We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning...”
Review of Medusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Medusa Hotel
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Kas
Hamburg
1 review
“Stunning...”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stunning views from the room, stuff, that is reading from lips, candle light dinners at the beach - what else do you need?

The Medusa Hotel at the eastern end of beachside of Kas is a real hide away from busy city center. The swimming platform with the sun beds is the most spacious in Kas, the Hotel is very well maintained and the service is great! Everybody working here is helpful and nice...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radekastendoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    57
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
34
71
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lochem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

In September 2012 we visited this hotel and we can only thank the entire staff of the hotel Medusa for a wonderful carefree holiday. The service was excellent and incredible friendly .The delicious breakfast we had every morning outside on the terrace enjoying a fantastic view over the sea. The room was not too big but absolutely fully luxury equipped and each morning we were provided with clean towels. On the terrace of the hotel Medussa beach, we could enjoy the sun , take a swim and fresh drinks and lunch were provided by the always friendly terrace beach staff. What we also liked was the quiet surrounding of the hotel and it took only a few minutes’ walk to the beautiful center of Kas! We can only highly recommended this lovely hotel and fantastic staff!!
Jan, Berry, Sylvia & Astrid Holtslag
Lochem Holland

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I am currently staying at this small inn while on a Nichols Expeditions bike tour of the aptly named Turquoise Coast of Turkey, writing this review while on the small deck off my tiny but perfectly adequate room looking over the Mediterranean toward a Greek island. My travel companions are enjoying a typical Turkish breakfast - tomatoes, olives, hard-boiled eggs, sesame-seed-coated bread with fabulous marmelades - by the pool below. Across the small brick road are steps down to lounge chairs on a private dock with a panoramic view of the ocean.

My friend and I enjoyed a drink under the stars down there last night after dinner at Mama's Kitchen. (The hotel offers dinner at four candlelit tables there as well; it looks very romantic.)

The staff are warm and eager to please, running down to the grocery store for chips to serve our group when we threw an impromptu cocktail party by the pool after our hot, hard bike ride Into town yesterday.

One should know that there are many, many steps to climb and no elevator that I have found. If you can manage, the view is worth it. Everything in this cute beach town is on a cliff. The lobby is decorated with kilims and old family photos and maps, cozy and charming. There is free wi-fi.

As I said, the room and bath are very tiny, but clean and attractive. It took a while to get the hot water faucet in the shower to work, but now I know and all is well. The double bed is low with a hard mattress. This is a fair trade for a room at this modest cost with a world-class view. I woke early and sat on our deck watching the sun come up over the islands and the yachts beginning to motor across the bay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony facing the ocean. It greatly increases your enjoyment because otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodacious B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra - Wadi Musa, Jordan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Kas was going to be where we would relax and soak up the sun. We booked a sea view family suite with bookings.com which said that we would have stunning views of the sea from our balcony. However, we got no sea views (not even a glimpse) from our room. When we pointed out, it was said that they thought the back suite would suit us better as we had a teenage son, and when we pressed the matter we were promised two rooms with views in two days time. Why bother, ofcourse, even that did not happen. Basic tea and coffee was provided for breakfast but forget about orange juice or hot chocolate for the children, that is extra. The steps don't have any handrails and there are quite a lot of them. The rooms and the bathrooms are small at best. The beds are small to fit the size of the room. There are other hotels in the same area, I would go there on my future visits to Kas.

Room Tip: When checking make sure it's a sea view room. Try to get a room on the lower level floors as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ranjana_ranjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Our third visit to the Kas paradise, and so too our third to Hotel Medusa! Yes, we are animals of habit, but if something works so well for one, why change it. Our first visit was in 2009 and astonishingly we paid exactly the same this year?! Had a twin corner room with beautiful views of the bay from room and balcony. Like most of the hotels you pay extra for a full seaview! The room was spotless - as ever. I am not going to say anything about the size of the room … what are you doing there in any case when paradise is outside. Cleaning service did sometimes come after 16:00, and we were happy to tell her not to bother. Breakfast had a bigger spread than before. You can order eggs other than the boiled ones - but then you pay extra. Orange juice is indeed extra, and it is freshly squeezed! Service both at the front desk and on the sea platforms was impeccable. I was again amazed at the staff's work ethic, energy and willingness to service with a smile. (I don't know where the comments about the sullen staff comes from ... not our experience!) Will return again … and again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brutalbrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We had a nice time in this hotel. The staff helped us lug our bags up and down the stairs. Beyond that, they were uncommunicative. Breakfasts were good but they always ran out of coffee (and didn't care). Supper down on the sea terrace was delicious although overpriced. The waiter there was particularly attentive, and made up for all the other nonchalance. The sea is accessed via a ladder on the cliff wall; a bit scary. Swimming in the hotel pool never happened because its hours are very limited and are not posted anywhere, so I kept showing up and being turned away. Rooms are very small, basic but clean. The town itself is charming and it was a pleasure to stroll there from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I cant believe that someone stayed there the same month we did, and thought the service was good. I wonder if there was 100% staff turnover since?

Look, If you stay on the fifth floor, and you have managed the stairs up from the road, its going to have done you a lot of good, physically. But many of the rooms are pretty much the smallest I have ever seen. Added to that, the beds have wooden frames, so if you approach six foot, your feet are going to rest on the wooden frame.

I would happily overlook the steps - heck I enjoyed the exercise - but service was just appalling. We were a group of 30 plus Aussies, and we needed a drink. The lights were off at the bar (alongside the pool) and after 30 minutes we left the property to buy beers down the road. Wow, that got the lights turned on in the bar, and the comment: "The bar was open, but the lights were just off" (Yeah, and so was the bar man!!!1)

Breakfast had almost no fruit (Yeah that's something I like) and there was NO liquid or juice to drink other than fresh orange juice at 5 lire. Yeah 5 lire is cheap, but no alternative except paying extra!!!

There is a time-out of the lights over the internal stairs. Yeah - no lift. And pretty much every time, they cut out with TWO floors still to cover. That's not just stupid, its plain dangerous. These are curving circular stairs.

Sadly the receptionist looked like she would rather be anywhere except here. As I was on tour and did not pay directly, I do not have any way to place a "value" on the experience.

Room Tip: Try to get an above average size. Otherwise you have to keep your suitcases packed and vertical. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
3.2 mi away
Lycia Hotel
Lycia Hotel
#25 of 46 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maki
Hotel Maki
#31 of 46 in Kas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#4 of 46 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Begonvil
Hotel Begonvil
#35 of 46 in Kas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Linda
Hotel Linda
#29 of 46 in Kas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medusa Hotel

Property: Medusa Hotel
Address: Kucuk Cakil Mevki No:61 Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Medusa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Medusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medusa Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing