We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bit worndown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Ranked #7 of 229 Hotels in Side
netherlands
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“bit worndown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for one night.First a plus: friendly staff at reception, especially a lady who is fluent in German (not so good in English, but thats ok).
My room was small and not really up to modern standards, everything looked a bit worn down, could do with a renovation: beds aren very comfortable.
Food was ok, nothing more, nothing less: Staff at the restaurant is ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    118
    34
    15
    5
See reviews for
128
167
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at the cennet half board with my 5 year old grandson. Our room was spotless and kept that way by our room attendant despite the efforts of a 5 year old and his toys. The air con was hit and miss, maintenance did do their best to fix it but lasted dn hour at most. Gave up in the end and wedged balcony and room door open to create a breeze. Seemed a little odd sharing a table for meals but once you hot used to it was fine. Plenty of choice at mealtimes. The beach was always busy and didn't really spend much time there. The walk along the promenade to side is lovely and nice and flat. The pool area is lovely and the pool is refreshing but nice and not too cold. There are a few restaurants just outside the main entrance the one to the right does brilliant kids meals . There's a little mini market to the left for essentials. The mini disco became the highlight of my grandsons evening despite the songs being mostly German he loved it. The staff were all really lovely . A lovely small friendly hotel . In fact we liked it so much we are returning in august 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cennet apartments which are fairly basic for a 4 star but the location (right on the seafront) makes this a really good choice. It's perfect to sunbathe in the grassy area near your apartment then pop down for a swim and back again if you don't want to lie on the beach. It's a nice friendly feel at the hotel which seemed to have mostly German guests. We went with Thomson and did lots of great excursions including white water rafting, scuba diving and a trip to Antalya. The area is full of huge all singing and dancing hotel complexes where you wouldn't need to leave but I thought Hotel Cennet was much nicer as it is more immersed in the resort of Side. The fact that there are so many all inclusive hotels in Side means the restaurants and bars along the main strip are all desperate for custom and this gives it a slightly unpleasant atmosphere with staff harassing you to come in (tip: walk along the shoreline to avoid them)! Side has a somewhat tacky feel with lots of counterfeit merchandise shops but the temple and beach are nice. Overall a good hotel and a good base to explore the region but I would maybe go to a different resort next time. Antalya old town and Alayna are both pretty and less intense than Side.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bottletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Myself and my husband spent 11 nights at the cennet hotel in side in first two weeks of September 2013. On arrival at 3am in the morning we was just dumped at the top of the hill not knowing where we was to go and no one in sight to ask! We finally booked in at the sister hotel. Our room were what you expect, very clean and basic. The hotel had laid out some food for us which was nice, but so tired after a long day of travelling!
We got up a few hours later and went looking for the breakfast area, we did not know that we had gone into the sister hotel in error, when the waiters found out they took our food of us and practically threw us out! I had read that the staff were somewhat rude, but we had been to Turkey before and found them so friendly, we was shocked. We finally found the breakfast area and was seated with a lovely family from uk! Food was nice, enough choice. Through the holiday we found that there was very few people from uk, this does not bother us, but staff tended to Germans first and we was ignored and overlooked several times! Again we was shocked. Evening meal was at times shall I say looked like slop! Again catering to Germans tastes, however you make most of it, but twice we went out for dinner despite being half board. On a positive you were given clean beach towels, no need to pay for beds on beach, which is a bonus, but did need to reserve as all taken by early morning. Room very basic, but very clean, do not need more than that. You do not need to carry. Do not need money when on site as get a card, you can settle daily or end of hols, keep receipts!! Some younger staff lovely, so tipped them well, but overall they were rude. No real entertainment at hotel, which was disappointing. Pool lovely and empty as people at beach. Book trips away from Thomson as cheaper, safari trip was so much fun, no dolphins seen on boat trip! We made the most of our holiday, weather was fab, but overall disappointing and put off going back to turkey for a while!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked a late holiday this October 2013 and stayed at the Cennet Hotel. We enjoyed it and the weather was just perfect, never saw a cloud for the whole week. Though our room was a little dated it was comfortable and spotlessly clean. It had a kitchenette which made it a bit like home from home. The hotel and staff were great and the gardens were lovely. Generally the food was very good, we were half board which meant you could try the local eateries outside the hotel. There were a lot of Germans in the hotel and not many English speaking people, but that was not a real problem. Loved the beautiful promenade along the beach where one could walk into Side. The beach was clean but a bit crowded. I would recommend the Cennet it is a little oasis amoungst the many large hotels that are around locally.

Room Tip: Get rooms near the pool it is so peaceful. We had a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Selbag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just back from 2 weeks holiday at this hotel and was greatly impressed. Out room was very spacious and kept spotless by the housekeeping staff. The food was good, there was a good variety to suit all tastes and all the staff in the restaurant and bar made us very welcome. The guests were a mixture of German, Swiss and French and we enjoyed the multi national atmosphere. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved out stay at the cennet hotel. The staff are so helpful and attentive. The food was lovely with lots of choice but it was aimed at the German guests as it is a German owned hotel, on the plus side they expect very high standards which is what I feel you get at this hotel. Our room was basic but very clean and comfortable, it also has a mini bar in a fridge which is a big plus because we could use the fridge. The cleaning staff make your beds and do a general tidy daily, if you want a more deep clean you can hang the sign on the door handle and they oblige. The hotel grounds are stunning, so well kept and clean with lots of flowers, plants and trees including orange and lime trees all around the pool ( my daughter enjoyed a few freshly picked oranges). The beach has plenty of sun loungers for everyone and the staff will check if you are actually a guest if you are on them without your hotel beach towel (this prevents people who aren't with the hotel using the loungers).
It is a lovely hotel and the staff treated us so well, I definitely recommend it if you want a relaxed peaceful holiday. The only down side is if you want lots of entertainment for children it's not so good, it's aimed mainly at the German and other foreign guests. Would advise getting trips from the agents just outside of hotel grounds instead of Thomson, the saving is huge!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.7 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
3.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.9 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#4 of 229 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
4.3 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
2.2 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Acanthus & Cennet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Acanthus & Cennet

Property: Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Address: Turgut Ozal Cad, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#6 Spa Hotel in Side
#41 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barut Acanthus & Cennet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barut Acanthus & Cennet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cennet Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing