We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for what it was....But.”
Review of Side Star Elegance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Side Star Elegance
Ranked #34 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The staff there seemed nice and tried to help with everything we had a problem with, the grounds it's self were well kept and "Animation staff" though a bit annoying were great at what they did at the pool side. This would be a GOOD hotel if there hadn't have been so many German holiday makers there, as pretty much ALL the entertainment (Not just in Asteria Hotel) was geared toward "them". The evening entertainment at the hotel was OK for what it was "dodgey singers with a keyboard", but it seemed to be SO loud that you could hear it in pretty much every room, so IF you wanted an early night because of travel next day or something.... you didn't get much quiet until 11:30-12:00pm. Overall though it was a nice break and some of the sights visited, that were really close, was nice to see like the Apollo temple etc... If you do choose to visit Side a must should be a Turkish "Hammam" (massage/ spa), as the one we visited really seemed to know what they were doing (Ronesans Hamam & Spa). There is an "English" bar there we visited (The Red Lion), that have friendly welcoming staff who speak English well, but as soon as the bar get a little too full service and becomes well below par. the weather there though was what you pay for roughly about 25-30 degrees the whole time there, we was also told that later into the peak seasons it gets hotter, so something to bear in mind. Overall though not a bad place to spend maybe a holiday but I don't think we'll be going back there in a rush.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view, as the other views do not have that much of an exciting view, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALX_O_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just arrived back from this hotel and we all had a lovely time. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the grounds are well maintained. There is a good selection of food and drink, something for everyone. We particularly enjoyed the beach bar and were very well looked after by the staff there. We were upgraded to a family room when we arrived which was very good. One of our party had a birthday and we came back from the beach that day to find bubbly and a cake in our room which was a nice touch. The hotel is on several levels with quite a lot of steps so not suitable for the less mobile. We didn't mind, it helped us work off all that food and drink!! There were six of us and we always managed to get a sunbed, either by the pool or the beach. Free towels provided and could be changed each day. The animation team all very friendly. Went to a couple of the evening shows which we all enjoyed. The hotel is within walking distance of the shops but not too close which we liked. We didn't thave any complaints really, except that we had to come home! We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were told that the rooms by the road/drive were noisy. Two of our party stayed in one of these r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Treenie438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We arrived as a party of 5 adults and 3 small children . First impressions were very good, a nice touch where the transfer bus dropped us at the gate so not to disturb sleeping guests , as it was 1 am.
First morning we all arrived at breakfast together at a busy time but were found a table very quickly by a waiter who couldn't have been more helpful , and this service was continued at whichever resturant we ate in throughout the holiday .the food quality was very good and of a higher standard than a lot of similar rated hotel we have stayed in.
The pool area was very clean and safe for the children and although the hotel was full it still seemed there was a space and a sunbed for all without the normal 7 am dash to reserve some beds .
The location was ideal for us as we love to stroll out for a few hours everyday and the spotlessly clean promenade was spot on with a half an hour walk we could be into side town , to buy some genuine fake everything's !!
The animation team were absolutely fabulous , even if I was just for a chat on the sunbed or playing any of the games they were up for laugh ( and dressing me up as a baby in snow white show) but as in some other hotels are to pushy, not the case here . The kids club was the best we have had in any hotel and made the children have a wonderful holiday and most of all feel special when they were given awards for there day s activities they had done.
I can understand why some people moan about the steps but take your time to look around and there are slopes and lifts to never use a step!! We know we had a pushchair !!!!!!
Great hotel , great weather,great holiday
10 out of 10
See you next year!!!
Martin williams

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BathHappyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

There is only one word that I can think of RUBBISH. We arrived at the Astreia at 22 00hrs and the first thing that Inoticed was the English spoken was poor.Our party was 5 adults and 2 children aged 3 and 5 years old We were asked if we would like something to eat and we all said that we would like to see the rooms first.Now the trouble began,first we were told that the hotel had overbooked and the hotel was full I had booked three twin rooms with a child in two of them and wanting them close together.What we were offered was one twin one twin with child and the third room was two floors above sleeping a single man with a child.Isaid that this was not acceptable where upon they offered us a family room for all seven fo us.Reception tried other things and after two hours we took a twin room and a family room for five persons.Inthe morning our rep tried to see me in my room but was refused. I then went to receptionand invited her to talk to my wife and I but still was refused.We were then offered a office to use for our meeting where three Turkish staff decided to sit in on our meeting and Itold them to leave and they refused where upon my rep and myself had our talk .My Thompson rep said that she had never been treated that way before.my rep had written her report and then we wrer asked by management for another the next day .When this took place the Turkish management said to my rep that this was all lies We then left.If you are German you are ok ,but if English forget it .The food was first class and so was the pool the rooms were kept clean To get to the beach ther was 54 steps and steep slopes to go down.This is not a family hotel so beware

Room Tip: Try and get your rooms sorted this end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Side Star Elegance (ex asteria)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I have just returned from Asteria and must say how wonderful we found the whole experience. The choice of food each day was superb, from the freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, delicious pizzas for lunch, waffles, pancakes and cakes for afternoon snacks, not to mention ice cream and candy floss for the kids. There was a wide variety of meals available at an evening and the cakes are to die for. There is always a large selection of fresh salad and fruit available at each meal time. The staff worked very hard and long hours, but they were always very friendly and made a fuss of the children.
We got new bath towels every day and there is a beach towel service at no extra charge. I wasn’t expecting the free mini bar in the bedrooms, which is great for families with small children, as the drinks get re-stocked everyday. When the brochure says All Inclusive it really does mean it, great value for money.
Although the hotel was full we never failed to get a sun bed by the pool or find a table for 7 at meal times. As we had a late flight we booked a shower room, at no extra cost, which was ideal to freshen up after a day by the pool.
The hotel grounds, pool and interior was spotless, and the gardens are beautiful and very well kept.
The location of Asteria is ideal, It’s a 20 mins walk along the beach to the nearest town, Side, as it was so hot we took a local taxi until the town to visit the ancient ruins, make sure you have Turkish Lira for the museums and amphitheatre, otherwise most shops are priced in Euros. You must book the boat trip to Manavgat from the man on the beach and not the hotel, it’s the same trip but half the price.
The only downside to the hotel is there are quite a lot of steps, personally I didn’t mind them as it gave me a chance to walk of some of the food we’d eaten.
I absolutely recommend you give Asteria a visit, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: request a sea view, as there is busy road on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MAT_Riley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have just got back from staying at the Asteria Hotel in Side after staying there for one week. It was by far the best looking hotel in the region. The grounds were gorgeous and well kept. First impressions were very good but got better over time. The staff were so friendly and done everything to make it a good stay. Our room was spotless. We got new bath towels every day, our fridge was fully stocked of well branded drinks every single day and there was a safe as standard. When it says it is All Inclusiv, it really is. we had no extra charges. From having a minibar to being able to get ice cream in the day, it was all free. This was the first time I had gone to turkey before and the first time I had gone on holiday with my girlfriend and I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. The food was good but got a little boring for us at times but that was just us. The location is perfect. Just a small walk down to the beach which was literally next to the hotel and is a lovely part of the beach. There is also a lot to do, there are people on the beach that try and sell you excursions, trust them. We went on a boat trip to manavgat. It was a whole day that included lunch on the boat and only cost 15 euros. AMAZING! The little town of Side (Seeday) is about a 20 minute beach walk away with lovely bars and resturants and local shops.
I could go on and on about how good our holiday was but I will sum it up in saying, incredible value for money and not one bad thing to say about the hotel. Best holiday of my life. Definetly 5 star!!!

Room Tip: Our room was near the road but couldn't hear it. Any room is fine really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kieronjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have just returned from the Asteria hotel and it was fab.. not sure about the picture above but that is not the Asteria we went to... we arrived and like the other people have said got dropped of at the bottom of the gates but after getting our room i realised why and appreciate the decision. We got one of the rooms by the reception and as some of the flights are late it would be a nightmare with coaches arriving in the early ours so I am quite greatful for this. My mother in law left at 6.30 pm and she was picked up at the gates so i think it must be for the late arrivals. The room was smaller than I am used to but it was very very clean and well presented with everything i needed.

we went for breakfast and first impressions werent very good there was no bacon, and some of the other food didnt look very good but when we actually tried it it was really really nice. Breakfast was the same everyday but the food in the evening was fantastic, it has done nothing for the waist line what so ever. The hotel and grounds are excellent. The entertainment there was only one night in the whole two weeks that we were bored the rest was really good. The animation team was great we really miss them.

The hotel was mainly russians and germans the first week and english the second but it wasnt a problem. The germans did take our chairs in the ampitheatre one night and then tried to rob my mother in laws towel from underneath her but if you told them straight it was fine.

The staff are really hard working an most of the breakfast staff then go on to work right through to midnight. Overall this is a great hotel yes there are alot of steps but i was glad of this as it was my little work out after eating all the gorgeous food.

the only thing i would say is they are very strict with the late check outs and dont budge but there are 3 courtesty rooms available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank healyNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.5 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Side Star Beach
Hotel Side Star Beach
#39 of 229 in Side
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Q SPA Resort
Q SPA Resort
#27 of 229 in Side
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Side Star Park Hotel
Side Star Park Hotel
#49 of 229 in Side
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Star Elegance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Star Elegance

Address: Kumkoy Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Asteria)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range: £42 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Side Star Elegance 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are separated in 3 categories: “Standard Room“, “Suite Room” and “Family Room” which are designed in modern style. Room features are detailed below.Standard RoomCarpet Floor, Twin bed or French Bed, Air conditioning(timed), Balcony, Mini Bar, Electronic Safe Box, Satellite-TV, Music Channel on TV, Telephone, Bathroom (with bathtub), hairdryer, cosmetic mirror. Standard rooms are at land side or seaside.Family RoomOur Family rooms consist of two floors. On the ground floor; living room with a large terrace and a sofa group, WC/bathroom, 1 double, 1 single bed & on the upper floor; toilet/shower-Jacuzzi bath and a bedroom with double bed. Other features are the same as standard rooms; a TV on each levels, mini bar and air conditioning exist. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker.Suite Room Our suite rooms, which consist of a bedroom (double bed) and living room, are located on the upper floors. All have a direct sea view. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Side Star Elegance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing