We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty amazing hotel in a beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ali Bey Resort Sorgun
Ranked #7 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Having taken the decision to stay at the Alibey Resort we were pleased we had from the moment we stepped out of the private transfer. There was a slight hiccup on check in as we had already phoned the hotel to request a second or third floor room. When we told we were on the ground floor we asked again and was given a third floor room without quibble. Finding the room after we had gone out for the first time was a little difficult in the dark as there didn't seem to be many signs around!
The room wasn't quite as decorative as we'd expected but it had a comfortable super king sized bed and a Jacuzzi bath. The maids were extremely efficient and the noise in the block was minimal. Remember to turn the do not disturb light off before you go out for the day or your room will not be cleaned! The fridge was stocked daily and there was plenty of body product refills.
The food was plentiful and there was a good variety every day but it can still get a little monotonous walking round looking for something different every day for 2 weeks. We ate out in Side a few times as it was nice to be served instead of going to fetch your meal. The taxi costs 8 euros to get to Side but it is within walking distance via the beach.
The fish restaurant and the Al la Carte restaurant were amazing but make sure you go in hungry, there are so many courses. It's a shame that you could not order a glass of wine in the fish restaurant as 40 Euros seems a huge mark up for a bottle of wine Asda are currently selling for £5. As other reviews have stated the alcohol was pretty basic and ok if you like gin or vodka. The cocktails on the AI were disappointing but I didn't mind paying for a couple of the proper ones now and again. The wine was good quality and plentiful.
Gala night happens every other Saturday outside and was a true spectacle. The setting up took all day and the tables looked so pretty. The food was outstanding although we did queue for some courses.
The beach snack bar was the crowning glory for lunch. There were people we spoke to who hadn't found it during their stay so we pointed them in the right direction. It only opened at 2pm for 3 hours but the food choice was excellent and the waiters worked their socks off and nothing was too much trouble. Oh and the free Magnums were a pleasant surprise. You could eat all day if you wanted to as the whole complex is so vast there is something for everyone.
As the purpose of our holiday was to relax and chill we were very grateful that the entertainment team as they didn't pressurise us into taking part in any activities. They did try but took no for an answer politely.
We would definitely recommend the Alibey Resort and maybe one day we may venture back, it's just that there is a big wide world out there!
To sum up, we had a really relaxing holiday, the sun shone every day and the sea was warm and safe. Take care to avoid the many photographers who have you posing like a super model and the price of the photos if you use the water sport team (not connected with the hotel).
Happy days

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Mrsm00min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (769)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 769 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

A beautiful resort, with spectacular gardens. The rooms are roomy and well decorated,the fridge is restocked every day with wine, beer and water, the wonderful turn down service,it's all there for you. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted with happy faces and helpful staff. The little golf buggies that take you to your room are a nice touch. Then when you have just entered your lovely cool room, there is a knock at the door and a nice man brings you champagne and fruit, opens it pours you two glasses of ice cold bubbly and leaves you to it. The pools, the restaurants, the bars are great, the entertainment was very good, something every night to interest everyone. The Gala night was out of this world, in fact all the food was superb. The waiters were more than helpful,and although they spoke little English they were always prepared to listen and laugh with us as we tried to make our selves understood. All in all this was the best all inclusive we have visited, and we been to a few. See you next June Ali Bey.

Room Tip: June or September are the best months, not to hot, maybe 30 degrees. Try for top floor rooms (only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Myself and husband stayed at Ali bey in side from 1/7/14 to 15/7/14 well I can honestly say
This has been one of the best holiday we have ever had . This resort is just perfect
14 days of being totally spoilt . The resort is very clean . Lovely rooms . The staff were fantastic
I will defiantly be returning next year . Sheer bliss

Room Tip: Rooms all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank MaidstoneSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed at Alibey in July 2013, thought the place was fantastic, returned in June 2014 and this year the changes they have made are absolutely brilliant. New pools, new bar, new mini golf, more night time entertainment,elevators, yoga place etc. I just can't fault the place. The decor and gardens are beautiful, the rooms are very spacious and beautifully done. The pools are brilliant, there is a new activity pool, silent pool, childrens pool and a therapy pool, all on top of the pools they already had!. There was never a problem of getting a sunbed as everyone is so spaced out at different pools. We were mainly at the aqua park with our 10yr old daughter and some days you practically had the pool to yourself. The food is great, have absolutely no complaints except for my expanding waistband.
Ice creams are brill, magnums, cornetos, Carte D'or ice cream at the Nazende Cafe, also the sandwiches/waffles at the cafe are amazing. The beach is lovely, again plenty of sunbeds to be had. The new Rumi Bar makes a big difference, plenty of seats and you could be under cover if need be. As last year, I found all staff very pleasant and courtious, the service in the Rumi bar was great, one drink finished another appeared. Again I just can't fault it and would definitely recommend Alibey.Would not hesitate to return next year, (but not planned that far ahead yet)
Any questions, don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank caza40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I've been thinking for months now what would be the best way to describe our stay at the AliBey Resort in Side... PERFECT! The staff was so friendly (even spoke Dutch!!) and very helpful. At first we had a room that we did not ask, but after 1 quick phone call to the reception we were immediately transferred to another room (even got a free upgrade). The room was clean upon arrival and cleaned every day, even when not asked.
Even though there is a lot outside, if it rains (we went in April so had 1 day of rain) you have always a place to go for a drink. The animation team was friendly (without being too pushy). The shows at night ware amazing, especially with Beauty and the Beast even I shed a tear ;-).
The food was good, actually too much to taste everything. And the gala dinner was AWESOME. We had such an amazing time and it was nice to socialize with other guests.

To summarize... We will be back!

Room Tip: Best rooms are around the center of the property - everything is walking distance and quite calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyara_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just booked for a week to be with my daughter and family (they were there for 2 weeks) The complex was very clean,the staff both in the restaurants and entertainment team very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. When we booked in, there was a glass of cold juice ready for us, then the porter took us and our cases in a golf trolly car. The room is basic I've had better 3 star accommodation but it was clean and adequate, the bed and pillows were hard. The resort is very big and the aqua park is excellent. The entertainment team worked very hard and the shows they put on were excellent. The food is very good I'm very fussy and I didn't have any problems. The ice cream's around the pools were wall's and plenty variety. The cafe's were also good sandwiches all made fresh. There's no need to go off the complex as it is so big there are also water sports a market once a week at night. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues even the downstairs room have several stairs but I did notice there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My family and I stayed for 11 nights at the end of May 2014. The facilties are brilliant; four swimming pools, water slides, kids club area that you can have access too etc. however we were left feeling rather disappointed as the service did not match the excellence of the facilities.

Our room was in block 2, all rooms numbered 200 and something. It was listed as a "garden view room" but we overlooked what looked like a rubbish dump/ outdoor storage that had high green fencing as a screen. From the tiny balcony, you could lean and see the aqua park which bombed loud music during opening hours. Altogether the size of the balcony, which was so small it was virtually useless aside from drying swimsuits on, and the aspect rendered it unused in our stay. It was quiet at night though.

The food was fine, not what I would call al a carte, as the hotel is described by Thomson, but pleasant and with variety. The alcoholic drinks were not too my taste, my husband liked the light beer but the wine was like vinegar and the cocktails were unpleasant. The variety of soft drinks was good and there was plenty of water.

I have marked our stay down though due to the poor service. The room cleaning was hit and miss, some days things would be replenished other days not. We only ever had two glasses, cups etc despite there being three of us in the room. Our sheets went four days without washing, I only know as my daughter smudged chocolate on the pillowcase one evening and there it stayed. One day we returned to our room to find a "do not enter as pesticide spraying" sign on our door. There was no warning of this happening and we were due to go out so hung about for a bit, saw no- one and decided we had to enter. The Ala restaurant is the main one and although nicely laid out, it is the only one for breakfast and evening meal, unless you go to the seafood restaurant (disappointing) or pay €15 each extra plus drinks at the Turkish restaurant. It gets very busy and it is hard to get a table at peak times and getting food is a total bun fight. Most of the waiters are great in the restaurants, Corsun and Abdulkadir were so kind to our daughter. The waiters in the bars though area different story, very disinterested in serving you and some were even very rude, service with disdain is how I describe it. I turned down a burned and ripped pancake at the pancake bar only to be ridiculed. My husband and a friend had their beers snatched off them because they had gone to the bar themselves after the waiter had taken and order then left them waiting for 10 mins.

The other big problem is the towel system. They give you a towel card each and then you collect your towel each day. All that happens is towels get put on sunbeds early and left all day with people only using the bed for a short time. One day we sat at the main pool surrounded by towel strewn bed that were not sat on until 3 in the afternoon when a huge group descended for a few hours then left again still leaving their towels. No one else could sit there all day and there are not enough beds for this behaviour. The staff are powerless due to the card system.

Tips ;

Get to the restaurant before 7 or after 8.30pm for dinner or you will be hard pressed to find a table.
The pancake bar is excellent and good for sandwich lunches after 2pm
You can walk along the beach to Side, about 15 mins.
Take a bucket and spade for small children and a water pistol as all the kids at the aqua park always seemed to be having water fights and the ones for sale there are expensive.
Keep an eye on the notice board for information about the shows, they are entertaining, our daughter was captivated.
You can enter the kids club and play with all the equipment with your child, they do not have to stay.
Eat at the pool bars for lunch as the main restaurant gets packed, be prompt they close about 10 mins before they state.

Overall, you will love this place if you are independent and flexible about when you eat. It was too big and impersonal for me, you are not ever treated as a guest but as a stranger.

Room Tip: Lower ground rooms are covered in foliage so if you like light into your room choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gymbunnymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
2.7 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
4.9 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Sueno Hotels Beach Side
2.6 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali Bey Resort Sorgun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Bey Resort Sorgun

Address: Acisu Mevki | Sorgun Turizm Bolgesi, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Side
#2 Family Hotel in Side
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Luxury Hotel in Side
#6 Spa Hotel in Side
#9 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: £133 - £325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ali Bey Resort Sorgun 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ali Bey Resort Sorgun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibey Resort Side Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing