We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Aquarius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquarius Hotel
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at the Aquarius for 3 nights, the rooms are quite small but very clean, plenty of wardrobe space,small balcony,small bathroom,clean towels every day.
The hotel is in a lovely setting out on the peninsular,but it would not be suitable for people with walking difficulties as it is down a rather steep hill, and then to get to the beach or restaurant you have to either go down steps or another hill.
Nice pool area with sunbeds and although there is no sand the beach area is paved and terraced with sunbeds and tables and chairs.
We booked bed and breakfast, there was a good choice,fruit,cereal,eggs cheese,bread,tea,coffee,the chef would even do an omlette if asked.
My only gripe was the food on the breakfast buffet was not covered and there were wasps all over the food which was quite offputting, i suggest they either get covers for the food or serve food indoors.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ariek04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed at Aquarius as part of a group tour in Room 1111 in September 2011.

It was my favourite hotel of all the ones we stayed at. Beautiful setting, lovely views over sea to islands, good food, nice rooms, waterfront restaurant, large pool and landscaped grounds. In the room, the bathroom was small but room was nicely decorated with floating wood floor, laminate panels, mirror and ledges to put items on.

Hotel is on a steep hill and has various buildings and pool on different levels going down to the restaurant and bar on the rock paved waterfront. No beach, but plenty of deck chairs, umbrellas and a small pontoon to swim out to.

It is a small hotel (I think 30 or so rooms) which are in small 3 storey blocks with open air walkways running the length of one side with the doors to the rooms coming off these. The other side overlooks the pool, facing the sea with a small balcony for each room. This means ventilation, unlike in most hotels where the rooms run off a corridor.

The hotel is 5 mins drive out of town, so too far to walk. This a hassle if you need to go town each day, but a plus if all you're after is a beautiful peaceful setting. We were told a dolmus was available but didn't try it out as our tour bus took us around.

To note: I quite liked that the property sprawls down the hill and walking through the gardens from accommodate block to pool to restaurant to water was lovely, but a couple of elderly people on our tour found the steepness of the hill tough to deal with, so bear in mind if you have fitness issues.

Kas was really nice, although judging by the multi-million dollar homes on the peninsula around the hotel, the sleek motor boats parked at the marina and the jewellery stores selling proper jewellery (not Chinese mass produced stuff), there will be cheaper places you could go in Turkey, but if a more upmarket destination is your bag, this is the place.

The best recommendation probably was our 17-year veteran tour guide commenting that, now he's seen the hotel, he's going to consider bringing his family back for summer holidays next year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The Aquarius Hotel is out on the peninsula. It requires taking a dolmus from the bus station(actually around the corner from the bus station). Do not take a taxi or you will pay 17 lira for a 2 lira ride. Once out at the Aquarius, the best thing by far is the simple access to the sea. There is also a lovely, well kept pool on the grounds. However, be aware, there is a steep hill to maneuver to get to and from the hotel and the main road on the peninsula. Our double room was tiny. How tiny, you ask. Think of the old Marx Brothers scene when they try to fit people into their cabin/closet on their ship. It was tiny for two people. We ate both breakfast and dinner on site(actually I had a great dinner on one of the nights in town). The food is quite unremarkable and I strongly suggest eating in town. The staff is very inconsistent, from quite helpful to others seemingly put out when being asked to leave their non stop watching the internet. The public computer was broken. I think we could have done better, except for the access to the sea...

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Firstly, you need to be aware that this hotel is in te middle of nowhere. A long taxi from town.

You arrive and the first thing you note is the most depressing reception in the world. Bare. Rusting and paint crumbling. With a puppy that attempts to eat your shoes with the permission of the receptionist. If at any time the phone goes, the receptionist will answer and get you to wait for at least 5 minutes despite you being in the middle of checking-in or asking any questions.

Then finally you get to the room. Immediate issues:
1. Mosquito infested. And with broken mosquito repellents.
2. Light bulbs blown
3. Tv with a lot of poor reception.
4. Tiny tiny toilets with no ventilation.
5. Small rooms
6. Most rooms have no view.
7. Noisy neighbours
8. Dingey corridors.
9. Towels which leave you with lots of fluff. You look like a snowman.

With regards to the rest of the hotel:
1. Internet terminal is broken. You can only see the top half of the screen. Some of the staff were helpful in that they let you use their personal laptop.
2. Tired overworked staff. I saw them work all night than most of the day. No wonder they snap at you and curse you in Turkish for asking minor things.
3. Small pool.
4. Overgrown shrubs and trees.
5. Tiny tiny communal tv.
6. Mosquitos everywhere.

HOWEVER, there was one good aspect. The breakfast is nice.

In summary, the only reason why you might consider staying here is the price. But from moving around hotels in kas, the price is still above average. Most hotels do not have websites. I'd recommend not booking this place online unless you want to be sorely disappointed as due to huge levels of underinvestment and delapidation.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travellusted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We will definitely be going back to Aquarius: the staff can't do enough for you, the 'beach' may be paved but is clean, never crowded and the sea is wonderful; the breakfast selection is excellent, and the cleaners have a lot of patience. The pool - well we had it to ourselves several times! The room/balcony were adequate, but you can't expect the Ritz for the money. Go to the top of the hill to catch the public minibus (dolmus) to save a fortune on taxis - they go every half hour. However do beware the price of alcohol at the hotel (hence the 4 stars not 5 for value) - it is much much cheaper to go into Kas if you fancy a beer or 2; and if your mobility isn't good the slope would be a real challenge. We loved it, thank-you Corti and all the friendly staff! 'Freddie' & Robbie

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Our check in was delayed two hours to start with then the room was hot and very small with extremely poor lighting. The bathroom was back in back out. The beds were solid planks of marble and very uncomfortable. We opted to eat our evening meal, buffet style which was overly priced and of poor quality. The breakfast, included, was not much better. The only redeeming feature of the place was that it was a lovely location and the staff were very pleasant. Definitely will not return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burakco, Owner at Aquarius Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

This review is totatly ugly organised attack by the non stayed person. This person did not stayed in our hotel.
Check in delayed is not acceptable. We declare the c/in hours and it is a big lie.
The buffet can not be over priced because the guests use it if they like. Buffet is not an obligatory service which we provide.
I am not also agree with the reviews of the room. Guest room can not be so bad.
I am sure that this person is suspecious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Very nice hotel and surroundings.
It's build near the beach so you don't need to move your body many times.
From bed to breakfast, down to the beach area, and back again :)
The service is the best and the turkich peoples are very helpfull with everything.
We went in to Kas for Hamam. Don't forget the Turkish bath, it's healing for your body and soul. We also went on a boat trip to see the Sunken City in Kekova, that was exciting, and we got a historical information about this side of Turkey.
I and my family rekommend this place a lot!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
2.9 mi away
Aqua Princess Hotel
Aqua Princess Hotel
#19 of 49 in Kas
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.4 mi away
Club Capa Hotel
Club Capa Hotel
#37 of 49 in Kas
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.1 mi away
Villa Hotel Tamara
Villa Hotel Tamara
#33 of 49 in Kas
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#3 of 49 in Kas
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Hotel

Address: Cukurbag Yarimadasi, Dogan Kasaroglu Sokak, No: 6, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kas
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kas
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range: £41 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Aquarius is housed in a modern two-storey property overlooking the sea and a private beach with sunloungers and parasols. The hotel offers an outdoor pool with separate children's area, and there is also a poolside bar. There is a games room, TV room, and table tennis and billiards facilities. Complimentary parking is available onsite, and further amenities include concierge services, a safe-deposit box at the 24-hour front desk, and complimentary wireless Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aquarius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing