We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but not luxury”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Doria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Doria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 72 Kas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely but not luxury”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I booked 9 days at the Doria in July 2013 with the sole intention of relaxing. With its private piers, luxury rooms and remote location we thought the hotel would suit our needs perfectly, however, the actual product is a little less glossy than the brochure would have you believe.

I should point out now that this isn't a trait particular to just the Doria, it seemed endemic in other hotels of the region and, despite a few gripes we did actually have a good holiday and would recommend the hotel, albeit with a few caveats.

First impressions were disappointing. Whilst the coast is undeniably breathtaking the Doria resembles a roadside motel set beside a very new highway cut into the rock face. A few flowers and shrubs would have softened its appearance, but this attention to detail and standard of finish was largely lacking throughout the property. There were no staff to greet us and the reception, being something akin to a used car sales office, was difficult to locate.

Our room was lovely. No faults here. Very high, vaulted ceilings with state of the art velux windows kept the place cool and airy. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent, with a large monsoon shower and shutters through to the bedroom granting you a sea view while you go about your ablutions. There is a generous seating area opening onto the pier, which is furnished with a couple of supremely comfy loungers and a table. The aircon was a bit unreliable but staff, when they could be found (more on this later), were quick to fix it. The views and outside space don't disappoint, though the ladder into the sea was dangerously slimy and slippery and would have benefitted from a good scrub between occupants. The water is very clean and calm and there are plenty of small fish and crabs to look at. There's quite a lot of debris left over from the construction of the hotel on the sea floor though which did somewhat detract from the beauty of the thing.

The communal areas are pretty but lack the standard of finish you'd expect from a hotel billing itself as a luxury venue. The beanbags and daybeds shown around the pool in the promotional material were all sadly absent, the 'beach' was essentially a scrubby area devoid of sand or pebbles and the pool is not exclusive to hotel guests but full of locals and their children having a day out.

Breakfast was quite tasty and there was the option of having it delivered to your room. It did get a little samey though as there is but the one option. Food was, on the whole, average and a little over priced, but a short walk to the marina or nearby Kas provided lots of eateries for all tastes and budgets.

The staff tended to keep themselves to themselves and were often difficult to locate. Whilst we enjoyed the unobtrusive nature of the service, having to interrupt their conversations with friends at the bar to enquire after drinks we ordered a half hour previously was a little awkward. Not all staff spoke English, but hey, it is Turkey! It has to be said that they were all unfailingly polite and friendly.

To sum up, it's a very comfortable hotel with lovely views, but the standard of finish and service was a little lower than we'd been led to believe. We did have a wonderful time loafing on the pier and wandering about in Kas, so we'd happily recommend the place but with the caveat that 'luxury' is a little overblown.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Il_d0lce_far_niente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    14
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
19
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longparish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We were looking for somewhere to just sit kick back and relax and we found it in spades.
The Doria Hotel is situated on the edge of the marina in Kas, about a 15 minute walk or short taxi ride just outside Kas itself.
The rooms all have their own private landing giving direct access straight out into opal blue sea. We stayed in one of the rooms with its own jacuzzi, well mini swimming pool sized jacuzzi!!
If sea swimming is not your thing, there was a great 25m pool just beyond the breakfast area that was great for an early morning/evening swim.
Although we tended to stretch out and eat in Kas most evenings, we did eat in the restaurant of the hotel a couple of times and although the dining area inside isn't much, having a table made up out on the veranda over looking the sea was really nice and despite what I have read on other reviews, I can only tell it like it was, the food we had was absolutely great, we tried the Calamari in every place we ate over the holiday and it was never bettered anywhere........I would go so far as to include all previous trips to Turkey, Greece and various destinations on the med.
The staff were attentive and friendly without being "in your face" and help make it the kind of really relaxing trip we craved.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Very good boutique hotel within easy walking distance (about a mile) of Kas. Private rooms with steps down into the ocean and wonderful area in which to swim. Service is good and breakfast prepared to order. All in all, a lovely break in a stunning location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsMunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stunning location, withnour own private pier with steps down to the ocean, a private day bed and sun loungers. Within 5 minutes walk is a supermarket, 4-5 restaurants, and a further 10 minutes walk is central kas - not that you need to go there with the amazing rooms and stunning setting!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanPartridge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

The setting of the hotel is nice, albeit just beneath a highway.
Other than the setting nothing is particularly appealing.
The rooms are OK, a bit shabby and the decor cheap looking. There was a strong smell of sewage in our shower every time we used it.
The food is appalling and the pool is not private for hotel guests but open to the public for a fee, resulting in quite a busy area with lots of kids.
No beach towels were provided in the rooms, and no sheets on the bed (just a blanket).
When I expressed my disappointment with the Tour Operator (Elixir) their response was along the lines of
"Food might not be great, but why not try the restaurants in the area" (Er, missing the point here: in a luxury hotel I want to rely on having a good lunch by the pool without trekking into town)
"The bedding is local" (so what? A bottom sheet goes without saying for international clients)
"The grubby chairs are meant to be for outdoor use" (Well then they should be placed outdoors, not in my room)

Will never go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jookiz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Thought it is a part of marina with shops, restaurants, the place is really quite and peaceful. Rooms are spacious and very light, big private patio with private jacuzzi pool, big and clean public pool, beautiful and secured territory, direct access to amazing and clean sea, friendly personnel and delicious breakfast. A bit distant from the city center, however we rented nice scooter for 30 turkish lyra per day and had no problems with transportation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleksDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The highlight of this hotel is the private sun deck with direct access to the sea.
We had the room with the balinese daybed which was a lovely place to relax.

Could not fault the room at all. Mini bar well stocked and reasonable priced too.
Breakfast is Turkish breakfast which consists of some turkish cheeses, bread, fruit, jams, honey, olives and more! A great way to start the day and made a change from the usual buffet breakfasts found in hotels.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk in to town (we took a cab which cost around 17TL)
There is a supermarket and two restaurants in the marina right next door. We ate at both restaurants, both good and lovely views of the harbour too.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and couldnt do enough for us. The hotel is very quiet and fairly remote but we enjoyed it! If you're looking for something lively this hotel isnt for you!

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing, luxurious break in a traditional turkish town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
2.0 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kekova
Hotel Kekova
#21 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#17 of 44 in Kas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Doria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Doria Hotel

Property: The Doria Hotel
Address: Acisu Mevkii, Ugur Mumcu Cd., Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Doria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doria, excitingly, is now fully under Elixir's management meaning, we can give our guests the full Elixir experience: sharp attention to detail, sleek luxury bedrooms, fine dining and a fabulous location as well as subtle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Doria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing