We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Otium Eco Club Side
Ranked #11 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“much better than expected”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

After reading a recent review critising,both thomas cook and the otium,we really didn't expect any standards at all from this hotal.
We arrived early hours of the morning with frist immpressions being blimey this is nice.
After being here for 11 nights i can honestly say our party of 4 adults and 3 children wished we were staying longer.
Normally we wouldn't care less about writing a review but felt we need to write this,
I will keep as brief as poss what anybody would really want to know
Employees form maids to managers all friendly and nothing to much trouble,if you have children entertainment for them brill,entertainment in the evenings were of normal standed for hotels,some good some bad,although competitions at night were hillarious between different nationalities staying there .
Restaurant fine lunch and dinner plenty of choice although berakfast did seem to cater for continental style but always found something to eat .
rooms were great spotlessly cleaned every day with even shampoo soap shower gel etc .
the complex itself is like a small village with beautifully kept gardens and walkways which lead to a walk along a lake to the beach approx 10 mins walk which is also all inclusive for food and drinks
easy to get sunbeds at the beach but did have to get up early to get them near swimming pool
i would say that english holidaymakers are a minority, although we made more friends here then any other holiday we have been on .
I would like to give a special mention to a certain entertainer by the name of Baha who was fantastic with our children and whom spoke very good english
overall fantastic hoilday would certaintly go again and recommend to anyone else hope this has been a help to anyone looking to go to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank leanne010680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    313
    93
    40
    18
See reviews for
779
195
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ticino
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Otium Eco Hotel is very big but very well organised. Not less than 7 pools offer anything anybody might wish: big fun for kids, quiteness and relax for others. The personel does everything they can to keep the whole surface (and it is big) perfectly clean (unfortunately some idiote customers do everything they can to make it less perfect). Animation team: all languages available, very international minded (thanks!). Animation offer: extremely high level, lot of variation, best you can get. Food: the trick is to not taste everything every day, cause then it becomes a bit monotonous. If one, like any intelligent and healthy person should do, chooses a complete menu daily, you can eat something else almost every day. The salad buffet is absolutely fabulous, offers for any taste! Warm meals offer big choice daily as well, from Italian pasta over Belgian french fries and Russian salad to Turkish meatballs and filled aubergines. Fruit abundantly available all day long. Rooms: very clean and rather large, comfortable. Try it to believe it, we can only advise it!
Enjoy your holiday, I'm sure!

Room Tip: Make sure to understand well what you get: for families double bedrooms available (called
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MDLLTicino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I came here with my boyfriend and his parents for 7 nights (wish we had done 14!) and had an absolutely great holiday.
We were greeted warmly in the reception even though it was the early hours of the morning and did not have to wait around at all to be shown to our rooms. A member of the hotel staff took our cases for us and explained how to use all the facilities in the rooms. We were very impressed right from the offset.

The room was just the right size, and was immaculately clean and ready for us. There was a spacious wardrobe with plenty of room for both of our clothes and more. There was a large dresser in the room with all the bits of information we needed about the hotel and the services it offers laid out on ready for us to read. There was also a television with many channels, although only 2 were English speaking, which we didn't mind. The bathroom was a perfect size, a lovely big sink and mirror and an the shower was really really nice.

There were three outdoor pools of which we only went in two, but they were both very pleasant, one of which had two water slides. The hotel entertainment team were always around making us feel welcome and appreciated as guests. They lead activities such as water polo, water gymnastics and water aerobics as well as some very funny games every single day and always looked happy to be there. In the evenings there was always a show in the ampitheatre which were all hilarious and entertaining.

The food was pretty good, every meal time did offer a wide range of foods including salad and fresh bread. Breakfasts were always the best because there was a lovely selection of pastries! Lunch was nice at the pool bar as they had some delicious pizza, and in the evening there was a lovely selection of desserts.

The only downfall of this holiday was that mostly everybody staying at the hotel was either German or Russian, which made making conversation with other families quite hard. Also, they seemed to be extremely rude when queuing for food and pushed in all the time, but small things like this did not make much of an impact on how much we enjoyed ourselves.

We also had a swim in the indoor pool which was very nice and the spa and wellness centre looked very nice although we did not use those facilities. There was also a large kids area all in the shade, perfect for young children.

I would most definitely return here and i'm already begging my boyfriend to come back here with me as soon as we can! I can highly recommend this hotel for a lovely relaxing holiday with plenty of entertainment and things to do.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Indiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We returned from Otium at the weekend and we had a fantastic time! The hotel was superb - we had a deluxe room which was very big - with a large lounge area with 2 sofas as well as a double bed. The only problem we had was that we didnt get a proper duvet - only a couple of blankets that werent big enough for the bed, but after contacting reception they delivered a big sheet for us which was great. The staff at reception were very helpful, and spoke good English.
The bars were really good and all the staff were really quick at serving so there was never much of a queue. They had a cocktail menu which was included in the All Inc which were lovely - they put an orange slice on the side of the glass and one night I even had a sparkler in it!
The food was good - not a huge selection compared to other all inclusives, but there was plently to find something to eat every night and we didnt have a bad stomach at all. Lots of display cooking too! The salad selection was the best ive ever seen - so fresh! There were lots of tables in the restaurant - with 3 outdoor areas so didnt struggle for a table (but we did go before busy season).
The pool area was great and really clean, we never struggled to find sunbeds, even at 10am! The pool area is pretty big so you dont feel like you are squashed next to the next guest when on your sunbed. One afternoon a bar man even came round the pool with cold alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks which was a lovely touch.
The poor bar had snack food like pizza, chips and burgers out at lunch but we preferred to go into the main restaurant. The poor bar also had help yourself water coolers, as well as strawberry and chocolate milkshakes and 3 fruity drinks which were all lovely!
The entertainment team were great - not pushy at all and would leave you alone after you said no once.
Although we didnt travel with children, the kids club looked great.
We only watched the evening entertainment a couple of nights - it was pretty average for hotel shows, but wasnt the car crash shows that ive seen in some hotels!
Overall we had a fantastic stay at Otium - would highly recommend it! Its 5* rating was definitely deserved (although 5* turkey is more like 4* Uk rating) but was the best All Inc hotel i have stayed at!
We did find that the majority of guests were German, and they can be very rude and push in the queues all the time, but it wasnt a major problem!

Room Tip: definitely reconmend a deluxe/superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sunbun33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Ignore the stupid review a little further down - it is not subjective, and the comments are absolutely unjust

Hotel is spotlessly clean, food is varied (although does cater for the eastern europe market), turkish night is fab, entertainment was top notch. Rooms were clean and spacious and the facilites for children were amazing. The kids club and kids area were superb

highly recommended hotel, and we will be returning next year

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank orientboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My fiancee and I stayed here last year. We had a super time. I'll keep the review short and sweet:

Rooms are large, clean and tidy. Food is plentiful and large choice although not catered for an English palate (more on that in a moment), location is good, 5 minute stroll along a river down to the beach where there is a bar and lots of sun beds.
There are 3 pools and water slides for kids of all ages! Activities take place all day for children and some for adults (aqua arobics, archery, boules etc) if you like that type of thing.
The place is spotless, staff are excellent. The only negative I had was no fault of the hotel at all, however the resort and hotel is full of Russians and Germans and as a result the food is catered for them. There were probably only a handful of English people at the hotel, which is fine, but: The Germans are okay if you can deal with having to fight for a sun bed at 8 am in the morning but the Russians are the rudest people I have ever come across. They do not smile, they do not hold open doors, they queue jump and they speak no English so unless you can speak Russian you cannot tell them where to go.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sy_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The reason for the delay in writing this review is that we took the travel company to County court for mis selling the holiday, and won our case with compensation of £500.
We booked our holiday with Thomas Cook, who advertised the hotel as opening in 2009, we proved that it was a much older hotel, it was also advertised as overlooking a sandy beach which it did not, and that there were 3 restaurants, two had closed down. The rooms were very dated certainly not 4* and the restaurant was a canteen, no tablecloths, set with 1 knife, 1 fork and a paper serviette, as for the food, raw chicken, turkey roll, cubed liver, or mince, suffered severe stomch upsets first night, went to see rep following morning and requested a move to a different hotel , were told it would cost £790 for three days, so asked to be sent home as soon as possible, were told it would cost £750 to be flown back to the UK 3 days early, we stuck it out and lived on soup and bread for the rest of the week,, After 40 years of going on holiday at least twice a year and knowing that some 4* hotels are better than others we can truly say we have never ever stayed at a hotel that bad that we prayed for it to be over so we could get home

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
7.0 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
4.7 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
4.6 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#22 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
7.3 mi away
Oz Hotels Side Premium Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otium Eco Club Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otium Eco Club Side

Property: Otium Eco Club Side
Address: Titreyengol Mevki, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#9 Luxury Hotel in Side
#9 Spa Hotel in Side
#18 Family Hotel in Side
#29 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Otium Eco Club Side 5*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Otium Eco Club Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otium Eco Club Side Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing