We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barut Acanthus & Cennet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Ranked #7 of 229 Hotels in Side
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We enjoy trying a different destination on holidays, but the Cennet has made us want to return to both the same Hotel and Side!!

Its hard to know where to start with the recommendations but ... it was so clean, rooms good size for 2, balcony with sea view, staff very friendly and helpful, the food was very good. There was complimentary wine (typical house) and soft drinks with the evening meal. We had lunch at a few places around Side, but found the quality at the Hotel far better. They use a card system to pay for items, which we found really worked well for us, just be aware that this must be settled with cash OR card, not bit of both.

Only thing that would have made it abit difficult was the table allocation with other guests, but on our first breakfast we were able to discreetly ask the manager if a separate table was available. They immediately found us 2 (smoking and non), which was great. Okay the table was only 3inches away from sweet German couple but it was a good as it gets.

There was no issue with using the minibar in the room for our own drinks (coke, water, chocolate).

The location of the Hotel was perfect as it is right on the promenade, a half hour walk and you arrive at the Roman theatre. We could swim/sunbath on Hotel beach and see the Roman ruins!!

Turkish Bath was fantastic (VIP Prestige) good to go as soon as early in the holiday as possible.

Jeep Safari - was okay but they took us to a 'Animal Park' with .... rabbits, guinea pigs, monkeys ... which we had to pay 8TL, they also take you for a drink break half way through morning again pricey!! If you do this trip try and get in a jeep with a Turkish driver as they get the tourists to drive too!!

Dolphin Island - didnt see any dolphins but really enjoyed day. June to August is Turkish school holidays which meant there we lots of Turkish people around. So when it came to some dancing on the boat it was a laugh!! Our boat wanted you to buy their drinks (they put it on tab that you have to settle at end of trip) so they tried to yours away.

Antalya - why didnt we get charged??? Because its a waste of time!! We only got half an hour at the Aspendos theatre (amazing!) yet spent 2hours in gold and leather factories even though none of the group wanted anything. The lunch was a terrible was in industrial estate next to gold factory and they over charged for the drinks!! Only had 1.5 hour in Antalya at end of day.

Definitely going back and would recommend this Hotel to all!!

Room Tip: We had room with sea view and on top floor which was great. There isn't a lift but was only 3fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HayleyM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    117
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
126
161
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

myself my partner and 3 yr old son stayed here end od june for two weeks,we arrived late at night and were met by a bell boy who took our cases to reception where we checked in,the staff there were very nice we were taken to our room,10 minutes later some food arrived as we missed the evening meal.we were on the 3rd floor, room 305 with a sea view which was great.the cleaners and ground staff were constantly cleaning and gardening around the hotel all day every day, the food in the evening wasn't great,they seemed to cater more for the majority of russians and germans staying there who were ok,my son lived on chips only, for two weeks,thats not like him,we too lost lbs which is ok, so we ate out on a few occasions.there was a childrens disco 9.00-9.30 then the show starts,which was ok but repeated itself in week 2,the pool area was nice and quiet although busy, but could always get sunbeds, as most seemed to go to the beach,there were two pools,a childs pool and a deep pool,but nothing in between for the not so great swimmers or older children.side was nice.it was nice to see the history and a mix of the new.so we would stroll up the prom every night which is full of bars and eateries.would probably return to side in a few years but to a different hotel,overall we all enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddyjack81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

Let's start with:
1) Room. Adequate and clean; air con that worked well and TV with a couple of channels in English. Balcony was disappointing, not the sort to sit out on with a glass ot wine at night; the view was a wall! Bed linen changed daily even if it didn't need it. Free safe in room. 7 out of 10
2) Food. Buffet style breakfast and evening meal. Lots of choice and looked great until you started to get fed up of the same old same old taste and flavour. Actually the food was too bland. Every evening there was some BBQ'd food which was always the most tasty part of the meal. 7 out of 10
3) Service. Waiters and cleaners very friendly and helpful, though always spoke in German first. Reception staff, polite but unhelpful on final days when trying to arrange a room for a late checkout (because of flight times). 18 hours hanging around without a room to change and clean in is not a great way to end your holiday. 5 out of 10
4) Pool. Very small for the size of hotel, but clean and refreshing with pool bar. 8 out of 10
5) Beach. Just a step out of the hotel; they keep it very clean and tidy and have plenty of beds with umbrellas at not cost bar a mattress. Waiter service on beach would have been nice but 9 out of 10.
6) Entertainment......didn't watch much but was told it wasn't bad......friends scored it 7 out of 10.
7) Animation Team...there was one but very poor. Every night the mini disco played the same music in the same order and the Animation Team looked so bored doing it that Im sure the kids nust have noticed. Other joys were volleyball, darts and air gun shooting which was mainly only the Animation Team doing it. 2 out of 10.
8) Side itself is a bustling little town about 1mile away....great at night 8 out of 10.

Room Tip: To get the best room be Turkish with an attitude........the staff don't appear to love their fel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smeetod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

We found our stay great value and loved the setting on the beach. Swimming was very safe and would have been great for children.

We actually enjoyed sitting with other people at the meals although the fact that I speak German was definitely an advantage! People were very friendly and the meals were very relaxed with a good choice of food and free wine or soft drinks. We had no problem getting sunbeds.

Side is a tourist trap but has a wonderful little museum amid the Roman ruins with hens running about its garden. Sunset at the ruins is quite spectacular. It is a good base for visiting Antalya with its beautiful old town and harbour and Aspendos with its stunning amphitheatre.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvaUedorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Staff friendliness,cleanliness,position,peacefulness all more than a 3* allocation,BUT I love my food and this did not come up to my standard.It was lukewarm (yes I know meddiaeteraenen peoplle like it that way bit I don't)My party like to eat at 8pm,not early, but there were no main starters left then,only salad.Sweets? I wish if I liked baby food ie mousse creme caramel etc.Dinner was meant to be untill 9.30 but you would have no chance.It is such a shame.A lovely setting.lovely staff but aimed at the Germans who we really got on with.Room cleanliness was the best.Air con the worst .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reddy3641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

My wife & Ihave just returned from Side in Turkey, the room 704 was
spotless,cleaned each day &towels changed. It was very quite at night.
The food was good,breakfast mostly cheese meat crossaints.plus omelletes, dont expect a full English! Evening meal was mosty grilled meat or fish salads pasta and plenty of desserts. Wine came free, tip the waiterand it could be 3 glasses!! A table is allocated to you for the duration of your stay.
The only downside at the hotel was you couldn,t get a bed on the hotel beach due to our old friends the Germans putting towels on the beds about 5 am.
On the cultural side a trip to Perge and Aspendos is a must,Roman city remains&ampitheatre.
On a more serious note as you enter Antalya Airport you and your luggage are scanned straightaway, then onto passport control,up the
escalater to departures, where there are side rooms to sit in before boarding the plane. If you buy water £2 a bottle or drinks,these will be taken off you, you and your hand luggage are scanned again before boarding.If you buy duty free spirits these are sealedin a secure bagso this isn,t a problem. Once through this second scanner you could wait an hour or more with no access to toilets or drinks. Don,t rush in like we did. Finally " SIDE is a marvellous place the weather was good and the people were Friendly and helpful

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbobNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Stayed at the Cennet for 2 weeks with Aunt & Uncle. First room was awful 7011 single room at best. Moved the following Wednesday to first floor much better rooms and larger.

Staff in restuarant were the best ever. Waiters couldn't be more helpful, filling glass and coffee cups, and very friendly.

Animation team could have tried harder with the English, thousands of words for Germans etc may be two or three for the English. The head of the entertainment team never ever took off his sunglasses off the top of his head looked rather stupid especially when it was dark.

Would definitely recommend this hotel but not really for children, over 40's probably because of the elderly Germans, though we did meet an excellent couple Klaus & Bettie

Would go again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happydroylsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.8 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
3.0 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.6 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 229 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#4 of 229 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
4.3 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
2.2 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Acanthus & Cennet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Acanthus & Cennet

Property: Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Address: Turgut Ozal Cad, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Spa Hotel in Side
#42 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barut Acanthus & Cennet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Barut Acanthus & Cennet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cennet Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing