We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but choose your travel friends wisely!”
Review of Hotel Sunberk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sunberk
Ranked #26 of 87 Side B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I have spent 2 weeks listening to my colleagues (wife included) moan, moan and moan some more about this place. It's a 3* hotel, but they expected 5* luxury. The hotel is small, but clean and the pool is spot on! The rooms are what you pay for, with a double bed in one room and 2 sofa beds in the other. The bar served efes, gin, vodka and raki free. The rest of my group spent most of the holiday trying to get the non-watered spirits, which was funny. The food was amazing, and I wish I'd tried the eggs sooner.

If I do have complaints, they are few. Most of the staff were very friendly, and are quite funny, but in the second week, a new barman arrived who was very rude, and condescending. The only other real moan from me was the lack of entertainment at night. It wasn't too bad as you were only minutes away from the local places.

I don't think my travel companions would go back but I would.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smcg1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

just got back
when we arrived we were shown to our room which was basic but nice, the hotel is open plan so everything is together, the pool, bar and the dining room .
so what do you get for your all inclusive.
boiled eggs for breakfast.
lunch
evening meal
if your lucky you might get a cake in the afternoon.
the all inclusive drinks include vodka, gin, (both watered down to a point it was actually water) you have to tell them you want the other bottles with the plastic top inside, after a tantrum by the staff they will give you a drop then the rest coke or watever you asked for, you can also get soft drinks and also there is a water cooler but i advise not to drink out of it as they fill it up with a hose pipe we got our water from the supermarket 2 min walk, you can also get coffee when the machine is working.
there is no entertainment at all not even a turkish night you have to be silent after 9 if your English and you are allowed to get 1 drink at a time even tho the other nationalities got trays full, the bar shuts at 11 (10.45 sunberk time) the bar man is a complete joke he ruined our evenings with his cant be bothered to serve you attitude, you might say why not go out and have a drink somewhere else well we did but side isnt the cheapest at 7-10 lira for a beer £3 soon mounts up
the free beach is a 5 min bus ride or 20 min walk threw dusty terrain but if you want just a couple of hours there you need to walk back as the last bus to the beach is 10.45 and the first 1 back is 3.30 so if you struggle walking forget it. there is a bar there but very expensive even for water, we found a nice spot on the beach near the hotel, you need to buy a drink but you get a sunlounger we just got a bottle of water at 2 lira (copper jacks) it is also true your all inclusive finishes at 12 noon the day of return and is 25 euro each also your luggage is just left in the lobby area and not in a secured area, we found a couple of bars 2 min walk away who looked after us and even took the time out to learn our names (gerrard was amazing at the cafe bar opposite the supermarket made a lovely kebab for 5 lira) also the surf bar was friendly playing all sorts of music and even letting you be the dj for a bit, so this is the reason i said full board with a few drinks as you dont feel welcome at the hotel so you just need to get out everynight .
would i go back NO NOT EVEN IF IT WAS FREE

Room Tip: dont ask for a garden room its a shed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ratty209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Sunberk Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was quite nice, although lunch and evening meal were always some form of chicken dish. Breakfast was basic and mainly salad and boiled egg. Although there was fresh bread every morning. As the premises are all open plan there was a problem with people smoking at meal times as the smoke drifted into the main eating area, although there were 'No Smoking' signs in the restaurant they were generally ignored by both staff and customers alike. Our main complaint is that when you check out of your room at 12 noon there is no notification that the all inclusive facilities also stop at this time. The Manager charged us 25 Euro each for lunch and drinks consumed after the noon deadline. Not sure if it is even more if you have an evening meal as well. If we had been aware of this charge we would have eaten out as it was cheaper. The extra charges came as a shock which spoilt an otherwise enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loril B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We arrived at the sunberk on 21st aug and were a bit worried after reading the reviews.The hotel was very clean and clean towels everyday we had a room for four people and only had 3 coat hangers and 2 small draws so that was a bit crap.The bar serves beer gin and vodka thats all and maybe wine if they have any.We went with my mum and dad and we found that if you are a woman the staff give you a smile and say hello but if you are a man things are different.We are a very friendly family and like to have a laugh but this wasnt allowed in this hotel lol.My husband asked for a raki and they didnt know what this was it is a local drink .And they didnt know what a beer was i mean ok they dont understand english but come on they are not totally stupid.Breakfast was tomatoes and boiled eggs for 2 weeks so we went out a few times.Evening meal is good always potatoes meat and salad but i thought the choice of desserts was rubbish but they are never much good when abroad anyway.Also this hotel is full of Germans i would say if your English dont bother.I wont be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

After reading some of the negative reviews about this hotel we were sceptical before arriving. However, when we got there we need not have worried. The hotel is lovely and we were lucky enough to be given a room that was only about 12ft away from the pool. The pool is wonderful and my family spent hours cooling off in it every day. The food is fantastic, there was not one meal that we didn't enjoy and the deserts are really very tasty. There was always plenty for everyone and because it was so nice - we often had seconds. The soup was also very good and the bread was fresh every day. The beach is about an 8 minute walk away and the sea was warm enough to just walk into with no shock to the tummy. We were the only English family in the hotel until the day we left but this did not spoil our time at Sun Berk. All the other guests were very nice and friendly and there was a lovely atmosphere whilst we were there. The staff were all fantastic and they all worked so hard. Some of the reviews moaned that the staff were unfriendly - well this is NOT true at all. Perhaps if people use manners and are friendly themselves they will get the same response. We are back home now and missing the company of the bar people. We also made friends with the owner Ahmet. He was very gracious and hospitable and we liked him a lot. We were let down one day when we booked a boat trip with a German lady with blonde hair who sold this to us. The bus did not turn up for us in the morning so Ahmet took us all in his car to a part of the beach that has many water sports so the kids could enjoy themselves. Buy your boat trips from the gentleman that resides at the Sun Berk hotel - not the German lady.
Back in England and feeling cold - we all wish we were back at the Sun Berk enjoying the sun and lovely food. Thank you to the staff for making this a special holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool are excellent - straight out and onto a sunbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kardamenakazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Hi there stayed at the sun berk 1st week in July with mum ,sister and friend the rooms are sufficient but could be cleaner but not to bad . The pool area is small and sun beds crammed together lots of young children about but that never bothered me I block that out its not me that's. Looking after them .The food is crap but what i expected U will not get an English breakfast so be prepared for boiled eggs ,fruit cheese and ham and dinners as bad.The staff are nice lovely young waitress .If you're not fond of Germans than do not go to this hotel the place is swarming with them intact so is the whole of side! We went out every night meet some lovely people not forgetting those we met at hotel i hope this review has helped you somewhat i would not go back again but hay i had a good time and it was an experience! Not to repeat lol lesson learned never go 3 star ai in turkey .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellygreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Definately for families with very young children, if happy to swim all day in the pool or take the free bus-ride to the beach where you will need money for drinks etc., they like euros personally I believe your lira will go further. Okay thats the kids sorted. Not much though for adults if your looking for entertainment there is 'kebab night' on a Sunday- that's it. On our first day we had a turkish(haman) bath @ the Miami Beach hotel which was totally relaxing after our arrival (turn left at the bottom of the track passed the supermarket). Directly opposite is a traditional family run bar ask for Jamal he pours a wicked cocktail. Just pass here on the same side is the most wonderful kebab shop you must visit 'food is glorious' looks very small from outside like a take-away but there's seating area outside in its quaint garden and just opposite you can have burger and chips- I think everyone will be happy. If getting the boat to Manavagat bazaar shop for your souvenier's at the top of the stairs by the bridge you will find something for everyone

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank patricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.2 mi away
Side Miami Beach Hotel
Side Miami Beach Hotel
#109 of 229 in Side
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Side Temple Hotel
Side Temple Hotel
#99 of 229 in Side
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunbird Hotel
Sunbird Hotel
#159 of 229 in Side
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sun Club Side
Sun Club Side
#76 of 229 in Side
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palmiye Garden Hotel
Palmiye Garden Hotel
#145 of 229 in Side
80 reviews
3.4 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#100 of 229 in Side
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunberk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunberk

Address: Selimiye Mh. Begonya Sk. No:5, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Side
Price Range: £31 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunberk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing