We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Sedef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Side Sedef Hotel
Ranked #182 of 228 Hotels in Side
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Basic but good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

An excellent value; kids had a great time. Food was good and plentiful. 50m to the beach, but the Sedef does not have it's own beach. Go to the Golden Star beach, its free (pay only for drinks), and only 20m to the left of the access road. Water slide operates twice a day for an hour each time, but it was more than enough. Rooms were clean, and cleaned everyday. Had a great view from our room, but note that not all rooms have a view. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Local shop guy across the street was great. Had a great time at the Sedef with our 2 kids!

Room Tip: Non pool view rooms are quieter, but the sea/pool view is worth the noise from the beer bars on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshall_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    8
    12
    2
    5
See reviews for
11
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I took a trip there from my teaching assignment abroad when I had a week to spare before going back the US. A manager on duty waited for me there with a cold mean prepared. The trip from the airport took around an hour. He was both friendly and professional. The hotel is just one street up from a long beautiful promenade by the sea, which ultimately goes to the old town with the ancient theater and the Temple of Apollo at the very edge of Side. The position of the hotel allowed for numerous easy scenic strolls to the town and back. The meals at the hotel restaurant represented good Turkish cuisine and were plentiful and satisfying, and the waiters, as usual, were helpful, hard working, and fond of anyone who showed them respect. The great bonus of the service at the hotel was free access to Turkish tea, which was for me a much appreciated delight. The cleaning was done very well and punctually. The hotel is, indeed, some fifty meters from the beach, and the hotel has an agreement with a restaurant on the beach for free use of the beach for the hotel guests. The tacit expectation of the restaurant is that you would buy some drink from there at least from time to time. The maids put the blanket every day into a different artistic shape. The imagination and artistry was impressive. I used my stay mainly for sight-seeing trips. In this respect, the hotel was very helpful and forthcoming. When there was some issue to be resolved (i.e. with the travel agency), the hotel staff and its managers took initiative and went out of their way to help me (one time even searching for me around the bloc). The Wi-fi worked well--from the balcony and in the restaurant. The atmosphere at the hotel was friendly, relaxed--one you get at a small hotel, which feels intimate and almost family-like. The other tourists comprised some British, Poles, and other Europeans. On the last night, the main manager of the place stayed late to say goodbye to me in person.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vladimir9234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

I spent there great holidays with my boyfriend. The location of hotel is great, there is about few metres to the sea and to the lot of pubs and discos. If someone needs the silence won't be glad, but we are young and we like nightlife so it was excellent solution for us :)
There is about 15 minutes to walk from the hotel to the old town and to the ruins.
On Saturday the Hotel organises Turkish Night with belly dancer and other entertainments. On the other evenings they always organise a small party with the music and dancing.
The food is great, except breakfast which is a little bit boring, because on every day they serve the same meals, but the dinner and supper are delicious! There is so many salads, meats, pastas etc that you won't know what to choose !:)
The room that we have got was clean and sunny with the view on the sea.
Air conditioning and mini bar was working well.
The staff of hotel is very nice and funny :)
It was lovely time that we've spent there and the Side is gorgeous city ! I hope we will come back there in future!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nastix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Nice, small hotel. Rooms are good equipted but the furniture is very old. Our fridge worked wen it wanted so it's better to not use it at all. Tv chanels most of all turkish. Simple batchroom with shower, but water isn't always hot so it depends if many other people are using their showers at the same tikme. Every room has a balcony with view at the pool or... at the other building (yeah ques with one I've got?). The cleaners do a very good job every day! Food is good, maybe breakfast could be better but really you can choose whatever you want. What's not the best is that you eat next to the pool so everyone have to get aout of the water and in time of meals there's no swimming. There's also a lot of annoying flyes and eating you have to wave your hands to scare them off. Funny thing is that when they put all the food people run for it! But everyone gets a bite. Waiters are very nice but like in 3 star hotel they don's keep distance so if you are single woman prepare yourself for weird propositions from them. Pool is ok but there isn't many sun beds so if you want to hill out at the pool it's better if you go there before breakfast. The slide isn't working all the time they turn on the water only 2 times a day. There's no one looking at the pool so while I was there one kid had to go to the hospital. Beach is realy close, but you have to pay for the sunbeds (3-4 euro), of course you can just sit on your towel but there's no space to put it on sand and our friends told us that they were shoo from beach when they didn't want to buy sunbeds, but we went there only in the afternon with our towels and we never had a problem. Old town is really close so it's good time to get to know some history. There's also a massage and turkish bath but we didn't buy it. Once a week they organise turkish night. Another thing is there's a lot of smoking people and they smoke everywhere: at the pool, at the tables even in elevator. There's wi-fi in lobby and close to it so on sunbeds at the pool it's working. But the price for this 3 stars hotel is good, so no need to complain. Well maybe it's not romantic hotel for honeymoon or place for business stay (because there's a lot of cafes and pubs around so it's a little bit noisy) But for family it's good: pool with slides, beach and old city. Friends will appreciate all-inclusive drinks a lot of bars and parties in neighbourhood.

Room Tip: choose rooms from 2-4 floor the rest has so low balcons that you have no privacy. choos rooms facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

very good location. The hotel is located close to the beach - about 80 m distance. Sedef unfortunely doesn't have its own private beach. The beach is nice: wide and sandy. The sea is clean. Also, it is close to the ancient city Side (about 15-20 minute walk) where you can see theater and the ruins temple of Apollo.
The hotel is average. The rooms are small and the bathroom even very small. The furniture is basic. I lacked the shelves for clothes. The room was well cleaned. The towels were changed daily. Often there was a problem with hot water. The food was delicious and varied. Staff was friendly and helpful.
The pool is small but when we were there, it wasn't crowded.
In the lobby is available WiFi included.

If you do not plan to spend much time in the hotel - I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nomiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

A week ago I came back from a lovely holiday in Turkey. The hotel Side Sedef I stayed in was very comfortable clean and service very helpful. The food was delicious there. The swimming pool was small but still big enough to have fun and swim; the sand beach crowded but clean. There was a lot to do in the evenings - many restaurants, pubs, shops, travel agencies with plenty of various trips guided in English, German, Russian, Polish. I recommend to see Cappadocia and Green Canyon. Unfortunately, me and my friend had a very unpleasant meeting with English family on one of those trips. They loudly talked about us in a very bad and rude way thinking we didn't understand. When we kindly admonished them they pretended they didn't hear or understand English shocked that Poles can comprehend and even speak their languageas well as they do. I was shoked by the way they behaved, especially that they were with young children who talked about us like their parents did. Horrible! Later, we found out from some local guides that English people always cause problems. That's nothing unusual - they said.
All in all, Turkey is a very friendly country and a good holiday destination provided that you don't have doubtful pleasure to meet rude English people.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

As in the title it is only a 3 star hotel, so prepare yourself for some inconveniences. However, if you realise you only paying for 3 stars you won't be disappointed.

My room was only average, but I didn't spend much time in it, so it didn't bother at all. You wake up, take a shower ( bathroom was not very nice, but its only a few times a day you have to use it). The only issue I had was with air con. First, it wasn't good enough for such temperatures (30+), especially for a person that is not used to heat like that. Also, the hotel clearly tried to save on electricity and kept switching electricity off every night just for one second, however it caused air con to turn off and as a result I waking up few times a night. One night i'd just stormed into the reception at 2 am, but they pretended not to speak english :) nevertheless, the annoying practice stopped after this night, so don't know if they still do it.

Staff at the bar and the restaurant was really funny, bit cheeky, but in a playful and a cute way. Funny, they didn't speak English, but still managed to make me laugh number of times. I cannot say the same about the management of this hotel, they greediness was just too obvious, but I was on holiday so I could not care less :)

One of the strongest selling points is the hotel's location. It's a minute walk from a beach and about 20 mints walk to the ancient part of Side. It's also a very safe area, so when I decided to have a swim in the sea at the middle of a night I could just go and do it.

Overall, I would recommend it to younger people who do not plan to stay in they rooms too much. Onece again, do not expect too much it is only 3 starts

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors (3th +) with a sea view balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
1.1 mi away
Dosi Hotel
Dosi Hotel
#30 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nerton Hotel
Nerton Hotel
#121 of 228 in Side
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sirma Hotel
Sirma Hotel
#191 of 228 in Side
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Neptun
Neptun
#146 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Side Su
Hotel Side Su
#46 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Selenium Hotel
Selenium Hotel
#114 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Sedef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Sedef Hotel

Property: Side Sedef Hotel
Address: Selimiye Mahallesi 616. Sokak No: 21, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 228 Hotels in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Side Sedef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Side Sedef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing