Riding, Lycian Tour (The Lycian's were the ancient people who inhabited the area of present day Turkey between the bays of Antalya and Fethiye) and Saklıkent Tour (Saklikent "Hidden City" Gorge is the second-largest (20 km-long) gorge in Europe, the longest and deepest gorge in Turkey. Saklikent Gorge is so steep and narrow that the sun cannot not penetrate the water which makes it very cold even in summer). Kas today:Its quaint town center has a rocky waterfront, with several small beaches nearby where you can try your luck at water sports. There is also a small harbor with fishing boats and daily boats for rent. Life centers on the town square where there are teahouses, restaurants, mosques and shops. Kas has a growing nightlife and a traditional market on Fridays, what more could you want from a destination? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Santosa Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing