We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was Disappointed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Merve Sun Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Side
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Now you might be thinking from the title i am about to go off on a long rant moan about the apartment mervesun far from it.

The room was basic but it was cleaned every day, in a quit location overlooking the back garden on the ground floor just what we asked for.
I can’t praise the cleaning staff enough hard working and ever so friendly even spent time to decorate the bed with flowers and made swans with the towels, nice touch.

The pool area was clean and tidy with plenty of sun loungers available all day
.
So why was i disappointed, it’s been a while since i was last in turkey about 10 years ago and i remember when the turkish lira was the only currency used, but now the euro is king, everything is in Euro’s.
Which is strange considering turkey is not a member of the European Economic Community.
I was hoping to get away from the euro zone by travailing to turkey so was disappointed to find everything priced in Euro’s gone have the days of getting a bargain that leather bag/coat now cost much the same as uk prices, in fact food and beer can cost more than in the uk.
You go to turkey to shop and grab a bargain sadly those days have now gone.....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mirageuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

We booked this hotel last minute and as it was our first visit to Turkey not really sure what to expect, but received a positive welcome at 2.30am , had our bags carried to the room and really don't have any complaints at all. We were aware we had to pay extra for the air conditioning does make a real difference so would recommend it. The maids made a beautiful decoration of flowers on our bed one day which was really nice to return to. We didn't intend to cook as ate out everynight but if you do you may find the cooking arrangements quite basic, was really grateful for the fridge to keep the drinks cold though. The staff were helpful at all times. Used the turkish bath at the hotel, would recommend it. Enjoyed the steak in the restaurant excellent, if a little more expensive than other restaurants but worth the extra cost. Pool area cleaned every day, did not find the pool cold as others have said, found it refreshing from the heat and it was just cooler than the sea. Hotel was kept clean and a few toys for young children to play on along with table tennis and air hockey.
Perfect location for catching the dolmus buses immediately outside the hotel into Side but also . enjoyed the 4km beach walk into Side. Enjoyed the beach which has free deckchairs for the hotel.
Would definately recommend this value for money hotel and would go back, notice it has been upgraded to 3 stars for next year, can see why!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just got home from merve sun,few let downs at first but soon resolved. Firstly was given top floor 1 bedroom with a broken cot with 3 sides, not ideal with a 9 month old son,he ended up in my bed in my arms all night cos he would have obviously fallen out if cot,also I had paid for a 2 bedroom and the stairs were not ideal to carry a baby & buggy.the 2nd day I requested new cot and wAs straight away given a new 2 bed room with a new 4 sided cot arriving later on. After this the stAy was fine, we were in room 501 at the back it was nice and quiet and spacious.pools were small but ok if u just wanted to chill. You hAve to pay for aircon which I only found out on arrival 10lira per day.and it only stays on whilst u in the room not when u go out like others I been to. Take a few kitchen bits ie tin opener,towel,cups etc as not any in our room. And if u see the kittens,my daughter would be really over the moon if u gave them some milk.They won't hassle u I'd come over your balcony they were very well behaved,just hungry. She spent her last pennies on them & gave them our left over cereal,which they loved, as she felt sorry for them let me know if u do and it will make her day. Have fun & enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rtl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived at the Merve Sun hotel at 3am. We then got our key were taken to our room.

The next day we spent most of our time in the shade next to the pool. It was lovely and not too crowded.

The restaurants food was okay (not cheap) and they added charges on your bills. For example they added a 7 euro charge for a few drinks.

As we were staying self catering we used the next door shop which was cheap and had everything you need. We ate out every night and once took the bus to Side. Its ruins were lovely but the shops were mostly of designer items for tourists to take home.

Furthermore, is are number of games including table tennis and air hockey. Also there are two computers which are very cheap.

Room Tip: The shower is awful! One minute its hot, the next its cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 222tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We booked this last minute and were not expecting a great deal so were really presently surprised. The hotel room was basic but very clean and the maids worked very hard - even decorating our bed with flowers one day!
As other reviewers have commented, the pools are quite small and a bit chilly at times, but that was very welcome in the heat! There were usually enought sun beds free around the pool, although we're not really pool people and certainly didn't stay there all day...usually just at the start and end of the day.
The beach is only a 5 to 10 min walk away and very easy to get to - there is also a free bus that runs several times per day but we only used that once. The hotel has it's own patch of beach that you can sit on and the sun beds here are free. There is also a beach bar next to this beach (with very friendly staff) which offers good value meals (although not cordon bleu), usually with the free bread and dips starter and fruit after...plenty if you are holidaying on a budget!
Back at the hotel, there tended to be entertainment in the restaurant every evening of some sort, which sometimes included quite loud music. There also tended to be quite a lot of very young children racing around on toy cars etc. Not particularly our cup of tea, so tended to eat in various different resteraunts. We're not night owls, so when going to bed you could sometimes still hear the music, but didn't keep us awake.
On arriving, we were offered various trips by the Thomas Cook rep, but if you walk towards the beach you will see a tour company 'Traum Tours' - they offer exactly the same trips at ess than half the price. My two teenage daughters and husband really enjoyed the rafting trip. We also did a trip to Managvat, which was an enjoyable day out - to see the waterfall and market. (It was packed with tourists! which you would expect)
Apart from that we wanted a very relaxing holiday, so just walked or got the bus into Side when not on the beach. If you walk along the sea front it takes approx 45 mins, and you can look enviously at all the 5 star hotels on the way!! When you reach Side there are some nice restaurants on the waters edge and it is a really pleasant walk. The last buses from Side are at approx 11pm (I think) so you may need to get a taxi if you are heading back later than this.
The ruins in Side are a must to see. We were also very lucky as during the month of August Side has a free international music festival, with events every evening. The stage is next to the Temple of Apollo and is a really beautiful venue.
There are endless tourist shops and restaurants around, and you do get asked a lot to go inside etc .... we found everyone to be very friendly however and it didn't feel at all oppressive. If you have teenage daughters .. expect a lot of attention.
Negatives......the facilities in the apartment are quite basic, a fridge and 2 rings to cook on. (no teatowel,scourer etc so maybe take with you or buy) We only had two pasta meals in the apartment and breakfast in the morning, so for us it was fine. The doors on the rooms make an unbelievably loud noise, as well as people in the stairwells at night ... but once you get used to this again it is fine!! It is also not very peaceful on the balcony. Although we were overlooking the pool and the mountains, the main road is very close and quite busy.
Back to positives ..Supermarket next door to apartments is ideal for breakfast food, fruit, pasta etc. and again staff very helpful and friendly. My husband enjoyed the massage treatment that is available at the hotel, and if you go into Side try a shave in the barbers.
We had a great holiday on a budget!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hopeyoulikeicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I emailed nerve sun before my stay and requested a room between 500-515 got 509 and was very happy so please also try this!

Not happy with location as it's far away from side and this did have an impact on our stay

Manager of Hotel is very moody but rest of staff are great

Pools both too small but rooms are fantastic

Still love side

Pete and jane

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedrozbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Rooms very clean, tidy and basic. Staff very helpful, maids get 10/10 from me for all their hard work.

Pool is cold, as other reviewers say, but I thought it was a fantastic temperature to jump in on a hot day! I went in every day as it was so nice.

Restaurant had lovely food but not cheap. One day we had only 5 drinks, 3 were non-alcoholic, they cost a staggering £20. We didn't drink or eat there again!!!

Shop next door was fab. We bought fresh bread, meats and cheeses for breakfast at a fraction of the cost of eating in restaurants.

Not a resort for someone wanting to spend every day on a golden beach with clear blue waters as the sand is dirty coloured and the sea full of weed! Also too hot and far to walk to during the day, you need to use free bus that's included, (limited times), so not a great place for a beach holiday. That said they do make the best of it.

Local shops good. Side 10 mins by bus, but Side too commercialised for me!

Room Tip: No probs with given room. At front overlooking road and we had no problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 222henry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
5.1 mi away
Grand Prestige Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#36 of 229 in Side
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Narcia Resort Hotel
Narcia Resort Hotel
#65 of 229 in Side
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armas Bella Sun
Armas Bella Sun
#126 of 229 in Side
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Side Alegria Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merve Sun Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merve Sun Hotel & Spa

Address: Yali Mahallesi, S.Demirel Bulvari, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey (Formerly Merve Sun Park Hotel)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Speciality Lodging in Side
Price Range: £40 - £860 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merve Sun Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Merve Sun Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing