We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel ”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #6 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel ”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is brilliant and have one of the best entertainment teams. The food is ok and there is always something to eat but I have experienced better food at hotels and I'd say it the only thing that let's it down. As it was only April when we went the evening entertainment was held by the pool and our rooms were right by the pool but even this was never a problem noise wise. All in all it was a good break until on our last night there seemed to be a mass arrival and the place was taken over by rude and grateful guests. The hotel is focused mainly towards German, Dutch and Russian I would say although when we were there there was a high number of Brits but had a feeling this was a one off. All in all I would go back and stay at the hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Jayne,
Thank you very much for your time you have taken to post a review of your stay. We greatly appreciate your positive comments regarding our entertainment team. At the same time we are disappointed to read that you weren't satisfied with the food on offer. Please know, that all guest feedback is valuable to us and all concerns are taken seriously. We hope to welcome you back to our property in a future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,376
    388
    89
    21
    7
See reviews for
877
660
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Nothing really to quibble with this hotel. 3rd Easter in a row in the Antalya region, the benefit weather wise is it's not too hot, but the evenings require a jacket/cardy, and liable to have 1-2 bad weather days, but no problem really. The hotel is multi-level so lots of hills and steps, which may not be ideal if you have difficulty walking, however there were people in wheelchairs which is refreshing.
Us animal-lovers are used to seeing feral cats on our holidays, but the cats here are on another level. Most of them are super friendly, they do not need feeding as well-fed by the hotel. Some are even spayed and neutered (they have a clipped ear), and all are in good health. If you love cats, you will be privileged to have a few follow you into your room, or sit on your lap for hours! for me this is a highlight, but for cat haters maybe not the place for you. There are loads of friendly cats and dogs about the resort.
the food at the Hemera is very good. we ate at the Akdeniz A la cat, which is "international", very good. We also did the Sandal fish restaurant. You can eat at the buffet restaurant for lunch up to 2pm, and my daughter told me it reopen late at night for snacks. the beach snack restaurant has buffet salad and pasta, cakes and standard burgers, pizza etc to about 3pm. there were baked patatoes and baguettes just starting up at the pool bar. the patisserie is yum esp on a rainy day. the evening enterntainment wasn't great, there was a bit of karaoke and a bellydancr one night but i missed the belly dancer. the hotel only reopened 1st april so maybe the entertainment will improve as the season gets busier. The young lady who runs the mini-club seems to do an excellent job, the children all adore her, and mini -disco was always fun to watch after to dinner. the very tall Russian lady who does the yoga in the mornings was also charming. there are two small playgrounds for young children and the mini-club area looked fun. there are also two slides suitable for 5yrs plus (i'd guess). the hotel was quite and relaxing, lots of green around. it could be a different atmosphere maybe when busier. Side is beautiful, the walk on the promenade took us about 40 mins as one of us cannot walk fast, for average legs you could prob do it 25. I recommend the fresh pomegrante juice, it is even better mixed with fresh orange. there are plenty of shops just outside of the hotel, you can do some good deals, don't be afraid to haggle.

Room Tip: We had a family size room (as two adults and 16yr old), these are two bedrooms seperated by a slidin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank a-c267894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear a-c267894,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review of the Barut Hemera! We are so glad to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us. We appreciate the comments regarding our entertainment team, varied food, convenient location and extensive facilities. Please know that the full evening entertainment program with a wide variety of shows and events will start on May 1st along with the beginning of the season. We very much appreciate your kind comments and look forward to meeting your expectations again in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Dont just book it Thomas Cook It and they certainly did !!!! We walked into Travel Agents not knowing really what we wanted, a destination with some local culture for budding photographers, not too long a flight as one male has had back surgery . What can you do we asked Judith , well Barut Hotels are very nice , she looked at Lara first but there wasn`t a lot to see apart from resort . Hemera was the next choice a lovely 5* Hotel within walking distance of Side town which has lots of historical things to visit . We will go there , not having been on a package holiday for 25 years and not having ever been to Turkey or an all inclusive we were a little bit worried but decided to go for it . We came back last saturday from the most amazing holiday . From the hotel to the staff to the grounds to the beach to the food to the area , we could not fault it , well if we had to say something bad it was the indoor pool was cold . The weather was just right not too hot 24 degrees was the hottest day the evenings were a little chilly but wrap up warm and you should be fine . As it was a smallish hotel everyone remembers you and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome , the entertainment staff were fab and tried to get you involved in activities but they werent pushy . Our rep Gillian was really good with lots of local knowledge and the do`s and dont`s in turkey were very handy. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation it certainly deserves to be a 5* hotel .

Room Tip: We had a sea view and paid extra for it , very nice and away from outside entertainment area at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Sally,
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are thrilled to know that we were able to meet all of your expectations and you have enjoyed every aspect of your fabulous holiday at the Barut Hemera. Please know that we have passed your comment regarding the indoor pool onto our engineering department to investigate the issue. Thank you for recognizing and praising our staff's work and efforts in providing hotel guests with the exceptional services. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

coming from the airport,one hotel was better looking than the next.on arrival @the barut hemera,it didn't look as plush,first impression were deceiving.the staff were excellent,professional and attentive,the communal areas were class.the suite right down to the cotton bedding,cleanliness and attention to detail,priceless.the food in the restaurant was amazing,i defy anyone that couldn't find anything to eat,an all day patisserie,and right on the beach,whod want to leave,my only complaint?id be frightened to book another hotel in side in case it didn't measure up

Room Tip: request a pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank james n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear James,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience about our hotel. We deeply appreciate your kind words regarding the overall flawless service we delivered. It will be our great pleasure and honour to have you as our regular guests again very soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex U.K
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Thank you so much Hemera for making our special holiday so enjoyable. We have just returned from a 7 night stay here with our friends, we have never been on this type of holiday before but as we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversaries we decided to treat ourselves, i am so pleased the lovely Judith in our local Thomas Cook travel agents recommended this hotel as it was perfect. It is definitely deserving of its 5* rating.

Upon arrival we were met by the friendly staff and shown our lovely rooms which were immaculately clean with a balcony, table and chair. The room had a desk and chair, as well as a comfy chair along with t.v, tea and coffee facilities, a filled fruit basket a well stocked mini bar and plenty of toiletries which were re-stocked whenever needed. The bathroom was large with a wonderful powerful shower and hairdryer. Each room also has plenty of wardrobe/cupboard space and a safe and a very comfortable bed. Although it was a little chilly at night, the hotel provided an extra blanket if needed.

The hotel itself is wonderful with indoor pool (not heated), gym and spa facilities with sauna and jacuzzi and the most amazing massages are on offer for an additional cost but definitely worth a visit. There are a few shops just enough to get all you may need for yourself and presents and no haggling needed, there is a general store selling all your essentials along with toys, souvenirs, and leather goods. There are also jewelers, opticians and a clothes shop There is a on site photographer and Hairdressers/Barbers they also do lovely beauty treatments if you feel like really spoiling yourself to a luxury manicure etc at very reasonable prices. My husband would definitely recommend the barber, he had his first ever Turkish shave, a real pamper treatment in itself and an experience for the men not to miss.

The hotel has amazing gardens along with beautiful outdoor pools, one with slides if you were brave enough to enter i was not as it was definitely a little too chilly for me. There is a mini golf course and tennis courts.

It was a stone throw walk to the wonderful sandy beach with enough sunbeds for everyone and free hire on pedalos and canoes was a real added bonus. Be warned the sand gets very hot. It is only a 25 minute stroll along the beach or prom to Side to see its beautiful ancient amphitheater, museum and ride a camel if you wish.

The restaurants served the most delicious foods and catered for all tastes, you could not fault any of it and so much choice. The beach side restaurant was perfect in the afternoon for that treat of a pancake and ice-cream and the pool side bar served lovely baked potatoes, rolls, nuggets and chips. We ate one evening in one of the a la carte restaurants which was a real treat.

The hotel has a great entertainments team who encourage you to join in as many activities as you wish, without being pushy, there is archery, air rifles, darts, boles and volley ball on the beach, morning gum, yoga and aqua aerobics. They also provide an excellent kids club although we did not experience this ourselves, other guests with children said how great the staff and activities were. I would like to say a very big thank you to Sasha for her morning gym and yoga sessions and our aqua gym instructor both who helped us work off those delicious desserts.

The main selling point for this hotel is their friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble and any queries dealt with immediately by the ladies on the Guest relations desk. The staff did not expect tips but of course you can if you wish, there are tip boxes in all areas of the hotel.

I must also say a big Thank you to Gillian our on site Travel Rep for Thomas Cook who was very knowledgeable on the area, trips, do's and dont's. On her recommendation we took the local mini bus Dolmus to Side then caught another to Manavgat to see the beautiful waterfalls transport is so cheap and so easy, although can be a bit crowded. We also took a trip to Antalya through Thomas Cook, an early start but worth it, we visited the Dim caves, the ancient fortress that once protected the city, Cleopatra beach and local market.

Enough said, if you are thinking of visiting side, want to stay in a 5* hotel with direct access to a beautiful beach, eat amazing food and meet some amazing people i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is a must, also one away from the bar or swimming pool area may be better for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KLMWestSussexU_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear KLMWestSussexU_K,
We are really impressed with your amazing review regarding your vacation with us. We were happy to read that we were able to provide you with an exceptional service and exceed your highest expectations. Thank you for recognizing the hard work and attention to detail that our team members deliver each and every day! Thank you so much for your time. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to the Barut Hemera in the very near future.
Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, West Sussex
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Comfortable room, good choice of food and drink. Beautifully maintained grounds and flower beds. You don't have to wear an all-inclusive armband either! I would recommend this hotel.
Minor gripe:
Although there is a kettle and tea/coffee in the rooms there is no milk or whitener, so you need to buy your own if you don't like your drinks black.
Plus point:
They supply each room with a beach bag which you can keep, so don't bother packing one in your luggage.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grahambear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Grahambear,
We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Barut Hemera. We are proud that we were able to satisfy you with the service you have received. Please know that all guest feedback is valuable to us, therefore your suggestion regarding milk has been shared with the management team. We hope you will consider visiting us again during your next visit to Turkey.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just had to write this review right away ,even though we're still here!
Brilliant hotel,lovely food, friendly staff.
Only been here two days and couldn't be enjoying it more.
The pool areas are lovely, even has a quiet pool, perfect for total relaxation.
Everywhere is clean and we'll maintained.
Restaurant has an amazing choice of food, fish restaurant last night was stunning with the added surprise of a birthday cake for desert!
Two more a la cartes to sample yet, the Mediterranean and the Turkish.
The spa yesterday was absolutely amazing! The best hammam and massage I've ever had.
A big thank you to all the staff there.
Still have five lovely days to look forward to!
Off for a walk to Side today which is accessible along the promenade
All in all, if you're considering coming here, don't hesitate! Yes , there are bigger more plush looking hotels here, but this one takes some beating.

Room Tip: We were allocated rooms overlooking the main pool. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Jeanette,
Thank you for telling about your fantastic holiday at the Barut Hemera. We are extremely pleased that our impeccable pools and gardens, the quality of food and drinks, great location, amazing spa and staff’s attention to detail have made your stay memorable. Thank you for mentioning our compliment on your birthday. It was our pleasure to make your day special and memories unforgettable. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for another enjoyable experience.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 227 in Side
1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
2.8 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#10 of 227 in Side
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Property: Barut Hemera
Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#5 Luxury Hotel in Side
#8 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barut Hemera 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing