We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth considering”
Review of Barut Arum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barut Arum
Ranked #6 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We got back from the Arum two days ago, it is hot, very hot and supposed to be getting hotter. This does make it very difficult to summon any energy for daytime activities!

So hotel first, very clean, friendly maids and lifts that work. We upgraded to a junior suite to get a full sea view and it was great, I recommend the 6th floor, brilliant views. We found it quiet and the air con worked well, you get two room keys so it's worth leaving one in during the day so the air con works all day if you can. It does go off at some point during the night so if you wake up it can feel hot but over all slept well and beds firm but not uncomfortable. We found the clientele a good mix of UK, German, Turkish, Russian, it did seem to get more British as week went on.

The food is great but I would recommend booking in to the a la carte restaurants every day, there is no extra charge for this and the food is great with much better wine. The buffet restaurants have a huge selection of food, all well prepared but we found it difficult to choose and didn't enjoy having to get up and go choose a meal - the wine in the buffet restaurants is awful - be warned.

Pool area is great, I have to say we didn't have much bother with loungers, we were able to get two together up to about 10am or after 3pm which suited us as like some time on the beach.

Beach is nice, can get busy but the beach bar is lovely and nice place to sit in the shade and relax. Sea is wonderfully warm, best to go the beach at the left of the Arum one has all the seaweed and most rocks have been moved, you can see where it is as more people in the water.

The promenade by the beach takes you right into Side, decent stroll takes about 35 minutes. We went in at 6am to see the ruins and this made for a coolish walk and we had the ruins to ourselves, lovely with sunrise. Although we did get followed by several local dogs which was little unnerving as few growls between them but we lost them eventually, great photos of the ruins to be had.

Side at night wasn't really our sort of place, very neon! Mostly shops selling clothes, tourist stuff, we ate out once and while the meal was ok, it made us realise how good the hotel food is. the taxis are all set prices and these are on a board by the taxi rank, it's only a 5 min cab ride to the hotel but 20TL which seemed bit steep. We took all TL and had no problems, there really isn't much difference between TL or Euros, no one seemed bothered which you had.

Overall, it was a lovely relaxing week, our first time to Turkey. I don't know if we will go again or not, I don't feel we really got to see much or truly get an understanding of the people, if we did we would go either Spring or Autumn as would have preferred it cooler allowing you to be more active.

Only thing I would change about the hotel would be to have fewer people there, it was pretty busy but then it's high season so fair enough.

Room Tip: As high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Jo,
We are really impressed with your amazing review regarding your recent vacation with us. We are happy to read that we were able to provide you with an exceptional service and exceed your highest expectations.
Thank you so much for your time. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future for another remarkable stay.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

My family and I stayed at the Barut Arum for 8 nights, beginning of July, 2013. We have stayed in all-inclusive resorts in Turkey for several years. The Barut Arum is a very nice hotel.
We stayed in a Family Suite, that has two separate bedrooms, connected by an entrance hall and bathroom. The rooms are very clean and, although not very big, there is room enough for 2. Storage space is adequate. The bathroom is clean and looks pretty new (renovated?). One thing I loved is that they didn't use marble everywhere. Although marble looks very "luxurious", my experience is that marble bathrooms in these kind of hotels start deteriorating within a few months. The bathroom was fitted with European, quality brand plumbing.
The gardens were very nice and clean. Large spaces with enough palm trees to provide the necessary shade. The fee-form pools were also very clean. With soft sloped sides, ideal for small children.
Staff were very professional and friendly. Although I believe that when you act friendly yourself, you will get it back....
During our stay, there was quite a mix of nationalities. Quite a lot of people form Scandinavia (sorry, I couldn't tell what countries exactly), Germany, UK and some Eastern block countries. There were comparatively few children (start of the holiday season?). I whole, the hotel was relatively "quiet" during our stay. The dining room, the pool, the gardens: next to no screaming, running or whatsoever.
Regarding the "reservation" of sunbeds: this is my only horror but it is a fact in any hotel I've ever been to. As we were a party of 6, sadly there is no escape to reserving when you want to have 6 beds together. However, I must state that this was one of the few hotels where there seemed to be enough beds altogether. At 10 or 11 AM, one would still be able to find sets of 2 beds together somewhere. Not too bad for this type of accommodation.
The food in the all-inclusive concept was great. Especially the "cold" section of the buffet was very tasty and beautifully presented. As with all all-in hotels, the alcoholic drinks are not that great. Soft drinks and juices were fine.
If there is any point that I would like to be improved, it is the "snack opportunities". Besides the 3 daily buffet meals, there is not much to snack during the day. There are icecreams, turkish pancakes and baked potatoes. All of them during a specific period per day. The quality of the snacks, as well as the diversity, I found less appealing. I've seen much better in other Turkish hotels.
The sea in front of the hotel has many rocks. Just walk 50 meters to the left (past the water sports) and you'll find a beautiful beach and sea.
Concluding: a very good hotel. Recommendable.

Room Tip: Our family room (nr. 2160) was located on the ground floor in the garden. We could walk out of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank robbcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear robbcom,
We are very pleased to read your wonderful review regarding your holiday at the Barut Arum. Thank you very much for your detailed and valuable comments regarding the comfortable accommodations, our professional staff and extensive facilities which we indeed appreciated.
All our team members work very hard to ensure that all of our guests have the unforgettable time in our hotel. We are happy that we were able to provide you with this.
Also we have taken note of your concerns and shared them with the management team.
Thank you again for your time and recommending us. We would love the opportunity to be your hosts again sometime.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Me and my boyfriend are on our second to last day stay at the arum whilst I am writing this review! We are mid twenties and from London we have stayed 2 weeks at the arum all inclusive.

Ill start by saying how spotlessly clean the hotel is I can be a clean freak at times but this hotel is super clean so you will have no worries in that department, the rooms are cleaned well are modern and are very well air condotioned as is the rest of the hotel.

The pools are very clean and well kept I have not seen one person slip around the pool during my 2 week stay which is brilliant for children's safety. Be aware that if you want a sun lounger you will have to be up between 5-6am to put your towels out otherwise you will not have a chance at getting a sun bed round the pools past 7am

The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained!

The bar and restaurant staff are very helpful and the pool bar of an evening is where you need to be if you enjoy a fancy cocktail.

The entertainment and activities for this hotel are certainly not a 5* standard. Some of the outside acts are good but thats not every night the actual animation team shows are not up to scratch for a 5* resort.

Daytime activities do not seem to be taken seriously by the staff it seems the team is not managed properly! Activities are just shouted out across the pool by a team member and they don't encourage people to join in which leaves 2-3 people turning up and then the animation team cancel the activity it seems they are just looking for an easy day round the pool without actually getting involved with the guests.

A special mention to Sarah from the animation team who makes the effort during activity time and during the shows too she seems to take her job seriously and is interested in making the guests feel welcome.

The hotel is situated 10 minutes from the harbour and the ruins and is a lovely day out and also has some amazing shops for a spot of holiday shopping!

This is a lovely hotel and we had a lovely time and is perfect for families with young children however I don't feel this was the right hotel for me and my boyfriend as there wasn't enough for us to do or be involved in for our age group.

:)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uk1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Uk1988,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Barut Arum. We are so pleased to read that you found hotel grounds spotlessly clean, food to your liking and staff helpful.
Please know that your valuable comment regarding the entertainment team has been taken into account and will be shared with the entertainment manager to continually improve the quality and services we offer.
We appreciate your recommending us and look forward to the opportunity to host you again on your next travels to Side - Antalya.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was our third stay at the Arum, and since the last the rooms had been upgraded and also all inclusive introduced. We found the hotel and gardens spotless, and personally had no problems with any staff members, but the staff at booking in not very helpful, good job we had prior knowledge of the place.We also found the food to be more than acceptable. BUT, there's always abut I suppose. Sunbeds in the garden. Not up by 6am? then forget getting a bed in the garden. We resigned to a beach bed but in the end found this better, lots to choose from, and very close to the bar! Biggest moan, LOTS of under school age Russian and German children, left by parents to run riot in the pool, and screaming in general in the pool area with parents making no attempt to quieten them. Add to this, screaming in the dining room at meal times, and a real bonus for us, one screaming at all hours in the next room!!! Yes its their holiday, but its also ours, so if you are not child tolerant, and sadly we have grown out of being, and want a relaxing quiet holiday, then perhaps this is not the place for you. We feel sad about this, but it was enough to make us think twice as to whether we will return. Finally, the outside dining area, under a canopy, allowed smoking. Every other table had smokers, and we find having cancerous fumes being blow all over us whilst trying to eat, absolutely abhorant. Hence we were sentenced to dine inside. Surely in 2013, ALL dining areas should be no smoking. And guess what, when smokers eat, they put out their cigs. To conclude, thank you Arum, but perhaps you might address some issues.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AlanA165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear AlanA165,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Whilst we are delighted that you have found our cleanliness standards and swimming pools to your liking, we are concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. Please know that we do take our guests feedback very seriously and will share your concerns with the relevant departments.
Indeed, the Barut Arum offers many opportunities for the family vacation and there can be a lot of children during the high summer season.
Please know that our goal is to provide all of our guests with a comfortable holiday atmosphere, this is precisely why we have the Barut Andiz in our hotel collection that offers a concept for adults. For more detailed information, please check out the website: http://andizen.baruthotels.com/default.aspx.
We would really appreciate if we could welcome you at one of the Barut properties again in the future.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We spent a week at the Arum as a couple. The hotel is more suited to families and is largely german occupied.

Room
We apparently were 'upgraded' to a 2-bedroom apartment, but as this was bang in the middle of the families and screaming children, we asked to be moved to a normal double room. There definitely was a language barrier and instead were moved about 2 blocks to the left, again in a 2-bedroom apartment. All we wanted was peace and quiet with a view - no chance of that! The sound-proofing is non-existant and we had continuous noise from upstairs - chairs scraping, footsteps, banging - really was awful.

The bathroom was nice and modern, but the a/c didnt work very well. The bedlinen was weird - seemed to be a single sized cover for a king-size bed - we eventually used 2 single covers. Beds were comfortable. Shower was good.

Outside
Bit of a building site, but suppose this will improve with time.

Food
Boring after the 2nd day. Both of us went down with upset stomachs and my partner suffered more than me - be careful of food being prepared outside. vivid crazy deserts - weird colours!

Half-board vs AI
It is false economy not to go AI - the drinks are so expensive, you may as well pay a little more. Tap water is not recommended and there are signs to this effect.

Euro vs TL
Pick your currency and stay with it - there is too much confusion between the 2 currencies and we lost out quite heavily. Suggest you stay with TL.

Hotel Staff
Some are very pleasant, others are quite dismissive. The cleaning ladies are very friendly and we didnt need to lock anything away. They work very hard.

Swimming Pools
These are well kept BUT, forget finding a lounger after 7am - nothing will be available and one of the major irritants to us was the 'sun lounger' hoggers, who very often turned up late in the afternoon. I don't understand why the hotel can't sort this out - towels left out at 5am (or even earlier), is just crazy.

Spa
Very expensive and the hairdresser is West End priced. Really not worth the bother.

Gym
Not bad, but boiling hot - why no a/c?


In summary, was ok, but not one to recommend for couples. Perhaps families may enjoy it more. Seemed to have quite a lot for kids and the size of the apartments would suit families of 4 quite easily.

Room Tip: Rooms in main hotel are probably quieter and with better views. Stay away from apartments if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunflower_xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Sunflower_xxx,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Whilst we are delighted that you have found our cleanliness standards and swimming pools to your liking, we are concerned to learn that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. Please know that we do take our guests feedback very seriously and will share your concerns about the sunbeds reservation and bedlinen with the relevant departments.
We are sincerely sorry to read your comments regarding the food quality in our restaurants. We assure you that our hotel follows local and international standards and procedures for food & beverage safety and handling and routine inspections are supplemented on a daily basis to ensure the hygiene standards are met.
In regard to the kids issue you mentioned, indeed, the Barut Arum offers many opportunities for the family vacation and there can be a lot of children during the high summer season. Please know that our goal is to provide all of our guests with a comfortable holiday atmosphere, this is precisely why we have the Barut Andiz in our hotel collection that offers a concept for adults. For more detailed information, please check out the website: http://andizen.baruthotels.com/default.aspx.
We would really appreciate if we could welcome you at one of the Barut properties again in the future so you can fully experience our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just returned from a week's vacation from this great hotel.

Our room faced the road but who cares, you are only there to sleep. The room was very clean, modern fittings, comfortable beds and clean sheets. The cleaner got carried away and insisted on putting my things in the drawer ( .. in the end I gave up and left them there).

You had to be up at the crack of dawn with everyone else to "claim" your sunbed .. it was a case of you snooze you lose so it had to be done.

Food was very good, lots of choices and 3 very nice a la carte restaurants. The only problem I found was that they rushed the courses as I felt they had to be somewhere else. Make sure you book though as it also broke up the week.

I found the staff pretty helpful - I guess it may have been a different story if I had a complaint which fortunately we didn't. However the Rep had as much enthusiasm as the Animation Team...... I felt she too wanted to be somewhere else, in an office maybe !.

Animation Team ....mmm I looked this up in the Oxford dictionary and it quotes "the state of being full of life or vigour, liveliness, chiefly archaic the state of being alive". They didn't display any of these traits apart from the 3 minute stint at noon and then that was all over before you knew it. The Manager needs to shake them up or ship them out !!

Apart from the above we had a fab holiday, best resort I have been to in Turkey so far !!! Would very much recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SammersSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear SammersSouthampton,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Barut Arum. We are so pleased to read that you found our accommodations comfortable and clean, food to your liking and staff helpful. Please know that your valuable comment regarding the entertainment team has been taken into account and will be shared with the management. We appreciate your recommending us and look forward to the opportunity to host you again on your next travels to Side - Antalya.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a one week stay at Barut Hotel Arum. Overall our holiday experience was excellent thanks to the lovely friends that we made. In terms of the actual hotel, our experience was sadly quite different.

We had booked a ‘Partial Sea View’ room but when we checked into our room, there was no sea view at all – we were facing another hotel. We returned to reception to speak to a member of staff (Emine), she was extremely unhelpful and refused to help us, walking away, while speaking in Turkish and rolling her eyes. As noted in previous reviews, my concern was that there was simply a language barrier and so I asked to speak to the Reception Supervisor (Hassan). Sadly he was completely obstructive and refused to help. The situation culminated in the Reception Supervisor (Hassan) raising his voice, refusing to call our holiday company representative and refusing to call his General Manager, despite not being able to help us in any way. We were told that there were no other rooms available and that we could not upgrade our room (despite offering to pay more money and despite more guests being expected in the afternoon who had not yet checked in). We were completely disappointed and had no choice but to stay in our room. The situation seemed extremely strange as never in my travelling experience, have I come into contact with hotel staff members who were so unhelpful, unprofessional and obstructive. In retrospect and after spending one week at the resort, it appears that the majority of staff are strongly homophobic. Comments such as ‘what you are doing is wrong’ and ‘it is not right’ are mild examples of the subsequent homophobia that we experienced from staff. My partner and I did not display any affection publicly and even requested a twin room, yet were still subjected to prejudice. Regarding our room, after speaking to other guests, it appears that there were other rooms available as some guests had been upgraded free of charge.

One of the only members of staff who was welcoming was the Guest Relations Manager, Katerina Dolta. She was absolutely amazing and a real asset to the hotel. She exhibited a very professional approach and this was noted by all guests. She understood and spoke English to a high standard which really helped with guest queries and complaints. Without Katerina, we quite possibly would have requested transferring to another hotel.

As for the actual resort, the rooms are modern and of good standard. I would recommend booking either a standard room or a ‘Sea view room’ (but with the expectation that you will be facing the pool). Evening entertainment was definitely entertaining although I agree with previous reviews that the quality was variable. The pool area is clean although the advertised Jacuzzi and indoor pool are only open in the winter months. Sunbeds around the pool are all reserved by guests by 8am, leaving only sunbeds on the beach after this time. The sea and sand on the hotel beach was not kept as clean as the neighbouring hotels which is a real shame.

Overall, we made some lovely friends who made our holiday experience a really enjoyable one. I would rate this hotel as 4 star based on its facilities and quality. There were some welcoming members of staff but unfortunately these were a real minority. The majority of staff were impolite, ignorant, narrow minded and expressed homophobic views which unfortunately tainted our holiday experience. While we respect the culture and religion of the staff, we expected that in a hotel catering for European holiday makers, our culture, religion and values would also be respected and that we would not have to be subjected to being treated inferiorly. This staff behaviour was completely unacceptable and for this reason I would never return to this hotel and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Arum, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Sean,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
We are sincerely sorry to read your report regarding your unsatisfactory experience at the Barut Arum. Our goal is to provide our guests, who come from all over the world, with a comfortable and relaxing stay and it's obvious we let you down.
We are particularly concerned with the fact that you found our staff to be less than hospitable and polite, and their attitude inappropriate. Please know that the Barut Hotels Company's policy prohibits employees from harassing any other employee or guest in the course of the company's business for any reason prohibited by law, including, but not limited to, race, religion, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, age, marital status, mental or physical disability, pregnancy, or any other basis prohibited by Turkish or European law.
Barut Arum team members are all guest service professionals fully trained on service. Most of our guests leave our hotel extremely satisfied with the level of service that they receive. We are disappointed that you are one of those very few guests who were not satisfied with our level of service and friendliness.
However, we value your comments, and we will review them with our management team.
Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations.
We would really appreciate if we could welcome you at our hotel again in the future so you can fully experience our exceptional service and characteristic hospitality.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#5 of 229 in Side
2,125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
2.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
1 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Andiz by Barut Hotels
2.1 mi away
Royal Dragon Hotel
Royal Dragon Hotel
#19 of 229 in Side
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Arum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Arum

Address: Kumkoy Yolu PK.78, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Side
#4 Romantic Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range: £69 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Arum 5*
Number of rooms: 288
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Arum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hotels Arum Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Side
Barut Hotel Arum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing