We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL FOR PARENTS OF YOUNG CHILDREN WHO SMOKE”
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Dragon Hotel
Ranked #20 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Requested high floor, quiet room, overlooking complex via their fancy website.
On arrival. receptionist claimed that request not received even though was sent thru their website. Receptionist said our room would be ideal for us. It wasn't
Got room 3108 which is a low floor, and overlooks roof tiles and main entrance where there are always coaches pulling up delivering or collecting guests (see picture). Sitting on the balcony was not pleasant with the noise and diesel fumes.
On arrival, two year old came acrooss an ash tray and MATCHES on the table in our room. WHY WERE THEY THERE????
Fortunately I spotted her with them quite quickly and hid them from her
Wi-Fi – free one is very slow and erratic. we paid for “better wi-fi but really was not much better and connection kept failing
Specialiality restaurants only one visit every week. we were there 11 nights which meant only one visit again which seems a bit harsh
Check-in a pain not offered drink multiple form filling with a 2 yo (not a simple passport copy as mentioned by someone else)
Smoking - ashtrays every table; many guests smoke in children's area, ie mini disco, kiddie pool, other children's pools,the the outside restaurants which I consider ignorant, selfish and unhealthy
Noisy room; uncarpeted floors on room above made sleep difficult some evenings and nights; you could hear quite a lot of noisy footsteps people talking loudly etc. Did complain about the room and they said they would change it but it never happened
NO fresh orange juice. Was told it was available but you had to pay for it. Asked several times but got some sugary sweet orange liquid.
Waiter service erratic. first evening there waited over 10 minutes before a waiter took drinks order, Had lots of attention on last night though. How did waiter know it was our last night?
Room air con very weak, but maybe just our room and seemed to bring in tobacco smells on some occasions

Will not return although potentially a very good hotel

Mainly becuse of the smoking. every table has an ashtray.. The hotel seem obsessed in keeping the smoker's happy!
When they stop guests from smoking in the children's area and can guarantee a quiet room I might come back

Was there 11 May 2014 for 11 nights in a horrible room.

Room Tip: Reject 3108 if offered. Complain loudly if you want your room changed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulandxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 1,367 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Royal Dragon for a week over the May half term, first time to Turkey and we had mixed reviews from people. Well from start to finish it was faultless, on arrival you know it's a going to be good when you walk into the beautifully presented lobby and reception area. Drinks are waiting for you and the staff run to collect your bags.

The rooms are beautiful, we stayed in a duplex room which with two bathrooms was ideal travelling with our teenage daughter who likes to spend an age in the shower!
Maid service is excellent, mini bar is re stocked daily, in fact the only negative comment I have is the limited English tv channels, but who goes away to watch tv.

The pool areas were spotless, no shortage of sunbeds at any time of the day, the waterslides are great fun and then to top it off you have a private beach area.

Now where to start with the food! Put it this way my jeans are tight, excellent choice and quality and 24 hours a day! The service was good, a couple of miserable staff members but you can get that anywhere.

I would happily go back and will definitely go back to Turkey.

All in all

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pebbleina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Just returned from this Gorgeous 5 star hotel in Side. My friend and I stayed for a week from 26th May . It was our first visit to Side and to the Stone group of hotels, of which the Royal Dragon is a part of.
The hotel facilities , restaurants, bars, day time activities , pools and beach are out of this world. My friend and I particularly enjoyed the Baked Alaska dessert, which was to die for, we were in dessert heaven. The hotel itself is huge. The bedrooms were large and comfortable.
We spent most days at the beach as there were always plenty of sun beds there and it was quiet and relaxing. The pools were beautiful with water features and lovely to swim in. There was an Olympic event held on the Tuesday which was very popular, it included a varied of inflatables in the pools with competitive games which were fun .
The Water park slides were great fun and it was never too busy.
The Funfair was Also a great attraction for families with children and the big wheel and pirate ship for adults too. The fun fair was never busy as it was open at the same time as the evening meal.
The entertainment was not 5 star sadly. The Michael Jackson show was really enjoyable but the others were not worth the 5 star. Some of the entertainment wasn't suitable for families , however the audience was full of families.
Prior to the evening 21.30 entertainment the children were found to be enjoying organised games on stage with the reps and seemed to be having lots of fun.
I wouldn't hesitate in returning to the Royal Dragon or trying out another hotel in the stone group as they all look lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMMA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as family of five for 10 nights @ the beginning of May & I honestly cannot fault anything! We had a 2 bedroom family room which was huge & the mini bar being refreshed daily was fab. Everything was so spotlessly clean & always being cleaned. The food was amazing, so much variety for everybody & beautifully presented, the kids restaurant opening early was a big help & aided you in sneaking in the main restaurant first aswell! Highly reccommend the Vento Beach Bar for lunch. We had our daughters 1st birthday out here & had a cake & card brought up to our room - nice touch also a certificate & mention in the mini disco - talking of which my 8 & 4 yr olds really enjoyed! The evening entertainment was also excellent. Swimming pools all lovely, although we spent the majority of our time at the water park & yes there are no life guards by the small sides but you don't leave the children anyway?! Burger bar there also good. Fair good fun for kids after dinner, wouldn't reccommend the pirate ship though - you'll see why! We had 3 days of rain but entertained ourselves in the beautiful indoor pool & games room. The cocktails were lush, couldn't get enough of them & the nightclub is a fun night out aswell! Must mention the beautiful sandy beach aswell which is really easily accessible with a buggy, you can walk quite far out it's just lovely. All in all a fantastic holiday, staff all really friendly as were other holiday makers we can't wait to go back!!

Stayed: May 2014
7  Thank Roz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It was our first visit to Turkey and also our last. The pool side was very slippery, don't get me wrong as all swimming pool sides are slippery, but this was beyond belief. At the end of each day the poolside is hosed clean with water and that is all. With the mixture of various sun creams etc it was so slippery that I counted at least 4-5 different people falling daily. My son slipped playing table tennis which was situated under the water slides and managed to dislocate his shoulder on the first day of our holiday. He spent the rest of the holiday sitting on the sunbed, or just paddling at the waters edge. It was a pity as I spent a lot of money on this holiday and he just didn't have the wonderful time that he was so looking forward to.
When ordering drinks at the bar, on four separate occasions we were given chipped glasses, sharp enough to cut your lip. When this was mentioned to the waiter he said I will tell the bar man off, however we were still given chipped glasses when more drinks were ordered. Not what you expect for a five star hotel.
Meal times were just as horrendous. It was like a cattle market. Not enough tables, when you sat down with your food we had no cutlery, nor napkins. By the time you found a waiter for this the food had gone cold. The food however was wonderful, loads to choose from, freshly cooked and very tempting. Getting a drink at a meal time was a challenge in itself!!!
It was very obvious that the Turkish prefer the Russians and Germans as they got priority with everything.
It was told to us when we checked in that sun beds cannot be reserved before 10am. It was a pity that no one told the Germans this! They were at the poolside by7.30 - 8.00am every morning. They even took your sunshade if you went to get a drink.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool or beach view. Our room was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having visited the Royal Wings last year, we were of course concerned that Royal Dragon would not be able to live up to our previous experiences. However, this concern was quickly laid to rest, this truly is a class establishment. The cleanliness of the rooms, bars, eating areas, pool and beach is outstanding. The quality of food is also amazing and the choice on offer is staggering.

Our only minor gripe was the occasional difficultly in locating a free table during dinner, but we never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for one to be freed up.

The animation team do a great job in keeping the kids (and grown ups!) entertained. Particular mentions must go to Carlos and Kiwi who were always on top form!

As mentioned by other reviewers, the Brits aren't in the majority at this hotel, however there are many nationalities represented (not just Germans!). We had no problems with anyone and certainly didn't notice that we were being treated with any less respect than anyone else.

The shopping centre across the road is excellent for your cheap 'designer' products, but remember to haggle. We found most of the people in the shops pleasant and up for a laugh ('cheaper than Primark and Asda' we were informed!).

If you have been to the Royal Wings, I would say this is of at least equal standard in most key areas, but I would say the location, beach and room aircon is better at the Royal Dragon. All in all, this hotel can really not be faulted and I would heartily recommend to all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chelmsfordians1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Returned here for our 2nd visit to the Royal Dragon. The hotel is very impressive and the food is beyond excellent. You would have to be extremely fussy indeed to not find anything that you like to eat, there is so much choice.
Our family of 4 - 2 adults, 2 kids aged 15 and 13 stayed in one of the Duplex rooms which are fantastic.
The weather was beautiful for the whole week that we were there and I managed to get a great tan.
One evening we arrived for dinner (our party was 10 in total as we were away with other family members) at 8.40 pm. Dinner is served until 9.30 pm and asked a waiter if we could have a table...IBRAHIM could not have been more put out if he tried....he huffed and puffed, tutted and made it very clear he could not be bothered to look after us. We had to fetch our own cutlery, ask several members of staff for a drink and were generally ignored for the whole evening.

On the last evening my husband was ordering a round of drinks at the bar and was met with a very miserable bar waiter OSMAN who kept having a go at the younger member of staff, we couldn't work out what was being said but could tell from his body language that he was not happy about something. He then turned to my husband after he had served him the drinks and asked him if he had any change on him?? Obviously as this is an all inclusive hotel we did not carry cash and he replied 'no'...'what, not even 20 10 or 5??' Osman asked....my husband replied 'no' again and Osman walked away shaking his head. This made my husband feel very uncomfortable indeed.
What a shame as this hotel is lovely and we would like to return again some day but it was marred by a couple of inconsiderate, lazy and greedy members of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a duplex room if you have children. Air con not brilliant in the upstairs area though.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bunnylover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#50 of 229 in Side
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.8 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#11 of 229 in Side
1,285 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Address: Evrenseki Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Side
#14 Romantic Hotel in Side
#16 Spa Hotel in Side
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#19 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range: £71 - £267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing