We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Place - Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Kas
Certificate of Excellence
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Amazing Place - Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for a week in August 2012 and it was simply amazing! We have stayed in some very special places in the world and this ranks in the top ten for us. I did a lot of research before booking this property (as I always do!) and nothing whatsoever disappointed! It exceeded my expectations. It was a 2 hour drive from the airport, which was very comfortable in an luxury air conditioned people carrier, and I think this distance from the airport is what is keeping Kas a bit more upmarket and special. I guess the transfer time is stopping developers from building big hotels there. The best places are off the beaten track sometimes! Booking through Exclusive Escapes ensured we were looked after in style through our transfers.

The location was spectacular - the way the hotel is designed, perched on a steep hillside, might not be suitable for those who cannot manage lots of steps, but it really does maximise the views. Most of the rooms (I think all of them actually) face the ocean in a westerly direction, so the sunsets are absolutely amazing - every evening we timed everything around either being on the balcony or in the bar - which overlooked the ocean - just so we could gaze at the sun going down! The rooms are built to look like little stone cottages and are very pretty, with lots of Bougainvillea flowers everywhere (the petals were sprinkled on the bed and in the bathroom when we arrived, which was a lovely, romantic touch!).

So much was right about this hotel, it's hard not to write too much. Gillian and Ozan are just the perfect hosts - very friendly and charming, there when you need them and to mingle during a pre-dinner drink, but discrete at all other times. Lovely people. They have 2 gorgeous dogs that I would have been happy to have by my side all holiday long, but again, they are around for just part of the day - checking over the guests, making sure we are all there! Amazingly, they know who are guests and who is not - they can spot people who are not booked in and will alert Gillian and Ozan by barking (such as people who call in and try to use the poolside bar) it's the only time they bark, not a problem at all but quite reassuring.

The restaurant was superb - especially breakfasts on the terrace - very relaxing. The staff are really great - great fun on Turkish evenings and really friendly all through the holiday. Every single member of staff we met was friendly and very efficient. The hotel is small - around 24 rooms only - and as such has an intimate boutique style which we really loved. In a major contrast to some of the huge hotels we have stayed in, which I don't think I ever want to stay in again after staying here!

Our room was very comfortable, very clean and very spacious, with lots of storage space and mirrors. The bathroom was also spacious and beautifully tiled in natural stone and a huge plate glass window above the bath with the same amazing view of the ocean as the bedroom. The bedroom had almost a wall of windows facing the ocean with the balcony there, in the morning it was wonderful to wake up to the amazing sea view - I'll never forget that.

The pool was lovely, nice and quiet, with very few children, so it was peaceful. Great poolside drinks service. You could walk down through the lovely gardens to a bar and restaurant just above sea level, which served gorgeous lunches and drinks. There are areas carved out of the rock for sunbathing on comfortable sun loungers with umbrellas and we never had a problem finding beds available either there or round the pool. You could climb down steps to swim in the ocean and out to a pontoon, which was wonderful - particularly as the sea was incredibly warm! There are canoes to use but we didn't use them.

They have a courtesy bus to take you to the local town of Kas - too far to walk but just a few minutes in the minibus. Kas is SO beautiful, we totally fell in love with it! Not a bit like the commercialised areas in other parts of Turkey, it was relatively compact and the shops, bars and restaurants all of a really good standard, all lovely quality things to buy, great dining and of course the wonderful Turkish hospitality - serving Turkish tea in all the shops - was a real treat! We soaked it all up and can't wait to return! The town was lovely to wander around on an evening - a great atmosphere - and during the day it was equally nice, with a different atmosphere and the weekly local market was very colourful and fun!

Included in the holiday was a Gulet boat trip which was FAR far better than we ever could have expected! Nothing like the usual boat trips. We ended up going on another one before the holiday ended as it was SO good. A large yacht with only a small party, few enough to ensure there was plenty of space on board, but enough to make a good group for socialising. I think there was 9 of us in total on a huge boat! The food served on board was absolutely amazing - a Turkish banquet! The boat stopped at various beautiful bays for swimming from the boat, which was wonderful in the warm sea and we saw some turtles swimming near us. The scenery was beautiful.

Steve, the tour rep, was a really nice guy and very helpful in making sure we made the most of our stay in Kas. He was at the hotel every day and was so friendly, clearly part of the community and well liked by everyone there.

We only had one very, minor issue when we were there, in that the aircon in our room wasn't working so well after a couple of days, I'm sure we could have managed with it and wasn't even going to mention it, but while chatting to Ozan I did and he fixed it literally immediately! I'm pleased in a way that it went wrong, as it demonstrated how incredibly attentive Ozan was in fixing the problem so promptly, so I know if anything wasn't right anywhere on site, I'm sure he would sort it out swiftly.

If you have the opportunity to stay at this amazing place, don't pass it up - you will not be disappointed!

If you're reading this Gillian and Ozan - thank you SO much for a very special holiday! We are the family from the North East who surprised you!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms nearer the centre of the hotel, as the views are amazing from any level, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    46
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
137
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

The Denez Feneri Lighthouse in Kas was simply amazing. What a setting! The staff was amazing and the all inclusive breakfast was so healthy and enjoyable every morning. The access to the quaint town of Kas every evening for dinner was another unexpected highlight and experience. Great variety of restaurants and shops to browse in. I booked this vacation via Exclusive Escapes in Great Britain. We followed up our 1 week stay in Kas with one of their gullet cruises up the Turkey coast for 7 days. Impeccable service and attention to detail! One of my best vacations ever!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FactChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Spent a week here in July but just got round to doing a review. Gillian and Ozan are great hosts making you feel very welcome as soon as you arrive. What can I say if you want a relaxing holiday with great views and food come here. Steve is absolutely fantastic making sure you are happy. Went down to Kas town a couple of times and it is absolutely great atmosphere good little restaurants etc. I must say Exclusive Escapes go one step further with their hospitality from the minute you get to Stanstead in the beautiful lounge onto the great plane food etc better than Ive ever had on any airline. The two hour drive from the airport is a bit of a pain but well worth it with the views and when you reach the destination. The rooms are magnificent overlooking the sea and absolutely spotless. We were given two beach towels to take home and they are not cheap and a lovely bottle of olive oil. These little touches make all the difference and I wouldnot hesitate recommending this hotel. One thing if you cannot do steps this is not the place for you but otherwise book and go!!

Room Tip: We had a room just by the restaurant the higher ones would be great but lots of steps so you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and had a magnificent time at the hotel - the place was beautiful, the staff attentive and the food excellent! We loved our stay and couldn't fault it. The excellent night-time activities were greatly appreciated, especially the magical sea-side dining (although bring mosquito repellent!)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

We travelled here back in July and onyl just got around to writing the review.

About a 2 hour trip by minibus from Dalaman airport which was just about the limit.

The hotel is split into several little stone buildings built into the hillside. The whole build quality is excellent and it looks like its kept in first class condition. The photos on TA are spot on and reflect an incredbily relaxing and scenic place. Staff very friendly and always helpful. Food, whether lunch time snacks or evening meals superb!

We felt like it was a 5* experience for 4* money - fab job and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riverhouse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We spent two wonderful weeks here in August through tour operator, Exclusive Escapes. It would be hard to think of any way to improve on it. Gillian and Ozan welcome their guests like valued friends and the hotel has a unique relaxed style backed up with incredible attention to detail that is evident in every aspect of yor experience, from the warmth and friendliness of every member of staff, through to high standards of cleanliness, generosity of breakfast buffet with freshly squeezed orange juice, home made bread, and made to order omelettes and pancakes, sumptuous barbecue and Turkish themed evenings, abundant pool and beach towels, cool water dispensers etc.
The setting is beautiful with pretty gardens spilling down the hillside to the sea. The only caveat would be that you need to be fairly fit and able to manage the steep steps and to hoist yourself up and down the ladders into the sea. Not suitable for small children.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, Kentucky
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed three nights at this beautiful British run villa. It is a beautiful drive on a winding costal road that is lined with Oleander and Bougavilla flowers of all colors. The hotel staff is second to none and is some of the best that we have run across in all of our wordly travels. Alot of thought was put in the details and design and layout across this villa. Amazing photo shots are everywhere and you will be wowed by the beautiful and the greek look of this location. One of the high lights was waking up every morning was to the view of the ocean with is deep blue color coming in through your room as well as over looking the jaccuzi tub. We had an amazing Haman Bath and massage in a solid marble round room with a dome canopy that was simply gorgeous. The infinity pool was breathtaking and enjoyed by our family. This is an expensive hotel but probably the best you can do on the southern coast of Turkey. The breakfast was the best we had in Turkey. We drove into the town of Kas and enjoyed all the food and atmosphere that this charming seaside town offered. You will fall in love in Kas if you stay in this villa. 5 Star all the way.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimles7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lukka Hotel
Lukka Hotel
#2 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Gardens Hotel
3.0 mi away
Hotel Club Barbarossa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Sonne
Hotel Sonne
#1 of 44 in Kas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mavilim Hotel
Mavilim Hotel
#4 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hideaway Hotel
Hideaway Hotel
#3 of 44 in Kas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deniz Feneri Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deniz Feneri Lighthouse

Property: Deniz Feneri Lighthouse
Address: Andifli Mahallesi, Metin Toker Sokak, No:9, Kas 07580, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kas
#6 Family Hotel in Kas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary waterfront hotel has sweeping coastal views and awe-inspiring sunsets which reflect off the water. It has an intricate design of natural stone buildings with paths leading from the reception area through a series of pretty terraces - past several pools, garden terraces and impressive palm trees - to either the Waterfront Suites above or to the extensive private waterfront below. At a glance, the cool combination of natural stone with red roof tiles creates the impression of a mediaeval-style village - but Deniz Feneri is rather more up to the minute than that. Thanks to the considerable efforts of owners, Gillian and Ozan, the contemporary boutique hotel offers one of the finest places to relax and unwind in coastal Turkey. With a quality of service to match. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Deniz Feneri Lighthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Kas
Deniz Feneri Lighthouse Hotel Kas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing