We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-rated.”
Review of Barut Hemera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barut Hemera
Ranked #6 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Over-rated.”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

Stayed here in April 09 for a week and were very disappointed from the moment we arrived.

We were delivered at 4am to find no one available for almost half an hour to check us in. We then had rooms half a mile away from the rest of our family despite being assured they would be together.

The food was poor. Two of the A la Carte restaurants were permanently closed and the other had a three day waiting list so we were unable to use it. The main restaurant catered predominantly for the German audience the hotel seems to be looking for. Food was quite bland although the salads deserve a mention for being varied, fresh and tasty. The restaurants that were open did not stick to the times advertised on the information cards.

The mini disco for children was excellent if you had awareness of German kids music, our two year old is fairly adaptable and had a good dance but at with the rest of the entertainment we were disappointed. The team around the pool were quite annoying, constantly hassling you to get involved even if you made it clear you just wanted to relax.

We reserved a late check out until 7pm. We checked the evening before that all was ok and were assured it was. On the day I tried to get in the room at 2pm so our daughter could have a snooze. We had been locked out. I told reception who said I must immediately get out ot the room or the porters would do it for me. Only after an argument with them were we allowed to stay in there.

The quality of service from waiters and waitresses was pleasing, always friendly and helpful.

Overall, we felt this expensive and not overly family friendly and will not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank VincentWindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,348
    386
    87
    20
    7
See reviews for
865
644
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

we have been to this hotel 5 times everything about is is fantastic the staff are very friendley the hotel is spotless and the food is great.
the animation team are great we missed Ali Das but Elvin & Sheriff were great to all of us. we hope to go back in October 2009

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitchelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

we found this hotel by chance in 2003 and have been back every year since .... we are well traveled and lucky enough to go away more than once a year. however after staying at the Hemera we would not want to holiday for sun sea and fun any where else ... everything ticks all the boxes the hotel is clean the staff are great all the food and drinks are good the location is perfect, everyone at the hotel makes your stay feel very special, i would say that since we have been going we notice that 80% plus of the guests are regulars like us... lots of friendly faces around you all the time, multi national English, Scottish, Russian, Italian, French, German, Dutch and even Turkish to name a few ... to sum up .... be warned if you go to the hemera you will return :-)

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank summerfruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk - Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

My partner and i stayed at the Hemera from 19 - 26 april. The hotel was very nice, better than what i expected. The room was very nice and clean. We were given a deluxe room which is bigger than others and has a pool view. our room was cleaned daily but i must say that our cleaner did not make a good job of it. We smashed a glass in our room and when the cleaner went in we could still see wee bits off glass everywhere. My partner was also sick all over the floor during the night one night. We had to move rooms until the cleaner went in and cleaned it. But when we went back into the room it wasent cleaned properly and i had to clean it myself as there was still bits of sick underneath the bed. Yuck!!
All week i have been eating chips chips and more chips. I did not like the food at the hemera. most of the meats are in a sauce with lots of vegetables. even the pasta and as i hate veg i couldent eat it so i had a plate of chips which were nice. There is nothing much for kids to eat either. We missed breakfast every morning as you get eggs, olives and bread. I was hoping for sausage and bacon but as its a muslim country they dont eat bacon which is stange because when i went to egypt the hotel i stayed in had it. My partner ordered a chicken burger from the beach bar which did not taste like chicken at all and i ordered a pizza which wasent very nice. The chcoco ice cream was really good. As i am a cake lover i tryed lots off different cakes but i didnt like any. I am just a very fussy person!!
The hotel was full of lots and lots of germans. probably about 80% germans.
We had to check out our room at 12 noon and our flight back to glasgow was at 5am so we had 15 hours to wait about. You could keep your room on for longer which was an extra 5 euros an hour. By the time i got home i was shattered.
ocerall we had a good holiday. Just a pity about the food. There is noway i could stay there for a fortnight and i was glad to get home.
If anyone has any questions please feel free to email me.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yesiltepe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This was our 5th visit to the Hemera but we hadn't been back for 5 years. The hotel has been refurbished and is now better than ever! We had a deluxe room, the only difference to the ordinary rooms being it was slightly bigger, although we did like the location of these rooms which are altogether in a separate block and have a pool/seaview, they are also set back a bit so you don't experience much noise. We went off season returning just before Easter and we did notice the difference the night before we left, we couldn't get a table in our usual part of the restaurant and there were children running around everywhere (not that I'm against children but now my own are grown up I prefer things a bit quieter!).
You won't go hungry at the Hemera, the food is delicious and in the patisserie, the strawberry tarts were to die for and my downfall. I particularly liked the snack bar for lunch time, some of the food was cooked fresh to order like pizzas and hamburgers. The main buffet restaurant always had plenty of choice and you must try the Deniz restaurant (although you have to book), the food was really nice in there.
Can't fault the cleanliness or the service of all the staff, several who we recognised from 5 years ago. Don't forget to use the tip boxes which are stationed around the bars and restaurants, the staff really deserve that bit extra and wages are quite low, we didn't see many people put money in.
I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yesiltepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Second time here, really enjoyed it.
Lovely food, rooms and facilties.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAH4390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

stayed for a week slightly off peak (March) - fully inclusive. Hotel wasn't busy so some of the on site eating places were closed but that didn't matter food was very good - something for everyone, food available most times of the day, and it wasn't the previous days lefy overs being recycles in another form. Staff very polite helpful etc. Hotel clean and choice of drinks good. Cannot think of anything to critical to say about the place except that the spa treatments appear top be a took expensive - but judge that for yourselves I'm not an expert. Very very good value if you can find it for sub £400 pp for a week. Some reviews mention no internet wireless connection - wireless available in main bar by reception

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kennmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#4 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.6 mi away
Paloma Oceana Resort
Paloma Oceana Resort
#10 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barut Hemera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barut Hemera

Property: Barut Hemera
Address: Bingesik Mevki | Selimiye Mahallesi,Süleyman Demirel Blv. No: 1, Side, Manavgat 07330 , Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#5 Luxury Hotel in Side
#5 Spa Hotel in Side
#8 Family Hotel in Side
#10 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barut Hemera 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAYS" ENJOY YOUR HOLIDAY AT BARUT HOTELS IN HARMONY WITH MOTHER NATURE WHERE SUN, SEA AND FUN MEET QUALITY AND EXCELLENCE. If you want to enjoy entertainment to the full, engage in sports and endlessly dive into the sea or pool, then the Barut Hemera is just the right place for you! Enjoy the "Mediterranean entertainment" you have been dreaming of all year long. Barut Hemera offers you activities and shows starting early and lasting the whole day such as water sports and motorised water sports by the beach, water games in the pool, competitions where adrenalin levels rise, beach volleyball, mini golf, darts, boccia, tennis, table tennis, and snooker. We provide free Wi-fi for our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Barut Hemera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barut Hemera Hotel Side
Barut Hemera Resort And Spa
Barut Hemera Side
Hemera Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing