We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great time had by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Dragon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Dragon Hotel
Ranked #17 of 228 Hotels in Side
Yarm
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great time had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We are a family of 4 with girls aged 7 & 11 and we have just had a fantastic holiday at Royal Dragon. So much has been said previously by other reviewers and we certainly agree with the positives.

In summary, the cleanliness is exceptional, the spacious duplex is the best family room that we have ever stayed in and the food at all restaurants is high standard. As far as negatives are concerned, the only thing that bugged us was Shakespeare's Sister singing 'Stay' on continuous loop in the restaurant. Bizarre. Seriously though, waiters warmed to us when we offered a few smiles and thank yous and the other guests were no different to other hotels that we've stayed in. We visited the evening show once or twice but it wasn't really for us.

Because of the hotel's seafront location, it was easy to spend the morning at the beach, with sumptuous lunch at the restaurant, and then an afternoon at the pool, with even more fresh food served at 2pm and 4pm. As several reviewers have pointed out though, the best poolside loungers are taken early in the day. We just took anything that was going. On most days, there were 2 or 3 beds around the vast pool with a brolly nearby. If you're struggling, then there's always the slide area. Speaking of which, this area was great for the kids as both the slides and the evening funfair picked them up a bit when they started to flag.

As far as days away from the hotel are concerned, we took a bus to Side a few times to bag a few bargains. The shops are plentiful and the market is on Saturday mornings if you like a good old haggle.

In our opinion, if you're a family with children between 5 and 15yrs and wishing to be pampered at a self contained good quality hotel, within easy reach of a quaint little historic town, then you will enjoy the Royal Dragon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Taylorsx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    243
    85
    40
    32
See reviews for
713
258
39
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have recently returned from a 10 day holiday at this hotel and I felt compelled to write....

I cannot fault this hotel! Firstly, it was absolutely spotless. The hotel and staff take so much pride is ensuring it is so clean and tidy at all times. The room was left really tidy every day by the cleaners and the restaurant and bar staff insist on cleaning any slight spillage the second it occurs every time.

The staff were the friendliest I have ever experienced. They adore children and enjoyed playing and talking to ours at every opportunity. From the cleaners to the shop staff to the lady who stands at the restaurant entrance every day -no problem or request was too big and they interacted with us and our children every day on such a personal level.

The food was amazing - endless choice and delicious.

The facilities at this hotel were all brilliant. The funfair was a favourite of our daughter and even in peak season, there were minimal queues and the time on the rides was really long. The pools were clean and tidy and the water park was so much fun too. The beach was spotless and had lots of sunbeds and shaded areas available at all times.

I must also add that I can only praise the Thomas Cook rep - Faye Bliss. Whilst on holiday we had to deal with a particularly difficult situation which involved taking our baby daughter to a local hospital.

Faye was caring, emphatic and genuinely cared about us. She gave clear instructions on where to go and what to do and then continued to check we were ok.

It was so refreshing to have such a kind, genuine person there to help so openly and with such commitment to us, our holiday and our daughters health.

I cannot recommend this hotel anymore, we were sad to leave and would have loved to stay longer!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We have been there for two weeks (parents+2 kids). You will find everything to enjoy your time with kids: sand beach, aqua park, Luna park, exhibitions, etc.
Compared to many other 5* hotels in Turkey, very attractive but a little charmless. The building is surrounded by other hotels and the mass tourism is an everyday reality.
The all inclusive concept is ok but you have to keep an eye on your watch in order to respect the opening hours.
Staff at the restaurant is ok but not at a premium level.
Guest relation is fabulous and is of great help.
Hotel is very clean. Same for the beach cleaned the whole day especially by a very kind may that welcomes you with a very friendly "hey hey!"
The kids kept an amazing memory of their stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Se H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is not 5 star. We went for 2 weeks in July after reading good reviews on trip advisor, the hotel looks like a 5 star but the service is 3 star, drinks are 2 star and the food is 4 star.
The hotel is too busy, you can not get a sun bed around the pool unless you get up really early. We had to go on the beach every day. We took 3 teenagers but it suits younger family's, the boys age 17 went to side every night to night clubs Witch is a lot further away than we thought . The dinning experience was defiantly not 5 star, the main restaurant was really busy like a cattle market!
You could always get something quiet good to eat. But the greedy people put me off my food. The al cart restaurants were not al cart, and not worth paying for. Overall the beach party was the best evening entertainment and Blacky who worked for the entertainment team was very good at his job. The hotel was full of Russians and Germans, therefore wouldn't return to the royal dragon!

Room Tip: The duplex rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ljward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Firstly I'm not sure what hotel and Thomas Cook Rep (Faye) these people are talking about as we have just returned on 8 August from a 10 day stay and found this a fantastic hotel. On arrival it was late so after checking in the reception advised us to go down to the Patisserie as food is served in there until midnight, once we had something to eat we were told where our room was and bell boy/porter brought our cases straight up. Once we settled in the room I rang reception to ask for a couple of more pillows and was told it would be about ten minutes - the pillows arrived in 5 minutes. The fridge in the room was stocked well with drinks and was refilled everyday free of charge.

The pool/waterpark were great and even with the hotel at full capacity there was was plenty of room in the pool. The beach is beautiful and is at the back of the hotel clean with plenty of sunbeds. The fairground is really aimed at the younger children even though there is a pirate ship and bumper cars which my daughter and husband went on. The food was amazing but I must say if you can't find something to eat you must be really fussy eater, my daughter is fussy and a vegetarian but there was plenty of choices for her. My only compliant was in the a la carte restaurant. We went to the Chinese one and they don't have a vegetarian option so I mentioned this to Faye (Thomas Cook Rep) and Hakan one of the managers and was offered another a la carte at the Italian - which had a vegetarian option both meals where lovely. There is food available 24/7 so you will never go hungry, the tent that makes the pizza at lunchtime was definitely a hit with my daughter.

Staff at all times where pleasant if you acknowledge them they would speak back, they where always cleaning the toilets and pool areas, picking up rubbish and emptying bins. Wi-fi was available free of charge at certain areas around the hotel so we never had to pay for it (best area is in the lobby at night), we also got it in our room. Whilst in the lobby the waiter would come and ask what drinks you wanted and bring them to you with some sort of nibbles (popcorn, melon, grapes etc) Never had a problem with drinks they all tasted really good especially the beer.


The entertainment team came round the pool encouraging you to join in the activities. Mr Blackberry as he is called is a real character. Entertainment at night we didn't go and see but went down to the beach party which is every Thursday and that was good.

With regard to the organised trips we did the river tour to Manavget,which included lunch I would well recommend it as you also see the Waterfalls which are magnificent. Also took a trip into Side and had my birthday meal at Limans which is a restaurant right on the front of the harbour and watched the sunset fall as we ate - amazing

Opposite the hotel is a shopping center with a pharmacy so if you had forgotten anything you could buy it.

Overall a fantastic holiday, it was relaxing and fun and look forward to either going back or to another one of the Stone Group hotels

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

this hotel caters for russians and germans and not english ..the food was slop hence why we ate out every day and the entertainment and kids club was also in german.. so i wasted my money paying for an all inclusive holiday as we did not eat there food and could not use the kids club or watch the entertainment due tom the language barrier. the hotel was very clean but not suitable for english people…which was a shame… thomas cook should have advised us before we booked so we could have choose a more suitable hotel..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Just a big thank you to the Thomas cook Rep Faye! She bent over backwards to help when my son had an accident in the play area (five stitch's) she sorted out an extention to our accomadation which helped to keep in out of the sun on the day we left......Thanks.

I did pick up an ear infection also and I wasn't the only one! lots of people did! that pool needs to be monitored and clean more often........I never once see anyone checking the quality of the water???

Room Tip: Pick a double room if possible don't worry about the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garrett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.8 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
0.1 mi away
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
Royal Taj Mahal Hotel
#44 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Dragon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Dragon Hotel

Property: Royal Dragon Hotel
Address: Evrenseki Mevkii, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Side
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#14 Romantic Hotel in Side
#14 Family Hotel in Side
#16 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Dragon Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 568
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Royal Dragon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Dragon
Royal Dragon Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing