We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #6 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 1 week stay at the Barut Hemera.

Really pleasant welcome on arrival and overall we found the staff to be a friendly bunch. Particular mention must go to Hali in the main restaurant who looked after us superbly and even remembered our names (he looks after the area immediately to the right as you come in the main door if you want a top waiter looking after you).

The hotel itself is immaculately maintained and cleaned to within an inch of its life each day. The room (2 bedroom family room) was a little on the small side but otherwise really good.
It was nice not having to wear wristbands and the kids in particular appreciated the little extra touches such as the slush drinks, milkshakes and toffee apples.

We didn’t try the a la carte restaurants and always found plenty to eat in the main buffet restaurant. For lunch we tended to go down to the snack bar down towards the beach where you could happily sit in your swimwear and enjoy the burgers, pizza, pasta, flatbreads, etc.
Drinks were the usual local brands but they had quite a decent cocktail menu which gave a bit of added variety.

Free wifi worked all over the hotel, both inside and out and you also didn’t have to pay for the safe in the room for which many other hotels charge. Beach towels left in your bedroom in a handy towel bag.

There are a few shops opposite the hotel which satisfied the wife and kids lust for buying fake goods and there are also quite a few bars showing English football as this wasn't on in the hotel.

Overall we would definitely recommend this hotel and may well return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davepovall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for reviewing Barut Hemera.
We are happy that you have spent a lovely time in our hotel and we surely hope that you will visit us once more in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Nurhayat Yurdagüven
CRM, BARUT HOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,409
    397
    90
    22
    7
See reviews for
893
683
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here as a family of 4 with 2 teenagers aged 14 and 16 for 2 weeks in August. Had no problems with getting sunbeds by the pool which is a first for any holiday. Food was great with a varied selection and different specials for desserts each evening, freshly queezed orange juice at breakfast, waiter service for your drinks and no trouble getting a table. Ice Cream from the Parlour was delicious, great selection of alcoholic drinks and never had to wait long to be served at any of the bars. My son loved the hot chocolate! You are located right on a lovely sandy beach with water sports available and only a 30 minute walk along the promenade in to main Side with some shops and bars along the way. Out of the front of the hotel you have a selection of shops to look around and quite a few pharmacies. My son got an ear infection, as usual and the pharmacist gave him 2 lots of drops and antibiotics costing 12lira (less than £4). We had a one bedroom apt which was to have a double and single in bedroom and a sofa bed in lounge, however they kindly put a single in the lounge with the sofa bed so the boys could sleep out there together and we had the double bedroom, and the bed was very comfortable, just like home. Air conditioning in the room worked well and a free safe included. The only downside to the room was the 2 small wardrobes as this was the only storage area and didnt have a long enough drop to hang dresses or even long tops. The hotel cleanliness was good and never really had a problem with the staff, although sometimes you could get a different drink as some of them didn't understand English very well. Entertainment provided in the evening was good a few nights with outside acts but these were a bit too similar and the live music made a change, however would have been nice to have some acts by an entertainments team like we've had at other Turkish hotels eg comedy night or Abba to give it a bit of variety. Didn't think much of the entertainments team, did a bit of the usual darts, etc but this was very limited and they seemed to just walk around not really doing a lot. They were definitely the worse we've come across, no effort to mix. Although we didn't use the kids club this looked very well organised and had a good play area, in the shade and kids disco and the staff there always said hello. Gym was very modern and well equipped. Overall the holiday was great but the entertainments team let it down.

Room Tip: 1 bed apt room 5102 overlooks the kids play area and has a large balcony with sun on it all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you loved every detail at our complex and enjoyed the luxury facilities.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at Barut Hemera.

Best Regards,
Nurhayat Yurdagüven
CRM, BARUT HOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Stayed at this fabulous hotel between 12/08/14 & 26/08/14. We were in a delux swim-up room (3120) which was fantastic,mini bar, air con, safe, large shower and the best bed ever!. Our room was directly opposite the Olive restaurant, one of the four al a carte restaurants which we dined in each during our stay, the quality of food was excellent and well presented, equally ALL of the staff were attentive and obliging. Reception staff were very helpful and guest relations assisted us with our requirements. Breakfast in the main Hemera restaurant was plentiful with fresh orange juice and a wide selection of dishes to choose from, we ate at either the Olive or beach bar for lunch, again a great choice. We have stayed in other hotels previously in Side, however, we have agreed that this hotel is the best so far and we are planning on returning next year.

Room Tip: Delux swim-up rooms are worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for reviewing Barut Hemera.
We are happy that you have spent a lovely time in our hotel and we surely hope that you will visit us once more in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Nurhayat Yurdagüven
CRM, BARUT HOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

we have just came back in August from staying in the hemera hotel.i would not call this a 5 star hotel more like a 3 to 4 star hotel.in the mornings the breakfast was not much to talk about more warm than hot.there was a lot to choose from but not to my liking.in the evening the meals were very good a b.b.q outside as well as inside.if you like cats you are ok there must be about 20 cats wondering about by the pool area.i don't like cats,one of the adult cats scratched my wife arm which was not nice.the patisserie room is great place to go for an icecream and a cool down from the heat.the rooms were made up every day but not hovered the cleaning maid must have broken the soap dish in the bathroom because my wife was picking up bits of glass of the floor for a couple days after that.the beds were one of the best I have slept in and also the big walk in shower.the entertainment was not very good in the evening seeing this was peak holiday time some singing or comedy would have given it more variety. Some of the staff were rude but most of them were very nice.would I stay in this hotel again no I don't think so.

Room Tip: If you can go for a swim up pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard201460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you for your detailed review, we truly appreciate your feedback and as a resort your comments are priceless. With the aid of your feedback we will try to do our best to improve the areas where you experienced discomforts. We sincerely apologize for these discomforts. We look forward to welcoming you back at Barut Hemera Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Nurhayat Yurdagüven
CRM, BARUT HOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

I think this speaks for itself - 6th time. My husband and I (in our70s) our daughter and her two boys 16 and 18 have had wonderful holidays here. The location, so near the beach with ample sunbeds is excellent. A walk into Side early morning on prom is great. The staff are wonderful. The food is excellent in main buffet with 4 a la carte restaurants a delight to visit. The presentation and quality of food is 1st class. The music on several nights a week is really nice. The rooms are very good and the pools are excellent. There is a nice international feel. The boys have always made friends and have ended up as a gang of 14 - many of their parents returning many times. Boys disappointed the organised football at 5.00 is not available but organise their own game.
Suggestions for the hotel would be a little more lighting around entertainment areas in the evening and a different way of booking a la carte restaurants (as these are not to be missed) perhaps a ticket with your entitlement to be presented to reception so it guarantees your visit to restaurants - and would prevent people booking twice - once more than allocation.

We have been to many resorts and hotels in Turkey but Hemera does come out on top - thanks to the staff, facilities, accommodation and,food. and location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Audrey,

First of all we would like to thank you for reviewing Barut Hemera.
We are happy that you have spent a lovely time in our hotel and we surely hope that you will visit us once more in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just returned from a 1 week stay at the Hemera Spa. We were holidaying as a couple for the first time after 20 odd years of holidaying with our children. Arrived at the hotel at around 5.00pm and the first thing we noticed was the heat, the sun still shining and the sky deep blue. After checking in were shown to our room which was nicely cooled thanks to the air conditioning. There was a basket of fruit and a mini bar stocked with beers, coca cola, fruit juices and water, all part of the all inclusive package.. Our room had a pool and sea view. After freshening up we went down to the main restaurant, where there was a wide selection of food to cater for everyone's tastes. As you dine the waiters refill your glasses with wine etc.. A feature of the Hemera is the A la Carte restaurants which we booked for two of the nights we stayed. The Sandal Restaurant, where we enjoyed fabulous fish dishes (the Sea Bream is delicious) and very attentive service from the waiters. On our last night we ate at the Sofra Restaurant where we sampled traditional Turkish dishes, again this was beautiful and a welcome change to the main Hemera restaurant. The pool area of the hotel is great and as you would expect is dominated by families, sunbeds being taken early morning, pool games with the kids etc.. we preferred to sunbathe in the gardens (where you could easily get sunbeds without reserving them early in the morning) by the Beach Bar and cool off in the sea. The beach is lovely an sandy and the sea is very warm. There is a floating pier which you can walk along to the end and jump off to have a refreshing swim. We had very warm temperatures in the high 30's not cooling down too much at night. We didn't bother too much with the entertainment, but it did seem like typical hotel entertainment, that children love. After dining in the evenings we tended to use the lobby bar, which is air conditioned and has a great atmosphere with not so many children. Side itself is about 30 minute walk along a beachfront path where there are lots of shops and bars. The old town has remains of an ampitheatre and temple, you can also see the old city walls. There is not too much in the way of bars and shops right by the hotel, as the area is dominated with other all inclusive hotels, so you might want to think about that if you like taking evening walks. We had a fantastic, chill out week at the Hemera and would return again if we traveled to this area of Turkey. We could recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you loved every detail at our complex and enjoyed the luxury facilities.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at Barut Hemera.

Best Regards,
CRM, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Barut Hemera in July and I don't usually write reviews but under my circumstances I thought I needed to.
The review is not really about the hotel apart from it has everything you need and cant go wrong, The beach was lovely where we spent most off our days, and both the beach guys was brilliant always came to chat in the morning while getting our sun chairs ready. The food was good you could always find something to eat you would defo not go hungry.

The point of my review is I just wanted to say a big thank you to the reception staff for the dignified care and help they give me when I had to return home urgently due to my farther suddenly passing away. The reception and Thomas cook rep made all the arrangements for me getting us flights home as soon as possible. I didn't even get the chance to thank them hence to review.
Before we received the bad news we was planning on returning to the hotel in Sept but due to the bad news and memorises I don't think I could returned but we will go to another Barut hotel in the future.

Thanks again Barut Staff and Management

Room Tip: pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarutCRM, Manager at Barut Hemera, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Amanda,

First of all we would like to thank you for reviewing Barut Hemera.
We are happy that you have spent a lovely time in our hotel and we surely hope that you will visit us once more in the near future!

Yours sincerely,
Nurhayat Yurdagüven
CRM, BARUT HOTELS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 227 in Side
1,242 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
2.8 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Property: Barut Hemera
Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#4 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#8 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barut Hemera 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing