We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!”

Bahce Balik Restaurant
Ranked #73 of 201 Restaurants in Kas
Price range: US$11 - US$45
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ankara, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must go!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We hardly booked a table, actually we reserved the last one for the following three days. The waiter on the phone was very strict about the time that we'd arrive to the restaurant and it was a little annoying. Still, there were very positive comments and we wanted to check it out. When we arrived, our table was also a little dissapointing. Ambiance was at most average. Service was not good either. Also the staff was really busy but they were still smiling and kind.

When we began eating we forgot about all negative situations. I believe I ate the best calamar, octupus and mussel (in cabbage - dolma) of my life. We ate grouper/lagos and it was also very good. Salad and all other mezzes were perfect. In the end of that night, we understood why there was such a que.

You must visit Bahçe Balık before you leave Kaş. And I will be visiting it next summer for sure.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DereTepeDuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    69
    49
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bornem, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bad service, average food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We showed up without reservation, but the waiter found a table for 4 for us. It was in a dark corner, almost too dark to eat. But still we thought we got lucky... He showed us the available fish and mezze. While taking our order at the mezze counter, he suddenly disappeared to attend to other people walking in. It took a while for him to show up again and finally take our order. Food arrived fast (no bread though), he forgot one of the mezzes. We asked for it, but it never came. Stuffed calamares was excellent. The swordfish saté was very dry (frozen fish without a doubt). And like I said before, too dark to eat actually. But not for a street cat, that suddenly showed up with a raw chicken leg from the kitchen!! It only took a few minutes for it to be chased away by a black dog, he ate the chicken leg next to our table :) by the sounds he was making, it seemed to taste better than the swordfish our kids ordered!
The fish we ordered was disappointingly small as well...
Anyway, we had to check the bill for items that we never got and the waiter admitted that "some things have gone wrong tonight"... last time for me, there are a lot of good restaurants in Kas and Bahce Balik is not one of them!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan-travelspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bornem, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor service”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We ate here at our first evening in Kas. It is a nice restaurant. Apparantly all tables were reserved so they gave us a table near the entrance. The mezes were good but we quickly ran out of bread and had to wait too long for more bread. The waitress said due to the rain in the afternoon they had some problems with the bread supply (?). So we finished the mezes without bread. Then we had to wait a very long time for the hot mezes. We had to remind the waiter two times. Before we finished the hot mezes our main dishes fish arrived. The levrek was good but the swordfish shish and one other fish shish I forgot the name were chewy, not fresh, probably deepfrozen. The best dish was the hot meze stuffed calamar, that was really delicious. They even forgot to bring our salad but did not forget to put it on the bill. The service was really disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AyseBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Memorable, romantic evening”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We went here because a local recommended it. We picked out our own fish and had a lovely dinner for two on the cozy terrace. I've read some reviews that service wasn't so great, but I can honestly say we didn't have any problems with it. Our mezzes were delicious, as was the swordfish I ordered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chaligny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE SERVICE, BAD FOOD, DISHONEST STAFF”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

On our last night in Kas we wanted to go to a seafood restaurant. Since our first choice turned out to be more of a steakhouse restaurant, we walked up the hill and saw this place. It didn't look too busy, so we asked Bahce Balik's waiter if we could have a table. The waiter reluctantly seated us, saying that most of the tables are reserved for later. However, during our horrible dining experience (from around 9.40-10pm till 11pm, people that were there finished and left, and no new diners came in - so that was a complete lie! Anyway, the menu had a selection of mezzes for 8 Liras each, yet when he showed us to a mezze stand, most salads didn't look that fresh and it turned out that only one of the salads was 8 Liras, the rest were 10 liras, 12 liras or more. I thought that an octopus salad would be a nice option instead, however, the waiter said that they've run out of it, but seafood stand had a whole octopus amongst other fish on their display menu! In the end, I've ordered shrimp salad, which came as a handful of barely defrosted prawns with a bit of olive oil, no seasoning, nothing, just cold prawns. When I questioned the waiter about this so called shrimp 'salad', he said that he told the owner that 'this salad was bad'. Bread was also stale, swordfish for the main course was dry and was given at the end to an army of cats that were meowing insatiably by our table. To top it up, I spotted massive cockroaches scurrying on the floor by us. The whole evening left a sour taste in the mouth, literally. If you want a nice enjoyable seafood meal in Kas, this awful restaurant IS NOT the place to go, avoid it at all cost!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank teacher006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bahce Balik Restaurant also viewed

Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Bahce Balik Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing