We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay near Kas”
Review of Amphora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amphora Hotel
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay near Kas”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We did a roadtrip in south Turkey and also wanted to visit Kas. We had a rental car and as a result thereof we stayed at this hotel. The hotel is not in any way near the city centre of Kas so please be aware you have transportation.
The hotel is clean and well equipped. The staff is very helpfull and friendly and willing to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The food at the hotel is also good (we arrived in the evening at the hotel and didn't want to drive again after a day's drive. The hotel also has a private part at the sea which is also very comfortable to enjoy the sun and crystal clear water. There is only one thing that was annoying and that was the mattress (it was a little hard).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    30
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
35
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Amphora hotel. Initially, we could not decide for the location. (Peninsula or Kas) Then we decided to go for Peninsula and that was absolutely right decision unless you really like the crowd. Amphora Hotel is great value for the price. They have a fantastic breakfast and private beach where you feel special and enjoy the beauty of one of the cleanest sea in the world. (From experience.) You can also dive and explore under water. We had a garden view room but next time I will definitely book a sea view room. It is worth for the money. You can simply have a dream holiday in Amphora. The last but not the least, Amphora has a fantastic crew! You will be surprised when you see how nice the people are. They are super helpful and friendly. Just a little reminder, if possible try to come here with a car. It is ok you can still use the dolmus but if you have a car your stay would be much more pleasant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lifegoaltraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel with my elderly mother this year for a weekend in September. We all loved the hotel, the beach club and the lovely staff!
The bedrooms are simple but have everything you would need to enjoy your stay.
The homemade jams at the breakfast table are superb!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was our first holiday in Turkey and we were so happy with our choice of destination and hotel.

Kas is a beautiful little fishing town full of great places to eat and a perfect base for day trips to the surrounding area.

But the Peninsula is the place to be. The Amphora Hotel has stunning views of the sea and a gem of a beach. All the hotels on the peninsula are blessed with unforgettable views but in our opinion the position of Amphora provides one of the best.

Kas is well known for its scuba diving but with a trusty snorkel and flippers (provided for free from the hotel) we saw a sea turtle, trumpet fish, squid and numerous species of fish within meters of our sun beds in the fantastic warm clear waters.

The rooms in the hotel are comfortable with everything you need. I have read a previous review which criticised the hotel for a lack of features in the room, but for the very reasonable price, the level of comfort is more than acceptable. Who needs a TV when the views are so spectacular? I should add that a sea view room is a must and paying a little more is well worth it.

We ate in the restaurant one night and had multiple meals at the beach bar. The food was consistently good, although our only small issue would be that the breakfast could have been more varied over the course of our week stay.

If you want to eat in Kas (which I recommend you do) being on the Peninsula is not a barrier. There are two buses an hour and they take 10 minutes to get to the town centre.

The hotel staff were brilliant. Ziya the manager is a great character and we had plenty of laughs with him. He really made us feel at home. He helped us book our day trip to Kekova and was really interested in his guests and made sure everyone was happy with their stay and had the holiday they wanted.

A big thank you must also go to Saffet and the other staff at Amphora who did everything they could to make our stay perfect.

We would have no hesitation returning to Kas and in particular the Anphora Hotel. See you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Kaş is beautiful. You could stick a tent in The middle of the road and you would be in paradise. As such hoteliers in this area feel they can charge enormous amounts of money for accomadation here. The hotel is set on a hill with a lovely view of the med, and a private (not exclusive) beach about 400m below. The exterior of the hotel is inviting and the gardens immaculate, and if you paid for a sea view, you will get a fantastic one.

But!

The previous reviews do not really capture the standard of this hotel, so I will attempt to convey the reality. The rooms are absolutely dreadful. It surprises me that previous reviewers have not found where they lay their heads to be important!!! It's not the first time I have stayed in a small room with tiny bathroom, but in Amphora the furnishings are sparse and ugly. There is no TV , radio or clock. the double bed, which was two singles pushed together had really cheap mattresses and only one pillow each. We had one single blanket between the two of us and there were no more in the room. There was a fan light combo on the ceiling, which had four bulb fittings, and only one was occupied by a monster of an energy saving bulb. I can't understand why a hotelier would not by the required four bulbs and suggested to me that the owner only interested in providing the barest of necessities. The bathroom is dull, poorly lit and claustrophobic. The breakfast was average Turkish breakfast, swarming with wasps (not hotel's fault?) and had no cold meats except the cheapest sliced macun sausage. The staff apart from the day receptionist where moody and glum especially at breakfast. It's like they have kept the outside pleasing to fit in with the beautiful surroundings, and couldn't care less about the inside, moreover the people who are happy to pay the prices to be inside. Tried to order a sandwich at the beach bar and 1 hour later it hadn't even started being prepared. If the Amphora sold itself and priced itself as a pensyon that would be accurate... Albeit a basic pensyon. But as a hotel, charming on the outside but very very basic inside. I was happy to leave. Sorry for harsh review, but most of the things that were disappointing could easily be changed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Nalnono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

While this hotel is not located in town but on the peninsula, it's only 10min but ride away. It does limit dinner options if you don't want to head into town.
The beach was my highlight. It's built on the rocks but has lots of sun chairs, daybeds and easy access to the water. You can borrow snorkel equip and there is surprisingly lots to see in the crystal clear water.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gembawamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights. The location was amazing, it's a 3 min walk down to probably one of the best beaches in Kas. Great little snorkeling spot too. Amphorae beachside restaurant has great meals for lunch too. There is a local bus to catch to the town of Kas which only costs 3 TL and takes about 10 mins. I recommend staying on the peninsula as you get the best of both worlds.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cepies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#3 of 48 in Kas
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#26 of 48 in Kas
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquarius Hotel
Aquarius Hotel
#27 of 48 in Kas
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cachet
Hotel Cachet
#9 of 48 in Kas
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel

Property: Amphora Hotel
Address: Cukurbag Yarimadasi Dogan Kasaroglu Sokak No:4, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amphora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amphora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing