We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT ALL-INCLUSIVE AND NOT 5 STAR” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ali Bey Resort Sorgun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ali Bey Resort Sorgun
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NOT ALL-INCLUSIVE AND NOT 5 STAR”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for a week in August 2014 (2 Adults and 3 children) via Thomson. We were attracted by the All-inclusive nature of the Thomson brochure thinking that everyone could eat, drink and do activities and it was all covered. Well - a bit of a shock to be charged 48 Euros (each) to use the Gym, 13 Euros per hour per person to play tennis - and although the al a carte restaurant is supposed to be part of the all inclusive package - there was an astonishing reservation fee of 50 euros (15 per adult and 7.50 euro per child).

Then there is the sheer size of Alibey (not pointed out in the brochure) there must be close to 800 rooms - which means getting a table at any meal time in the main buffet restaurant was a challenge - as was getting a sun bed near any of the pools (early morning pre breakfast placement of towels required). We were fighting for space with the majority Russian contingent (not renowned for their politeness) and it became a constant hassle.

The other very disappointing aspect was the drinks - the only drinkable alcohol was the local beer - it was mostly cold... but anything as modest as a gin and tonic was 7 euros, and Wine - forget it - alien concept to the staff - red, rose or white house wine was the only choice - and this was awful.

Finally - don't go here if you want a relaxing holiday. The constant noise of loud music from all the bars and the activities being run made relaxation difficult - especially the water park where it was unbearable (the flumes are dangerous and poorly supervised). Another constant worry were the golf carts the staff wiz around the place on. They go too fast - we were nearly hit twice - which means children have to be very closely watched even just walking from the room to dinner - there will be a nasty accident - its inevitable. We had to shout at one of the staff who nearly hit our 7 year old - he covered his face to hide his identity - and sped off.

We have stayed in 5 star hotels before and all inclusive - Alibey came up very short on both counts - considering how expensive it was we expected much more. The buffet food was OK but very repetitive, the rooms were clean but replenishment of basics (toilet paper, towels, water) was hit and miss. The minibar (part of the all-inclusive) was a bit of a joke - especially with the children - as it consisted of 2 bottles of beer, some cola, a small packet of nuts and 2 snickers bars.... The friendly nature of the staff could not offset our disappointment with this holiday.
Poor job by Thomson in describing this hotel in the brochure - you pay for 5 star All Inclusive - you get something else.

Room Tip: I don't recommend this hotel - but if you go - none of the the rooms have a view of anything ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    88
    31
    3
    4
See reviews for
313
180
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maldegem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We just returned from our 10th visit to Turkey and this hotel certainly ranks in our top 3. It is a very big hotel and walking from the swimming-pools, rooms & restaurants to the reception would take @ least 15 minutes. Luckily there is a free shuttle during the day !!! This is not a negative point for us as we had no noise from street or cars. Just relaxing :-)
We had a very good holiday but would not have accepted less. Other hotels like Qumqoy Beach and Royal Dragon where also very good but much cheaper ...
Some points where better in the AliBey Resort, other where less. It all depends on what you find important.
Reception : exceptionally good !!!
Rooms : very, very beautifull (with wifi) - cleaning => good, but not exceptional ;
Breakfast : very good
Diner : compared to other, cheaper, hotels not enough variety ;
Gala night : in restaurant => big disappointment ;
Swimming pools : great !!!!
Service @ swimming pool : no need to go to the bar, service arround the pool => great !!!!!
No lobby-bar or inside bar (with airco) to have f.e. an aperitive before diner :-(
=> we missed this a lot !!!
Animation : good fun, but lots of discussions and arguments within this team.
We didn't feel the passion and commitment of the animators
(it's feels as they just do their job. Nothing more, nothing less ...)
Staff : very, very friendly (happy) staff all over the hotel => Congratulations !!!
My conclusion : this hotel is very, very good, but not cheap !!! This hotel has all the potential (without really to much effort) to get the 'exceptional' status next time we visit.
Thanks to the the entire AliBey Resort - team for their hospitality !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not far from restaurant & swimming-pool, f.e. block 11 or 12 !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rik0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Returned to this hotel in June this year. Fantastic new additions such as the adult only pool and new bar in the evening. Food is amazing and shocked to see reviews sayng it isnt. Do not hesitate to come to this hotel it is beautiful and classy and would happily return in 2015 for a third visit.

Room Tip: Block 1 is near the waterpark so slight noise from the music if you go back to your room in the afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and had an amazing family holiday. We have 2 young boys (3 & 7) and it surpassed our expectations. Before children we had stayed in some fantastic hotels across the world and each time we stay in a family type hotel, the standards are never usually the same. However this hotel changed our views. They have the mix of some elements of 5 star, yet really cater for both adults and children at the same time. It's layout allowed people to enjoy the more lively pools near the waterpark, or as we did, you could relax by the more serene pool at the other end of resort that also had a small childrens pool - perfect for our 3 year old. It was waiter service around the pool - the waitress was amazing and she used to remember our order! Frozen cold towels were also welcome during the hot days.

Creperie was gorgeous. We have a fussy eater for a son and it's the first time I've seen him eat 2 chocolate pancakes in about 10 mins!!! Fresh waffles were lovely too and ice cream great quality. All tables amongst the beautiful shady trees and lawns.

People have commented about English not being widely spoken, but I guess we should remember we are in turkey (!!!!), and I have to say my Turkish is weak! Their English is absolutely fine for ordering and basic conversation. The waiters and bar staff were amazing - they were great with our kids. High 5's all the time! Plus my two boys would sit up on the bar stalls and place their orders!!! My eldest would ask for a 'surprise' and my youngest was adamant about his 'blue' cocktail. But again the bar man (Ibrahim) so enthusiastically took their order and continued to throw ice cubes and catch them, whizzed up juices, decorated their glasses with every cocktail item going!!!! Kids loved it! But on the other side they were great with our adult drinks!! Really accommodating if something wasn't on the menu!

Kids thought the water park was amazing (and of course we found it fun too). We got the golf buggy there as it was pretty hot in the day. But it was walkable, we just took buggy because of the kids. Again tho, life guards great, helping adults kids onto rings/mats. Such good fun. No queuing or anything. All really clean - almost looked brand new.

Didn't use the Spa or hydro therapy pool but they looked lovely. Beach very sandy, sea clear and really warm.

Rooms were amazing. So clean. Marble throughout, great extras and loads of storage. We had a duplex room - kids loved their own upstairs space. They had their own mini bar, own bathroom and even their own kids slippers! Really great room. Def 5* - couldn't really fault it. I guess only downside balconies are small. Turn down service good as you'd expect in a 5*.

Great sports facilities. My eldest son had a free half hour tennis lesson which he really enjoyed.

Food great. Standard fruit, salads etc all the time etc and then specials changed each night. Lovely fish, steak, large prawns, shish kebabs over coals! Breakfast particularly lovely with great fresh juices of all kinds.

Of the English people we met there, as well as a lovely german family, all were returning guests, which to me is very telling in itself (especially when there are so many hotels across the world). We have never returned to a hotel twice in our lives, but we genuinely hope to be there for 2 weeks in 2015!!!!

Room Tip: Duplex rooms are great with kids. Gives you both your own space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

1. Very poor services: staff seems to be unionized, they work only 8 hr per day at pool, beach, towels, room clean. Nobody cleans at pool and rarely on beach; you have to go and take drinks from bars, no direct service; very hard to find a good english speaking person.
2. No room has sea view. All rooms have 1 square meter balcony, no kidding. We got a room with a view towards a plant apparently. Noisy room from pool music at midday when kids should sleep. Room was 10 minutes from restaurant and 15 mins from beach. Despite our request it was impossible to change it with a better one.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laura2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I can only confirm what the majority of reviews have already said. Everybody is entitled to their opinion, but I would have to question if people posting negative reviews were actually staying at the same hotel !
I have recently returned from 2 weeks at the AliBey (July - August), after spending 1 week there in 2013 (the first time I have ever returned to the same hotel the following year). Both times it was a family holiday, along with grandparents and children. Without going into detail about every aspect of the resort, the grounds, communal areas, rooms, facilities, food, drink and service were all excellent.
Comparing what you get for your money, I really can't see how this resort can be faulted. It is true that English may not be a strong language for some staff members, but it is more than adequate for what is required and a lot better than my Turkish !
In short, an excellent hotel which provided a relaxing holiday for all family generations. Special mentions should go to RIDVAN, the evening bar waiter who works exceptionally hard and our breakfast waitress (unfortunately didn't catch her name, but she had reddish hair), who always met you with a smile and a welcome, even at the end of obviously long and busy days.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Have just spent 10 days at this resort with my husband and 12 year old daughter and have had a really super time.

Accommodation
This was of a high standard, the room was spacious with a large king size bed and a large single for my daughter, who was delighted it was a proper bed. There was a free mini bar that was well stocked and every day was topped up. You also had complimentary shampoo, and other lovely bits. Rooms are situated in small blocks of three floors, we had a top floor room that had a garden view and was lovely. I would recommend top floor room as view is better, there is also a lift!
Every day the room was cleaned and as someone who is very fussy it passed my standards

Food

Food is a large self service buffer and there is a lot of choice, at first it is a bit overwhelming but you soon get the hang of things. You select your own table at the restaurant which for dinner is fine but at breakfast it can be a bit frustrating when you can't locate a table...For me this is the one area that is not five start the allocation of tables and the service is not always as it should be... I would suggest that for dinner in the evening inside dining dims the lights slightly, it does not create a ambience when you are eating in bright lights, beautiful restaurant just place candles on the tables and turn the lights down.....

At lunch time you can eat in the main restaurant, we tended to go to the beach restaurant where a choice of salads and light meals was enough. You can also opt for waffles and pancakes which were yum. Endless supply of ice cream and drinks.......Others have commented that the drinks were not great but my husband said the beer and wine were fine!

Entertainment

Wow is all I can say, the shows that are put on are fantastic, we saw beauty and the beast, the lion king and Michael Jackson and all were really grt, the costumes, staging and dancing were worthy of west end stage. There is also live bands and music most nights as well as themed evenings such as garden party, gala night and Turkish night. The hotel should be really proud of its efforts to entertain and you will not be bored of an evening. There is also things to do during the day, including darts and aqua gym all good fun and the staff do not pressure you in any way.

Facilities

You are spoilt for pools, I lost count at 9 separate swimming pools and they gather for all needs, child friendly area, aqua park with fantastic slides and adult only area. We always managed to find a sun bed without any issues and you never felt too crowded. The hotel did ask people not to claim beds with towels but impossible to manage...

There is a Spa and a gym which I did not use, Spa did look lovely and prices were what you would expect for hotel of this standard. What was a little disappointing was that the gym required separate payment, should have a free gym .....

Those that feel too tired to walk from room to pool can jump on a shuttle ( golf buggie). But I have to say that although this is a large resort nothing is too far to walk to

Surroundings

The gardens that the hotel is set in are really beautiful and are well maintained and everywhere is so tidy and clean. The hotel has it's own beach area and this is also tidy with lots of sun bed so beach lovers will be happy.

Staff

All the staff were very helpful some of the waiters were real stars and the management are visible with the general manager often seen , which is nice that they come out of the office and ensure all is well.

Overall

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family, it is a lovely place very relaxing with all you could wish for, no negative experiences for me....

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best views. All rooms are in different blocks we were near the aqua park an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ciara021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
4.8 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.6 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
1.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sueno Hotels Beach Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ali Bey Resort Sorgun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ali Bey Resort Sorgun

Property: Ali Bey Resort Sorgun
Address: Acisu Mevki | Sorgun Turizm Bolgesi, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Side
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#2 Family Hotel in Side
#4 Spa Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#9 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ali Bey Resort Sorgun 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ali Bey Resort Sorgun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibey Resort Side Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing