We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly excellent”
Review of Barut Arum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barut Arum
Ranked #5 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stayed here from 26th August for a week all inclusive with hubby and 2 teenagers (16 and 14)

The journey from the airport to the hotel was quoted as about an hour, but this took nearer 3 due to the driver getting lost and trying to drop travellers off at hotels they weren't booked in to - I'll have to find a different review page for the poor service of this independent transfer company.

When we finally arrived at about 1am, check in was quick enough and while I went to the room to unpack (pass out from exhaustion!) the rest of the family went off in search of refreshments, which were provided in the main restaurant. This was a pleasant surprise, as at that time I wouldn’t have expected any service at all, even in an all inclusive.

The room was beautiful. We stayed in a residence apartment, which comprised of a lounge, fully stocked kitchen area (fridge was re-filled daily with beer, water and soft drinks,) two bedrooms and bathroom with separate loo, sink and shower areas; this was great, as it meant that the loo and sink weren’t off limits if someone was taking a shower. There was even a fresh bowl of fruit in the room when we first arrived… nice touch. It was obvious that the rooms had been recently refurbished; the décor was very modern, with laminate flooring, huge wardrobes and separate air conditioning in every area. No deposits here for AC, TV remote or room safety deposit box. The beds were REALLY comfortable, if a little hard, but we all slept well all holiday.

My only minor grumble about the rooms would be that there were 48 steps up to ours, with no lifts, which was a nightmare in the 40+ degree heat when weighed down with towels etc. We did think about asking to be moved, but decided that we needed some form of exercise to balance out the fantastic food!

As mentioned above, the food was fantastic. Something for the even the pickiest eater, my health conscious 16 year old falls into this ‘picky’ category and he never went hungry once. All meals were buffet style, with waiter service for the drinks orders; a few more waiters on hand would have been good, but they did come eventually. There was so much to choose from, the salads were especially wonderful – not once did any one of us have any need to break into the 5 packets of dio-calm I brought with us! If you got hungry in-between meals there was a snack bar down by the beach, but we didn’t use it once, so can’t comment. There were three a la carte restaurants which we were entitled to use once each during our stay – we celebrated our 25th anniversary while we were there and booked in at the Turkish restaurant, which was lovely. The staff at the hotel also delivered an anniversary cake to our room for us on the day, which was another nice touch.

Drinks were plentiful, with a full list of cocktails to choose from as well as all the normal alcoholic and soft drinks. There were branded spirits with the all inclusive, my Baileys in the evenings went down very well indeed . During the day there were also about 4 different ice slush drinks to choose from, which were very tasty – we all enjoyed the swim up bar in the pool, although we did worry about whether our AI card would drop out of our swimming costumes during the swim over to the bar (no wristbands at this classy hotel)

The bar down towards the beach was great during the afternoons as it was shaded and there was a lady serving gorgeous savoury and sweet filled pancakes, followed by a huge piece of melon from the melon man.

The pool was without doubt the most beautiful of any we’ve visited…. And we’ve been to more than a few. It was a really big freeform fresh water pool, with walk in areas and kids shallow areas; it was maintained extraordinarily well, a credit to the hotel. Clean pool towels were provided every day, twice a day if you needed them. But, even with a hotel of this standard, you still had to put up with the sunbed towel reservation fiasco every morning to secure what I would call a ‘prime’ spot, but we didn’t want to participate in that particular pool game and we never failed to get four beds near the pool, even when we came down at 12-ish. It did mean looking round and collecting together 4 single beds, but that’s why we took the kids along to do all the donkey work!!

Now to the only negative – the hotel is really lacking in entertainment during the day. My teenagers were bored and that’s a first on any holiday. My 16 year old son had hoped for some football, but there was none at all for his age group, although there was a very small pitch for younger kids. We didn’t see anyone going round any of the pools to gather willing participants together for any games of any kind – I know some people don’t like to be pestered in this way, but our kids usually love joining in all the organised games. It was advertised as having a teenagers club, but we couldn’t find anyone who had heard of this. It was a big disappointment and it would put us off staying here again but we didn’t let it spoil our break as there were plenty of water sports and trips outside the hotel to ensure that the wallet took an additional beating!

Unlike previously stated on this site, our experience was that there were plenty of other British people at the hotel, with English and German being the predominant language spoken.

The evening entertainment was a bit of a let down, only the hotel team putting on dancing shows, which got tired after the second evening. There was a small band at the pool bar each evening after the main entertainment and we found it pleasant to sit and play cards here with a bit of people watching thrown in.

All in all, this was a lovely holiday – beautiful hotel and food, pleasant and helpful staff, good sandy beach and clean sea and all a quick dolmus ride from Side for some serious bartering for genuine fakes!

We paid more than we normally would for this holiday as it was a combined holiday/ anniversary trip but we probably wouldn’t go again as it was very expensive and this added to the very minor gripes above would mean we will try somewhere different next year. Having said that, it is certainly the best (although most expensive) turkish hotel we have visited (2 other reports on this site)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickyJ00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Well we have now been back for nearly 3 weeks and the only bright spot is that it's 3 weeks closer to returning next year!

What can I say other than we had a super holiday.This was our first visit to Turkey and believe me the Arum did not disappoint. The cleanliness, the staff, the food(wow) the Pool area,happy hour!,the rooms,everything was fantastic. The place is absolutely immaculate and all of the other people we spoke to were on at least their second visit.


Book this hotel and you will have a great holiday guys.

Room Tip: We simply requested a sea view and were luck enough to be allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCW172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Very nice hotel, friendly staff and always smiling. We were all inclusive so in agreement with some others the food can get a bit repetitive BUT that is par for the course with a Turkish all inclusive hotel, the food on the Turkish night is the best.
Having been to some more boisterous resorts like the Lykia Worlds I would say that this place lacks things to do in the evening/night time, there is an indoor nightclub but not really used.
The British are in the minority here, perhaps 15%, maybe that suits some but if you want your kids to enjoy themselves too with others then maybe the Arum is not for you.
Otherwise a truly excellent hotel, superb grounds and swimming pools, great beach and several bars to choose from.
Oh, and very clean too with superb rooms.
But for the nightlife it's a 10/10 hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank notbadforabinman_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We as a family of four, daughter aged 13 and son aged 11 stayed at the Barut Arum for two weeks. We had a two bedroomed family room which was fantastic as it is unusual to find somewhere to stay where the kids get decent beds to themselves, unless we have a suite somewhere. The accommodation was spotless, but unusually for a five star, once toiletries and tissues etc are used up, they don't get replaced, so just as well we took our own. We only had two sachets of coffee and when we asked at guest relations if we could have some more we were told that there would be a charge. We hadn't used anything else of which there was a great selection, but i think the girl took the hint that this may not be acceptable!
I would have liked a slightly bigger bedsheet, but that may be my husbands fault for pinching it.
The day before we left the cleaner asked if we were leaving the next day, obviously waiting to be tipped. I was very happy to tip, as the staff work so hard, but afterwards i realised that she was not the girl that usually did our room and i just hope she passed it on and shared it, but i doubt it very much.
The Germans are definitally favoured, not meant in an unkind way, and although we are quite a sociable familly we did find it very difficult to mix with people, and others said the same. My husband joined in with the activities and that always helped. We did have to mention to a rep, and then to the Manager, on the morning that we left ,that one of the entertainment team had been undoing teenage girls bikini tops and then pushing them into the pool, and also made embarrassing comments to our son, the night before which was unfortunate, and also not what i would accept for a 5 star, or of any actually.The rep wanted us to make an official complaint and took it very seriously(Thompsons, but we travelled Thomas Cook, but the girl wasn't around to speak to at the time)
The food is amazing. We enquired about "all inclusive" as all but the British seem to be, but it would have cost us and extra onehundred and sixty euros a day which was just not worth it .You could buy the best pizza freshly made for approx £3 or a bagel for £5 if it was needed.
We actually hired a taxi driver for the day to take us out to the waterfalls,Perge (lovely) and the Amplitheatre. It was a great, hot and very funny day, especially when our driver decided to take a nap!
When we arrived at 6.15 Am, it didn't bode well seeing people claiming their beds by the Pool, and by 7am, no chance unless you went to the beach, which is lovely. As our kids like the pool, against our better nature we had to do the same and get up very early to get a bed, not even by the pool but in the Gardens, which was fine, but a ridiculous thing to do when you are trying to recharge your batteries from early mornings at home.
So, would we go back?Although i have said negative comments, of course they are our opinions, but we have travelled a fair bit with our children. If nothing else was on offer and we wanted somewhere for perhaps just a week just to relax, in a nice setting with great food and friendly staff ...then yes we would! Oh do i wish i had those chefs at home with me now!

Room Tip: we asked for a quiet room, overlooking the Sea. We got a quiet room whith a lovely Patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed at Barut Arum with my 17 year old daughter & had a lovely relaxing time - really felt spoilt . Lovely location on beach with easy reach to Side town with its numerous ruins but mostly very tacky shops! Hotel has 2 bars outside one on beach with lovely views & one by pool. All staff are so friendly & attentive Fantastic facilities - something for everyone & very good selection of food for buffet breakfast & dinner ( especially turkish desserts!) . My only problem was I'm vegetarian & whilst a good selection of veggie food was on offer sometimes the same tongs were also used for meat /fish dishes which meant I could not have the veggie dish. The pools were lovely & hardly ever crowded & I swam each day around 9am & usually had pool to myself ( also bagsied sunlounger then - ones around pool went first but I had no problem finding one in gardens which suited us for shade & loads on beach ) I was a bit wary about going to Turkey with my blonde leggy daughter but we felt very safe & walked back along promenade from Side town at night as prom is well lit & security guards & plenty of people around( about 45mins - 1 hour stroll) . The evening entertainment was not always appropriate for small children although aimed at families- Snow White show had 'sex on the beach' song ( do they not realise what the lyrics mean?) in it plus an attempt by Prince to have intercourse with snow white instead of kissing her! Several families left! However, we'd definitly go back again & we loved the hotel song where everyone gets up & dances - only got back today but already have withdrawal symptoms!

Room Tip: booked sea view was on 5th floor & very roomy nice view of pools & sea - free bathrobes &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JillyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Hotel was lovely, we had a top floor room with huge balcony, walk in shower etc., which was great. Clean, relaxed place. Well worth going to the spa. tip: it seems to be taken for granted that exchange rate is 1 euro to 2 lire - this is not correct, so by paying the bill on our card at the end, we saved about £70 on the exchange rate the hotel would have given us.
Huge choice of food and lovely presentation, freshness etc., Was impressed to see the two guys employed to smooth the sand on the beach by dragging boards behind them every night! Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank loveboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We chose this hotel because of the good reviews and choice of board basis.
We chose half board and were not disappointed.
The food and service were top class.Our room( a standard apartment) was large, very clean and conveniently situated on the first floor.-very good air-conditioning
The hotel was full-there were a lot of Germans,Scandanavians & Russians but a lot of groups seemed to have teenage children (as we did!) and tyhe children seemed to mix very well together.
The grounds were fantastic and never seemed to be crowded.
We seldom ventured out of the hotel-because it had eveything we wanted and it was very hot.
We hope to go back-if we can get in that is-we heard that 60-70% of the guests were return guests.!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lincolnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 229 in Side
2,077 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.3 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#11 of 229 in Side
1,286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Arum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Arum

Address: Kumkoy Yolu PK.78, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range: £64 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Arum 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barut Arum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hotels Arum Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Arum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing