We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel in a great location”
Review of Sato Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sato Hotel
Ranked #49 of 87 Side B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Pro: Well located in the center of Side, Turkey. Proprietor and wife extremely friendly and helpful plus took us to the bus station when we left. We liked the large room size and room view. Good breakfasts and value.

Con: No Wifi except outside our room and rooms could be a little cleaner. Does not take credit cards.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

I booked this hotel on a website from the US, and it was "ok" but I feel like it was at a much higher price than similar hotels on the actual peninsula were advertising. To make clear, this is a small, locally owned hotel a few blocks from the beach on the peninsula itself--not a mega beach resort. That's what we expected. We're all used to staying in hostels, but this hotel was less clean than the typical hostel, and breakfast wasn't served until really late, so we missed that. The owners did seem a bit surprised by our arrival/departure and we had some trouble communicating. That isn't the reason for the two star rating--it's because I feel I could have gotten a room of the same quality for about half the price (the area has a TON of hotels advertising prices, so if you just show up and browse around, I'm sure you can find one pretty quickly). Also, we had to pay another hotel nearby to use it's beach, so I'd check for that before booking a hotel if you're looking to get beach access on the peninsula itself (can't speak for surrounding areas).

Also, as other reviewers have said, wifi only works in the open air restaurant. However, the location is good--although I think that anywhere on the peninsula would have a central location, so I'm not sure that's too much to brag about.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lar1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Side area is being over run with all inclusive hotels that you find all over the world. If you want a hotel right in the old town and interact with local owners than this is a better choice. Yes their English is not perfect but they tried very hard. There is no question that the hotel is a little old and needs a little work but again I feel is part of the character. We could also walk to the main sites and got a great sunset picture. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No elevator stay close to ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I strongly do not recommend this hotel. The room was dirty and THERE WAS NO CLEANING! There is a high possibility that rooms are not cleaned after guests' staying. There is dust everywhere and very dirty floors. There is a good Wi-Fi signal, but in the restaurant only. You may have a problem with getting one when staying on the higher floors. The walls and equipment were poorly renovated. There were no bulbs in the wall lights. There was a terrible intensive smell, something like cat's urine (caused by dampness according to the owner). The stuff have very poor English. Breakfasts were limited to one slice of cheese, one egg and one slice of meat. Only bread and coffee/tea were unlimited. Photos of the room available on the hotel's website are not up to date. They seem to be pretty old and showing the condition far before the renovation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrzysztofS424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If you want a clean bed with nice sheets for a low price in Side, this is your place.

However, if you want "extras" like a light in the bathroom, hot water, a bath towel for each person, and toilet paper, you might want to go somewhere else.
True, we did not ask for any of these troubles to be remedied; we were just too tired and our stay too short.
The location is fine and out room had a nice balcony.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

When we arrived, we felt that owner was surprised. I do not know why, because I have made the reservation few month ago.
Room is turkish standard with the balcony as a nice surprise. But in the morning we were surprised badly. Because at 8:10 nobody prepared breakfast. At the end I paid the room price with breakfast discount.
The owner was so slow in every movement, in every decision.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vopetr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Durıng my stay ın Turkey, Sato Hotel was defınıtely one of my favorıtes. Beautıful rooms, perfectly located near the sea and the center of old town, frıendly staff and very prıce worthy.

It ıs absolutely recommended for young couples who want cozy rooms and good food.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roozbeh_ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
1.4 mi away
Hanay Suit Hotel
Hanay Suit Hotel
#50 of 229 in Side
305 reviews
3.2 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#21 of 229 in Side
1,230 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#33 of 229 in Side
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#137 of 229 in Side
14 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Summer Rose
Hotel Summer Rose
#21 of 87 in Side
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melissa Garden Apart Otel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sato Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sato Hotel

Address: Selimiye Mah. Zambak Sok. No: 37, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Side
Price Range: £11 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sato Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in the center of the ancient side the temple of Apollo temple to the sea 100 mt 50 mt, 200 mt away from the theater of the ancient side All rooms at our hotel balcony and air-conditioned You find the traditional Turkish cuisine restaurant also We recommend that you taste home-made wines unique to our hotel In 2000, family owned business for 12 years to start from our hotelAll rooms have balcony, air-conditioned, satellite TV and internet connected. 7 / 24 hot water, shower, wc, availableAirport Transportation :yesbeach :yesshuttle bus service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sato Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing