We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated, not worth the money”
Review of Viking Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Viking Star Hotel
Ranked #34 of 282 Hotels in Kemer
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“overrated, not worth the money”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

All in all it was a disappointment. The staff in the hotel has some issues with the discrimination, the guests from Germany and other European countries were checked in first, even though we arrived way earlier. The hotel is located very far from the beach, it's the worst location in the whole city, but they have a free bus to the beach. The bar at the beach is extra cost, even the drinking water, and the prices are not justified. The hotel staff isn't kind at all and barely speaks English, no one ever smiles to you (especially reception), except the housekeeper and the girl from the aqua aerobics were very friendly. The bar choices were very poor, no cocktails at all.

Also on my birthday, Katerina from the guests relations promised us a birthday cake in the main restaurant, but in the evening the restaurant staff was too busy to pay us any attention at all, not saying about the birthday cake.

Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoria m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja R, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Star Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Victoria,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. I am sorry that you did not get your Birthday cake. I think their must have been a misunderstanding between you and me,maybe you did not understand me right when I said please say to the Restaurant manager where you table is. I talked to the Restaurant manager and the Kitchen your cake was ready for you, but they did not get any Information from you where you sit. I reassure you our guests are very important for us and also if we have busy days we always take care and try to make our guests happy!

We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    254
    80
    41
    33
See reviews for
240
303
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Viking Star AUgust 2013 (sorry for the late review!). We had a truly wonderful stay here. The Entertainment team were incredible. I don't know where they found their energy! They were always on the go, always smiling and could not do enough to entertain you. The bar staff were also friendly and accomodating. The mountain views from the pool are stunning. There is a brilliant spa in the hotel too, and I had 3 lovely treatments which rivalled spa days I have had in London! There was also a mini club/disco in the basement which was a lot of fun.

The only negative for me was the food was not very exciting and was the same almost every day, so it got a little boring. The hotel is also close to a mosque too so you have the chanting 5 times a day, which woke me up every night. Some people say they got used to it in the end but I have to admit I didn't! But it certainly never spoilt our holiday and it really is a lovely hotel, made extra special by its awesome staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MimigraceEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja R, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Star Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind review!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and I will share your review with the staff.
I also thank you for the amendment concerning the food of course I will discuss this with the responsible manager.I would like to reassure you that your views do matter to us, we particularly value your insights.

Unfortunately I cannot change the volume down at the mosque and eighter their times, as you already mentioned some get used to it and unfortunately some do not, but I really hope this will not discourage you from a second stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Gaddesden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you're expecting a full English breakfast with fried eggs, bacon and Heinz baked beans; a pie and chips at the pub down the road at lunch with English beer; staff speaking fluent English to you as if he was born in your street, this is not the hotel for you. Please bear in mind, this is a hotel in Turkey who recruit mostly Turkish staff and - believe it or not - has Turkish food, which is eaten by a variety of holidaymakers from a variety of nations.
We spent 14 nights in this beautiful hotel, with a view of the mountains only ever seen before on postcards. Last year we went to Majorca which was good but it didn't feel like a foreign holiday, but this certainly did. I tried some foods I have never tried before, I'm definitely going to be eating Fried Zucchini again. The buffet advertises a different variation every night. There have been some people on here slagging the hotel off for using flour in their food, all the dishes says if it contains flour or egg or wheat etc. Overall the food is superb, from soup to dessert it was a great meal every night. The beer was surprisingly decent for a country 20 years ago, was nowhere to be seen in the mind of a Brit going on holiday.

A genuine highlight of our stay was the staff and other guests. Special mentions deservedly go out to Soner, Emir, Dogus, Kristina and Alex, the hard-working and friendly Entertainment team. Every Monday through Saturday Emir and Dogus join in with the Water Polo which is really fun (make Sunday you're beach day) and there is a form of entertainment every Monday through Saturday. The bar staff, the receptionists, the cleaners are all well mannered and will do whatever is in their power for you. Special mention to Katja, who you should go to on your first day as she will answer ANY problems as her role as Guests Relations Manager, she speaks very good English despite being Danish and nothing is too much for her.
The mosque sounds 5 times a day - but don't let that put you off, it's a vital part of a Turkish holiday. Turkey is a Muslim country where prayers and Mosques are essential, it's part of their culture and I, for one, came to experience their culture. And we never really noticed it, it's like a car driving past your house.
There is a strip of convenience shops just in front of the hotel and the main area with all the shops is a two minute walk to the right past the clock tower. The hotel provides two shuttle buses to the beautiful beaches just down the road (sandy and pebble beaches) every half an hour which picks you up at the door.
To wind up: This hotel is where a holidaymaker going to Turkey should be seriously considering. It has the satisfying flavour of various European nationalities and Turkish authentication. If you are expecting English food, English drink and everyone speaking fluent English stay at home or go to Benidorm. This is for people who aren't afraid of experiencing a FOREIGN holiday. Enjoy yourselves. We are certainly coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja R, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Star Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sam and Family,

We would like to thank you for your great feedback regarding our hotel.

We are so happy that you have spent a lovely time in our hotel and it was a real pleasure to host you. I shared your review with all the staff you mentioned and I and all the staff would like to say Thank You! We had a really nice time also with you!

We hope that you will visit us once more in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saulkrasti, Latvia
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

09.08.-16.08 We spent 7 nights at the Viking Star hotel. Not 5* hotel, but 3*+. Nice hotel, with good animation ( expecially friendly Catherina) and delicious food. Staff was very friendly.
Bad location, its not 500m from seaside, but 3km, you can also drive by bus, just have to check a time desk. Very small theritory, not much to do for 14 years old guy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yusuf Zİya K, Front Office Manager at Viking Star Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We always think that your reviews give us the chance of monitoring how successfull we are. We hope to see you in our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We went to this hotel as it was an option for the last minute trip honeymoon. The price was reasonable and it supposed to be 5 stars) But this hotel is situated in the furthest location from the sea in the whole Kemer. The stone beach is much further away than 700 m (it was said so in the description of our trip),it was abt 12 min walk, the sand beach is 10 min away by bus. Also drinks are not free at the beach.The buses from the hotel go to beaches not so frequently. The pool in the hotel closes at 7, as they arrange dinner tables around it. Which is a bit early for the pool to be closed, but that's how it is. The rooms were clean and tidy, the room service was very nice.The mosque is nearby to the hotel, and singing is so loud,that we woke up at 4 am every morning)) Also the walls are very thin,so we could hear neighbours talking even. That is not said anywhere when you are up to book this hotel! The entertainment was very good, we enjoyed it.The restaurant buffet was good,except fruits (they were all green impossible to eat and so few!). But until the last firewall dinner, as after this dinner we had the flight back to Sweden, and we didn't eat anywhere else. Something went wrong with the food- was not washed properly or not well cooked etc.,as my husband and me felt sick the next 3 days, having diarrhea. Don't recommend this hotel. There are many much better for the same money!

Room Tip: Pool view is much better, then the one to a parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenasun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja R, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Star Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Helena,

We do value your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to get in touch. It is very important for us to see our guests happy all the time. It is therefore disappointing to hear that you did not feel comfortable all the time.

Our hotel has official 4.5 stars category. In all our hotel brochure we inform our potential guests, that our hotel is next to a mosque, unfortunately I cannot change the volume down at the mosque and eighter their times, it belongs to the Turkish culture, also we inform that drinks and food are not included on the beach, we provide free transfer, sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach, but I really hope this will not discourage you from a second stay with us.

I would like to reassure you that your views do matter to us, we particularly value your insights. Your reviews have been recorded and will be considered, at a manager meeting.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our first trip to Turkey and it was exactly what we wanted.
The hotel is situated near the town center and even if it's not near the beach, they have a shuttle that can take you to the beach.
It's a nice hotel with nice rooms and friendly staff. The food is good, you have plenty choices to choose from and, considering the serving hours, there is almost always something to eat :) There are also enough choices for the drinks.
There was one day in which there a was a very bad smell in the hotel, but the problem was resolved.
If you are a couple be sure to let them know before you check in, because when we got there, our room was with twin beds and we had to wait around 1 hour so they can change the bed arrangement.
Beside the bed misunderstanding and the bad smell incident we had no problems during our stay. If you don't have very high standards, this hotel will suit you well.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to the pool and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katja R, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Star Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Marius,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you have spent a lovely time in our hotel. It was a real pleasure to host you.

We are looking forward to welcome you very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

A scale of 1* to 5*
Hotel location -4*
Rooms -3*+ ,but rooms with view to pool is 4*
Rooms service -5*, everyday clean
Looby hotel -3*+,Look old.
Service team from hotel-4*+
entertainment- 5*. Very good for kids.
Beach with transfer- sunday beach is the best. Not free drink to beach.
Restaurant buffet -3* look old.
Breakfast-4*
Lunch -3*
Dinner-3*+
Snack- 3*
Drink- 4* ( coca cola, fanta , sprite, tuborg)
Pool-4*

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Repede R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yusuf Zİya K, Front Office Manager at Viking Star Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing Viking Star Hotel. We know how essential your reviews are and we hope to see you in our hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kemer hotels
0.4 mi away
Viking Nona Hotel
Viking Nona Hotel
#54 of 282 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meder Resort Hotel
Meder Resort Hotel
#44 of 282 in Kemer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ozkaymak Marina Hotel
Ozkaymak Marina Hotel
#35 of 282 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Viking Hotel
Grand Viking Hotel
#90 of 282 in Kemer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fame Residence Kemer & SPA
0.5 mi away
L'Ancora Hotel
L'Ancora Hotel
#40 of 282 in Kemer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Star Hotel

Property: Viking Star Hotel
Address: Ataturk Bulvari Yeni Mah 4/1 | Yeni Mahalle 4, Kemer 07980, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kemer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Kemer
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Kemer
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kemer
#32 Luxury Hotel in Kemer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Viking Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Viking Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Star Kemer
Hotel Viking Star
Viking Star Hotel Kemer, Turkey - Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing