We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Viking Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Viking Hotel
Ranked #80 of 279 Hotels in Kemer
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

It was our first stay in Kemer have been to Turkey previously but never to an all inclusive hotel. The three of us (me, my partner and our six year old son) thoroughly enjoyed ourselves everything about the hotel was perfect, but we would have liked a bit more entertainment on at night to make it even more perfect.

Jane, Allan & Adam. Liverpool

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayjay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    67
    44
    18
    10
See reviews for
65
71
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had a spare week so my wife and i decided to have a quick week away in Turkey, we normally fly into Dalaman and stay in the Dalyan area but this was a short quicky break and so we just crossed our fingers and went.
I have read the previous review by the lovely Francis Higgins whom I had the pleasure of meeting whilst at the hotel and have to say that we agreed with him 110 %.
We would just be repeating what he has covered, which would bore readers, surfice to say that this hotel is really great, its clean, tidy, friendly staff, great food that was healthy and fresh, not the normal "everything with chips" !!
My wife and I have visited Turkey on many occassions and visited many hotels, but here we found nothing to complain about , we had a great week, and are looking forward to visiting again next year........10 out of 10 GO FOR IT !!!! :) Dave & Nicola Moreland, Norwich.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the mountains,not the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greenjacket999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We are a week into a two week holiday and I wanted to post this as this hotel is a 'wee gem,' and some of the reviews we read before coming here were a bit over the top in their criticism and wanted to reassure people coming out on a well earned holiday that they picked a winner here!

The Hotel is medium sized and aimed towards families who don't want the 3am disco blasting out, and couples or groups who want a nice relaxing holiday with hotel staff who actually want to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Its not a big super hotel with millions of people and vast receptions and queues for everything, its not 5 stars but feels like it and we have been around Turkey and paid a lot more for a lot, lot less.

Basics: Room modern clean, cleaned every day with fresh towels etc tele, full new and working air con, nice beds, hairdrier for the missus. View: over the mountain and halls carpeted throughout and very, very clean. A reception who are really helpful with someone always on hand who has a decent command of English language to help.

Facilities: Medium sized pool with a reasonable floom slide for the kiddies and really clean (I watched them check the pool on a few occasions this week.) Air conned lounge, Turkish themed Internet room that doubles as a quiet place and small shop that has reasonable prices, with a shop keeper who does not follow you around the place. Big TV in lounge showing Olympics, few British here and no Irish mostly Dutch, French and Russian (but for once it looks as though we have discovered one of their hidden gems.) All the staff dealing with guests speak English or will get someone who does. There are no queue's here for anything and its down to the staff not the lack of guests who just fill the hotel but it does not feel packed. There is the usual place towels ritual but only to get the right spot, nobody goes without and the pool's location means you can catch a (slight) breeze or roast in the sun. There is a shuttle bus to the beach during the day and to Kemer in the evening that will also pick you up at 11pm or its about £4 in a taxi back for the party dudes.)

Bar; as much decent beer and good vodka etc as you can drink (vodka review from my missus,) wine on tap and a bar staff who are actually nice and don't appear to be doing you a favour by serving you as we have found in some '5' star hotels. Bar wraps up at 11pm but you can stock up before hand if you want to hammer your liver and if you run out the drinks are cheap (and about a third of the price in Kemer.) Ice Lollies and after time bar etc charged to room. Special mention to the bar dudes who make sure you get served with a genuine smile within two shakes of a lambs tail.

Food: As good as we have tasted anywhere in Turkey and that includes very, very expensive restaurants in Istanbul and elsewhere. Had hamburgers tonight with tomatoes, mayo, onion and that was cooked by the chef at the poolside with a good selection inside including soup, meats, chips, lasagne, and lots more including a vast salad choice. The sweet is Turkish pastries that actually taste nice rather than bland, again another first! There is a much tea coffee, cold water, juice as you can drink from 8am - 11pm.

Trips: Went to Antallia market, sights and restaurant for a tenner (2pm - 11pm.) Good value and the shop dudes here do take no for an answer. The restaurant was organized by tour guide Touran who delivers exactly what it says on the tin and the food (a really nice steak) was good and cheap too. Did Roman ruin and theatre trip including lunch and a lovely waterfall you can walk under and a good lunch for £45. If you are into Roman history worth it or visit the waterfalls on their own because it is a truly peaceful place.

Hotel Staff: Been around the block on holidays from the early 90s and these are the nicest people we have come across, it does not appear to be the usual 'act.' They will help when you need it from brollies blowing over at the pool to slips trips and falls and they work all the hours to do so.

Music; Off at 12am and the usual stuff during the day.

Location: It is a forced march or two day's camel ride to anywhere but there is a shuttle bus that is new and not a Dolmus with a record from the Guinness Book of Records for the number of people 'inserted' into a small space. A word of warning though, beware of those who come from different cultures who are not used to the concept of a queue. Nice quite place with a nice view of a forest leading up to a mountain (beware of the mozzies though as usual.)

Kemer: Beware of the bars and restaurants as they will charge you way over the odds (68 Lira for two cocktails and two pints.) The shop keepers again seem to take no for an answer.

Overall this is a wee gem with a nice crowd, staff excellent and clean nice rooms and it is in Turkey so expect a different culture. If you want a Brit culture, try a 'stay-cation' to Blackpool as you won't find it here and complain about the weather instead.

For clarification we have no connection with this hotel or travel company whatsoever I can assure you, but we do know a good hotel from a bad one. Holiday here and you have picked up a 'wee gem' believe me.

Francis Higgins
Belfast

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ward_K_Survivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

I always look on trip advisor before going away places and always get put off by the negative comments so i will try and be as honest as possible about this hotel.

I cannot express enough how much time and effort the cleaners make every day to keep the hotel looking spotless! you never went through the lobby and there wasn't a cleaner hoovering, dusting, and cleaning in some way. They deserve a medal!! The rooms were always cleaned to high standard and they even tidy your stuff neatly which was a nice touch!

As for the rooms, we unfortunately had to move on our second night because of a nasty smell, but i wont complain because the reception team were really lovely, and moved all our stuff for us whilst we were out on an excursion so we didn't need to worry too much. It wasn't any bother for them which was nice! The second room was lovely, and overlooked the pool.

Coming onto the outside area, because this is where you'll spend most of your time probably! The pool is lovely! The hotel is situated in a little sun trap so it does get really hot, but the pool is so refreshing. It also has a slide that is open twice a day for a few hours each time. Enough sunbeds to go around and again, really clean. The pool bar is in the corner, and serves pepsi fanta sprite beer wine gin vodka and raki within the all inclusive concept. They have an indoor pool with a sauna and fitness suite and also facilities on site for a turkish bath with massage and facial for about £20. They also have a turkish house with a lady that sits in there twice a day, and makes pancakes with your choice of potato, cheese or sugar which are really nice, and also included in the all inclusive.

As for the food, if you are expecting sausage bacon eggs etc then you should probably go to spain or something.. lol! Breakfast mainly consisted of boiled eggs, some form of hot meat and a selection of cold meats, bread, cereals etc. Lunch and dinner very similar with pastas, chicken and beef dishes and usual salads bread etc. A couple of the nights we had kebab meat served outside which was lovely, and grilled fish also. It's not the best food, and you will proably want to eat out a few times just for a bit of variety but eating out is pretty cheap anyway!

Kemer town is lovely, with a free shuttle bus to and from the beach/town and hotel. If you have never been to Turkey then be careful in the shops as shop owners can be quite rude if you choose not to buy something. But that may only be my experiences. The hotel states that they have a private beach, but don't get your hopes up. its just like any other beach with lots of people, and its quite stoney sand so we only went once. It also says the beach is only 900m away but to walk it would take you a lot longer as the hotel is situated in the corner, through road of villas etc. Shuttle bus is frequent though, so if you time things right you should be ok!!

As from previous reviews, then entertainment isn't all that great, but when they do do a night, they do it well! Turkish night Monday nights with dancers fireworks etc, and a live DJ set on Thursdays and i think a clown night for the kids on a wednesday or something. There's music at night played through speakers, so there's always something to just sit a listen to whilst you have a drink.

Just a bit of publicity for an excursion company in town. If you want to book any excursions then DONT book through your rep. you get exactly the same trip for at least half the price in town. When you get dropped off at the bus stop and walk up the main bit of town, on your left not too far up is a little shop with a very friendly old man. GO IN. he is so lovely, and doesn't pressurise you into buying anything so i would definitely recommend going with him!

Apart from that, i don't think there's anything else left to talk about. I have written quite a lot, and been honest so hopefully it has been helpful! i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking into the area. We werent expecting it to be so nice so we were very happy with how friendly the staff were. We were two of very few british people there however, so if this doesn't appeal to you then maybe this area isn't for you.. I would suggest looking into Bodrum more.

Hope this has helped! Enjoy your holiday!

Room Tip: pool view rooms on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor do not get sun, but the 4th does. You can't hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

there was not much animation only in the evening. Turkish night was great. it is a small hotel and everyone know each other after a week. the staff were friendly and the room was clean but it is not a 4 stars hotel just 3 stars.
Greetz from holland,
Nick van Berkel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NvB_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at this hotel. As a very fussy eater and very unwilling to try "new dishes" I ate well every day, maybe not what I would choose at home but you cant expect that on continental holidays, but the food I did eat was delicious. The hotel is spotless and all the staff were the friendliest we have ever met on any holiday. Not much in the line of entertainment, just two nights per week, but that suited us for a nice peaceful holiday all music stopped by midnight so no problem sleeping in the air conditioned rooms. Free shuttle bus to take you to and from the beach or centre on a regular basis. A very big thank you to the owner of the hotel, Hassan and all the team that made our holiday a truly wonderful experience. Without a doubt I would recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a peaceful break in the sun.

Steve & Babs Roberts, Rochdale.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We took a risk in choosing one of the cheapest hotels on offer within Kemer. But to our joy it was not a risk at all. The service and appearance of the hotel was amazing. The food was to die for (A true ottoman cuisine each and every day, in a rather large portion open buffet) and the helpfulness of the entire staff was exemplary. The hygiene and cleanliness of the hotel was also to a very high standard. If we choose to return to Kemer in the future, The Grand Vikin hotel would be our first option.

Room Tip: Rooms with the balcony are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WesleyandRabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kemer hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Havana
Hotel Havana
#117 of 279 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iko Melisa Garden
Iko Melisa Garden
#69 of 279 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Viking Nona Hotel
Viking Nona Hotel
#46 of 279 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Viking Star Hotel
Viking Star Hotel
#34 of 279 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Lukullus Hotel
Grand Lukullus Hotel
#125 of 279 in Kemer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Lotus Hotel
Golden Lotus Hotel
#70 of 279 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Viking Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Viking Hotel

Property: Grand Viking Hotel
Address: Ataturk Cad. No:117 Kemer Merkez, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kemer
#72 Luxury Hotel in Kemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Viking Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Viking Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Viking Kemer
Hotel Grand Viking
Grand Viking Hotel Kemer, Turkey - Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing