We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, better if you're german!”
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Dragon Hotel
Ranked #19 of 227 Hotels in Side
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, better if you're german!”
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Me and my boyfriend came back from a lovely holiday about 2 weeks ago. We stayed for 11 nights and are 19 & 21. The hotel it's self look amazing! i loved the whole theme! We arrived at the hotel very impressed at what we saw. I've stayed at a couple of 4 star and 5 star hotels and the royal dragon visually is one of the best i've been to. We were greeted by the bell boy on arrival who took our suitcases and guided us to reception . After checking in we made our way to our room shortly followed by the bell boy with our luggage. The room was lovely, plenty of space. The bed was one of the comfiest ive slept on. The decor of the room is probably the best ive seen in a hotel room. There's a mini fridge with your water, soda pop drinks and beer.

The layout of the building takes a few days to adjust to. Pretty much everything is in the hotel, with its g, -1 and - 2 floors it was a bit confusing. On our first day we had a look round the hotel, we first came across the spa, the staff there were really friendly, we got given a tour of the massage rooms and shown the steam room and sauna that guests have access to (if we didn't have the tour we would have never knew!) the indoor pool and (cold) jacuzzis are also in spa area, theres lockers and changing room too which came in handy, just ask the staff in the spa behind the desk for a key. The outdoor pool is huge! i loved the design of it, not the average pool, although the water was a bit cold. I thought the idea of the bridge running from the hotel over the pool to the beach was really clever. We never had an issue with getting a sunbed, theres plenty at the beach and pool area. The staff were all really friendly, never had a problem with service. Theres plenty of cocktails to chose from but just watch out for the amount of alcohol they give you, my boyfriend insisted the alcohol was watered down and was on a mission to prove that but after a few cocktails he was wasted, he proved himself wrong.

The gym came in handy, was never too busy. The other half always goes to the gym at home and found that the gym at the hotel was up to standard. There's a games room with bowling, pool, air hockey, arcade games etc, all of these cost apart from table tennis. The animation team all seemed really nice, they were always around the hotel talking to guests and encouraging them to join in the daily activities (shotting, dancing, darts....) only problem is that you can only have 1 go at each activity during you're stay and the prizes for winning were a free cocktail that you can get from then bar anyway. The evening entertainment was hit and miss, the magic shows, music quiz and broadway show were good and the comedy shows were awful, because of the different languages their 2 comedy shows were sketches, it just seemed like silly humour ( there was 2, 3 sketches, short show). The michael jackson show this is it was sooo good! Everyone was raving about it afterwards, do not miss it We played bingo one night and actually won, wasnt too impressed with the prizzes, we won a pair of jeans from the store at the hotel which didn't even come home with us, 15% off the leather shop, 10% off at the boutique, bottle of wine, free photo taken, a animation cd and a facial. We went to the disco a couple of nights, the club isnt too bad for a hotel. stayed at a few hotels with a 'nightclub' in and this is the best one. The entertainment team come down for a little while to get people in the party spirit.

When we first arrived me and my boyfriend were amazed at the food and how much choice there was but that feeling went after a few days. It would pretty much be the same thing every lunch/ dinner and became tedious. Im a vegetarian and found it really difficult, i was pretty much having pasta/ rice/ salad and bread the whole time. My boyfriend loves his food and is meat eater. He couldn't get enough at first but then also realised he was having the same day in day out, towards the end of the holiday we both felt sick at the thought of another meal. We only had breakfast a few times while we were there, the selection isn't too bad although you can't get much of an english fry up (just fried eggs and tomatoes really), they do serve pizza at that time though, strangely. At the pool bar area you can get your ice cream and snacks like donuts and pancakes. There is pretty much food 24 hours a day with the mid night snacks. It was our anniversary while we were in turkey, we informed guest relations and on the special day we came back to our room from an excursion and saw that there was a heart shaped cake and bottle of champagne left for us.

The only major problem we had with the hotel was that a lot of the staff assumed we were german and would start talking to us in that language which after a few days started to annoy us. Most of the staff can speak some of not very good english. The entertainment in the evening was more so in german than engligh too!

I couldn't have asked for a nicer thomas cook rep, i stupidly packed my american adapter and with having frizzy curly hair i rely on my straighteners. I asked the rep if she knew of anywhere that sells them and she let me borrow hers for out entire stay! One major, major tip is getting excursions outside of the hotel, they were half the price if not more. There are shops just outside, not even a 5 minute walk away were there is a couple of excurion places. We chose to go on a 'Safri' tour, please please, DO NOT waste your money on this if it is offered. It was just a tour, we saw some orange trees and other rubbish like that. We were the only engligh people out of about 40 people and the rest were german. The tour guide at first did inform us about the stops but as the day went on he didn't bother with us. complete waste of a day and it tarnished our experience.

There was always somethig to do in the hotel for everyone. There's the pool, the aqua park, fun fair for the kids, the daily acticities and the gym. I noticed that the staff are really good with the children, The bloke who gave out the ice cream at dinner would wind the kids up by passing them their ice cream behind the glass and they would go to reach it. There'splenty of drinks and bars to go to. on certian evenings in the piano bar (closest to recption) they would have live music. All in all i would highly reccomend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a good room, sea view if possible. We didn't have a sea view and we basically had a buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saraahlouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    261
    95
    41
    36
See reviews for
780
275
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mansfield
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

after being home a week and thinking about it this hotel was very good apart from a few minor points which people should be made aware of.
food great no problems at all with the food or snacks.
drinks and bars . drink selection good . minor points . pool bar has plastic glasses even on an evening when the pool is shut surely no need for plastic on an evening,the bar at the entrance to the amphi-theatre closed at 9.30pm just when the show starts was this a money saving closure by the hotel seeing as there would have been a lots of guests in that area during the show. make your own mind up on this. 24 hour bar only visited once for one drink based in a red hot room where the after midnight menu is served could this be another money saving idea by the hotel as it wasnt comfortable to sit in there and drink . why not the lobby bar being 24 hours its a large spacious area comfortable to sit in . make your own mind up on this .

one of the worst things about this hotel is the air con in the rooms at this time of the year it is only on from 4pm to 8pm it does not work at any other time the rooms are red hot through the night .

snack bars have rubbish thin plastic knives and forks absolutely useless for cutting what i must say is the best array of snack bars in a turkish hotel i have visited. sort this out please hotel .

i went here expecting a truely 5 star hotel from all the reviews . it wasnt, i have tried to be as honest as i can about the hotel . i have been to better hotels in turkey the hemera in side being one of them so my review isnt based on just this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidstoncold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

What a fantastic hotel, and anyone that complains there is not enough food or any Baked beans you seriously need to get a life!..Staff fantastic, Animation Team wonderful & so hardworking, Engin the beach man is a trooper..Complete 5 star hotel, superb pool, only complaint is the aquapark feels a bit cramped as funfair is in same location and too seperate from the hotel. Disappointed they didn't hava a Gala night that we had at another hotel in 2010 but maybe this was because it was only start of season...all the staff deserve to be presented to the guests so they see the appreciation. Be aware definitely diet before you go because the food is irresistable!!!! Nightclub good fun & only 5 star i have been too where you get all cocktails including champagne...the lists are endless...Well done Royal Dragon...we loved it...don't forget the beach restaurant aswell, we ate there most days for luch, again superb

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Royal Dragon and agree with the excellent reviews this Hotel has previously received. We regularly stay in all inclusive Hotels in Turkey and elsewhere and the Royal Dragon is one of the best we have stayed. Previous reviews talk about the food and I can also confirm that the quality (and quantity) is exceptional. The rooms are spacious and kept immaculately clean by the staff. We had a room at the side of the hotel and although we had not much of a view it was extremely quiet. There were two minor negatives, one being the fact that you could only have one visit to an a la carte restaurant during the stay, even though they were only ever half full (the Turkish restaurant was superb) and the other niggle was that at times some of the bar staff were bordering on rude especially at the piano bar. They are only minor issues and it did not detract much from the enjoyment of the holiday.

All in all this hotel is first class and due to the time of year we were there was very good value. The weather was extremely good, wall to wall sunshine and in the high 20's every day (end of April). There was a good mix of nationalities, with about the same amount of Brits, Germans and Dutch.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel don't have a view but they are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank RickandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Wow!!!! Just come back from Royal Dragon hotel, what a fantastic place. Hotel is beautiful,very clean, food amazing,choices a endless, staff very friendly and the entertainment team ( including kids club) simple the best.....
I've been in many places in the world always staing 5* and must say this hotel is definitely is one of the best one. Will be back 100% if you thinking of booking this place do it you want be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012Lon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We had a wonderful holiday at this hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it. The food was very good with so much choice you never got bored, however, it does take a couple of days to get used to the way the food is set out in the buffet restaurant so take a good look around first before you choose. The pool area was excellent which the kids aged 6 & 7 loved and played in all day with the friends they met. We booked a standard room sleeping 4 but had a free upgrade when we arrived to a duplex room which was fantastic, very spacious and had a great view. We will definitely be going back hopefully later on this year and can't wait.

Room Tip: Duplex rooms with a view are fantastic, 2 floors with 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, food amazing, pools out of this world, although encountered a lot of German people who didn't seem to pleased to have English people in 'their' hotel! A lot of the staff were not very welcoming!
Would stay again though!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliesimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#49 of 227 in Side
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
0.3 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
0.8 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#10 of 227 in Side
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Property: Royal Dragon Hotel
Address: Evrenseki Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Side
#14 Family Hotel in Side
#15 Spa Hotel in Side
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#18 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing