We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Medusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Medusa Hotel
Ranked #27 of 49 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We had a nice time in this hotel. The staff helped us lug our bags up and down the stairs. Beyond that, they were uncommunicative. Breakfasts were good but they always ran out of coffee (and didn't care). Supper down on the sea terrace was delicious although overpriced. The waiter there was particularly attentive, and made up for all the other nonchalance. The sea is accessed via a ladder on the cliff wall; a bit scary. Swimming in the hotel pool never happened because its hours are very limited and are not posted anywhere, so I kept showing up and being turned away. Rooms are very small, basic but clean. The town itself is charming and it was a pleasure to stroll there from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2011

I cant believe that someone stayed there the same month we did, and thought the service was good. I wonder if there was 100% staff turnover since?

Look, If you stay on the fifth floor, and you have managed the stairs up from the road, its going to have done you a lot of good, physically. But many of the rooms are pretty much the smallest I have ever seen. Added to that, the beds have wooden frames, so if you approach six foot, your feet are going to rest on the wooden frame.

I would happily overlook the steps - heck I enjoyed the exercise - but service was just appalling. We were a group of 30 plus Aussies, and we needed a drink. The lights were off at the bar (alongside the pool) and after 30 minutes we left the property to buy beers down the road. Wow, that got the lights turned on in the bar, and the comment: "The bar was open, but the lights were just off" (Yeah, and so was the bar man!!!1)

Breakfast had almost no fruit (Yeah that's something I like) and there was NO liquid or juice to drink other than fresh orange juice at 5 lire. Yeah 5 lire is cheap, but no alternative except paying extra!!!

There is a time-out of the lights over the internal stairs. Yeah - no lift. And pretty much every time, they cut out with TWO floors still to cover. That's not just stupid, its plain dangerous. These are curving circular stairs.

Sadly the receptionist looked like she would rather be anywhere except here. As I was on tour and did not pay directly, I do not have any way to place a "value" on the experience.

Room Tip: Try to get an above average size. Otherwise you have to keep your suitcases packed and vertical. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed for two days at Medusa Hotel and we had a very nice experience there.
Bedrooms are very clean, the seaview is just amazing! Service was great, the staff was very friendly and helpful... not only within the hotel, but also the staff that worked at Medusa's private beach in front of the hotel. by the way, very nice and relaxing area.
Breakfast was very rich, with fruits, breads, cereal, etc. The only thing we did not like is that the orange juice would be extra. Except for that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tah_Ren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Medusa Hotel was a very good example of a basic quality. Especially the cleanness of the rooms and hotel facilities impressed me. The location is unbelivable and the view is amazing worth everything. It is also very close to everything. Personnel is very helpful and dedicated. The breakfast could have been a bit better however decent enough. The stairs are a bit demanding and need to be careful-for information of whom cares about that. the hotel also has a little deck used as a beach in the day and restauramt in the night which is very nice. One night we ate there and it was very romantic and the food was more than acceptable. So I strongly recommend this hotel and especially Kas!

Room Tip: Book a full sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeynbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in Medusa Hotel with my wife at the end of August 2011 for three nights. The location of the Hotel is very good, 5 mins. walking distance to the city center. Like the other hotels in the neighborhood, it has a platform with lounges by the sea, where you can have sun bath and swim in the wonderful bay of Kucukcakil. Hiring a lounge and a sunshade is for free, but you have to reserve one before around 10:00 a.m. otherwise you may not find an empty one. You can order lunch and soft/alcoholic beverages as well. The staff of the Medusa beach restaurant is very nice and friendly.
Our room was a deluxe one on the third floor. It had a really exceptional view of whole bay and the isle Kastellorizo. However the Hotel has no elevator! If you are young and climbing over hundred steps to your room to third floor does not matter to you, then there is no problem. (Well, I counted them; around 60 steps to reach the reception from the street and 40 more to the third floor :)) We stayed bed and breakfast, the breakfast was average. The rooms are clean and have a balcony with great view if your room is on the front side of the Hotel. I recommend you to have a dinner at least one evening in the Medusa beach restaurant. The sundown is wonderful and you can have your dinner just over the waves. Try sea bass with mezes and raki, of course :)

Room Tip: The room should be on the front side of the Hotel, facing the sea. Otherwise climbing all those step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaptan_Bazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Location: very close to the center, but not noisy. it has its own beach (but it operates independent from the hotel, and you can enter even if you do not stay here).

Rooms: very clean, but tiny. the a/c blows directly to the bed as the bed practically occupies the whole room. The isolation is non-existent. When others in our floor closed their door, that woke us up.

Breakfast/restaurant: Contrary to the previous reviews, the breakfast is not that bad (yes the bread is not fresh, but for Turkish standards it is average). the restaurant was always empty (the menu looked overpriced). We only drank tea, it was overpriced and not fresh (Turkish tea is made fresh).

Staff: this is the worst part. They are not rude and try their best, but the receptionists do not know anything about the area. For instance when I asked where to eat they answered "you can eat anywhere, all restaurants are good" (not true). Then I asked when the ferry goes to the Kastelorizo Island, receptionist said only Tuesdays and Sundays (again, not true, it goes daily). I asked for sightseeing, receptionist advised me to go to one of the tour agencies in the city. Either the hotel changed owners, or the knowledgeable Belgian/Turkish couple were on a long holiday, as we did not spot them.

Transportation: if you arrive by bus, some hotels offer to pick you up from the terminal, but not this one. The distance is about 1,5 km. If you have heavy luggage, you probably need to get a cab. It will take you less than 2 minutes, but will cost you 8 lira.

All in all, it was clean and quiet, but the hotel does not deserve this price tag (75 euro per night). We stayed here because everywhere else was sold out. Next time I am in Kas, I will stay somewhere else, possibly in one of the pensions with a/c, and spend the money on daily trips instead.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

This hotel has stunning views from the front rooms. One of the best things was the swimming platforms over the sea. Perfect location - 10 minutes walk into town. However there are a LOT of steps up to the hotel from the road and the rooms are very small. Very good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for full sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
0 mi away
Aqua Princess Hotel
Aqua Princess Hotel
#17 of 49 in Kas
249 reviews
2.9 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#33 of 49 in Kas
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nur Hotel
Nur Hotel
#10 of 49 in Kas
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saylam Suites
Saylam Suites
#23 of 49 in Kas
132 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 49 in Kas
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Hotel

Address: Kucuk Cakil Mevki No:61 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range: £40 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Medusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Medusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing