We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly small hotel in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach House Hotel
Ranked #75 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly small hotel in great location”
Reviewed 27 September 2010

If you are looking for a small friendly hotel in a fantastic postion read on.
The Beach House is just yards from the beach with free sunbeds. Turkish breakfast is served right by the sea, and the restaurant is open all day for drinks, midday snacks, and evening meals, with the food being excellent.
The staff are frienldy, speak English and the room, although a little small are kept very clean and fresh.
It is in an excellent position, within easy flat walking distance of the amazing Roman remains, the shops, beaches, harbour and restaurants.
We booked on line and had great help in our choice of dates, rooms etc from Penny. We were made to feel welcome before we arrived.
If you are looking for a large, noisy, modern hotel, with a pool and evening entertainment then the Beach House is not for you.
That will leave room for the many guest who return each year, and we may be among them. Our only regret is that we stayed one week not two. So we may be back
I can certainly recommend it if you want a friendly quiet hotel in fantastic position.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeandMary38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    53
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
125
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

i have been to the beach house before and each time we visit we are welcomed by the warmth and pleasure of the whole situation .
its run by Ali and penny ,penny is Australian (still got her broad accent) she is the darling of this small hotel nothing being to much trouble always with good advice on where to go and do.
you wont need a tour rep,,Ali is a Turk hes a top guy together they lay the foundation for an unforgettable holiday by now you have probably read all the other good reports so Ive no need to go on as i agree with them plus !
if you want a holiday watching the sea this is the ultimate,as you really are overlooking the beach.the towns behind you if you want to mooch round at night and the prettiest harbour Ive seen ,(full of Turkish ships) the staff are always great and up for a laugh , and our cleaners(2) are fantastic. also it is the coolest hotel on the coast because of the bay breezes. I've never heard a bad word from the residents in all of my visits .
we had a holiday at a 5 star for lots and lots of dosh further round the bay in side ,,big mistake !!
you can get there by Thomson's small and friendly brochure or ring penny.
i would recomend this hotel to anybody .....Dave/Jen

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ren1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

The Beach House Hotel,
The hotel is exactly what it says on the tin, it’s small and friendly and mostly Brits, we met some lovely people there, and had some great laughs with them and talked into the night, namely Dick & Gill, (hope all goes well Dick) and Bob & Sally along with the Geordie couple Jeff & Lesley, now let me go through some of the good and bad points of the hotel.
The bedrooms have ceiling fans which are barely adequate in hot weather, (the top floor has air con this comes with an extra charge) the balcony door can be left open at night but there is a bit of noise in the morning. What the rooms would benefit from greatly is some heavier curtains to stop some of the light coming through, the very thin ones the bedrooms have now are barely enough to stop anything. The balcony is a fair size with room for two chairs and a table. The rooms are ok but not a lot of cupboard / draw space, the bathroom has a shower, washbasin and a toilet in it, but some of the rooms differ to this. The front sea view rooms command an extra £8 per night but to be honest the side rooms are just as good and with less noise.
There are no lifts just stairs and at the end of a hot day it is a long way up to the top floor, also there is no swimming pool but this is more than compensated for by the private beach and free sun beds / umbrellas just 10 yards from the hotel down some very steep steps and the warmest sea I have had the pleasure to swim in, it was gorgeous. However we you got up in the morning sometimes there was no beach as the tide had washed it away, but invariably it would return the following day.
There is a book exchange with a large number of books to look through so those of us that take 3 or 4 don’t have to, which will save weight in the suitcase, a safety deposit box can be hired for about £1 per day and anyone with a late flight can keep their room on until 5pm for an extra £15.

Breakfast is served outside overlooking the sea and the beach, it is typical Turkish food 2 types of cheese, tomatoes, cucumber, olive’s, boiled egg, melon and a basket of nice bread, tea or coffee. If you want a full English this will cost you about £6, but you can have egg on toast etc. for less cost.
The food and drinks at the hotel are very good and mostly cheaper than other places and if wanted you can run a tab up and pay later, which saves having to ask for bills, sorting the money out and constantly tipping the waiters etc. We tipped them at the end of our hols along with the maid who does an excellent job of the bedrooms. A word of warning about running a tab up, keep a record of what you are spending so that you can cross check the total, we paid our bill at the end of the first and second weeks and it was spot on but others had a problem with theirs.
You can pay by credit card if the money runs low, and it will, as everything seems to have more than doubled in price, 10 years ago you could not spend your money but now it’s a different story and I think they are pricing themselves out of it and people are looking to all inclusive holidays, I know we will be.

SIDE
We have been on holiday to different places in Turkey but the famous “hassle” you get from the shops, bars and restaurants elsewhere is coupled with aggression in Side, where as in other places you can say to them “no thanks” or “we have eaten already thank you” is sometimes followed with abuse here and if you go to shake their hand they will not let go until you have to pull your hand away for fear it being crushed. Why they think you will ever go in their bar or shop after this is beyond me.
There few shops with prices on anything and if you ask the price then you have to go through the long process of bartering, at first it is ok but after the first few days it wears a bit thin as the aggression comes out again if you decide not to buy as their goods are too costly.
THE SOONER TURKEY SORTS OUT THIS PROBLEM WITH HASSLE AND AGGRESSION THE SOONER PEOPLE WILL RETURN TO HOLIDAYING THERE AGAIN, IT’S UP TO THEM TO PUT IT RIGHT!
The menus are very much the same but the cost does fluctuate, from place to place, obviously if you want to eat near the harbour it will cost more and less away from it. The main beer is Efes and the price of this starts from 3TL a pint to 8TL which is about £3.50.
The best place we found to eat was Memhets in the ruins, the food was to die for and it was much cheaper than most places as it was about half a mile outside the city gates.There a few money exchanges but you must ask what the exchange rate is and how many Turkish Lira you will be getting from them as it is not always displayed.
As for trips, we went by boat to Manavgat market which included a couple of stops for swimming and lunch, a trip to a small waterfall and then the market, which is absolutely massive and is quite easily to get lost in so make sure you keep your bearings.
The trip we would recommend is the White water rafting, this was only £13 pounds each and this includes pick ups and drop offs, lunch and about three hours on a raft with the safety hat etc. and a bout captain, my wife and I are nearly 60 and did not feel that we were going to get hurt in any way, it is well organised and is a great laugh and would do it again tomorrow, but beware the water is direct from the mountains and is icy cold and takes your breath away at first but a great day out.
Ernie & Pauline

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benidorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

After reading excellent reviews about the hotel we were very disappointed, our room was very small,with a small and claustrophobic shower room The bedroom with one dull light was very hot every night with a very wonky ceiling fan.The maid did a fantastic job cleaning our room every day.Our first morning we ordered 2 English breakfast,the toast on one looked like stale white bread( no colour what so ever) with garlic sausage,so that was the end of that. We ate turkish breakfast for the rest of our holiday which was included in the price, every morning milk and sugar was left on the table for the whole breakfast period, which on several occasions both were crawling with ants We noticed that the same table cloths were used morning,noon and night.All food and drinks was paid for at the end of our stay.The waiters were miserable and tried each night to get us both to eat at the hotel.We ate at restauarants which looked after you and the best one we found was just down the road called Ikimiz & Anatolia motel the waiters were lovely always welcomed you with a smile,the tables always had petals on them, and your meal came with free starters and sweet along with tea ,coffee or apple tea before you leave nothing was to much for them and the sea view was just perfect, The Beach House should take a leaf out of there books,the only good point about the Beach House was the location
Side is a beautiful historic place with shops galore and plenty of restaurants.Easy to get about to other places using dolmus

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RUBYDOT030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

This was our second stay at the Beach House this year. We originally went in June 2010 and ejoyed it so much we went back again in September. We were greated by Penny and Ali and their staff like old friends. The perfect hotel for a peaceful break right on the sea front and in the middle of the old town. We also enjoyed the excellent food, wine and friendly service at the perfectly names restaurant "Soundwaves" next door to the Beach House. Soundwaves is owned by Penny's son Alan and his Cardiff born wife Martine. Great food, clear menu pricing, no hidden charges & 10% discount on food when staying at the Beach House. Can't wait to go back again next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DROMerthyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Beach house hotel Antik Side thi hotel is in a great location and Penny is delightful. This is a two star hotel so do not expect anything other than that. The rooms are a little shabby the decor needs to be modenised and the rooms are small. The main problem though is no air conditioning in the first three floors of the four floors available just a very very slow ceiling fan. The great location however comes with it's own problems there is a small road which lies between the hotel and the beach which is used by pedestrians,mopeds honking at the pedestrians and delivery vans which start after 0500 hours. Everyone leaves the door and window open to try to cool down the rooms which at night time are still approx 32c in the UK we say a barmy summer night is 18c which the weather broadcasters say your in for a rough night so try to imagine sleeping in 32c. Leaving the door and windows open goes against the grain of security and before people say there is little crime in Turkey think about this almost all the guests and tourist are English and you do not know who they are and what their backgrounds are and they are staying in the same hotel and have easy access to your balony and room with the doors open.Another problem isthat the locals think it is a good idea to go swimming in the sea right outside the hotel between 0100 hours - 0500 hours wallowing splashing and shouting keeping you awake just in time for the first deliveries. The curtains do not block out the sunlight at all and their is no breeze until it's time to get up. I also have cocerns about the quality of the sea water due to the floating debris in the water probably due to the gulet boats which stop in the bay to let the tourist off to swim. I saw condoms floating, toilet tissue, empty water bottles and some brown scum which may of been natural sea waste but who knows? I did receive ear infections maybe due to polluted waters or maybe just simmers ear as i spent a lot of time in water and showering. All in all this is a nice hotel but it is a 2 star and air conditioning for me form May to October would have to be a must otherwise it would be sleepless in Side again which i would not be prepared to do.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank greggyboyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Just returned from a 2 week honeymoon at the Beach House Hotel.
The hotel its self was very nice and friendly, and in the best location. The room was small and pretty basic but very hot, even with the overhead fan on all the time. Didn't expect to find fitted carpets either, never stayed in a mediterannean country with them before! We were a bit disappointed with the room as we had paid the optional extra for a sea view and had expected a room on the front. However, this was not the case as we had a room on the side with a partial sea view. As there were no rooms round the back of the hotel, every room must have a sea view, so it hadn't been worth paying the extra for. To be fair this was not made clear to us though at the time of booking with the travel agent. We had also added it was our honeymoon when we booked, so we thought we might get an upgrade or a bottle of wine or something as other places offer, but that was not the case. Maybe we should have said something to Penny and Ali when we got there, but we didn't want to make a fuss.
On a positive note though, everyone was really friendly and helpful, the cleanliness was second to none. The maids do a fantastic job, clean sheets and towels every single day.
The waiting on staff were fantastic, always pleasant and helpful, despite working all day every day. The food is very good, it would seem it comes from 'Soundwaves' next door, as from our vantage point on the balcony, we could see the hotel waiters running back and forth. Breakfast was ok, but got a bit monotonous after 14days of the same thing.
Never been to Turkey before and chose Side and the Beach house, based on a bit of research and the previous reviews.
We were really impressed by the old ruins and really enjoyed some of the free shows going on for the Arts and Culture festival at the moment.
On the down side, was not prepared for the constant hassle you get from the restaurants and shops. To us it was a real pain. Never ever been to a place so commercialised ever, everyone is after your money. Every time you set foot outside the hotel, you are pounced on, day in and day out. We called walking down the main street, or the beach front road to the right of the hotel 'running the gauntlet'.
There seem to be no prices on any goods in the shops, so they can charge you what they like, and often did! We went to the same shop to buy lemon fanta nearly every day and never paid the same amount twice.
Check your change and also open up your restaurant bills and check what you have been charged for, we had made mental calculations of how much we owed and noticed the bills sometimes were more. We were stung several times before we got wise to it.
Because of this it made us very wary. Its not ideal when all you want is a nice relaxing holiday, romantic strolls along the beach, browsing the shops and exploring etc, to be constantly on your guard and permenantly saying "NO THANKYOU " every other step.
Side is a wonderful place, don't get me wrong, it was worth going for all of the historical features and the ruins, but don't go in the high season if you want to really explore though because its too hot and humid to be walking around in.
If you like big brash resorts, wall to wall shops and restaurants, then this is the place for you.
Go back to Turkey? I'd never say never, but the experience has put me off. Hopefully all the resorts there are not the same.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Onemli Hotel
Villa Onemli Hotel
#93 of 229 in Side
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akasya Motel
Akasya Motel
#111 of 229 in Side
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunprime Dogan Side Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Neptun
Neptun
#142 of 229 in Side
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kleopatra
Kleopatra
#8 of 86 in Side
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kleopatra Side
Kleopatra Side
#8 of 48 in Side
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel

Property: Beach House Hotel
Address: Barbaros Cad, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Side
#42 Family Hotel in Side
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Booking.com so you can book your Beach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Alanya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing