We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst all inclusive hotel I have ever stayed in! DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE BRITISH”
Review of Sun Club Side

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Club Side
Ranked #89 of 227 Hotels in Side
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst all inclusive hotel I have ever stayed in! DO NOT GO HERE IF YOU ARE BRITISH”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The food here is all Turkish or german, do not cater for English at all. The entertainment is beyond a joke, staff are arrogant and rude. Turkish music all day. The only saving grace for this hotel is the kingfisher which is located just round the corner, this is where you will be spending most of your time eating specially if you have children as this hotel does not cater for them at all. This is a shame as side is a lovely place to go on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    36
    14
    12
    15
See reviews for
46
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

i admit when i first turned up outside and saw the entrance i thought where the hell have i came? but i came 3 in the morning and it was dark so it didnt look to great.
As for the food it does not cater for English people but there restaurants
you can go to but everyone's taste is different so try things!
the staff out there are very friendly and welcoming.
i think if your coming here make the most of it because when you go home you regret moaning about it.
its lovely and hot, the pool is nice and cool also there's a beach just down the road ,free drinks what more could you ask for?
if you are taking children they will love it maybe not the food but there's entertainment,the pool,a beautiful beach etc.
it is very hot out there so when you go back to the hotel put the air conditioning on and it cools the whole room down.
im 15 and i went with my friend and grandad parents and now im back in England i wish i was there i made everyday count as i said make the most of it!!!!!!

Room Tip: if your not happy with your room go to reception and say why your not happy and they will move you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Lets get this straight, if you are expecting a hotel where you go for a week or two weeks and don't leave the complex for the whole time, then this hotel is not for you. The hotel is in such a brilliant location, you walk through the main gate turn left and within a minute your on the beach then from there its another left turn and walk for about 15 minutes into the centre of Side. Im 15 and not very fussy about what I eat, but I began to get very irritated by other guests describing the food as slop trays and that they dont accomidate for english guests, I mean if you wanted chicken and chips every day stay at Pontins.

The food there is generally very good, there is always a selection of a sort of flat bread pizza very chewey but extremely tastey. Every breakfast and tea there is a grill in the corner which serves up different things each day from kebabs to fried egs and salami sausage to grilled fish. The food doesnt always look the most appertising but none the less it always tastes lovely. There is also a large selection of cakes and melon for deserts to satisfy anyones sweet tooth and there is always a selection of salads.

In some of the other reviews guests complane about the idea of flies all over the restuarant is ludicrous, if you want flies over your food some of the local restaurants can provide you with that. The only problems that we could find with the food was that the salads were not chilled so if you came to the last half an hour of lunch or tea dont expect the same quality of salad when it was first put out. One of the other things I was unable to understand is guests rushing to dinner at 7pm and the chef's are still putting food onto the hot plates right up until 9pm. Also there is a beautiful terrace bar overlooking the street below, the drinks here do cost extra though.

The bar staff were most certainly some of the best of the holiday, always friendly even to some of the more... irritating guests, you will always see a smile on their face and if you try to speak to them in english dont expect them to instantly start going on into a full blown conversation with you, as of yet most of them are not good speakers of english, but just be patient and speak slowly and they will understand you much easier. There is one member of staff who stood out for me, the Crepe lady as i came to call her, she sits under her tree from about 11am to 3pm making crepes, doing the same thing over and over again and always gave me a nice smile when I sat down. The animation team are very amusing, but the show at night is more for german audiences, but the activities during the day are extremely fun, if you like water polo, darts, bowls, volley ball and random pool games then there is lots to do for you. The cleaning staff are extremely efficient and the room was always very clenly, one of the guests complained about items of his stolen, which is very unlikely as on many occasions i left my phone or money out in the room whilst the cleaners were in there and nothing was ever stolen.

Now to my complaints about the hotel which I have to admit were very few: When I first got off the coach outside the hotel I saw a plastic sign over a tunnel and though "God what have I got myself into" but then once we had walked through it I was confronted with a lovely flowered garden and then the reception area which looked very nice. I think that the enterance should be replaced and it gives a bad first opinion of the hotel, also the pool area is unsupervised but if people are going to go down the slide in stupid ways they are going to hurt themselves, as i found out. Also there are only a few selections of drinks and this should be improved

Finally this is a very good holiday but dont enter it expecting it to be top of the range as you will be severely dissapointed, instead expect a nice hotel with adequate rooms and friendly staff, also if the food is not up to your standard then there is the Kingfisher restaurant nearby which serves very english style food.

Room Tip: you could have a balcony pool view, but i think that the best rooms are those right next to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerman176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Booked this hotel with friends and was looking forward to it. On our arrival we were met by some Scots who told us to go back home because the hotel was terrible....

Our first room we were given we aptly named the Dungeon. It was dirty, dark and looked out onto a brick wall. I got us moved the very next morning to a much better room.

The food which obviously is a big part of an all inclusive holiday was not much to be desired' We called it the slops because it was different dishes which were all in some kind of sauce that all tasted the same. The restaurant was open air, so was very uncomfortable to eat in with 40 degrees heat. Also the flies and the birds were a problem because as we quickly noticed if you put any food down on the table and left it they were straight there to eat it.

We did get on ok with barman and waiters although they only understood basic English. Drinks were a problem because you could only get wine, vodka, beer, gin and raki.

Entertainment was a bit of a joke ... nothing for the adults at all.... and the bar closes at 11pm and they put the lights out at 11.30. We were told to shush at 11.40.... made you feel like naughty schoolkids on a stayover somewhere.

The Turkish night was just a lets pat each other on the back sort of thing. They introduced all the staff and lit fireworks for the manageress of the hotel ... all in all ....rubbish

We have been to Turkey on a good number of occasions and to Side 3 times. I have to say that Side itself is a beautiful place to visit but my advise would be to avoid this hotel... We will definately not be going back to it again.......

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starlight-4256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Side hotels

York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We are oren minded when it comes to food but all food covered in flies and left out for hours before service, the food was german and danish based the only food we saw that was turkish was the garlic bread served everyday and a flat bread served once while we were there for two weeks.
They attempted english food ! chips covered in tomato ketchup or pasta covered in tomato ketchup, then since no one ate them served up next day in a vegetable gratin !
The hotel if offered as a room only basis would have been fine, yes some of the staff are very rude but on all it is a well sited hotel close to beach and town and our room was clean and average for a 3 star hotel (same as a travelodge).
The pool is not supervised and lots of children climbing up the slide the wrong was dangerous and not big enough for the hotel.
We complained to our holiday rep but dont know if she passed on our concerns so spoke to the hotel manager and said they would see what they could do regarding flies in the "restaurant", the hotel has fly nets all around the restaurant but do not use them.
We spent all of our spending money eating out (roughly same as in england) at some lovely restaurants around the area and sampling some good turkish food.
The hotel beach was very dirty and due to all other nations smoking constantly covered in cig butts, and no bar attached so had to buy from local restaurants.
This is not all inclusive and would never go with thomson/first choice again.
If you have booked this hotel please try to change but have been told there is worse? but take euro's and eat out if too late.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Went to this hotel looking forward to a nice family holiday. Come back thinking i,d been to a run down squat. Cant think of anything positive to say about this hotel. Everything written in the previous review is spot on as the person who wrote it was there the same time as us. I hope that thomsons/first choice take note of our coments and remove this hotel from their brouchour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whale11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We arrived at the hotel at approximately 1.30am and were shown quickly to our room. Our first meal was breakfast on the Wednesday; we were understandably tired and were not really up for breakfast but dragged ourselves out of bed and to the restaurant. It was approximately 9.30 when we arrived at the restaurant to be greeted by staff removing bowls of food from the serving area. We quickly grabbed a plate and tried to grab what we could. There was a woman standing in the corner cleaning some sort of portable grill and beside her a tray with some fried eggs in. Obviously, the information we were given was incorrect as we were lead to believe that breakfast was served until 10am, then a late breakfast until 10.30. Fried eggs are not at their best when left to sit in the 30 degree heat! We all made do with toast and jam! My partner never returned for breakfast again

Lunch fared no better, every day there was a rush at 12pm when the restaurant opened and it was often hard to get a seat until well after 1pm unless you started to queue well before 12pm. The variety of food was vast, and there was a choice of 4 hot meals each lunch 2 of which were pasta and rice. Every food stuff was either in a sauce, or covered in some sort of spices/herbs. There was no choice of English cuisine at all, and we all left the restaurant unfulfilled and hungry! My daughter, who is 8, had bread and cucumber. My daughter is not a picky eater and can easily put away the same amount of food as me. Unfortunately this was to become the standard and lunch became a daily chore.

Evening was even worse, realising that if you wished to eat at 7pm when the restaurant opened you needed to be in the bar well before, even as soon at 6pm to get a seat. The queue for food was like a christening buffet and even then you had German and Russian guests interrupting at random and never forming a queue as everyone else did. I cannot fault the wait staff that were friendly and polite and were very quick to clear away any finished plates. The food was not aimed at English guests at all and as the
holiday got on we were forced to pay to eat somehwere else. When we got home we had all LOST weight, not really what we were after!!

The hotel itself was fine for what we were after, the maids came everyday and changed the bed, and swept the floors, Im not really sure she cleaned the bathroom as I did this myself each day. All of the floors in the hotel are tiled and everything echoes really bad, high heels, maid trolleys, the lot! It was very noisey!

The Pool was fine for what we wanted and when I got up before 7.30 there was no shortage of beds, a lot of Germasn/Russians were putting their towels on the beds early but not coming to the pool til after lunch, this was addressed my the hotel staff, they literally just removed the towels! You were not allowed to enter the bar area in you costumes and had to cover up, and you were 'inspected' on your way into the dining room by the manager and if you were wearing pool shorts you were asked to change.

There was entertainment every day, it was really bad, so bad that it was actually funny!
Throughout the day there was several attempts by the 'animation' team to get you involed in dances around the pool or pool activities, which, more often that not you would have thought were Olympic trial, with the seriousness of the participants! Not really for the younger children.
At around 9pm there would be a 30 minute medley of childrens songs, repeated every night! Then the adult entertainment would start! By 11pm, which is when the drinks finish, its was bed time!!

The private beach provided by the hotel was about a 5-10 minute walk away, you helped yourself to a bed/lounger and could stay as long as you wanted. We never had trouble getting a bed but we only went twice.

Side, was, a minimum of 25-30 minutes walk away, and in the 4o degree heat seemed like an hour. Lots of shops, bars and restraunts, and there is always someone trying to get you to buy something.

Last but not least, our tour rep, from First Choice was Zoe and she was fab, she was always where she said she would be and would always get back to you if you had a problem.

Best part of the holiday was the 'KINGFISHER' PUB 20m down the road, served English food, well priced and very friendly food.

We would go back to Side, but definately NOT this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicandAndyplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Side Star Beach Hotel
Side Star Beach Hotel
#32 of 227 in Side
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Side Hill Hotel
Side Hill Hotel
#100 of 227 in Side
81 reviews
3.5 mi away
Labranda Excelsior Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Side Alegria Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Side Star Park Hotel
Side Star Park Hotel
#48 of 227 in Side
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Beach Hotel
Sun Beach Hotel
#177 of 227 in Side
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Club Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Club Side

Property: Sun Club Side
Address: Selimiye Mah. Kiremithane Sok. No: 65/1, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Side
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Club Side 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Club Hotel Side is situated in a shopping street, 5 min walk to the beach . We do offer our guests a soft animation programm , an All İnclusive package between 10:00 and 23:00 ( breakfast , lunch ,thee time , dinner, soft drinks and national alcoholic drinks ). For those who likes a quiet holiday in a green oases nearby the old town Sun Club Hotel is a perfect place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sun Club Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Club Side Hotel Side
Sun Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing