We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I am writing this whilst still at the Asteria and we have had a great time here.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Star Elegance

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Side Star Elegance
Ranked #37 of 228 Hotels in Side
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am writing this whilst still at the Asteria and we have had a great time here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

I have read most of the reviews and can agree with all of them except I wouldn't agree with English being 2nd best here. Everyone is treated equally well, but as Side is a mostly German resort, German is the first language tried.

We have had a superb time here with no reason to complain, except maybe the hotel isn't represented well by Thomas Cook, and the evening entertainment isn't that great.

The hotel photographers are very good, Ismail and Mr Kodak, and Yasim on -1 is a great barman. Ask him for a Bloody Mary as his are the best.

Animation team work hard and try to involve everyone. Join in and have some fun.

All on all a great hotel in a good resort.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamSavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Genel Müdür at Side Star Elegance, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    148
    48
    27
    16
See reviews for
184
217
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
staines
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

1st hotel has got to be one of the cleanest i have ever stayed in.i realy cant think of any way they could improve on cleanliness.2nd the hotel is located on the beach there is a prominade to walk across but there are no motor vehicles on the prominade just the odd Police horse ,you can walk along the prom all the way into Side takes about 20 minutes at a stroll.There are a lot of steps at the Asteria more than i exspected but you soon get use to them and they help burn of some callories, which takes me on to the food.It is great my wife and i ate every thing and neither of us had a upset stomach.3rd the rooms are cleaned daily and mini bar refilled.4th service this is where i can fault the Asteria/Turkish they are more for the Germans than the English you will be greeted every where in German If you Speek German you will enjoy this holiday even more, if you dont it will realy get on your nerves.German sausages/cereal for breakfast .5th Evening entertainment is realy realy poor and about the only thing that lets the Asteria down.6th If your holiday brochure says turkish baths and saunas are free there not turkish bath in hotel costs £40 each,morning excursion for turkish bath £23 each. Gents have a wet shave at the hairdressers on level 3 its out of this world.any photos from summer 2010 are spot on. Turkish men are rude and arrogant and will try to chat your wife up even when your sitting next to her.Every type of water sport is available on Side beach.7th good value for money at this hotel. 8th sleep quality is good as most rooms have 2 singles there are very few double beds,also if you are at the front there is a main road and a very loude bar opposite.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed in the Asteria two weeks ago. My husband, son and I loved it. The hotel is huge, with wonderful gardens, great pool area and on top of a beautiful soft sandy beach. The staff are great, the animation team especially, they're not too full on, just very friendly and polite. The food is great with lots of choice most evenings. They have 3 restaurants there and if you are all inclusive as we were, you can choose the Italian, Turkish or Chinese, which are superb. I agree with the other reviewers that at night the temperature didnt drop much and it was quite warm, but Turkey in August is renowned for being very warm, but we loved it. There are a few steps in the hotel, so dont forget when you go down to the beach or the pool not to forget anything!! Side is worth a walk to as is Antalya. You'll have a wonderful stay if you book, and will want to come back, but try to go all-in, as the breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks, ice-creams, pop-corn, candy-floss etc are all very good quality, except the Turkish vino!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grange58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I cannot fault this hotel. It is beautifully decorated & laid out. Spotlessly clean, the food is good, the staff are excellent. We went fully inclusive. Good quality food & drinks i.e proper Coke, Fanta etc, Walls ice creams. If I were to make any criticism it would be that in August it is so hot in the evenings, they needed fans in the outdoor bar & restaurant areas. Would definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbeale246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

I stayed at the Asteria Hotel 0n the 6th July for 1 week with my friend and our teenage children (4 teenagers aged 17-18yrs). I have stayed in a few 5star all inclusives Hotels but all being in the Caribbean and Mexico were standards are very high and also very expensive, So as I didn't know what to expect with the Asteria Hotel I went with an open mind and was very pleasantly surprised!
The Asteria Hotel is a lovely sound 4star Hotel and definitely deserves it's rightful place in the First Choice Premier Hotel collection that makes it that little bit extra special.

The Hotel, rooms and gardens are kept immaculate. I did get a little confused the first few days trying to find my way around the hotel as it is all lifts and stairs to different levels and parts of the hotel, we soon began to find the short cuts. Our rooms had a sea view but we were quite far back facing the hotel nightclub, this didn't bother us as it is only open two nights a week. The first night we arrived I thought the air con wasn't working but then the next morning discovered I hadn't quite shut the patio doors properly, Never had a problem with the air con after that it was always working in our room no matter what time of day or night.
Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly, We never had a communication problem with them and found their english very good, After reading reviews on here we didn't expect many Brits to be staying here but there was quite a few and also a lot of other different nationalities, all very friendly.

The food was ok with lots of choice for everyone. We tried the Italian restaurant one night which I really enjoyed, you have to chose what you want to eat off the menu at the time of booking one of the a la carte restaurants which I found a little strange but was not a problem. The buffet restaurant was good with lots of chicken and veal dishes and a nice selection of desserts. I am not big meat eater but I always managed to find something that I liked. During the day there was also a buffet lunch at the pool bar, Turkish pancakes, icecreams, cakes and waffles...you will never go hungry!

The nightly entertainment was enjoyable and fun to watch, The animation team worked very hard and long hours to keep guests happy and entertained throughout the day and night, our teens loved them and spent many fun hours during the day getting involved with activities with them, even my normaly shy daughter joined in with the fun!

The only small minor complaint I have of this hotel is..that there was no tea or coffee facilities in the rooms, this probably wouldn't bother anybody else but as I do not drink fizzy pop I did miss not being able to wake up to a cup of coffee in a morning. Also anybody with walking difficulties should be aware of the amount of steps at this hotel, there is lifts, but still alot of walking, again this did not bother us as we found it to be good exercise but felt at times it was a bit of a chore in the hot weather if we wanted to quick nip back to our rooms from the pool during the day.
Would I return to this Hotel??? YES... already looking to go back again next year! :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

We have recently returned from out holiday in asteria hotel and felt to write this review.

We want to point out the nanagment which wasn't at best from start of our holiday not helpfull at all  and how thing were dealt with our complaints about our room etc... From day one we arrived we were alocated to noisy room overlooking the main road and were forced to stayed there for 5 nights this wasn't peacefully holiday we had in mind despite paying a lot if money for it and nobody wasn't responding to our complains straightaway .We were very unhappy and wanted to change the hotel as
soon as possible.


But having payed quite a lot of money for our stay we decided to stay and see.

the catering staff was the best from all hotels we have stayed in ,however We were very badly supprised how is the staff treated from their superiors on many occasions we saw they were quite rude to them and the way they were speaking to them in front of customers was very unproffesional.

We feel his name " Cem "should be mentioned in this review .

Secondly,as English speaking people the English language wasn't sufficient enough they should do
something about That too.

Lastly, over all the grounds Were nicely kept and food was ok but over all we didn't feel that the hotel was well managed.

Therefore we are sure we would not recomend this hotel to our friends and family for reasons we mentioned above.



      

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mati19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

I am Travel Agent working for Tui and this was our first time to Turkey. This Hotel was superb, something for everyone, my daughter 15 and my mum 65 and ourselves mid 40tys. Its rated a 4star with the operator but deserves a 5star definately. Location about 10 mins by taxi into side, on the beach with a few shops and bars across the road (which you dont need as the Hotel has it all). Rooms were spacious mini bar topped up twice daily with soft drinks and cleaned daily fresh towels and linen, imaculately clean. Its quite a walk to the pool downhill as the grounds of the hotel are huge and the lift only goes so far. Not suitable for the less mobile. The grounds of the hotel were amazing I have never experienced such beautiful imaculate gardens. Lots of shady areas for those like us travelled in July WOW the heat!! The pool was lovely big and plenty of sunbeds and parasols the staff couldnt do enough for you everywhere, bars, cleaning, restaurant their attention to detail was superior, nothing too much trouble. The food was varied and available from either main restaurant, pool bar (buffet service) or the lovely beach bar which was waiter service. Also room service after midnight was available at no extra charge. The tour operator advises the Al la Catre restaurants is only available once during your stay but if they have availability you can visit more than once. They have Chinese, Italian and Turkish avaialble. This needs to be booked via guest relations in reception between 10 and 12 noon. Varied drinks available beer wines spirits and wide range of cocktails in all areas. The Animation Team were so talented and worked extremely hard and made a point of getting to know their guests, amazing young people with amazing talent. For young children they had a fantastic kids club with shady area and fun house for the children, face painting, picnics games and disco. I forgot to mention they served amazing ice cream, candyfloss, popcorn and waffles at set times of the day, I would recommed going to the hotels welcome meeting which gives lots of information on the hotels facilities as its easy to miss out. They have their own beach across the promenade with beds and parasols free of charge for hotel guests for those who prefere the sand (lovely beach). As by now you can tell we had a fantastic holiday and I would recommed this hotel to all people expept those with mobility problems who are looking for quality location facilities and excellent service. Anyone who finds fault with this hotel would be extremely hard to please.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindalotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levent S, Yönetici at Side Star Elegance, responded to this review, 16 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
0.6 mi away
Side Star Beach Hotel
Side Star Beach Hotel
#34 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
6.1 mi away
Side Star Resort
Side Star Resort
#1 of 4 in Gundogdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melas Resort Hotel
Melas Resort Hotel
#19 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Side Prenses Resort & Spa Hotel
0.3 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Star Elegance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Star Elegance

Property: Side Star Elegance
Address: Kumkoy Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey (Formerly Hotel Asteria)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 228 Hotels in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Side Star Elegance 5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are separated in 3 categories: “Standard Room“, “Suite Room” and “Family Room” which are designed in modern style. Room features are detailed below.Standard RoomCarpet Floor, Twin bed or French Bed, Air conditioning(timed), Balcony, Mini Bar, Electronic Safe Box, Satellite-TV, Music Channel on TV, Telephone, Bathroom (with bathtub), hairdryer, cosmetic mirror. Standard rooms are at land side or seaside.Family RoomOur Family rooms consist of two floors. On the ground floor; living room with a large terrace and a sofa group, WC/bathroom, 1 double, 1 single bed & on the upper floor; toilet/shower-Jacuzzi bath and a bedroom with double bed. Other features are the same as standard rooms; a TV on each levels, mini bar and air conditioning exist. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker.Suite Room Our suite rooms, which consist of a bedroom (double bed) and living room, are located on the upper floors. All have a direct sea view. In addition to standard room’s features, there is coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Side Star Elegance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing