We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at Hotel Cachet”
Review of Hotel Cachet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cachet
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week at Hotel Cachet”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a week in late May this year, 2012, and discovered another world.

The hotel must have the best views in Turkey, and when the weather is calm the place is sublime. It isn't just the physical situation of the hotel, right on the tip of the Peninsula, just out of Kas, that makes this hotel remarkable. It is the tranquility and kindness of the charming Ikhlaque Shah, the owner/manager and his staff.

We arrived with illnesses after some gruelling traveling through Romania, Istanbul and down through Turkey so we needed a break, needed kindness and attention and we found it in this small hotel. We travel a lot and can distinguish between human consideration and professional hospitality. If you want the former go to the Hotel Cachet. Nothing was too much trouble. The chef, Fikri cooks wonderful food, and varied the menu to please everyone. As we are vegetarian, he went to extra trouble. Bulent the restaurant manager did everything he could to make us feel at home, as did the beautiful, largely invisible housekeeper who decorated the newly-made bed with a different flower design each day with flowers from the garden.

As for Kas itself, I presume the quietness of the town is due to the fact that it is nearly 3 hours from nearest airport and so is largely free from the package holiday crowds and seems to be off the main tour bus routes. If you are driving yourself, or happy to take the bus from Dalaman or Antalya, you will not regret staying in Kas for a few days (we stopped for a week) - it is a Mediterranean gem.

Helen and David, Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: We were in the suite - large, offered great views in 2 directions from inside and 3 directions from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenmerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    53
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
246
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room and grounds were beautiful and would be hard to beat. The room was beautiful and each day was decorated with fresh flowers, the pool was great and refreshing (not heated), and the views were incredible both from the room and from the various small sitting areas that are tiered down the hillside all the way to the Med. The staff were all very friendly and engaging. The included breakfasts were very good and had a good variety of both Turkish and traditional fare. I only ate in the hotel for dinner for one night, but the food and service were exceptional.

The downsides were few. Be aware that the "beach" is really rocks over-hanging the Sea. The wooden dock was washed out during my visit and I assume it makes getting in and out of the water relatively uneventful. Having said that, signs disavowing the hotel's responsibility for your swimming safety were abundant and I would say for good reason. If there was no wave action at all the water looked quite swim-able, but if there was any pick up in wave action I think you'd better be a strong and confident swimmer. There were decent beaches (gravel) relatively close by which could be reached by long walk, car, or shuttle. I visited Patera Beach also and this is more the traditional idea of a beach - golden sand that goes on forever. This leads to the other potential downside - the hotel is at least 3 km (two miles) from town. I had a car, so it wasn't a big deal, but if you are going to explore more than relax by the pool, it could be a hassle if you like to hang out in town a lot.

Overall, it was very much a nice resort hotel that allows you to feel a good bit like you are the spoiled owner of a beautiful villa (OK, with many friends from around the world visiting, but they tended to be very friendly and you could seek out one of the well-sheltered little sitting areas). It provides a sense of luxury and retreat.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the sea and possess balconies, but I think the upper floors and corner rooms w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elzaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We travelled a lot and this hotel had the most beautifull seaview we ever experienced. Thereby the service of the hotel is outstanding. It was clearly off season, but everything we wanted could be arranged. In the restaurant not every meal on the menu was available, but if you really wanted a special meal, it could be ordered before hand, so the staff would be able to buy fresh ingredients and prepare your favourite dish.

The room and especially the bathroom was spacious, well furnished and very clean. Around the hotel are different terraces where you can relax and take a sunbath. On all those terraces the stunning seaview is there.

The dolmus can take you to Kas city (10 minutes). For us, a rest seeking couple, this was the perfect hotel. We had no complaints at all and when coming back to Kas we would again be staying here.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ik_shah, Owner at Hotel Cachet, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday. The staff are appreciative of your comments on the high standard of service provided and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We've been staying in an hotel on this site for the past eight years and watched it go steadily down hill until taken over by Mr. Shah and totally transformed! It is the perfect place to relax with superb bedrooms, spacious public areas, wonderful views and charming, attentive but non-intrusive staff.
One feels like a guest in a beautiful private home being pampered in a fantastic climate! The standard of cooking is so high that we very seldom eat out in town. The chef loves discussing food and will create any special requests, going into Kas to buy the specific ingredients.
We now book a month in August/September every year - roll on August 2012!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Meis and looking out over the most beautiful sea views to the islands and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballardwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We arrived here in the 1st week of April. There were totally 3 rooms occupied and literally no one around at all. The entire property was empty. This was a boon for us actually.

Great price - 45 dollars. for a good sea view room.

The manager was really nice and very friendly. Had a good chat with him at the breakfast table.

I would really recommend people to come here because during the peak season the hotel will be bustling and fun to be in.

Room Tip: Stay at a higher level with a sea view. Do not miss the sea view room as this is what the hotel is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMansinghka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

To be fair, we were in the off season, the only guest one evening, joined by one other guest the other evening. However, the housekeeping-every-3-days was never mentioned to us, the shower had dead bugs in it, the drain in the shower backed up, the toilet refused to flush once and we received one fairly thin towel (plus smaller towel) each. I don't think anyone swept or wiped up during our two day stay. Dirt accumulated by the entrance and inside the atrium hallway. The first morning, the downstairs had an accumulation of cigarette butts and dirty glasses that I'm sure wasn't created by the vegetarian couple from India who was there that night.

On the plus side, this inn rises above the beautiful coastline and couldn't have a better view of the iff shore islands. The innkeeper is warm and helpful, fetching us after getting lost on this little island 10 minutes from downtown Kas. So plus-plus on setting and friendliness but minus on cleanliness and service in terms of housekeeping.

It's a 3 star on a good day, close to self catering standards in the off season. I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsysSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ik_shah, General Manager at Hotel Cachet, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you found our hotel below our normal high standards – our housekeeper was taken ill suddenly and clearly this had an effect on the service you received. As always it is important to advise us as soon as you experience any problems so that they can be dealt with as soon as possible. Please accept our apologies and be assured that we will try to avoid this in future.

The rooms are cleaned every day and, in the interests of the environment, the bed linen and towels changed every 3 days. Earlier changes can be requested if required. This is explained in the guest information sheet in the rooms.

However we are pleased that you did find some aspects of our hotel to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Grown up family stayed in July 2011 for 4 nights after an activity holiday based in less salubrious accommodation in Kas town (a lovely place). The rooms in the hotel are of very high standard and spacious. Views stunning. We stayed during Ramadan which may have contributed to the quietness whilst we were there - but wow, so peaceful and relaxing. Poolside and loungers were excellent. Communal areas nice but basic. yo are not likely to use these too much given terraces and balconies available. Hotel was extremely clean. Mr Shah and his staff were always polite and friendly and couldn't be more helpful (sorry guys, time has passed and i've forgotten names but you know who you are). Breakfasts were a pleasure on the terrace. We only ate 'in' one night but again wonderful food beautifully served on the terrace.

Raised location on rocky coastline with steep access to the sea, not good for children or tentative swimmers. The pool compensates for this though. Can be quite windy, but in high summer this can be a blessing, As others have said it is a very steep walk up to the peninsular road where the minibus service is adequate and cheap to Kas, not for less able bodies or hearts. Taxis will come down to the hotel though.

Im reluctant to share this hidden gem, but I did promise Mr Shah to write a fair review. 'Excellent' is fair!. Better late than never.

Room Tip: As with most places, balance between A/C noise and comfort difficult to strike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmyBChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ik_shah, Owner at Hotel Cachet, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for your review of Hotel cachet. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will pass on your comments to our staff, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Cachet in the near future.

Best reagrds,

Ikhlaque Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.8 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 46 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#7 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
2.8 mi away
Hideaway Hotel
Hideaway Hotel
#4 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cachet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cachet

Property: Hotel Cachet
Address: Demokrasi Cad. Armagan Talay Sok. No:10 Cukurbag, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cachet 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cachet Hotel is stunningly situated on the side of exclusive Cukurbag Peninsular in Kas, Turkey directly on the seafront facing Meis Island. The hotel has been carefully renovated to ensure that it provides only the best for its clients. With just 17 bedrooms the hotel has a homely feel while providing all the comfort and services of a top class hotel. Spacious rooms all with sea views and two Corner Suites, rain showers, panoramic sea views, Turkish & Ottoman and International cuisine from our restaurant. An indulgent unforgettable experience that you will want to come back to again and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Cachet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing