We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Laphetos Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #298 of 331 Hotels in Manavgat
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

For sure not a 5 stars hotel. This was our 3rd trip to Turkey. The only bad experience and last time going there. To many children and wild Russians. Food was mainly same every day. Pasta , rice . occasionally fish and chicken wings. Al food had no taste, so was the vegetable and fruits. All fruits could be used as cucumbers, we could not taste the difference. So was the peaches or apricots. The desserts were terrible, besides the Turkish specialties, once in our week stay. Breakfast consist on 3 kinds of cheese , 2 kind of salami the cheapest possible. Probably processed fat in a round shape of a salami. Same thing everyday. Cereals and eggs.
Trip from the airport takes 2 hours with a must stop in the middle of nowhere , just to spend some money to buy something. Obviously this stop is an understanding between the bus company and the restaurant. There were more children in the hotel than adults. Therefore the atmosphere was like children camp. Bad organization regarding the nighttime grill, which alternate daily with fish , ground meat and chicken the whole week. Just one person was cooking and serving at the same time the entire hotel, this was the reason for long lines at all time. Unless you pay extremely cheap , this place is to avoid. All those comments we make due to comparing with the other trips before in Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MIrcea-_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    32
    38
    32
    69
See reviews for
122
33
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Hotel reception staff very friendly and helpful ,two speak very good english .Hotel clean and rooms very roomy but are so many in Turkey so nothing special ..
the hotel is situated between alanya and manvagat both only a short bus ride away with side just a little further ,cheap enough by bus if you want to get away from the hotel for while (and you will )
we found the food very bland and lacking variety with the main selection being fish or chicken for the whole time we stayed ,no kids menu . so they lived on chip's mainly
and served at luke warm temp which we found rather worrying !!
forget the a'lecarte only the fish one open in the 1st week then closed the 2nd !!
the swimming pools are large and well maintained ,with plenty of sun loungers available probably because there were few people when we stayed
the water slides were great source of entertainment for the kid's in fact the only entertainment ,because it all ended when we arrived . No kids club, No evening show's infact we never been on a holiday where the kid's have been so bored and early to bed !!!
if you're looking for a beach holiday forget it ,sand and shingle which is a bit hard on you're feet ,plenty of sun loungers and a covered area if you want to relax in the shade
not the nice'st of beaches been to worse though ..
not to put the hotel on a complete downer , if you want a quite relaxing hol in clean comfortable surroundings ,where the staff are friendly and polite and you don't mind being in the minority then give it a visit (but only if you had it really cheap )
but for us with children ,No kids club,No daily entertainment and the evening entertainment non existant also, it was hard work ..
the kid's struggled with the food and we had enough of the endless servings of chicken by the end of the stay ..
we have been to Turkey for last 7yrs and this is the worst place we have stayed and dont want to return nxt year ,Spain or greece next time ..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vectra988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Manavgat hotels

Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2010

no one speaks english even the reseption dosnt understand its all for the russians and they are extreamly rude animation team try there best and a selected few bar staff were great the rest were very rude hotel wasnt bad but no way was it 5 stars the whole hotel had an upset tummy bug but no one could get to the bottom of it the food was terrible they wer no selection of drinks apart from beer gin vodka wisky if you have a complaint theres no point going to reception they cant understand you there were only our group of enlish at this hotel and you could tell they didnt want us there lucky there was fourteen of us there so we made our own enjoyment woulnt recomend this hotel to anyone stay clear its in the middle of nowhere no shops for at least 5 mile elaine davie

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank elainedavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Although our 3-bedded room (for which we had to pay extra) was not suitably prepared - with only 2 beds, towels, glasses, etc - and although the layout of the hotel at first reminds one of "Cell Block H", the staff were very friendly and eventually brought additional equipment etc. soon after arrival.
The cleanliness at the hotel was excellent although could have much better at the beach. The food was great as well, although very limited at the beach. You had to walk down to the beach early to reserve beds under the shade and many of the parasols available for the pool were unusable - perhaps this will be sorted for the start of the next season? But it is so hot there, even in September (and even during the evenings when cardigans, etc are definitely not required outside) that people move away from the pool and, kindly, many remove their towels so you can usually find a suitable sunlounger with shade at some part of the day. The towels are provided and replaced each day, but are past their sell-by date and are small and usually threadbare, so I would advise taking your own!
Not surprisingly, the evening entertainment in the ampitheatre was rubbish apart from the Sunday evening when a Turkish dance troupe came in. It would have been nice to have a pianist in the bar or lounge area where there were plenty of comfy seats but nothing to do but watch Turkish TV. There are modern TVs in the rooms, by the way, but it is impossible to get anything in English, not even BBC World!
There are few British, or even Europeans there - mostly Russian and Turkish guests who were generally extremely rude, especially to the staff who all seemed to hate them, even their own countrymen!
Restaurant staff are great and most of the bar staff are great, although we found one or two a bit grumpy and mean with the spirits. A "cocktail of the day" was available for those on the "Ultra All Inclusive" package but this varied according to who was serving and just seemed to be made up as they went along, resembling none we have ever sampled before! The wine served was pretty dire.
The hotel is somewhat isolated, alongside a busy dual carriageway, although you can get a taxi or dolmus to venture into the nearest resort Alara where there are some hotels, bars and cafes, or even further afield. There is a modern shopping centre in Alara as well with ?270 shops but we didn't get time to see that having alighted from the dolmus when we saw the Alara Bazaar market sign with covered market stalls set up on the left just about 3 kms from the hotel. Be warned: as you get off the dolmus at that stop that you have to climb over the crash barrier in the middle of the dual carriageway to get to the market! You can barter with the stallholders - all the usual sort of stuff you find in Turkey. The one cafe there on the right rips you off so ask the price of drinks before they serve you!
We went with no great expectations of hotel entertainment and the immediate surroundings and, having read the reviews, were a bit worried about the food. But, all in all, we greatly enjoyed our week's holiday there; we had lovely varied food, adequate drink (free bottles of water supplied in your fridges every day) and had a relaxing week in the sun in a decent bedroom with a balcony and sea view. For the price paid, we were satisfied; we knew before we travelled that this wasn't going to be equivalent of a 5* cruise!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 77bargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We have just returned from our holiday and even though we had an enjoyable time, it was not what we expected. Information led us to believe that the hotel was situated in Side and bars, restaurants and shops were all nearby, this is not correct, we were approximately 40 minutes drive from Side and it took 2 buses to get there plus a 15-20 minute walk, not ideal as we were traveliing with an elderly lady with limited mobility. The hotel was very clean, rooms good standard, food adequate but generally used by Russians and Germans - whom were very rude, ignorant and extremely greedy. Plenty of space around the pool and beach and friendly staff. If you are just looking at a holiday lying around the beach/pool then we would recommend it, but if you want a little more than avoid this hotel as the taxi's are not cheap either.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

I have just returned from an all-inclusive one-week stay at Laphetos with 7 members of my family/friends - aged from 28 - 75 years old.

THE GOOD POINTS:

Overall, this hotel is a really great place to stay! It is very clean, with (mostly) friendly + helpfull staff. Infact, it seemed that once they realised you are British, the staff went out of their way to be friendly :) My familly had an excellent time!
The rooms are comfortable and a good size, with mini bar/air-con/hairdryer/bathroom/balcony. There is a safe in each room but you do have to pay to use this, and the TV does only have 1 British channel, but who goes on holiday to watch TV?! The chambermaids were excellent at keeping the rooms spotless, and a couple of days had arranged our blankets into bird figures - a very nice touch! :)
The pools and surrounding areas were kept very clean, although the floors around the pool can get a little slippery when wet, so just be carefull! There were plenty of sunbeds with umbrellas, and on most days the 8 of us were able to get a spot together next to the pool. There were daily activities round the pool-bar, such as dancing, water aerobics, darts, etc, which the Russians really seemed to enjoy, and a seperate pool with waterslides, although the slides were turned off at certain times.
The beach is connected to the hotel via an underground tunnel, and is kept clean. It's a mixture of sand and pebbles, with the pebble part leading into the sea (can be a little uncomfortable for bare feet)! The sea can be quite choppy near the shore-line, but also great fun battling the waves - even my Nan enjoyed it :) Again, there are plenty of sunbeds, although no umbrellas, but there is a shaded area just down from the beach bar if you need to escape the heat. The beach bar serves soft drinks, tea/coffee, beer and snack food i.e. chips/kebabs/burgers/fruit, at no extra charge for all-inclusive. Just opposite the bar, is a little shack where a lady cooks delicious ciabatta type bread with different fillings - again, no extra charge for this but you are expected to leave a tip (well worth it). Toilets/showers are located at the back of the bar, and there is a volley-ball area next to the bar, with daily matches - listen out for the Tarzen-like yell of "Vollllllleeeeeyyy Baaaalllll" :D
The Lobby/Reception area is very large and clean, with plenty of comfortable seating, and an outdoor veranda over looking the pool. The reception staff are (mostly) friendly and very helpfull - in particular, Mustafa and a young girl, who were both day staff and spoke excellent English :) There are a couple of tea/coffee and soft drink machines located near the reception which you can use as much as you want. The Lobby Bar serves a decent variety of alcoholic drinks, such as beer, wine, liquers, very potent cocktails, and vodka! Just be carefull with the vodka - they are used to Russian guests, so the measures are VERY large and potent. The drinks seem to be good quality too - we stayed at an all-inclusive in Marmaris last year, where the alcohol was very watered down - this doesn't appear to be the case here ;). The bar staff were mostly friendly, and we befriended a young boy who in the end, knew our drinks and would bring them over to us without asking :) The bar is only open to midnight though, after that you have to get them from the Disco, where you have to pay.
The main restuarant serves a decent variety of food for meat-eaters (I'm vegetarian, so did get a little bored with mainly salad, soup, bread and chips), and there did seem plenty of it, even after the Russians had filled their plates, lol ;) There was also fresh fruit every day (but no banannas), and plenty of desserts. We definately didn't go hungry! They also have 2 alacarte restuarants, but you need to book these a day in advance, and we never got round to doing so. Again, restuarant staff were friendly and knew a fair amount of English :)
To be honest, we didn't make as much use of the evening entertainment as we could have done. There is a large open-air amphitheatre just off the pool, and they had entertainment every night there - starting off with a kiddies disco and then a show. We did watch one show which was good - the only downside being that they had to translate everything into 4 different languages! But they did make an effort, and English was the first translation ;)

THE BAD:

As others have said, location is a problem with this hotel! If you really just want a holiday where you spend all day chilling by the pool and beach, then this is perfect! If you're looking for a bit of culture, then you need a hotel that is ACTUALLY in Side! We booked our holiday through the internet, and were led to believe that the hotel was very close to Side and the ruins - Wrong!!! We ventured into Side twice by taxi, and this was about a 25-30 minute trip each way, and cost around 30TL per person. We could have caught a local bus, which would have been a cheaper but longer trip, so not ideal in the heat with my Nan. Manavgat was a closer town, but again not that close, and we only made 1 trip there for the market. Both trips were well worth it to be fair!
Unfortunately we didn't get to the Manavgat waterfalls.

The Brits really do seem in the minority at Laphetos! We only encountered 11 other English/Scots (4 of which we became friends with :) ) The majority of guests seemed to be Russian, with some Germans, Turks, and Ulkrainians.
I really hate to tar them all with the same brush, and I'm sure they are not all like it (we did meet the odd nice one), but 95% of the Russians we encountered were downright rude and ignorant! If you tried to make conversation with them, they would blank you. They barked their orders to the staff without a please or thank you. They wouldn't say sorry if they knocked into you, and generally seemed to lack good manners! And as others have said, were extremely wastefull with their food. They would pile their plates as if food was going out of fashion, and then end up leaving half of it :(
We had no problems with the other nationalities, who made an effort to converse with you :)

One last point - on airport transfer to/from Laphetos, we made a stop at a cafe/shop which was a 10min drive from the hotel. We were told that the driver needed a break, but we suspect it was to pump money from unsuspecting tourists! If you smoke, they wanted you to sit in the cafe, not by the bus/outside. Then as soon as you sat down they were asking if you wanted food/drink (which was very over-priced). If you didn't smoke or want to go in the shop, the staff were very rude and on one occasion, threatening (I kid you not)! So my advice - don't get off the bus, and if you are desperate for a cigarette or toilet, make it quick and DON'T buy anything!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Devonia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Hotel is a largish hotel with about 300+ rooms. When we arrived we were impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel, in fact there is a small team of people constantly cleaning the floors, sweeping the grounds and cleaning the windows etc. Be warned though that the guests are mostly from Russia with some German and Dutch so English speaking guests weren't really catered for although most of the staff spoke English - who were really nice by the way. It is actually located in Kizilot, which is between Manavgat (closest town) and Alanya. So it's a bit in the middle of nowhere - but a bus to Manavgat is only 20 mins and costs 3.5 turkish Lira (about £1.50)

Rooms

The rooms are very clean and quite spacious, with 2 beds (1 queen and one large single) in each and also a chair that converts to a bed. A flat screen TV is also available but BBC world news was the only English channel that we could find. The toilet was fine, clean and the shower etc all worked fine - although there were a couple of mornings that the water was only luke warm.

Food

The food was excellent, although mostly geared to the Russian guests - so don't expect too much familiar dishes. There was a good range to select from though, with grilled chicken and fish on the barbeque and donner meats being cooked at the poolside most nights. The range of sweets were excellent and delicious and the pool bar also served burgers etc. if required. Drinks were available all the time from the morning until 12:00pm and were very good large measures, with great fruit cocktails being served in the lobby bar along with some nice brandy. We went all inclusive so can not comment on the food or drink prices. The outdoor pool is excellent and very large so lots of room to swim, there is also a childrens pooland Flumes and there were plenty of sunbeds although many went to the beach - which had coarse sand and stones - not very good. There was a beach bar serving food and drinks for the beach revelers. We also tried the indoor pool at the spa as it was too hot for us outside.

Entertainment

The usual stuff was there, Beach Volleyball, Water Polo, Darts, Air Gun Shooting, Water Aerobics etc and also there was a show in the amphitheatre each night - but again mostly in Turkish/Russian as were the tours that you could book - mostly enjoyable though.

Things We Liked - The food, the pool, nice Gym, the staff (oh - and the cocktails!)

Things we didn't like - Didn't cater for English speaking guests too much - mostly Russian speaking.

Overall Assessment - Excellent.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivor_Broch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manavgat
0.3 mi away
Cenger Beach Resort & Spa
7.6 mi away
Alara Kum
Alara Kum
#23 of 26 in Avsallar
118 reviews
10.9 mi away
Maritim Hotel Saray Regency
Maritim Hotel Saray Regency
#79 of 331 in Manavgat
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Side Alegria Hotel & Spa
16.2 mi away
Narcia Resort Hotel
Narcia Resort Hotel
#65 of 227 in Side
255 reviews
10.8 mi away
Lake & River Side Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laphetos Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laphetos Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Laphetos Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Cenger Koyu Mevkii - Kizilot, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#157 Spa Hotel in Manavgat
#169 Luxury Hotel in Manavgat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Laphetos Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays and Cancelon so you can book your Laphetos Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laphetos Beach Resort And Spa
Laphetos Beach Hotel Manavgat
Laphetos Beach Resort & Spa Turkey/Manavgat, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing