We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #6 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2011

It is a beautifully appointed hotel with all you could possibly need, from toiletries to umberella's. Yes we had rain, thunder and lightening, but never the less I have arrived home wiht a cracking tan.
Going the end of March was a great idea as it was fairly quiet. A few facilities where not open, such as the pedolos but they still opened the water slide.
The food was good the staff are fantastic and a real good laugh!
The Animation team work extremelly hard at entertaining the guests without being overbearing. Some of the shows they put on where really funny and all very tongue in cheek.
The apartments we stayed in was well appointed and I would use again, I did look at Delux and Standard rooms for future reference and would use the standard as there isn't masses of difference.
The al a carte is good for escaping the noise of the restaurant for a night but make a point of booking in advance. don't be fobbed off with booking the day before they do book further ahead than that.
The weather was changable and very chilly at night and sometimes first thing in a morning, definately need to take a few long sleeved cardies. It did reach 23o C and felt very hot.
Side town is lovely and the kebabs are very tasty, eating at the harbour is more expensive than on the main street, but some restaurants will give you a free ride in the restaurant car to get back to your hotel.
When I booked this there where 4 of us travelling and where where tokd by the travel agent that an apartment would be good for us, and to be honest we did ok but would of been better in two rooms. 4 adults sharing a bathroom wasn't ideal. The apartments are noisy if you are on a lower floor and really better for families wiht younger children.

In summary the Hemera is a lovely hotel with plenty on offer, all the reviews I read before I went where spot on and I can definatley see why so many go back year after year. I would definately take the rest of my family that didn't make it this time.

Room Tip: Turkish bath £25 with Thomas Cook highly recommend
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Yorkies2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,038)
There are newer reviews for Barut Hemera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,038 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2011

I went to this hotel in February 2011 with my sister and two friends. My sister has stayed at this hotel many times and always raves about how great it is so we were all eager to try it out. We were not disappointed. The hotel was everything she said and much more. The rooms were spotless and cleaned to a very high standard. The animation team were great espeically Speedy the DJ and we had a great laugh with him. We were also very lucky with the weather that week and had gorgeous sunshine. I have been to Turkey many times before and will say that this is the best hotel i have ever stayed in there. Side town is great for the bargains but i have noticed how their prices have crept up and also everything is in EUROS!!! that is not their national currency so why they keep on displaying prices in this i do not know (probably better exchange rate, so who can blame them). I will say that when we stayed there there was alot of elderly Germans staying there for the week who seemed to think they owned the place and really most were quite miserable!! and when you smiled at them just looked right through you. It is quite annoying that everyone naturally assumes you are German but nothing to get in a strop about. I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going there and it will definitely live up to all expections. ENJOY YOUR TIME THERE - WE DID!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank disappointed47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed at the Hemera in October our first tripe to Turkey,food very good,enterment good,kitterns lovely,lovely walks,beach front.Take a taxi to see the old ruins and walk back by the sea,staff very friendly.It is a hotel we will return to,hope the standards stay the same

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banburyrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed her with our 3yr old child for two weeks from 11th October, and had selected this property after researching all the brochures and narrowing it down to three, based on the ratings, reviews, location and previous comments. We chose this as we managed to get a free child place, and it was a fantastic holiday to say the least.

I am actually writing this 4 months after our stay as i have just stayed for 1 week at a 4* Spa Hotel in Spain, and it just goes to show you that Hemera really does it all and it deserved the praise that everyone gives it. Normally those who write reviews are the first to complain, or go and tell everyone else such as family and friends when it is a good holiday, so I promised to write this review just to let you know how amazing this hotel is.

Hemera has everything, great staff, beautiful grounds, lovely rooms, excellent maid service, security at the resort gates, a patisserie, ice cream available all hours of the day for children (and adults), a wonderful beach bar and a private beach. The entertainment is brilliant, and well done to the animation team who really do pull out all the stops, day and night to make your holiday one to remember! The food is out of this world, it's that good that their Head Chef even has his own published books and are available to buy at the hotel. If your a fussy eater like my partner and child, you will still find them something every meal time, guaranteed. There is even a special kids section buffet for main courses!

Near the entrance to the hotel there are a few bars and your regular shops selling clothes, watches and pharmacy etc, as well as tours. Don't just book at the first one though, as there are more to choose from, so look around.

They have free Wi-Fi at the hotel lobby and if it happens to rain you can get an umbrella for a refundable deposit of 10EUR or 20TRY too. (They think of everything, don't they!).

We never normally go back to the same place twice, as we like to try somewhere different, but this hotel really does make you wan't to go back again, simply because it is fabulous. Whether you go for one week, 10/11 nights, two weeks or even longer, you will most certainly come back refreshed and happy that you chose the right holiday.

If you are taking money, make sure you take Euros and Turkish Lira. (I even took U.S.Dollars and got a great deal on some items to bring home after confusing the hell out of the man in the shop! - Point here: Just know your rates and what its costing you. you can use $ for tips too of course!)

The only thing I wasn't so happy about was a very large German influence in the first week, where even the staff would ask you repeatedly in German "Was fur trinke?" instead of "What would you like to drink?" and Guten Morgen and so on and so on. In the second week there were more English there, but even out and about in the towns and bars etc, they immediately think you are Continental and not English? Maybe I should buy myself a Chelsea top after all. When you go to a foreign country it is courteous to speak their language even if it is only a little, such as please, thank you, good morning, how are you etc, but to go to Turkey and have to Speak German? Didn't get that at all. In fact even after the two weeks were up, staff who had been serving us all week still spoke to us in German, and although my German is pretty good, I think that by that time they must have known I was English!, Never the less, all in all a amazing 2 weeks, it's a dead certain all round winner people, don't be afraid to book this hotel. It's worth every penny!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaylottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

wev'e just come back from a month at theHotel Hemera and Spar in Side, Turkey and it was brilliant, the hotel was very clean and beautifull, the room was all we had ask for and when we needed help from any of the staff nothing was too much trouble.If there was a problem of any sort again it was sorted straight away. The staff were very friendly . The pool and the gardens were again beautifull and the walk to Side was very easy for us to do and we are in our late 60's We would highly recomend this hotel to all ages. Short or long stay cant fault it and we are choosey! A million dollars .

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Barut hemera was a lovely hotel that had great service and food. We gave money both to the waiters and the cleaners. Both were of a great standard and they made our stay that little better. The waiters made time to speak to us and they also made sure our table was cleared and our drinks were always full. The maid/cleaner that cleaned our apartment was great. Our family dosent like to leave a mess but it was nice that she came in to hoover and re-stock the mini-bar (mini-bar didnt have any alcohol in it unfourtuantly).

Food was great and there was plenty to eat. The buffet service is good as you can go up for as much as you like and it is always hot. We only had lunch once due to the three meals being very filling, but it was very nice. Cold and hot food looked and tasted lovely. Breakfast and dinner were great as they had loads on offer and always very nice. The a la carte restaurant was very poor and we asked a couple people, what they thought of it and they thought it was very bad. The main waiter had an attitude problem, wouldn't look or speak to us and also didnt seem to do anything. All the other waiters were fine but a little rude. The food was poor and cold. My family wished we had gone to the proper food court as it would have been better service and food.
My only problem with the food is the way that nothing had allergy warnings. One member of our family has a severe nut allergy and there was no notices whether the food was free or contained nuts. The member of the group had a little problem on one of the nights as we were told the food didnt have nuts in it but did.
The bars were great as the non-alcoholic drinks tasted nice, just a shame that the alcoholic drinks weren't named brands as promised on booking.

The private beach was the cleanest along the promande. There were plenty of deck chairs and the facility to shower and change.
The swimming pool wasn't heated and no-one was able to go in it. I think if the pool was heated more people would come to the resort. The deck-chairs around the pool were lovely and clean and there were plenty of them.

My main critism was the cats! One member of the group dosent like cats and for the majority stayed inside as they were scared of them. We counted at-least 21 cats. One person that was staying at the resort was bitten by the cats, and that put alot of people off. One cat had fur hanging off and a scar that was bleeding, that wasn't nice too see and the children were a little scared. We also noticed a number of dogs walking around.

But i must say that the whole holiday was very enjoyable and i would love too return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deal-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Hemera from November 9 to December 7 . . . and we had excellent weather during that time. I have stayed in Side 7 times previously. Firstly at the hotel's sister hotel. the Arum (2 years) then at the Sunrise Queen (4 times) and latterly at the Hemara with my partner. The first two are 5* hotels and the Hemera deserves the same rating. We found the staff very courteous, helpful and friendly . The food (no bacon or pork) was excellent and plentiful and the drinks (All Inclusive) were plentiful and the measures unstinting! There was a welcoming bowl of fruit on our arrival and the chambermaids were both cheerful and diligent. The previous year we had stayed at the Sunrise (another great hotel) but there the All Inclusive was optional and we found it rather expensive on a month's stay . . . so the Hemera was a double blessing!! vAll three have lovely gardens that run down to their stretches of private beach (with loungers and parasols) and the new promenade that now runs from Kumkoy through to Side itself is excellent.
Therte are plenty of excursions by land or sea . . . Pamukkale and Cappadocia both worth a visit if there is time during the holiday.
Enjoy!!!
K. Walters and Jean James
Blackpool, Lancs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenwal_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 228 in Side
1,303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.8 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#12 of 228 in Side
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#5 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#8 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: £79 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barut Hemera 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing