We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Location”
Review of Villa Hotel Tamara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Hotel Tamara
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We loved to stay in Tamara, the location is absolutely amazing. The hotel is beautiful as can be seen from the photos, staff is very friendly and helpful, foods are organic and tasty, the sea is crystal clean… We stayed in an old building which has an unusual design with a palm tree in the middle. It made us feel like a dream holiday. Our room was bigger than we thought and it just had a fantastic view with small islands and strong blue of the sea. As a small tip, if you would like to have a romantic time with your partner, it is great to watch stars from seaside at night time, there are million of them. To be honest, we don’t think we will ever stay in anywhere else in Turkey!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berke Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    44
    18
    10
    17
See reviews for
38
126
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Tamara is supported by the owner family with extremely high level of worldview and education (interior designers and architects). Their vision, directly effects in a very positive way to the quality of stay. Besides, the food service merits an exceptional compliment. The chief cook is very good in his job and you will love to swim, stay and also eat in Tamara.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twingotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

On the positive side: the hotel is located very nicely on the Kas peninsula with wonderful views of the sea. The platform built on the rocks near the sea is very nice for sunbathing and going for a swim. The other positive point is the staff in the restaurant and beach bar. They were all very friendly and helpful and tried their best to make up for the mistakes that were made by others. Unfortunately, the hotel left a lot to be desired. We booked a large room, and indeed the room was very large. However, the curtains in the room could not be closed, they were for decoration only. The bathroom was huge with a jaccuzi, but it was not possible to have a shower other than holding the shower head yourself. The bathroom had a huge window with sea view, and the toilet was positioned right in front of it. There were blinds in front of the window, but you are never quite sure whether the people below at the pool side could see you or not. As said the platform near the sea was very nice, but the sunbeds were worn and not exactly clean. There were some umbrella's, but not enough for all the hotel guests/sun beds and most of them were broken with iron poles sticking out. The platform is very unsuitable for small kids, as they can easily fall off into the water or onto the rocks below. The bar near the seaside does not provide much. There was only one physical copy of a lunch menu, and many items were not available. Most notably the whole pizza menu, as they simply did not serve them. The biggest disappointment was the restaurant/kitchen/meal service. Especially after the receptionist informed us at the time of arrival that they had an excellent chef. The first night we ate in the restaurant. Even though only two tables were occupied we waited more than an hour for our food. The food had Indian names (tikka and curry). It tasted nice but had nothing to do with Indian food. The next day at the bar, they ran out of burgers, there was no pizza, so the options became rather limited and again we waited for a long time. The day after, the food service did not start until 1 pm. With the usual waiting time, it was late before we were able to get some food. The very over priced salad was missing half of the ingredients (literally), what was left was some lukewarm leaves of green and a few pieces of brown colored apple. The reason being that the chef was ill and nobody in the kitchen knew how to make the salad.
The food is very over priced, even if it had been up to standard it was still much more expensive than what they serve in the town of Kas. The breakfast was ok, although not great. We stayed in high season, and you can expect to pay a bit more but I felt that the hotel as well as the food was very over priced. It was not very clean either and it left me with the impression that the management was trying to save on the costs at the expensive of their guests and their staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvKampen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I was especially happy with the staff working in the restaurant, salt-water pool, and a very nice garden. The hotel itself had also a very nice view and it was mostly nice and quiet. Ideal for couples, not families. The cleaning maids did a good job including putting some bougainvillea flowers on the bed, which was a nice surprise. However, I have some complaints to write down as a fussy person. Firstly, the unresponsive reception. We sent a couple of email to the reception about how to get to the hotel, or airport transfer, but received no reply, so you may need to chase them a bit more. They could have been more helpful. We have had trouble to connect to wifi whole time we have stayed. The evening meals were salty for us, and the prices were high for the quality. Since the hotel is on the peninsula, there are no other dinner options. You have to go to the town, as we did after the 2nd night. The hotel is located down a steep slope, so the best way to get to town is to take a taxi, which costs 25TL fixed price, fyi. Otherwise, you need to climb the slope to get a minibus. Mind you, I think we were a bit unlucky with our room; the glass on the toilet door was broken, also there was a broken lamp hanging on the wall. The walls were also thin which causes the sounds travelling between rooms. The water pressure was quite low. In addition, we have had water-cut twice in the week. Apart from that, you may also hear a laud bartender while swimming in the pool. If you are not turkish, you are lucky that you will not get those ugly slang words. Overall, it was a nice hotel, but they still have something to do in order to make it better than it is.

Room Tip: We were not very happy with our room T16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Entebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Tamara is set on the penisula of Kas and is a stunning location as all the pictures show. We stayed at the beginning of June at the start of the season (sorry its took so long to do this review) We were the only guests for a couple of days but the staff looked after our needs really well, but because all the staff were new they were learning as they went along which we found to be great fun never quite knowing what would arrive for breakfast and some things got lost in translation ! Evening meals were a challenge too, we ended up with so much food to eat, which is all really fresh and organic it made up for all the quirks. The rooms are of a really good size even the standard ones and are kept clean with fresh towels daily.
Overall we loved staying here and would like to return again soon,Kas is a nice town with harbour and is very Turkish which suits us we first visited 15 years ago and have been back a number of times since.
Thanks to the staff Sirhat ,Nargis and Isit plus everyone else who made our holiday so special.

Room Tip: all rooms are good ask for afront sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAQUIVIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We are a little biased, having been to this hotel at least 10 times over the years, which kind of speaks for itself. The location is idyllic, the family who own it are lovely as are the staff and for 2014 a new chef has improved the food immeasurably. In Kasim, they have a marvelous barman who is very well - and rightly - renowned in Kas. Some reviewers gripe about the reception arrangements, but the hotel is built on a very steep hill and you have to go down a few steps to find the (well signposted) reception - get over it! It is a wonderful hotel and the sheer number of repeat visitors speaks volumes. Book with confidence and rest assured - you will have a brilliant holiday!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickpmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is the second year that my girlfriend and I came here. We live and work in the United States and having a relaxing time in Turkey is very dear to us. The Tamara experience is one that we cherish. As a frequent business traveler I get to see a lot of hotels. The Tamara staff and service is professional, courteous and most importantly genuine. The owners are not looking to earrn your money; they are interested in ensuring that you have an unforgetable experience. Every day they strive to do the little extra things that make you feel welcome and valued as a customer.

The property is beautifully maintained, the food is freshly prepared to order, and the cocktail barmen have specials every day. If this is not enough, the view is simply spectacular: the Mediterreanean's waves are at your disposal, with the hotel's own private ocean deck.

I cannot envisage any reasonable person who will not leave Tamara wishing they could stay for more. I suspect there may be a few individuals, but this is their loss.

Thank you for two wonderful summers. Hope to see you next year!

Sinan

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciddisinan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
0.5 mi away
Lukka Exclusive Hotel
0.3 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cachet
Hotel Cachet
#6 of 45 in Kas
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aquarius Hotel
Aquarius Hotel
#19 of 45 in Kas
154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#7 of 45 in Kas
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hotel Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hotel Tamara

Property: Villa Hotel Tamara
Address: Cukurbag Yarimadasi Aydin Koker Sok. Kas Merkez, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kas
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Hotel Tamara 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In front of your eyes sprawls an endless blue atlas... An incredible festive mood, which is enlivened by the colours of nature ... A feeling that you've been missing, not knowing what it is, now gains in importance. Because you are where your dreams come true, at the Tamara. The happiness about being able to say, "What a fortune that, we came here!" Slowly covers you. Here you will have the good feeling to be among friends. On this piece of land that resembles heaven,we will make sure, thatyou enjoy a vacation with endless comfort. Make room in your mind for new happy memories. Because, you are not going to forget the Tamara for years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Hotel Tamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamara Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing