We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled, this is not a 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Ranked #12 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We travelled as 3 adults and 2 two year old children and spent a week in this hotel in August. It turned out to be the hottest week they had in the region the whole summer.
Upon arrival we had check-in with someone who hardly spoke English and left to our room with a lot of questions. The bell-boy, a mature man with zero English skills, expected his 10€ tip ( no less!! Or you would get a nasty attitude) with an almost aggressive expression on his face only to not even acknowledge your presence on the hallway in front of the room the following day- let alone say hello. Great 5 star service! We got to our rooms that had virtually no ventilation, just fan. With 40 degrees Celsius outside and even higher expected temperatures in the following days, we asked around and fellow travelers informed us that the AC actually worked only at certain hours during the day, then was centrally turned on fan only. Two days in our stay, with probable numerous complaints in the scorching heat, the AC was on at all times but barely cooling. Hallways had no AC, nor elevators, restaurants, restrooms. One of the main 'attractions' of the hotel -the panoramic elevator- a glass elevator serving very many people and exposed to the sun for the whole day- offered not only a view, but a perfect sauna, free of charge!

Hardly any toiletries in the bathroom. Liquid soap disposer near sink and another one in the shower, no shampoo, conditioner, soap bar, mouth wash, etc. Some napkins and q-tips was all we got and housekeeping expected an incentive even to refill those.

Moving on to food, there was a decent selection. However, two days into our stay 4 out of 5 in our family got food poisoning, most probably from the fish- not what you hope for when traveling with young kids.


Milk- another story worth mentioning for those traveling with babies or young children. Every time we requested milk for the children at meal time,we got a different attitude. Mostly a frown, some comments in Turkish while turning to a coworker with a disgusted look. Then we would have them pour 100 milliliters of milk in a glass wine..

Without further detail, let me sum it up: this is a 3-star hotel in most regards, 4 star if you are very generous. Service is terrible. Between having very few English speakers but tons of attitude, you end up having very few requests met. They don't do basics. At check-in they forgot to give us the arm bracelet that identifies their guests and were constantly suspected of being intruders for all of our stay. When we realized the reason, it was towards our departure and had no more interest in correcting their mishaps. The one person who seemed to try to do his job was the children entertainer. I got the message across - in English- just twice during our stay ( one operator, one reception personnel). However, you will be fine if you speak German as they all seem to know this language to some degree. Expect waiters to snap at you and tell you that your table is not their responsibility, or just expect to be ignored.

With all this said, take your money and business elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoAround7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalSunriseQueen, CRYSTAL SUNRISE QUEEN CRM at Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Dear goAround7,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crystal Sunrise Queen and thank you also for taking a few minutes to leave your review following your visit.

We were sorry to hear that there had been several elements with which you were not completely satisfied and for this I would like to extend our apologies.

We would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again at Crystal Sunrise Queen when you next time visit Side/Antalya thereby have the chance to restore your good faith.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 388 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Crystal Sunrise and we had a lovely time. The hotel does offer good value for money and Side is a lovely part of Turkey.

Arrived and check in no problem....however went to our room to find only two beds, we were a party of three adults. Reception quickly organised a temporary bed, but the room was too small and you couldn't get to on to the balcony, due to the amount of furniture. Frustrating as I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival. The hotel is designed so that sea view rooms are smaller than non sea view. Non sea view have 3 proper beds for families and plenty of room, seaviews are smaller and really only fit for 2 people.

Air conditioning this year was a problem in the main hotel and is hit and miss depending on your room. It is also on a timer system at very strange times, goes off at 18.30 not good when you have three females using hairdryers. Because of this problem in two rooms (travelled with parents) we were able to change rooms into the family block. Not sure this would have been an option if peak season. Guest relations are fantastic if you ever have any problems.

Family block was the best move ever. Rooms are very spacious, modern and air conditioning was fantastic, lost our sea view but it was well worth the move. Family pool we found very enjoyable which was quieter than the other pools believe it or not, loads of free sun beds upto about 11.00 am. It has access to a bar and you can order food from the menu should you not want to venture far. You are also close to the slides for the children, which are good fun. Other pools are nice to visit and never seem over crowded. Didn't really bother much which daily entertainment, mainly due to being over in the family block, but they do aqua aerobics, volley ball in the pool, darts, pool games and others.

Food was as excellent as last year in the restaurants which is buffet style. You had plenty of choice and it was always hot and fresh. Never found the need to try the a la cartes. Service wasn't as good this year due to the delay in availability of tables at peak times. The waiters worked real hard, but there were just not enough of them, this was not a problem last year. Please take note Sunrise you do need more staff to clear and remake tables, which would make a big difference to clients dining experience. All inclusive drinks were ok, they did make a good mohito. Wine we found undrinkable and there is only a small selection of drinks that was served in the evening restaurant. We found it easier to get our drinks before our meal from the sunset bar and then take to your dinner table.

Our favourite place to visit was the Sunset Bar the views are stunning and don't think you will beat them anywhere. We always visited this on our way back too our rooms around 5pm and had a few cocktails. They also did cakes, fruit and an icecream machine (like Mr Wippy) should you get a bit peckish.

Entertainment compared to other hotels we have visited was very good. Most shows were very watchable and after you could sit in the Sunset Bar to live music or a dj until around 11.30 pm. However although this was pleasant enough, a few songs from current charts would be nice as they are still playing alot of 70s music. The dance party night was great down by the beach bar and music choice was more modern. However there was only one party night on a 10 night stay which was a disappointment, not sure if this was because we arrived a week before peak holiday season though. Some nights there was also karaoke in another bar if this was your cup of tea.

Sea and beach are lovely, plenty of sunbeds available although a lot more of them this year because of the sister hotel. Just watch for the rocks though, but was great to jump over the waves.

Visited Side by taxi a couple of times. Costs around 25 Turkish lira in a taxi each way which you can order from reception. Very quaint town, lots of shops, bars and restaurants. Roman ruins are amazing. Didn't feel the need to go to the market as plenty of shops to choose from. You can walk along the promenade, take you about 40 minutes.

Last day we had a little hiccup with getting a courtesy room. We was told the day before you can't book until the morning you leave and was 70 euros until 6pm....that was fine. In the morning we were told no rooms in the hotel....find this hard to believe. Then they offered us an hour in two rooms to shower free of charge, great happy with that. Turned out, when we went to shower, that the time slot had gone to half an hour for 5 of us to shower now in one room.......Impossible task. In the end we got one room for half hour and then another very dodgy room with no toilet at the back of reception with no aircon. This made leaving Sunrise a very stressful and hot experience and did put a damper on things unnecessarily. If we had known this we would have only dipped in the pool during the day and kept hairs dry. Sunrise needs to look at clients checkout experience and not promise one thing and then do another.

All in all we did have a good time, even with its little hiccups as no hotels are perfect. Would I go back again Yes probably as long as the price was right and we stayed in the family block. What you will enjoy......the food is very very good, views are absolutely stunning, better dining experience than other all inclusives, the sea is lovely and has enjoyable entertainment.. Happy holidays everyone.

Room Tip: Family block over looking the pool room 4419 and 4421
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dawnbolger2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalSunriseQueen, CRYSTAL SUNRISE QUEEN CRM at Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Dear DOWNBOLGER2001,

Thank you for choosing again to stay at Crystal Sunrise Queen and thank you also for taking a few minutes to leave your review following your visit.

We were sorry to hear that there had been several elements with which you were not completely satisfied and for this I would like to extend our apologies.

We would welcome the opportunity to accommodate you again at Crystal Sunrise Queen when you next time visit Side/Antalya thereby have the chance to restore your good faith.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Very nice and helpful hotelstaf. The food was wery good and the buffé served various courses. Nice entertainment by the pool and great water aerobic. Extra plus for waterbotles, towles system and waterworld. This is a perfect family hotel and we are definately comming back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalSunriseQueen, Ön Büro Müdürü at Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We all looking forward to welcoming you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We are a family with two kids 8 and 13, stayed July 13th to 17th 2014

We booked with Thomas cook (don't bother with inflight meals, awfull, cremated in the microwave), I would recommend using a private transfer from the airport (see the travel forum on this), although we were the 3rd drop off and it is only an hour transfer time we waited at the airport for another hour before everyone was on the bus and we were ready to go, transfer back was straight forward. (Macdonals in the airport better than what TC offer on their flights) We thought we were being picked up rather early for our flight back but you need all your time.
TC flights were fine, leg room ok but if you check in online they automaticaly give you a seat number, costs you to change to another standard seat.

Hotel checkin no issues, english language spoken everything explained, only comment here is that we had, had three different porters by the time we got off the bus till our cases were at the room, little scam i think to ensure they get as much tips as possible.

Small buffet available to late arriving guests, perfectly suitable.

Free wifi, we had this in our room the first week but had to sit in one of the communial areas to get it the second week, not an issue for us, good enough to keep a teenager on facebook/facetime/snapchat

We were in the family block ground floor, room is not 5* but a suitable 4*, as you come in the door there are two single beds, fridge, LCD Tv on wall, then you go through a door into the main bedroom, large king size bed, fully stocked fridge (beer, soft drinks, chocolate bars, peanuts etc) replenished daily, Patio doors out onto small outside seating area, table 4 chairs. Bathroom is in the middle between the two rooms and lacks adequate ventilation, large double shower, (hairdryer, shower gel etc available) aircon worked really well and was needed. Upper floors have a view but we weren't in the room long enough to worry about this, the ground floor room was 10m from the family pool. (Beach towels supplied and changed daily at the glass lift)
Where the kids slept just being in the from the room door this could be a bit noisey with late night/early morning party people/high heels on the tiled corridors outside, didn't bother our two too much.

We used the family pool all the time, which has a little kiddie pool adjacent to it and a snack bar with a limited menu and unlimited ice cream till about 4.30pm, we never ever struggled to get 4 sunbeds together front row at this pool even turning up after 11am, not sure if this was due to the dates we were there or not.

Just up from the family pool is the Sunrise water park, 3 slides for the bigger ones and two for the toddlers, all good fun, best part was that we could use the water park at the Crystal sunset which was the hotel just behind Sunrise and this water park was incredible, our first week there were no queues but towards the end of our second week the Crystal Sunset water park was very busy screaming kids/adults everywhere, we believe at the Sunrise we had the best of both worlds, nice and quiet and we could go up to the Sunset for a couple of hours and then back to the peace and quiet.
We did go down to the beach on two seperate occasions and again no issues getting sunbeds, they have a floating jetti, water sports available. There is a concrete man made reef a short distance out which is sore on your feet when you stumble accross it, not sure what this is for but be carefull it is sharp on your feet. Not the best beach in the world but supposed to be one of the best in Turkey, nice sea breeze.

Breakfast is until 10am and the late breakfast continues till 11am, we were always at the late breakfast, plenty of everything, just limited cooked items during the 10-11 late breakfast but who cares we're on holiday.

Lunch is available at some of the snack bars or there is a large buffet with everything you can think of, all good quality and something for everyone, we used the snack bar at the family pool a couple of times, english language was a bit of a problem here but we soon came to an understanding, we also went to the snack bar which was to the far right of the grounds if you are standing on the promenade facing the hotel, this snack bar is a wee gem and wished we had found it sooner.

Evening meal again something for everyone, we only used the a la carte once, kids don't appreciate having to wait and with the buffet they can have a bit of everything.
Regarding dress code, I had read so much about this before we went and to be honest there doesn't seem to be one, the British and Germans dress for dinner, smart shorts and shirt, the Russians/former Russian states seem to please themselves and sometimes a bit too much on show, Crystal sunrise you really need to tighten up on this or you're no better than a club 18:30 standard, spoils the whole ambience of the restaurant.

Entertainment bit hit or miss everynight is a dance show of some sort, yes they are good dancers but i don't want to see 14 nights of slightly different dancing, you need to introduce a bit of comedy or something.
Live music on level 4 terrace, we had met other British couples/familys so it was nice to relax in an evening with the music and have a drink or 4, while the kids all amused themselves, you are in a very safe friendly enviroment at this hotel.

Promenade is nice and a half hour walk into Side, plenty of shops etc enroute, we didn't go to any of the markets as you can take the Dolmus into Side centre and there is everything there, 1 Euro each for the Dolmus or 2TL. The Dolmus is just like a minibus and perfectly safe, your hotel name will be on the front of the bus, pick up is on the main road beside the entrance of the hotel and pick up in Side is from the bus station, last Dolmus around midnight.
You can spend any currency in Side that you want, they will give you the price in TL/Euro or English pound (Not Scottish), just know the currency rate to check the price they give you and it's easy.
5 Euros gets your head/face shaved with the cut throat razor, didn't cut me once.
Side is worth a visit during the day and stroll around the Roman ruins.

The spa, i never used this myself but the wife did and had no complaints and she can complain! me and the kids tended to use the whippy ice cream machine which is on the same level, we used the excuse that we were away to change the beach towels.

I have read reviews on how arrogant the Germans are but we never experienced this at all, everyone we spoke with was very polite and on one occasion my son had a sore eye and a german couple at the next table gave us some eye wash capsules to rinse his eye, really nice of them. The Russians yes they are a law to themselves and I don't think this will ever change, feeding the cats in the restaurant, big sign saying not to, smoking in non smoking areas, rules don't apply to them and the staff never enforced these rules.
We never struggled to communicate, yes some of the staff don't speak English but it wasn't hard to get the message accross, we are in their country, make an effort.

The hotel is spread out over different levels and there are steps here and there but it's not hill walking after all, this is what makes it seem quiet, everyone picks their space whether it is at a pool, grass area with hammocks it never seems crowded, the only time we noticed it was busy was at the evening meal where it might take a couple on minutes to get a table for four but during the day there were no issues.
All the areas around the hotel are looked after including the toilets.
This isn't a hotel for the party people and it wasn't over run with kids and yes you could probably say the majority of guests were 50+ but there was something for everyone.

I can't really find anything to complain about and we will certainly look at other Crystal hotels in the future, we are not ones to return to the same hotel year after year, we like to get out and about to other areas/countries, but we will consider this one again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank MO1426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalSunriseQueen, Ön Büro Müdürü at Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We all looking forward to welcoming you again

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our second stay here. The 1st year I thought views not great. It was the back of the hotel,but we were high up. This year we were at the back facing what looked like a big massive oil drum.(not nice). So when we questioned it they told us because we were with Thomas Cook we were economy class. Also they let out and fed a big parrot every morning at 6am. Which squarked its head off. Speaking to other English guests they save all the best rooms for the Russians,Germans etc. Bearing in mind our room was rubbish and the hotel was only half full yet they did move us but it was only up two floors. So you still had the oil drum view and parrot. I was told Thomsons have dropped this hotel. Nice hotel but I won't stay were you can see other countries being treated better in every way... Shame..

Room Tip: You won't get one unless your Russian or German
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandra h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalSunriseQueen, CRYSTAL SUNRISE QUEEN CRM at Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear Sandra H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback which we will use to improve our service.

We are sorry to hear we could not exceed your expectations and do hope we have the opportunity to make your stay a fantastic one in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

really poor quality service and food. Staff is terrible, don't as for something as the answer is always: No we can't. We were waiting for 1h to get a table for dinner the night. the fish restaurant is horrible, my son was intoxicated.

Room Tip: this is not a 5 stars hotel, less than 3 stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Marin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalSunriseQueen, CRYSTAL SUNRISE QUEEN CRM at Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear MarinM,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to complete this review following your stay at Crystal Sunrise Queen.

In the meantime, please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing experience. I am only sorry you didn’t receive our normally high standards of service.


With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel before moving to the crystal palace after a few days, this hotel is definitely not a 5 star hotel maybe 4 star at a push, yes the views are beautiful but that's about it, the hotel doesn't seem to have any air conditioning as everywhere is boiling hot. We arrived at 1am and asked where we could get a meal (previously stayed at 5 star hotels in turkey and this was always an option) to be told there was just a food trolley it had bread,cheese and cheap cuts of sliced meat to choose from. Everywhere is really spread out and requires walking up and down stairs all the time so if you don't like walking this hotel isn't for you. Our room smelt like a tent after it had been used by a group of teenagers at a music festival, it was clean so I'm not sure where this smell was coming from my guess would be the air con because it wasn't working. The reception staff seemed very arrogant and made every simple question seem like a big issue, it is the total opposite now we are at the Crystal Palace there reception staff can't do enough for us I really can't believe this two hotels are part of the same chain with the quality of staff.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank BigBob45Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrystalSunriseQueen, CRYSTAL SUNRISE QUEEN CRM at Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2015

Dear BigBob45Leeds,

Thank you for staying with us at Crystal Sunrise Queen. We appreciate your time and your review on Trip advisor.com

at Crystal Hotels we value our guest’s feedbacks and that helps us to improve our service.Your feedback was addressed to our Executive team and we are working very hard to take immediate precautions to make sure all of our guests are very happy.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
2.3 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.8 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
5.1 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#6 of 229 in Side
1,336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#5 of 229 in Side
2,108 reviews
3.0 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA

Address: Bingesik Mevkii, Kumkoy Yolu, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Side
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#11 Luxury Hotel in Side
#11 Spa Hotel in Side
#12 Family Hotel in Side
#13 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: £49 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA 5*
Number of rooms: 514
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean, our hotel is constructed directly on the beach of Side-Kumkoy and is located only at 65 km from the Antalya International Airport, and at 70 km from the city center of Antalya. With its different architecture and the extraordinary beauty of the environment, our hotel is indeed a paradise for couples of all ages and families with children - offering a private fine sandy beach of 150 m length and 50 m width as well as a variety of pools. An area of 50.000 Sqm, whereby 27.000 Sqm consists of hotel buildings and 23.000 Sqm consists of garden area. The guests will find 4 floors of a main building, 5 floors of an annex building and 4 blocks with terrace rooms with a total capacity of 514 rooms. DRESS CODE for evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & Spa Hotel Side
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing