We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location massively let down by shabby buildings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Ranked #5 of 228 Hotels in Side
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location massively let down by shabby buildings”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We first came to Side last September and stayed in a cheap and not so cheerful budget hotel, and thought we'd treat each ourselves to a smarter resting place (at four times the price)

What a disappointment. First impressions are good, with lovely staff (who speak reasonable English) and the sound of the sea nearby. But this quickly turns sour as our room - sold as "garden view" - is basically IN the maintenance, rubbish collection and glass recycling area at the back of the hotel. "Garden view" turns out to be a hedge. After a long journey we hit the sack, only to be woken at 6.30am with the bin men and what sounds like every bottle in the world noisily clattering into the dump truck.

It's a beautiful day, so we get up shortly after to go to breakfast, which is okay, but get our first impression of our fellow guests who all appear to use the same hairdresser (guys - think Pat Sharpe c.1987; girls - think Prisoner Cell Block H chic) and stylist (guys and girls - think 1990's Hip-hop, not in a good way), and all with suspiciously orange/leather skin. Appearances aside, what really strikes you is the exhibited coldness to the point of unashamed hostility. It's like a holiday is a serious business; you're not there to relax, you are First In the Queue for coffee and First In the Queue for croissants etc. Smiling is not an option, that would be a sign of weakness. It's a little dismaying.

Undaunted (well, maybe slightly daunted) we head to the beach, where most of the sunloungers have towels on them already (yes, yes, some of them are Germans but actually the Russians are the worst at this) but as it's not yet high season we can easily get a spot. Here we're in familiar territory: sunbathe, read, relax, swim, repeat. Light bite on the beach, followed by afternoon yoga with a very good teacher under the pine trees with the waves in the background. Lovely.

Dinner is like breakfast but worse. The more mulleted and orange of the guests (98% over 60, 50% Russian, 40% German, 8% Polish, 2% other) are there queueing up at 6.55 before the doors open at 7. The tsunami that erupts at 7pm is like vultures circling a carcass, there's not so much a sense of desperation to get the best food - there's masses of it - but more a sense of IF I GET MY PLATE AND FOOD AND SIT DOWN FIRST I AM MUCH CLEVERER THAN ANYBODY ELSE. At first it's mildly offensive - presumably generally civilised people (all dressed for dinner, sunburn throbbing underneath their flowery dresses and 70's shirts) elbowing you aside for the sake of a prawn - and then it just becomes funny when you realise quite how seriously they all take it. We have an average meal and head to bed. It's our holiday, after all.

The next day we go to reception and voice our unhappiness at the location of our room. There are no more rooms we're told, until the next day. We decide to give them a chance, despite only having 5 nights there, and endure another night of the rubbish/recycling apocalypse at 6.30am.

When we finally get a room upgrade the next day after kicking up another fuss, it's on the same side of the hotel but higher up and further along, so the rubbish noise is reduced to a background smashing, but still very bad for an allegedly 5 star hotel.

Plus points - the staff are great, cleaning the very tired and shabby rooms beautifully each day. The gardens are absolutely amazing with equally dedicated staff tending them. But the rooms are in DESPERATE need of renovation; air-con is feeble, doors are thin (not helping the noise situaution) and the bathroom is a disgrace with a ceiling that looks suspiciously asbestos-filled and a shower that's little more than a dribble.

So, not really a holiday as an experience... My abiding memory is of a combination of Butlins, Fawlty Towers and surreal mealtimes reminiscent of sharks circling a wounded tuna.

Room Tip: Avoid "Garden View" unless you actually live inside a recycling bank
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    118
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
130
179
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Darvel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here beginning of May for only two nights
Will summarise quickly due to short stay duration

Good points

Location as it is so close to Side
Small well run hotel with pleasant staff
Check in smooth with cold drink on arrival
Nice room with all amenities you would expect from a thee star hotel
Comfortable beds
Entertainment was a good live duo one night and a quiz the next
Bar area and lounge compact but well run
Restaurant again small but well run
Free wine with dinner
Lovely grounds and decent restaurant and bar outside
Beach area looked good
Special mention for the bell boy (Manuel look alike) who is a real worker and asset to this hotel

Not so god points

Hotel a bit dated
Pool area very dated
Food choice very limited and poor quality
Only wine No beer with dinner
Drink not that cheap

All in all an average hotel with good service but disappointed us in comparison to other Barut hotels we have stayed in
If you drink moderately this hotel is not for you as we found that only having a few beers, wines and a couple of cocktails it works out more expensive than the much better all inclusives we stayed in earlier on the holiday. Local spirits 4 euro and branded 7 or 8 euro, wine and beer 4 euro so you do your own maths to see if it's worth while

There a great bars and restaurants just along the prom from this hotel and this is where we intended eating and drinking but unfortunately the weather was so bad with torrential rain 7th to10th May we hardly left the hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyboydarvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Acanthus & Cennet, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Billyboydarvel,

Thank you for staying with us at Barut Cennet & Acanthus Hotel. We appreciate your time and your review on Trip advisor.
At our hotel we value our guest’s feedbacks and that helps us to improve our service. We are also continuously training our service staff.
Rest assured that your feedback was addressed to our Executive team and we are working very hard to take immediate precautions to make sure all of our guests are very happy.
Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were staying at the Cennet (pronounced Jennet) which is on the same site as Acanthus with shared reception/pool/beach etc. We arrived around midnight and found a snack had been left in our room which was very welcome and a nice touch. Room itself was a 'Garden Room' overlooking the well kept gardens and pool area and in keeping with the rest of the hotel was kept spotlessly clean. (A slight negative to nice gardens was that we were kept awake by a petrol driven leaf-blower at 1:00am one night).The hotel is right on the beach and only a very pleasant 20 minute or so stroll along the 'prom' (passing plenty of bars/restaurants/shops) into ancient Side. We stayed on a half board basis which we prefer as we got to try some good local restaurants for lunch. Food in the hotel was good, but clearly catered for the Germans which made up the majority of the guests, followed by Russians and a few Brits and Scandinavians. Meals are served in a covered outdoor area overlooking gardens to the sea which is very pleasant at breakfast! We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: 'Garden Rooms' are closer to the road at the back of the hotel and overlook the pool area. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PigsEar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived at 11pm and were given a drink on arrival and a snack in the room, which were most welcome. The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and he staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is right on the promenade across from the beach and one of the nearest to Side town, about 25 minutes' stroll
There is free wifi and use of an internet PC in reception. The TV channels are mainly German, but there is National Geographic, BBC World and BBC Entertainment.
Meals are taken in an outside area and you keep the same table for all meals. There are smoking and non-smoking areas. Breakfast becomes a bit samey after a few days, but the dinner choice is very good. Even on half-board, wine and hot drinks are included free.
The hotel has mainly older German clients and whilst not an adult-only hotel, does not have many children.

Room Tip: If you can't get a room facing the sea, a side room on the East side means you get a partial sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonKnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We Stayed at the Cennet beginning of May for 1 week. Weather could have been better. We had two days of heavy downpours continually, and a couple of cloudy days with short showers, and 3 lovely sunny days.
We booked with Thomas cook as the the flight times were better for us than Thomson. Flight was ok, but the transfer was appaling. We landed at 630pm and checked in to the hotel at 930pm it took about 50mins to Side then another 50mins to drop everybody off. It was an awful journey. If you can afford it, get a taxi. were were quoted 70 euro's for a taxi back to the airport but thought it was too much.
I thought we may just get there in time for dinner ( it finishes at 930pm) but by the time reception explained everything we were told too late for dinner. We were starving. I think Thomas cook should use a smaller mini bus so you don't have to do so many drop offs, we had about 10. I know they wont though. The hotel brought us up a plate of cheese and bread and some other little nibbles it was lovely but not enough, so went across the road for a pizza.
Enough grumbling, our hotel room was lovely. Very clean and small but had enough space for our things for a week. only two drawers though.
Bathroom spotless with a nice shower cubical and hot water all the time.
View wasn't great, looked over the roof tops, but in a good position for pool and restaurant.
Beds very firm, not very comfy.
The hotel restaurant is partly open air and looks out towards the beach and promenade. It is a very nice setting.
The restaurant has an inside bit too, which we had to use sometimes because of the weather.
Breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. A young girl also cooks fresh eggs, fried, scrambled or omelettes. Not your traditional English but we liked it.

First morning i was told i couldn't wear my beach cover up ( kaftan) to breakfast. Never experienced this before in any hotel i have stayed at, which is by the beach. Not sure why, it was not see through. ??? bit of a pain as i had brought a couple so had to keep going back to my room to change before i went on the beach.
Dinner was good most evenings, we always found something. People we spoke to all enjoyed the food too.
The pool was nice, very peaceful. Don't suppose its always like that.

Most of the staff friendly and smiley and they speak German very well. Its a German Hotel.

Beach very long with loads of sunbeds outside all the hotels/ bars/restaurants.

Nice walk in to Side along the prom passing lots of bars, restaurants, ice cream and juice stalls. Loved the pomegranate juice. Had a few meals out all good and Turkish people very friendly, some can be a bit in your face if they are trying to sell you stuff, but most of the time really nice.

Normally we opt for smaller quieter resorts so found it a bit built up for our liking. Many large hotels all around. I wouldn't fancy it in peak time.
Glad we booked the Cennet as it is a lot smaller than all the others in the area as they are not really our thing.
Transfer time again, and you guessed it, rubbish. Told pick would be 2.45pm you need to be there 15mins before. They came at 4pm. Hour and half we waited. We were on the phone to Thomas cook when the coach arrived. our flight was at 7.20pm. So as i said before if you can afford it or there are a few of you book a taxi.
Probably go back to Turkey again but i would like try another resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HUNKYDORYLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
158 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for one night.First a plus: friendly staff at reception, especially a lady who is fluent in German (not so good in English, but thats ok).
My room was small and not really up to modern standards, everything looked a bit worn down, could do with a renovation: beds aren very comfortable.
Food was ok, nothing more, nothing less: Staff at the restaurant is ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed at the cennet half board with my 5 year old grandson. Our room was spotless and kept that way by our room attendant despite the efforts of a 5 year old and his toys. The air con was hit and miss, maintenance did do their best to fix it but lasted dn hour at most. Gave up in the end and wedged balcony and room door open to create a breeze. Seemed a little odd sharing a table for meals but once you hot used to it was fine. Plenty of choice at mealtimes. The beach was always busy and didn't really spend much time there. The walk along the promenade to side is lovely and nice and flat. The pool area is lovely and the pool is refreshing but nice and not too cold. There are a few restaurants just outside the main entrance the one to the right does brilliant kids meals . There's a little mini market to the left for essentials. The mini disco became the highlight of my grandsons evening despite the songs being mostly German he loved it. The staff were all really lovely . A lovely small friendly hotel . In fact we liked it so much we are returning in august 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.7 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
3.1 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.9 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#4 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
4.3 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
2.2 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#10 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Acanthus & Cennet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Acanthus & Cennet

Property: Barut Acanthus & Cennet
Address: Turgut Ozal Cad, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#4 Spa Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#41 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barut Acanthus & Cennet 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barut Acanthus & Cennet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cennet Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing