We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and luxurious holiday”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #6 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Weather was a little too hot but otherwise this was one of the best holidays I have ever been on. We got an apartment instead of just a room which suited us it was a little far back in the complex but it made us walk everyday.the whole Barut experience is one that suited us. Everything is catered for. Wonderful gardens 4pools,two huge bars serving all sorts of wonderful food like fried chicken baguettes pizza salads fruit a pattisserie that is open all day and a huge restaurant opens at meal times. Side is steeped in history and a must to look round. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff in this resort. The entertainment team is huge and they are great fun you want to join in. The kids club looked fantastic. Holidaymakers from all over the world come here. Lots of people come back year after year. Beach was a bit rocky in the sea. Very safe environment and most people speak English. A very easy place to holiday. Complex fits into the environment as it is low and built within trees so it cannot be seen from the beach.

Room Tip: Mostly pool views only a few sea views as the complex is built sideways. Although lots of trees ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank polly w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2012

just returned from another super holiday at The Hemera. only a week this year from the 9th June and could have done 10 days it was so good.
Myself adult daughter and granddaughter went on a girlie holiday, we had been here last year and the year before so new what we were getting and it was as good as ever.
Plenty to do for the 3yr old,mini disco, kids club, swings and a pool made for kids and adults, she spent nearly all her time in the pool and we felt very safe with this.
our room was great and balcony over looked the pool which was nice as when Emily went to bed we could sit out with our cocktail and watch the world go by.the room was cleaned everyday, nice fresh towels and pool towels are provided as and when you want them.
The food is good and there is plenty of choice. One evening Emily wanted pancakes, the resturant manager over heard this and the pancakes appeared! nothing is too much bother, i would like to mention also that most of the entertainment team were great, Lopez and Hugo were fun and helpful.the waiters were great fun and also very helpful.
The evening shows were a little odd at times but not too bad after a couple of G and T's.
another good thing is that you can pay with sterling no need to change up money and the rates aren't bad.Having said that you don't need to buy anything really

Room Tip: room 1040 is over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fengirlcambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in the Hemera (1st time at this Hotel) Can't fault it, The hotel is spotless and very well kept. The grounds are beautiful with lots of colourful flowers which smell really nice. Food is amazing with lots of variety and choice. We also ate in the International A La Carte which was delicious. Table service for drinks. Pools and beach brilliant. Members of staff come around the pool and beach every afternoon offering fresh melon which is great and really refreshing. Staff are so friendly and hard-working they really do concentrate on customer service and really seem to be happy in their jobs, nothing is too much trouble. The entertainment team are good but especially Andre, Eren, Omer & Hugo they talked us into doing activities which we probably would not have considered, however we were so glad that we did as we had great fun. These 4 boys are a credit to the Hotel and we would consider them as friends. Quite a mix of nationalities however met some really nice people so don't let this put you off. All in all a really fantastic holiday. Well done Hemera - a really slick operation - you make it look easy. We will definitely recommend and will return in the future.
Janice & John from Scotland.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1222 which was excellent for all areas., ie pool view; dinning room, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JakeAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We just came back yesterday after a week at the hemera hotel.We were quite disappointed with the amounts of old people in that hotel. There were hardly any English/Brits visitors, only Russians and some rude Germans everywhere in the hotel. The restaurant staff only welcome those visitors with a big smile on their faces, but do not care about the Brits. They always rush people to finish their food quickly as they start clearing up 1 hour before closing time. Excellent weather and pool, but the beach is very dirty. The entertainment team leader speaks mostly in russian/german language at night time. Personally, it is not worth the price at all. This hotel is catered mostly for 50+ people . Definitely will not go back again or recommend it to anyone, as Side is full of old age people. Nothing to do for young people. Bodrum/ Marmaris are more for young Brits, so next time in Bodrum or Dalaman.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 95Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

MY wife and I just returned from 11 night holiday we have travelled extensively worldwide usually staying all inclusive. We said we would never go back to the same hotel twice however we would make an exception and return to the Hemera! We could not fault anything, the food was 5 star as was the staff and services We do not particularly like cats running around hotels but must say that the few cats that were here did not bother us and were actually quite cute and well looked after by the hotel. We did not go on any trips this time but there was plenty of shops locally and and the 40 minute walk into Side old town and harbour was well worth doing
There are signs telling you that you must not place towels on sun loungers by pool and beach or they will be removed but of course many chose to ignore it and were up at the crack of dawn placing their towels on beds which was totally pointless as there was enough sunbeds around pool and beach are throughout the day
Over the weekend we were treated to a air show over two days by the Turkish air-force and was on par with the Red Arrows if not better! this was directly over the front of the hotel and beach, fantastic. The pilots were staying at our hotel and were probably no older than 20!
Must also recommend a shave (cost 4 euro s) in the hotel hairdressers I have never had a cut-throat razor shave and the barber proceeded to wax my ears and nose and when he ripped it of and showed me I thought he was trying to sell me a Turkish Rug! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool as you may get one at the rear of the hotel we did after a previ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank benyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

second time staying at this hotel will be going back again everything is five star as it says staff are great entertainment team are brilliant kept my grandson amused all day and his dad rooms are large and the cleaners keep them that way. food was good with plenty of choice pool and grounds are very well looked after. only thing this time was the view from our room over looked back of the kitchens and the way in for the stafff. but to be fair when i mentioned this was told i could move rooms but this was 3rd day into my weeks holiday and did not want to pack everthing up to move. if they have better rooms availiable why dont they use them first. but still had a great holiday

Room Tip: avoid rooms ending in odd number in the block overlooking the pool they seem to face the back ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janetExeterDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the Hemera from 17th to 31st May 2012. My wife's parents had recommended the hotel to us, so we were expecting it to be very good, but it surpassed our expectations in almost every respect.

Our room (2115) was on the first floor just to the side of reception, and, while not sumptuous, and with a poor balcony position, was perfectly adequate. There was a fruit basket to welcome our arrival and the minibar was stocked daily with soft drinks and bottled water. The walk-in shower room was brilliant and the double bed very comfortable (though some might find it a little firm). The air-conditioning was fully adjustable, but only worked while you had your room key inserted. The room had a largish flat screen TV but with limited English channels. We watched the Eurovision final on the Turkish channel (starting 2 hours later in Turkey than UK). The room also had a free safe and free Wifi (up to 1GB) which, for a very small fee (5TL) could be increased to 5GB. Towels were changed daily and the room kept very clean.

The weather while we were in Side was sunny and warm most days, with some broken cloud. Temperatures peaked at about 25-28 degrees. We had only one wettish day and a couple of other days at the beginning of our stay which were cloudy. A cloudy day provides a good opportunity (which we took) to walk along the new promenade into Side to explore the shops, bars, and amazing ancient ruins (you will need to take some TL or Euro coins for the public WCs). The walk along the prom is about 2 miles.

Unlike (apparently) some Turkish hotels, the Hemera has a sizable British clientele (with about the same number of German and also a goodly Russian contingent). It made for a comfortable international mix, with all nationalities seemingly treated equally by the staff. All the reception, waiting and bar staff could understand and speak English and German well. I don't know how the Hemera recruits employees, but all the staff, without exception, were absolutely amazing - unhurried, friendly, courteous, attentive, and all seemed to really enjoy their work. Many other reviewers have commented on the fine entertainment team and we really don't know how they managed to be so full of energy and enthusiasm all and every day and night! The two comedy shows they put on while we were there were somewhat lame (though amusing) but the dance shows were exceptionally good, with some real talent among the team. There were also a couple of nights where other acts were brought into the hotel - Chinese Shaolin performers and Chinese acrobats - both were fantastic. The nightly shows are held on a large outdoor stage at the beach bar (weather permitting) and often attracted a good audience of onlookers from those walking past the hotel. We were also lucky enough to be there during the 2-day Side air display which was spectacular and which we watched from the comfort of our beach loungers! Several of the pilots and crew later dined at the hotel!

The pools at the Hemera (which include an indoor pool) are fresh water and very clean, with pH and temperatures for each pool displayed. However, we only spent one day by the pool as the hotel beach (separated from the hotel only by the 10ft wide promenade) was even better. The beach loungers are very comfortable, with good size parasols which are nicely spaced out, giving plenty of room to move the loungers to follow or shade from the sun. We had no trouble getting loungers each morning, though on the finest days these all became taken by about 9am. The beach has a Blue Flag for cleanliness and was well maintained. The sea was warm enough to swim in but you have to be careful with patches of rocks underfoot that you can't always see and that could bruise, scratch or even cut your feet. Importantly for us, the beach was quiet - no blaring canned music. Also there weren't large numbers of children while we were there, and most of these were preschool and all were well behaved.

The food at the Hemera was consistently very good, providing much variety including sufficient and tasty vegetarian options. Most days we ate lunch at the adjacent beach bar. The main restaurant has the usual buffet service and plenty of seating, including outside terraces. The waiting staff bring drinks to your table and we were never kept waiting more than a couple of minutes. The hotel also has three excellent a la carte restaurants (Fish, International and Turkish) which you book at least 24 hours in advance - the all-inclusive package allowed us to dine once each at these, plus taking an a la carte Turkish breakfast (which we didn't bother with).

In addition to main meal times (and a midnight buffet), there are mid-morning and afternoon snacks, including icecream, crepes, patisseries, desserts and popcorn, also pizzas, burgers, chips and omelettes. The four bars all serve the full range of beer, wines, spirits, cocktails and soft drinks (including bottled water) and we never had to wait long to be served at the bar or at our table. The spirits all seemed to be full-strength and the bar staff were very generous with the cocktail mixes! The local lager (Efes) is very good and the red, white and sparking house wines all perfectly acceptable.

Overall, the all-inclusive package at the Hemera is amazingly good value and incredibly convenient. There is no wrist-band or lanyard to wear (though you need to keep your key with you at all times) and no signing for drinks. And you don't need to carry cash around with you while in the hotel, although there are tip boxes in all restaurants and bars for when (as you will!) you want to show your appreciation of the excellent staff. There is even a tip box for the hotel's resident population of cats - the kittens were very cute!

Other (non-inclusive) facilities at the hotel usefully include a Doctor's surgery, shops, opticians, hairdressers, and massage treatments.

We left late on our departure day and weren't able to arrange a late check out from our room (checkout time is 12 noon). But all the hotel facilities were still available to us throughout our last day, and the hotel has a Courtesy Room for showering and changing before leaving for the airport.

All in all we had a brilliant time at the Hemera, would recommend it VERY highly, and certainly intend to return there!

Mike and Catriona

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pools may be favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 229 in Side
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
2.8 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#12 of 229 in Side
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#5 Luxury Hotel in Side
#8 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: £81 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barut Hemera 5*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing