We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC family holiday”
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Dragon Hotel
Ranked #20 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just returned from our Easter break at this fab hotel! The hotel is beautiful and well kept, with high level of cleanliness. The all-inclusive food and drink is available 24hrs and the choice covers all manner of tastes. The hotel facilities for families are the best available within the area with the onsite Aqua Park and Luna Park which were well managed by Gokhan and his team. We travelled with our two children aged 10 and 8 who enjoyed every minute of the time (attractions open 1-2hrs twice a day) spent on the pool slides and fairground rides. In addition to this, the vast pool area was accommodating for lazing in the sun at other times. The hotel is situated on the beach where water sports facilities are available at extra cost.

We stayed in the family duplex room consisting of two bedrooms/two bathroom areas which was comfortable with balconies which had a side sea view. The only issue we had was that the air conditioning was centrally controlled and was not turned on every day which resulted in a couple of stuffy nights! We were told this was due to it being early in the season. The staff are generally helpful and friendly and the evening entertainment was fun. The hotel has a generous sauna and steam room with indoor pool and jacuzzi area (Jacuzzi was cold!).

Overall, we found the accommodation and facilities perfect for our stay and would recommend this hotel for families of all ages as there is something available for everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank InMars_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

617 - 623 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

This is a fabulous hotel . My family consists of 3 children aged 4-10 . This was our 2nd visit to this hotel other time was oct 12 . Hotel is very clean . Food fantastic rooms are of a good size . Plenty for the kids to do . Mini club during the day and a disco at night . Shows were as good as it gets entertainment team worked hard . All staff were very friendly. Would definetly go back

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillianlang33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel is fantastic. spotlessly clean, beautifully presented. The food and drink is endless, huge amount of choice and available round the clock. There are activities for adults and children throughout the day. There are shows in the evening and music every 2nd night. A short ride on the dolmus takes you into Side. The staff were efficient and friendly. There is a food court at the pool, a poolside bar and a beach restaurant /bar. There are themed restaurants but the food in the main restaurant was so good we never bothered to go. Your safe and pool towels are included. You could happily spend two weeks here and never leave the hotel. There is a separate flumes pool and funfair for the kids.This is the 2nd Stone Group hotel we have stayed at (Royal Wings) and the standard in both is excellent. My husband used the Spa and attended exercise classes which he enjoyed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KimMac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We are a family of 2 adults and two kids aged 4 and 7 and one of the attractions to this hotel over other hotels was the water park AND luna park but what they don't make clear is that the water park only opens for an hour in the morning 11-12 and an hour in the afternoon 2pm-3pm and the luna park was only open for 2 hours from 3.30 - 5.30pm so bear this in mind and plan your mealtimes accordingly or you will have upset kids!

Also the luna park has one guy looking after the pirate ship and big wheel which is an accident waiting to happen and there is no age or height restriction so anyone can go on which is dangerous. These two areas are at the side of the Hotel and accessed by a smelly underpass (as others have said) and a steep and potentially slippy path. Also the waterslides appear to be requiring maintenance as where each section is bolted to the next it is creating a lip. Our friends sons back was a bit of a state by the end of the week.

The Hotel was very plush and well kept in all areas and the bedroom we had (duplex) was very modern and clean with two bathrooms though the stairs were a little steep and we were constantly worrying for our younger girl climbing these stairs. The balcony door had no proper lock except the handle and we were anxious our girls would attempt to get on the balcony and climb on the chairs so we had to tell them in no uncertain terms to keep away.

We always book hotels with food scores above 85% and food was plentiful and we always found something nice to eat. There was a different roast every dinner carved in front of you - Turkey, Chicken, Beef, Veal and Tuna which I had each day - and the normal fare you expect such as salads and other meat dishes in various sauces. The roasts were lovely when we had them which was as soon as the restaurant opened however other people who ate later said the meats dried out a bit. All of the food I ate was tasty as was my wife's so no complaints at all.

The dining experience was a mixed bag though. The restaurant is badly designed and is laid out with the dining rooms (four) on one side of a corridoor and the food on the other side. From the dining rooms you cant see the food and vice versa (therefore you cant see your children when you are getting food). Also as the restaurant gets busier this corridoor becomes a motorway of people entering/leaving the dining rooms and also going from dining room to food area and back again and it can be very very busy. Getting a first drink was ok but getting a second drink never happened as the waiting staff become focused with clearing tables to get the tables turned round for the next people.

The lobby area is where the two bars are on a night time (as well as one in the games room) and there are waitresses coming round taking drinks orders which is nice. However as our holiday went on we came to realise that there was always at least one or two drinks that were wrong or didn't arrive and that you could be waiting 10-15 minutes for your drink so it was easier and quicker to get them yourself.

Entertainment - we only watched two shows and they were done by the entertainment team and were not up to much and we heard the other shows were terrible particularly the Michael Jackson mime act! You would think a Hotel of this calibre would bring some decent entertainment in. The kids disco was what you get everywhere and was around 10 kids songs from various countries in various languages - ideal for kids under 7 but that's it.

The pool areas were nice and we went to the kiddies pool each day as it was a smaller area and was next to the kids club and the bar area. There are no slides or anything in the main pool areas. Many beds were reserved very early by people who then never turned up till after lunch time but this goes on in every hotel I have been to by English as well as Germans!

We had once instance where one of our pool floats went missing when we had been for lunch and turned up with a German family - when I tried to explain this was ours they said no it was theirs. We then showed them our other identical float but again they insisted it was theirs (our little girl was crying her eyes out at this point and as we had not seen their kids take the float and it was only a float didn't make an issue of it). Going to pen our names on our stuff next time! This same German family also pinched our parasol that I had spent 10 minutes finding and dragging over that morning - they were sat on the beds next to us and moved it next to them! They never came back to the kids pool after that so I assume they were feeling guilty....

One other thing to mention is the area around the Hotel is being heavily developed so there was construction noise at times but not too bad. The roads and paths around the Hotel were more like dirt tracks and the immediate area was like a big construction site and not pretty at all. However you will only see this if you leave the Hotel to go shopping or to get the bus to Side.

I would mark this hotel, or rather our experience of it, 3.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jugs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Ok the facts about this place are that the all inclusive package is great and the staff are all very friendly. It is a place you can spend you're whole trip at and this is the second time we have been, breaking the golden rule i have don't go back to same international hotel, got a great deal for a good place. The room on second occasion provided was better family duplex which has double bed upstairs with two singles down. The room was a good size with two bathrooms and provided free of charge with the package. First trip in June at the end too hot unless you are a serious heat lover mid to hi thirties. Second trip mid April low twenties apparently May is v good. The hotel has lots of places to eat, with great main one where there is lots of choice. Then four a la cartes which you can book a day in advance food and cleanliness good. Drawbacks beds a little hard and clientele make it a 3/4 star as you compete with the crowds at peak times. Probably the case for everywhere but my pet hate, it is quite German heavy early calendar then German Russian mid calendar but mixed audience. English, scots, Dutch, Belgians etc on this stay. Entertainments team 2011 were great 2013 team are awful, they change all the time. Definitely recommend it for a first visit for a good deal it is a lovely hotel, but the residents I don't know. The staff sell this place and is v comfortable.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Aspiringmystrycust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having visited 5star hotels in turkey this hotel had ok reviews. So Easter 2012 we took a week all inclusive here. The moment we walked in the reception made us feel 2nd class citizens. Even though the hotel was half empty they gave us a room at the front of the hotel opposite a rubbish dumping ground where locals foraged !! We complained but because we were English they wouldn't move us! Anyhow throughout our week we found this to be the case whenever we asked for something. At night and i mean around 12ish the staff would turn the lights off and close the doors regardless whether you we're there we shouted and said we're still here but to no avail. We have travelled far and wide and this has got to be the worst we've ever been treated. He'll would freeze over before we'd return here!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
5  Thank jacnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We arrived at 10.30 pm and on entering the reception we all said wow, the reception staff were very pleasant and we were quickly booked and told we could get snacks and drink from the patisserie until midnight when the bistro was open till 7am, the bellboy took our luggage and showed us to our room, and when entering our room ounce again wow from my daughter. all through our holiday the room was cleaned to a very high standard every day the cleaning staff brilliant.

The restaurant was one of the best we have been to with so many choices and catered for all tastes which was different every day, every person we spoke to were really impressed with the food and agreed that nobody could go home from this hotel hungry, food and drink were available 24 hours a day, all kinds of snacks could be found around the pool from kebabs to fried chicken, pizzas, pancakes and ice creams.

The entertainment team were excellent worked very hard all day but entertainment was basic and no lifeguard by the pool.

All in all this hotel deserves its 5 stars and we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#49 of 229 in Side
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.8 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#11 of 229 in Side
1,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Q SPA Resort
Q SPA Resort
#27 of 229 in Side
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Address: Evrenseki Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Side
#14 Romantic Hotel in Side
#16 Spa Hotel in Side
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#19 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range: £62 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing