We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seemed fine to me”
Review of Sun Club Side

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sun Club Side
Ranked #89 of 227 Hotels in Side
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seemed fine to me”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Rooms clean and tidy. Entertainment team worked well with younger children and they seemed to enjoy this. Attempted to get involved in activities during the day and night. A lot of British people at the hotel complained about the food because there was no chips, tomato ketchup or fried breakfasts. I actually enjoyed the variety and always found something that I liked so I certainly held no complaints on this part. The wine was of a required taste and most complained of watered down drink. Nice little pool, close proximity to the beach and nice bus to the market definitely an attraction. I enjoyed the holiday stayed here for a week.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    36
    14
    12
    15
See reviews for
46
35
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Me and my family visited this hotel at the end of Aug/beguinning of September, as soon as we arrived at the hotel another English family asked us how long we were staying for, we replied two weeks and their reply was 'good luck', after this we were all really concerned that our holiday was not going to be as we had hoped it to be. As the holiday went on there were some aspects that were rubbish and bad, for example one security guard followed and watch the women back to their rooms asking to have sex, etc. this was a real concern but other than that over all our holiday was pretty good,
there were not many English people there as it was mainly russians, germans, etc, there were not many English as it was the first year of Thomson offering the hotel, but the people we met very lovely and would see them as very good friends,
but other than all of those faults overall a very good holiday, entertainment was a bit rubbish but everything put together turned out to be a great holiday for all.

Room Tip: Any room is great, obv pool side is going to be the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francesca351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

my wife and i booked this holiday with first choice in a few months ago for a family holiday.we were assured this hotel was kid freindly and had a hotel run kids club and entertainment.When we got there,How wrong were they?There was no entertainment of any sort most of the guests including the few children their, were bored stiff.The only form of entertainment they had was playing music in the bar area which was totaly awful.the excuse they gave for the lack of entertainment was because it was end of season.The travel agent gave no indication of this what so ever.The hotel guests were 90% German so they did not cater for English one bit.They had guest liason manager who compleatly ignored us but always mingled with the Germans,The Reception staff could barely speak a word of English.If there was a real emergancy,it is very likely you would be dead due to the language barrier. The food was quite edible,the drinks were just about passible.If you liked drinking raki,gin you would be quite happy,other than that the drinks were very limited.There was nothing wrong with the hotel rooms other than there is no English tv chanels,they are all in German and turkish.The pool was freezing cold.Plus,be aware the locals will try and screw you for every penny they can.you have to bate them down something cronic.You have to play them at there own game.This is by no means a suitable for poeple for familys with young Children.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Side hotels

leicester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our 2nd visit to the hotel and i can quite honestly say that i would return again. I travelled on my own with my 2 kids aged 14 and 12 and felt so welcomed by the staff. The room was always spotless, beds are comfortable, the food was lovely and there were fabulous salads every day. The turkish food is worth trying as well and i have experienced some spectacular flavours. The pancake lady worked very hard each day and made quite delicious varieties both sweet and savory.

There are a mixture of nationalities at this hotel but if you make that little bit of effort in getting to know the German and Russians as well as other Brits staying at the hotel..you will have a truely happy holiday. The location of this hotel is just perfect and Side as a resort is quite magical.

The entertainmant team were lovely and tried very hard to make our holiday quite special..and it was!! We really did not want to leave and made the most amazing friends on this holiday as well as the last one.

A holiday is really what you make of it. If you put in a little effort you will get so much out of this hotel with its freindly staff and i would not hesitate to return there again at all. Thank you Sun Club Side for a beautiful holiday. Missing you all very much!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank esmiraldasdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

have just returned ,thompson and first choice should be fined under the trade discriptions act this is not all inclusive,they have a small pool bar where a waiter will give you one of only three drinks ,vodka raki or beer in a small plastic cup,there are two barrels of wine ,red and white,which are the most foul tasting wine i have ever tasted,they have another bar,called the terrace bar when i asked why it was not open they said it would be open 11oclock when you have to pay,it was never open in the two weeks i was there,the food was edible but the same every day they just called it by a different name,the waitersrush you through your food so they can get home,i could go on forever about this so called hotel,so please if you dont want a bad holiday DONOT GO HERE

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimbo364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Having lived in Turkey and travelled widely in that country staying in everything from zero starred pensions to five starred luxury hotels I feel well positioned to comment on this one.
Upon arrival, in the early hours of the morning,one is presented with simply a dark tunnel complete with a security guard set in the middle of a row of shops. Not a very welcoming start.
However, my wife and I were immediately met by a smart, polite porter who took our cases,through gardens to the reception area and a very welcome light snack then on to our room which, although not the largest, was spotlessly clean and equipped with T.V. and the invaluable air conditioning.
Guests were mostly European being made up of Scandinavians, Poles, Germans as well as Brits and Turkish nationals. Everyone we met was very nice and if one makes an effort to speak to others it is invariably well received.
The pool is not large but more than adequate. If you should want a larger swimming area a very short walk, no more than four to five hundred meters will have you on a beach
that shelves very gently into a warm sea.
Yes, the food is Turkish but we were in Turkey so no surprises there. However, it was very good and varied Turkish food nicely presented in a buffet style and plenty of it.
The restaurant is exposed to the elements with only a roof but as this permits fresh air to circulate it is not unpleasant although one or two ceiling fans would be a welcome addition. For those wanting Britsh fare, yes there is the Kingfiser Pub a short walk away, Perhaps some of the comments about the food reflect more on the writer than on the food!
Overall a pleasant holiday and one I would be happy to repeat even though the Side of today bares little resemblence to the place I first visited some fifteen years ago.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rodney381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Ok, so we only paid £550 for a week all inclusive, so didn't expect a 5 star hotel. What we did expect was to eat plenty and drink plenty, unfortunately we got none of the above.
Good points = hotel was clean.
That's all I can say.
Bad points = here goes.
1. Food.
I didn't expect to go and get food I eat back home. What I did expect is edible CLEAN food. I can eat boiled egg every morning, but not with olives! Yes there was bugs in the food. Which to me is a problem, yes u may get that back home, but they would replace ur food for
a new food. Not in this hotel. There were different options everyday but the food was terrible, and if u wanted orange juice with ur breakfast u had to pay.
2. Alcohol, yes it was ok, if u like it watered down. And if u liked ur White wine hot u are on to a winner!!
3. Entertainment.
If anyone says that this was good and enjoyable then I would like to know if u were getting the drink that wasn't watered down??? Because it was terrible. Yes the staff did try to get u involved but if you said no they would be rude to you for the rest of the night.
4. Room
Clean and yes the maid did come every day, but our sheets were never changed on our week stay. Plus we stayed in room 1234, which faced the grill and the staff would peer in our room at meal times.
5. Staff
Totally intimidating, very rude. Would deliberately ignore you at the bar (which smelled of soured milk) when we were still drinking 15 mins after the free bar (which isn't free as we payed all inclusive) they turned the lights off leaving us sitting in the dark.

If I had any advice to anyone booked into this hotel I would say cancel it. I went hoping that I would save money going all inclusive, but ending up spending an extra £400 for food and drink. So if your nit changing it take extra money.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris-nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Side Star Beach Hotel
Side Star Beach Hotel
#32 of 227 in Side
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Side Hill Hotel
Side Hill Hotel
#100 of 227 in Side
81 reviews
3.5 mi away
Labranda Excelsior Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Side Alegria Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Side Star Park Hotel
Side Star Park Hotel
#48 of 227 in Side
189 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Beach Hotel
Sun Beach Hotel
#177 of 227 in Side
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Club Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Club Side

Property: Sun Club Side
Address: Selimiye Mah. Kiremithane Sok. No: 65/1, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Side
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Club Side 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Club Hotel Side is situated in a shopping street, 5 min walk to the beach . We do offer our guests a soft animation programm , an All İnclusive package between 10:00 and 23:00 ( breakfast , lunch ,thee time , dinner, soft drinks and national alcoholic drinks ). For those who likes a quiet holiday in a green oases nearby the old town Sun Club Hotel is a perfect place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Sun Club Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Club Side Hotel Side
Sun Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing