We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as the reviews say!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ali Bey Resort Sorgun
Ranked #7 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We decided to book Ali Bey Resort (2 couples early 40s) after reading all the good reviews, but all we can say is we must be in the wrong hotel !!

Now some of the points made we would totally agree with.

1. The staff are amazing and can't do enough for guests.
2. The place is immaculately kept.
3. The Spa services were very good
4. Beach is very good
5. Beach restaurant at lunch time was excellent for food and service (needs to open earlier and open in the evening) only opens 2 till 5 every day.

Where this resort fails is

1. The buffet restaurant is the same every night and the food is terrible, one evening we had to ask for the restaurant manager as the food was so bad, he was only able to apologise and also refused to eat any of the food when we asked him to try it. The only other free choice is the fish restaurant but you can only have limited alcohol drinks unless you pay for them. This is an all inclusive resort and your drinks should be included and you should not have to pay extra for wine or spirits in a free restaurant.

2. The only other restaurant is the Turkish restaurant which will cost you 15 euros per person and again you will need to buy your own wine, so the choice of restaurant is very limited. Basically buffet every night will be your choice.

3. The rooms are good and have everything you need but the room service is hit and miss, one day you get towels and face cloths the next day you don't, we also found the turn down service to be hit and miss.

4. Our room was in block 12 on the ground floor, the front of the room looks out onto the service road with a ramp to the underside of the building which has constant vehicle movement up and down every night. So far this has woken us every night and early morning with vehicles revving to get up the ramp and everything banging when they get to the top. The view from our balcony is non existent with high trees and shrubs touching the balcony, this seems to be common with all ground floor rooms throughout the resort.

5. When you arrive you are told that they have 14 tennis courts but if you want to use them there will be a charge, also if you require to use the gymnasium it will cost you 49euros for the week !! We have never been to a hotel and had to pay to use the gym !! when we did go to the gym to take a look it was totally empty so that's what people think about the extra charge.

6. The drinks from the bars are limited to local only with the cocktail choice being limited and not available in all bars, also no sparkling wines available unless you pay which is now standard choice in most all inclusive resorts.

7. No iron or ironing boards in rooms.

8. Sun beds around the pool have two settings, upright or flat but nothing in between so they become very uncomfortable.

9. The hotel has very limited English guests so it's more catered to continental breakfast so we found the breakfast choice is poor.

This will be our fourth stay in Turkey and this is most defiantly the worst hotel we have stayed in by far, if this hotel sorts out what we have listed above then it would be worth returning but if they don't they have lost us as returning guests and now most probably you after reading our review.

Room Tip: Avoid block 12 if you like your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Thefunkymonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from our stay at the Ali Bey, our first visit to Turkey.
We had a warm welcome, albeit at 3.00am by the time we transferred from the airport.
Unfortunately our room was in block 900 right next to the service road which runs down the side of the property, it was constantly flooded so when the deliveries started around 6.00am it was very noisy - like sleeping in a lay-by on the M25. Wednesday was the worst, glass re-cycling day!!
The room was very good overall, well equipped and very clean however the one downside was the bed, it was very hard. The balcony was rather a joke, not really worth adding on and totally overgrown with no view.
The food was good quality although somewhat repetitive, however the Sushi in the evening was a nice touch. The wine choice was poor, and the local spirits somewhat weak. Sometimes the service was lacking at the bar and we waited quite a long time to be served. The food at the gala dinner was probably best but by the time we got back to our table it was cold. The new fish A La Carte Restaurant was a let down, stuck out in a makeshift area, beer free but wine you have to pay for
Gym was a let down, 50 Euros for the week unless you are a Fitness First member, poor that you have to pay in a 5* resort.
At the time we arrived there were only two TV channels in English, Eurosport News and Ukrainian News, but on the day we came home BBC News appeared, not a real issue but would be nice to have a choice.
Although the toilet facilities around the resort were good and obviously serviced regularly, no attention was paid to the rear of the doors, filthy throughout the whole week, may sound petty but not what you expect five star.
Taxi transfers are a nice touch, however on the way back to the airport our driver decided to take a pit stop for a chat at one of the petrol stations, rather intimidating at midnight when you don't know where you are.
Overall a relaxing week but definitely not five star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OllieBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were so disappointed having read great reviews. This hotel has some lovely good points, but overall fails for us and is not 5*. This rating I would guess comes from the facilities rather than the class and attention to detail.
Rooms: First room we changes - overlooked a building yard and rubbish something or other and was very noisy - don't have room 950 and 949, but least they are away from people. As the rooms are not soundproofed and you can hear the entire conversation of neighbours as are the rooms 1130 and 1135. We travelled with our 2 girls of 15 and 11. The shower leaked all over the floor of the bathroom and bedroom, was noisy, the balcony I have never ever in all my times of travel had one sooo small. You couldn't not sit 2 persons comfortably and we do not carry weight! TV's have only 2 UK channels - not that that bothered us but some the attention to detail. We had to request replacements of tissues etc. Rooms were small, bed creaked, not that comfortable. No daylight control - blackout not sufficient - so with the noise and sun don't expect to recharge the batteries. BUT very clean, FREE mini bar stocked daily, beach bags and umbrella a nice tough.
General area: Lovely, garden needed weeding!
Food: Struggled to find anything to like and the opening times with lunch finishing at 2 in 2 choices meant you could only go to the beach for lunch, surely in 5* 3pm would be better. Evening meal finished at 9, again with 5* surely 10 is better?
Drinks: Yuck, wine gave a headache. Beer was warm. Only VERY local drinks included.
Staff: Most were friendly but not all. English was not that widely spoken. Took a while to get a drink sometimes.
Entertainment: average, same dancers performed a dance adaptation to a show most nights.
Adult/ child mix: got this spot on, adult areas and aqua park separate and I love kids and have them but you could find tranquillity and have the kids very happy too in well catered for areas. Aqua park was great, closed 5.45 though which would be silly high season.
We wouldn't return because of the food drink and sleep quality.
Hope this helps.

Room Tip: Keep away from block 900/ 800 and near the beach, chose higher up for sun and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A superb hotel. I'm still drooling about the food even though back two weeks.Staff well mannered and helpful - only criticism they get around the resort by golf buggies - there were some aspiring Jenson Buttons' amongst them. Willy at Reception was extremely helpful and his English was very good. Whilst the rooms were very plush I didn't like the concept of glass walls adjoining the bathroom. We had to move from our original room as one of the two blinds fixed for bathroom privacy didn't work but that withstanding the rooms were very well equipped and the fridges restocked every day with complimentary drinks and snacks.If you are housed in one of the blocks adjacent to the river/stream you will be lulled to sleep by the chirruping of the frog population. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ThePostMistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were very impressed with the whole package, but mainly the staff. I did slip up and forgot to write some staff names down this time but special mention must go to the gentleman who was on Reception when we arrived. He seemed really keen to help, and this continued throughout the holiday. Not wishing to be rude but he was the larger member of the reception team, and he should be congratulated. Also one of the waiters in the main restaurant. He was practicing his English with us and he provided excellent service. I nicknamed him the weightlifter so I'm sure he would be easily recognized. All the bar staff were excellent.
The food was of a high standard and there was something for everybody whatever their tastes. A special mention to the Chicken Fajitas at the Beach Bar.
The service at the A la Carte was good but I would only recommend it if you have a special occasion as it was no better than the main restaurant, and I was sitting on a couch and by the end of the meal had a backache.
The rooms were first class and the only criticism I had was the size of the balcony.
The entertainment was very professional. My personal favorite was Reflections.
All in all an excellent holiday and the only thing that let it down was the Thomson rep. My wife and her sister decided to do the day trip to Capadocia and the rep had no idea what was involved. there were more problems on the trip but not worth going into here as I will sort this out with Thomson.
An excellent holiday overall and I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thegardenerNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My Wife and I travelled to Ali Bey in May from Manchester, for a two week All Inclusive holiday.

On arrival, we were impressed by the main building and the gardens are beautiful. The staff are friendly - although, their grasp of English is very basic with one or two exceptions.

The Rooms: Immaculately clean, thoughtfully designed and very elegant (although, a glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom is a little bit funky - thankfully, there is an electronic blind!). Ground floor rooms are a little bit exposed to the paths / guests who are walking past so I'd suggest a room on floors 1 or 2. The mini-fridge is refilled every day and inclusive. Beers, wine, water and chocolate & nuts.

Breakfast: Served in the main restaurant and we tended to stick to croissants / coffee *Although you can have bacon, eggs, etc etc (and many of the people had bacon, eggs and etc etc and croissants and pain au chocolat!)

Lunch: We found the little beach restaurant to be the best food during our stay. For lunch, you have a choice of salads - tuna, haloumi, chicken (all great) and meals include Pizza, quesadilla, fajita (brilliant) and a variety of pastas (all great).

Afternoon snack: (if you fancy it) - fresh waffles with hot chocolate sauce? Do it, at least once. You will love them!

Evening Food: This was our bugbear. People are notoriously greedy and All Inclusive holidays seem to bring the worst our in people! Piles and piles of food on their plate. Anyway; there is lots of food on offer although, not lots of flavour. We found the food very boring and repetitive and certainly not 5* - not by a long way. 3* at best.

The internal seating areas, smell like a canteen and that led us to sitting outside. Problem there is, the resort has a problem with cats. Sitting at your feet, waiting to be fed and generally, putting you off your dinner. Some people were actually feeding the cats from their plate as they and others ate. Not great.

The desserts were beautifully presented, however, by the time we got to them (9pm) they had been pulled apart and didn't look very appealing. There is a little coffee / cake cafe between the adult pool and the main pool - the cakes in there are brilliant and we wandered over there most nights after dinner for a coffee / tea and a cake. Much better.

The Entertainment: The shows are generally brilliant. Michael Jackson and The Lion King were exceptionally good. Well worth going to see.

The Beach: Not the best beach we've been on, but it's private (to the hotel) and clean and it's okay.

The Chek-out: We flew home at 1am (Sat) and were collected from the Hotel at 11pm (Fri). We extended our checkout direct with the Hotel about 2 days before the end of our holiday. It cost us €60 and we were able to enjoy our last day, fully.

Side: We travelled to Side in 2008 and it was great. Friendly, quiet and inviting. It's so much busier now, hundreds of 'bracelet shops' and 'kebab vendors'. Be careful when buying anything - the conversion rates are very peculiar. *Take Turkish Lira with you and look out for Service Charges on your bill in restaurants!!

In summary, the resort is beautiful. The staff are very good. The food during the day is great. The food in the evening is pretty average.

We would not return to the Ali Bey Resort.

Room Tip: Choose a room on Floor 1 / 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gallan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from our second visit to Ali Bey Resort in Side,
Turkey and the quality has again been fantastic. From arrival at the airport to departure we have had a fabulous experience. We did experience several days of rain but you could expect this in early May but it didnt spoil our stay.
We had a couple of issues with our room but the way they were dealt with was brilliant and therefore did not create problems.
The staff are so friendly and approachable, from the top management to the cleaners and this all lends itself to a perfect destination.
We will certainly be returning next year if not before.

Room Tip: If you like to sit and get the sun at the end of the day on your balcony you need to select a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank colin226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
2.6 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
1.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.4 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.1 mi away
Sueno Hotels Beach Side
2.6 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali Bey Resort Sorgun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Bey Resort Sorgun

Address: Acisu Mevki | Sorgun Turizm Bolgesi, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Side
#2 Family Hotel in Side
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Spa Hotel in Side
#6 Luxury Hotel in Side
#9 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: £163 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ali Bey Resort Sorgun 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Ali Bey Resort Sorgun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibey Resort Side Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing