We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Merve Sun Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$109
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$341
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (162)
Filter reviews
162 results
Traveller rating
62
49
34
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
49
34
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshops surrounding the hotelmin walkcleaned every daygerman russianwithin walking distancebeach barmain roaddouble bedturkeyturkish lirajust arrived backfree sunbedsrelaxing breakhotel roomprivate beachevening entertainmentdolmus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 162 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Now you might be thinking from the title i am about to go off on a long rant moan about the apartment mervesun far from it.

The room was basic but it was cleaned every day, in a quit location overlooking the back garden on the ground floor just what we asked for.
I can’t praise the cleaning staff enough hard working and ever so friendly even spent time to decorate the bed with flowers and made swans with the towels, nice touch.

The pool area was clean and tidy with plenty of sun loungers available all day
.
So why was i disappointed, it’s been a while since i was last in turkey about 10 years ago and i remember when the turkish lira was the only currency used, but now the euro is king, everything is in Euro’s.
Which is strange considering turkey is not a member of the European Economic Community.
I was hoping to get away from the euro zone by travailing to turkey so was disappointed to find everything priced in Euro’s gone have the days of getting a bargain that leather bag/coat now cost much the same as uk prices, in fact food and beer can cost more than in the uk.
You go to turkey to shop and grab a bargain sadly those days have now gone.....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mirageuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We booked this hotel last minute and as it was our first visit to Turkey not really sure what to expect, but received a positive welcome at 2.30am , had our bags carried to the room and really don't have any complaints at all. We were aware we had to pay extra for the air conditioning does make a real difference so would recommend it. The maids made a beautiful decoration of flowers on our bed one day which was really nice to return to. We didn't intend to cook as ate out everynight but if you do you may find the cooking arrangements quite basic, was really grateful for the fridge to keep the drinks cold though. The staff were helpful at all times. Used the turkish bath at the hotel, would recommend it. Enjoyed the steak in the restaurant excellent, if a little more expensive than other restaurants but worth the extra cost. Pool area cleaned every day, did not find the pool cold as others have said, found it refreshing from the heat and it was just cooler than the sea. Hotel was kept clean and a few toys for young children to play on along with table tennis and air hockey.
Perfect location for catching the dolmus buses immediately outside the hotel into Side but also . enjoyed the 4km beach walk into Side. Enjoyed the beach which has free deckchairs for the hotel.
Would definately recommend this value for money hotel and would go back, notice it has been upgraded to 3 stars for next year, can see why!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just got home from merve sun,few let downs at first but soon resolved. Firstly was given top floor 1 bedroom with a broken cot with 3 sides, not ideal with a 9 month old son,he ended up in my bed in my arms all night cos he would have obviously fallen out if cot,also I had paid for a 2 bedroom and the stairs were not ideal to carry a baby & buggy.the 2nd day I requested new cot and wAs straight away given a new 2 bed room with a new 4 sided cot arriving later on. After this the stAy was fine, we were in room 501 at the back it was nice and quiet and spacious.pools were small but ok if u just wanted to chill. You hAve to pay for aircon which I only found out on arrival 10lira per day.and it only stays on whilst u in the room not when u go out like others I been to. Take a few kitchen bits ie tin opener,towel,cups etc as not any in our room. And if u see the kittens,my daughter would be really over the moon if u gave them some milk.They won't hassle u I'd come over your balcony they were very well behaved,just hungry. She spent her last pennies on them & gave them our left over cereal,which they loved, as she felt sorry for them let me know if u do and it will make her day. Have fun & enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rtl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived at the Merve Sun hotel at 3am. We then got our key were taken to our room.

The next day we spent most of our time in the shade next to the pool. It was lovely and not too crowded.

The restaurants food was okay (not cheap) and they added charges on your bills. For example they added a 7 euro charge for a few drinks.

As we were staying self catering we used the next door shop which was cheap and had everything you need. We ate out every night and once took the bus to Side. Its ruins were lovely but the shops were mostly of designer items for tourists to take home.

Furthermore, is are number of games including table tennis and air hockey. Also there are two computers which are very cheap.

Room Tip: The shower is awful! One minute its hot, the next its cold.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 222tess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We booked this last minute and were not expecting a great deal so were really presently surprised. The hotel room was basic but very clean and the maids worked very hard - even decorating our bed with flowers one day!
As other reviewers have commented, the pools are quite small and a bit chilly at times, but that was very welcome in the heat! There were usually enought sun beds free around the pool, although we're not really pool people and certainly didn't stay there all day...usually just at the start and end of the day.
The beach is only a 5 to 10 min walk away and very easy to get to - there is also a free bus that runs several times per day but we only used that once. The hotel has it's own patch of beach that you can sit on and the sun beds here are free. There is also a beach bar next to this beach (with very friendly staff) which offers good value meals (although not cordon bleu), usually with the free bread and dips starter and fruit after...plenty if you are holidaying on a budget!
Back at the hotel, there tended to be entertainment in the restaurant every evening of some sort, which sometimes included quite loud music. There also tended to be quite a lot of very young children racing around on toy cars etc. Not particularly our cup of tea, so tended to eat in various different resteraunts. We're not night owls, so when going to bed you could sometimes still hear the music, but didn't keep us awake.
On arriving, we were offered various trips by the Thomas Cook rep, but if you walk towards the beach you will see a tour company 'Traum Tours' - they offer exactly the same trips at ess than half the price. My two teenage daughters and husband really enjoyed the rafting trip. We also did a trip to Managvat, which was an enjoyable day out - to see the waterfall and market. (It was packed with tourists! which you would expect)
Apart from that we wanted a very relaxing holiday, so just walked or got the bus into Side when not on the beach. If you walk along the sea front it takes approx 45 mins, and you can look enviously at all the 5 star hotels on the way!! When you reach Side there are some nice restaurants on the waters edge and it is a really pleasant walk. The last buses from Side are at approx 11pm (I think) so you may need to get a taxi if you are heading back later than this.
The ruins in Side are a must to see. We were also very lucky as during the month of August Side has a free international music festival, with events every evening. The stage is next to the Temple of Apollo and is a really beautiful venue.
There are endless tourist shops and restaurants around, and you do get asked a lot to go inside etc .... we found everyone to be very friendly however and it didn't feel at all oppressive. If you have teenage daughters .. expect a lot of attention.
Negatives......the facilities in the apartment are quite basic, a fridge and 2 rings to cook on. (no teatowel,scourer etc so maybe take with you or buy) We only had two pasta meals in the apartment and breakfast in the morning, so for us it was fine. The doors on the rooms make an unbelievably loud noise, as well as people in the stairwells at night ... but once you get used to this again it is fine!! It is also not very peaceful on the balcony. Although we were overlooking the pool and the mountains, the main road is very close and quite busy.
Back to positives ..Supermarket next door to apartments is ideal for breakfast food, fruit, pasta etc. and again staff very helpful and friendly. My husband enjoyed the massage treatment that is available at the hotel, and if you go into Side try a shave in the barbers.
We had a great holiday on a budget!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hopeyoulikeicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews