We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sail and See”
Review of Kekova Sound

Kekova Sound
Book In Advance
More Info
US$85.57*
and up
Sunken City Kekova, Demre, and Myra Day Tour from Belek
Ranked #3 of 42 things to do in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Sail and See”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The boat ride into Kekova Sound between the islands and out to “The Sunken City” was very relaxing, perfect after our long coach journey
The views of the mainland , particularly of the castle at Simena were beautiful as were the views of the islands. The sunken city was a slight disappointment as not much of it was clearly visible; however the ruins of the houses, steps and quaysides were rather splendid. The boat was not allowed to stop over the sunken ruins but moved extremely slowly so that we could at least see some of the buildings. We had a short break anchored in a small bay so that we could swim in the clear waters of the sound before returning to the jetty.
Unfortunately we couldn’t stay to enjoy the local hospitality and visit Simena Castle as we had to move on to our next stop.
Although Kekova is not close to the major resorts, it is worth the journey, particularly if the day out includes Myra and St Nicholas Church at Demre. We travelled from Side, more than 4 hours by coach, but our day was well worth the effort.
Perhaps the next time we visit Turkey we will stay in Lycia so that we can spend more time in this beautiful area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanda-Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    86
    25
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“See the Sunken City!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Take your own boat over the sunken city or go in a glass bottom boat an see the ruins below the surface. We were told on a clam day you dan see roads beneath you but |I have to say we have never done so. But along the edge there are old wharfs and ancient steps leading up the hill, and the remains of ruined houses. Fascinating!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GirdleTheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fascinating area”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My friend and i were approached by a captain who asked if we wanted to go out on his boat, for how long, and with others or on our own. we teamed up with a german couple and had a wonderful afternoon on the sea, visiting the sunken city and swimming in the clear water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blue Paradise”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I took a six-hour boat trip to this area and it was stunning. Wonderful water to swim in and lots of interesting stops along the way, starting in Ucagiz Village we went to Simena town and fort ruins, Burc Bay, stopped at another bay for a delicious home-made lunch made by a local Turkish woman, Pirate's Cove, Kekova Island's Ancient Sunken City and Aquarium Bay. The history and sparkling waters will live you mesmerized.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NapoletanaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great cruising ground”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were recommended Kekova Sound (Roads) by friends as we had our boat based at Kas marina. Just three hours south east of Kas is one of the most interesting cruising areas to date with secluded and safe nooks and bays for staying (anchoring) over night, lovely family run restaurants (if you like seafood) doted around and really interesting history.

Swimming is safe in clear water cooled by surfacing spring water but you must wear solid footwear if going ashore because of the sharp limestone rocks. Navigation is straight forward providing you read your charts and watch for the many rocky areas.

the only negative is that it can get crowded with Gulats so get to your evening destination reasonably early.

We spent five days there and will certainly return next season.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kekova Sound also viewed

Kas, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Kekova Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing