We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first time in Turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Smartline Sunlight Garden
Ranked #25 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful first time in Turkey”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We had an excellent time in this hotel and the town of Side is brilliant to stroll around. Especially the ruins, we went in September and our photos look like we had the place all to our selves.

Your holiday is what you make it and this hotel gives you a good head start to an awesome holiday. The staff are the best i have ever encountered, they made the extra effort with all guests. Many thanks to Mahsun, yosef and mehmet in the bar and restaurant staff for everything, we wanted for nothing all week. Food was good, with enough choice and variety for the week, although the fish was fantastic it only made an appearance once.

Our Apartment was big and comfortable. We arrived at five in the morning and a small breakfast and water was in room fridge upon arrival.

We did not use the hotel entertainment facilities during the day but did spend some nights in the hotel and the entertainment and staff were excellent and very friendly.

If you are looking for value for money and friendly atmosphere, i would recommend this.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Izball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    373
    148
    62
    43
See reviews for
443
359
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed at this hotel during September on a great value all inclusive package. This was a first for us and we did not know what to expect. The journey from the airport took about 1 3/4 hours, and the pick up at the airport was well organised. We arrived at the hotel at 2:00am and there was a meal/breakfast for us in the fridge. The accommodation comprised of two large bedrooms, one with a double be and one with two single beds, a large lounge diner with dining table and chairs, sofa and sink unit and fridge, two balcony's and a bathroom. Air conditioner was a blessing! Meals were well organised and I can honestly say that there was not a day when we didn't eat well. There was lots of choice and plenty of it. Some items on the menu were repeated but this didn't matter as there was always something different. Staff were friendly and helpful. There were two pool areas, both with smaller pools for children and one pool tended to be busier than the other. There were games organised by Otto who was brilliant, and a creche for small children to attend. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the excellent beach, and provided free of charge a bus there and back for those that couldn't manage the walk! Once on the sea front it was a 20minute walk into Side itself, or about 2 lira on a dolmus. Overall, this hotel represented excellent value for money. Rooms were cleaned every day, linen and towels changed every other day. There was a laundry service, hairdresser, turkish bath on site all reasonably priced. It was not far to go into Side, and there were bars, restaurants and shops nearby.

Room Tip: Some rooms are near to the bar which can be noisy. Having said that, most evenings the music finishe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blossomcat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulipfluffyglow72
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We arrrived at sunlight garden in the early hours of the morning and as previous reviews have stated, check in was very quick and easy, we were taken to our rooms which were basic but clean and comfy, we had plates of cold meat,cheese,bread and jams and also a large bottle of water waiting for us in the fridge.
We had no trouble getting a sun lounger in the mornig even after 10.00am there were still plenty, we tended to sit at the quiet pool without the music or games but the other pool looked equally as nice.
The food was very good with enough choice and always something for the kids or fussy eaters, the all inclusive drinks were a little dissapointing as they are very watered down but if you stick to the wine which was pleasant enough it had quite a kick to it so i only needed a couple lol.
As we always do we went into the town for a meal a couple of times where we had a meal at Aphrodite by the harbour, fine dinning at a low cost with gorgeous scenery,we also ate across the road from the sunlight to the Gehan where they serve huge plates of traditional Turkish food for next to nothing and this is where the locals also eat, both of these restaunts were recomended by our Thomas cook rep as he ate there frequently.
We ordered ataxi into town which takes less than 10 mins and cost about £3.00 E/W, if you are going straight to a restraunt the Aphrodity in paticular, you can phone through from the reception and book your table and they will pick you up from the hotel for free at whatever time you choose.
Every member of staff and those who work in the on site shop, turkish bath and photographers are the most nicest people you could meet and most speak good english, we also found that unlike previous hols to turkey this place had a majority of English guests.
One more slight gripe was the evening enterainment which was very poor so appart from the kids disco for young children if you were a family with older children and teenagers as we are, you will probably get a few moans about being bored.
My husband and i also had a Turkish bath on the day of arrival as i always tend to do as a mummys treat to myself, this was amazing, we went for the relax treatment which lasted 90 mins which included a Turkish bath, mud facial and a mango oil massage and it really is true it does help you tan and it lasts longer, this cost us 150 lira for 2 and they give discounts for multiples.
All i'd finally like to say is that if you want a little bit of piece and quite in a small but welcoming place then sunlight garden is just that, there truely is no real reason for complaints here and i realy wouldn't recomend something i didn't like and i can be fussy, so enjoy your visit to the sunlight.

Room Tip: If you don't like your room for any reason just ask politely and they will move you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tulipfluffyglow72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Arrived at Sunlight Gardens and was pleasantly surprised how spacious the rooms were. Food excellent, Drinks at the bar very limited but the bar staff were amazing,what a team Amet.

Food was good at lunch time and evening meals but breakfast was a bit hit and miss. The kids that do work so hard were all amazing, however for Adem and Hasan i think a lesson in manners may go a long way.

I was set to book for next year and take my whole family with me until an incident with an other guest occurred and quite frankly the management handling of it was atrocious. How someone can be put off the resort for attacking another guest and then be allowed to return because he offered to pay the owner double the price of the room is unacceptable espicially as the same individual had done the same thing the year before.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed at Sunlight Garden from September 16-30th 2012 and we loved it.

We read a few reviews saying the food was not that good and repetitive (i am rather fussy with food) well we must have stayed at a different sunlight garden as we found the food excellent and certainly not repetitive (unless you count salad but isn't salad repetitive no matter what country you are in).

Our room (2113) was amazing,there was only 2 of us (me and my husband) and we had 2 bedrooms 1 with a double bed the other 2 single beds a decent size bathroom a large living space with a double sofa bed a fridge freezer and 2 balconies,we really were shocked at the space and although some said it needed updating we really found it suited us fine,as we said,your on holiday why do you care what the furniture is like as long as the rooms clean and it certainly was clean as the domestics were in every day cleaning (even though it didn't need it).

There are 2 large pools and 2 kids pools each large pool with a shower

The restaurant was very clean and tidy and was cleaned every evening by the staff who by the way work their backsides off,they literally do not stop from 6 am till 11 pm the staff where great,very welcoming and chatty.

The bar was great i had some giggles with the staff and all this "you are only allowed 1 drink each at the bar" can i just put the record straight here as we too fell for others putting this remark on their review,,the 1 drink code ONLY applies from 1030-1100 pm as the all inclusive finishes at 11 pm and the rule is no ordering 5&6 drinks etc at 1030 to sit there all night drinking which i completely understand,the staff also have homes to go to so as far as you have to queue for a drink we never saw 1 queue while we were there and it was really busy.So if you wanted more drinks after 11 pm you paid but it does state in brochures and website that the all inclusive ends at 11 pm.

The entertainment wasn't spectacular but what do you expect,,you are in a 3 star place if you want entertainment pay extra and stay somewhere else,the kids loved their "mad half hour" with Otto who is hilarious and we had some laughs watching the kids running round mad playing crazy games.

On site there is a supermarket and a tattooist,hairdresser,barber, massages and a woman who does your nails,we didn't use these services other than the supermarket which we found great.

OK para-cells and sun loungers there is enough for everyone if ignorant people would not leave their towels on "their loungers" over night or go out at ridiculous hours to put towels on them,,honestly people get a life you are on holiday for goodness sake.

There is an on site doctor and reception is great they are really friendly there is also toilets outside reception and a temperature Gage and my lord was it hot lol,also there is a changing room at reception where you can shower and change on your last day free of charge which is great.

Outside the apartments around the pool areas there are 5 toilets so there is plenty of space rather than running back your room for the toilet.

Would we return,,absolutely we would we loved it.

We are well traveled and although we don't ask for much we couldn't ask for a more better holiday than Sunlight Garden.

I am happy to answer any questions if you want to email me

Room Tip: If you want noise and music request a room by the main pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

An all round lovely environment for all ages, excellent staff and animation team, fun fun fun. Very helpful friendly bar staff, food was amazing and plenty of it at all times, room service amazing and locality to the beach is a bit of a walk down the hill but there is a 2 times a day free bus service there and back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We read all the reviews on here before we went and were a little worried as what the place would be like, but we needn't have worried......it was great!! The hotel staff are all so friendly and helpful, they all work so hard and are always smiling. The food in the hotel was fab, I am a fussy eater as our my kids but we never went hungry infact I daren't get on the scales to see how much weight I've put on haha The drinks all inclusive were fine for us (lager for my husband, wine/whisky for my mum and soft drinks for me and my kids). The rooms we got were lovely, yes they were basic but still very tidy and clean and really handy having a fridge and kettle to prepare my babies food, we had 2 balconies in each of our rooms which all overlooked great views. We did not go on any trips as we were just so content lying round the pool all day, which I might add were lovely and clean, Yes you do have to get your towels on the sunloungers early but this is the same in every hotel. The entertainment was great, enough for what we wanted as a family with young children, my husband played water polo and cubes every day with lots of other adults (and the amazing Oto) and my husband said these were great fun. My kids went to the Mini Club and were looked after by the lovely Ani and Liv, my kids were really upset about leaving on the last day and they wanted to know why can't real school in England be like the Mini Club haha The entertainment in the evening was fine for us having young children, there was a mini disco for the kids then bingo or a quiz for the adults. Overall myself, my husband, my Mum and our kids had an AMAZING holiday and we cannot wait to return to Sunlight Gardens next year for some more FUN FUN FUN!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.4 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#36 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sun City Apartments
Sun City Apartments
#61 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hanay Suit Hotel
Hanay Suit Hotel
#43 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gazipasa Star Hotel
Gazipasa Star Hotel
#28 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dosi Hotel
Dosi Hotel
#38 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunprime Dogan Side Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smartline Sunlight Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Sunlight Garden

Property: Smartline Sunlight Garden
Address: Selimiye Mah. Yali Cad. Gul Sok, Side, Manavgat, Turkey (Formerly Sunlight Garden)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Side
#35 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smartline Sunlight Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
85 apartments and 10 villas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Smartline Sunlight Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunlight Garden Side
Sunlight Garden Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing