We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing holiday!”
Review of Hotel Cats Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Cats Garden
Ranked #150 of 227 Hotels in Side
Hull
1 review
“Amazing holiday!”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

My family and another stayed at this Hotel over a year ago now (8th Aug - 21st Aug '08) though i think this review may still help.The hotel itself was lovely, quite small but then again big hotels are awkward. We arrived in the morning, just as the sun had rose but still early enough to see Side and the hotel before it's crammed with people which was rather nice.

When in reception (which our party of 15 plus cases more or less filled to breaking point!) we were told that there was no record of our booking, & that we therefore couldn't have the neighbouring rooms we had booked! This was a slight letdown as it would have been extremely convenient to have rooms close by, however it was resolved to the best of their ability & we ended up with 2 rooms on one floor in the main block, another in the same block on the floor above then another in the 2 storey block which I stayed in. The rooms themselves were basic but satisfied all out needs, the only fault was one night in my mums room the air con wouldn't work - and no joke the sweat was pouring off our faces it was so unbearably hot. We were so close to sleeping on the balcony until they fixed it. We experienced no more problems after that. The views off the balcony in our 2 pool facing main block rooms were fairly good, & both got some sun throughout the day. The only thing worth complaining about was the inconsiderate people in the room above who didnt ring the water out their clothes before hanging them out, therefore causing them to drip onto ours which as a result were still soaking wet the next morning. The room on the floor above in the main block had a view over the back of the hotel which would have been a letdown if it hadn't been for the mosque which was stunning to look at. Some people complained about the noise throughout the day (call for worship) but you're in a muslim country so it comes with the holiday. The other room in the 2 storey block had a view of a road round the back of the hotel which wasn't as great as the other rooms, but we were kept entertained by the chickens which we fed off the balcony every night which was a laugh.

The pool area was good, cleaned every night before the tables were put out. The restaurant was okay, but most days we went to a shop around the corner which sold whole cooked chickens. We usually ended up buying 2 every day for lunch which we had with some fresh cooked bread from the same shop. It was absolutely gorgeous (recommended for anyone!). On an evening we would usually go to a bar 2 streets away which most nights showed highlights from the olympics at the time. The same bar also did a free bus to the beach which we used a few times. It dropped you off at the same bars sister bar which was nicely shaded and convenient. Didn't eat at the hotel on a night apart from 2 nights, one which was the BBQ (not recommended) & one of our partys birthday, for which we organised with the hotel a belly dancer at a small cost. She did a some what "personal" dance for the birthday boy which was utterly hilarious! Other nights we walked down to the beach for dinner.

A walk down to the marina & ruins is recommended, but beware of hasslers. A firm 'no' normally does the trick though. We only did a few excursions, one being a jeep safari, believe me when I say it was absolutely incredible, i'd recommend it to anyone. Especially swimming the the lake, ill never forget that! Also the waterpark, a fun day out especially for families like us. A firm favourite of our family is the Turkish bath which we go to whenever possible on trips to Turkey. Very refreshing and leaves you feeling great!

The only let down before we left was that the the private taxi/mini bus that came to pick up our group of 15 was in actual fact a 12 seater which was incredibly awkward. However even though it had nothing to do with the hotel they still helped us arrange alternative transport which we were extremely grateful for as we had been held up an awful long time & were close to missing our flight.

Over all a great holiday, & although it was a fantastic hotel, for people that don't like walking to far i'd pick somewhere closer to everything. We won't return though as we go to Turkey frequently & like to go to other places, of which have been Kusadasi & Gumbet so far. The country though is amazing which is why we are drawn bakc year after year!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSmallOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    53
    54
    22
    26
See reviews for
71
71
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We went to this hotel because of the favourable reviews on Tripadvisor, This method of choosing our holiday accommodation has never let us down before apart from this time. This hotel is awful! I have no idea what everyone raves about.
My Partner and I stayed in a self catering apartment back in July 08. It was horrendous. Single beds, tiny room, inadequate self catering facilities, tiny balcony (which was like sitting in an oven because of the huge air conditioning vent attached to the wall!!!). The actual hotel itself is in the middle of a run down residentail area.

The pool area was nice but watch out for the 'Spa' people who woke us up a few times by trying to massage our feet!!! I don't mind people trying to sell but no touching! We did have lunch once at the hotel which was nice. We went to the beach most days, to be packed in like sardines. Nice enough though, and clean.

Eating out at night is ok, we went to the harbour one night but found it too busy, too noisy and really expensive. There are a few good restaurants near the hotel, much cheaper and quieter. However, I did object to the shoot out which happened between two rival gangs outside a restaurant we were eating in one night!!! No, I'm not joking!

AWFUL!

I haven't been put off Turkey but I wouldn't go to Side again.

In short, just don't go here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWalkersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Side hotels

England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Stayed at the Cat's Garden Hotel thıs summer. Although ıt ıs a bıt of a walk to the beach the rooms are clean and comfortable and the pool ıs lovely. I would recommend the Sılent Beach ıf you lıke some peace and quıet - ıt ıs the beach that the locals seem to use away from the rows of restaurants that domınate the maın beach. To get to ıt you have to walk to the ruıns and there you wıll start to see sıgns. The old part of the town by the harbour and the ruıns ıs a delıght and you can fınd some really nıce lıttle cafes underneath canopıes of vınes where the prıce of a meal ıs very faır and qualıty very good. I would defınıtely recommend some trıps. We dıd a boat trıp and a quad safarı, a jeep safarı through the beautıful turkısh countrysıde - but the hıghlıght was the whıtewater raftıng - a real must - beautıful mountaın scenery, crystal clear rıver water and very excıtıng rapıds. I recommend that you book your tours through Yavus alıas Tom Cruıse of Dogan Tours whose shop ıs 20 metres from the Cat's Garden. He gave us very generous dıscounts on all the tours and always welcomed us wıth free cold beer or cold drınks sıttıng underneath hıs canopy of vınes even ıf we were not goıng to book a tour. He was never pushy - just a really nıce man who also offered us free computer access. Insurance was ıncluded for all trıps. For meals such as breakfast we used a lıttle cafe ın the nearby sıde streets whıch was half the prıce of the hotel and more than one person could eat.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2009

basic but exceptionally clean. quiet, friendly, responsive, good pool and bar. Self-catering facilities eg kettle, toaster, microwave not available at this time, but it is possible to eat and drink on 2 hobs. Hotel meals good value. turkish bath and massage excellent but resist 2 many add on sales at end of session. Hotel gardens add an unexpected touch of pleasure.
No pretentious ambition, just good value. BT

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briantUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

We stayed at the cats garden last october for 2 weeks, we found it nice, the pool was clean and the staff on the whole friendly.
The only bad point is the time in which we choose to stay , mid october , the majority of places were shutting for end of season and we were the last people to leave.
the rooms were spacious and cleaned nearly every day, also the towels were changed etc.
its quite close to supermarkets etc so you can get most things from there.
Side itself is a nice place full of history, the shop keepers can be a little pushy at times as can the reastaurant people but a polite "no thanks" usually does the trick.
We found the "unamed" beach the best and the beds were free.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andylal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We have just returned from two weeks at the Cats Garden and we can only fault the additional charge for aircon and bar/food prices. Mixed reviews made us arrive with some trepidation at 11pm in torrential rain - I expected the "technical fault" story that others mentioned, but was pleasantly surprised. We were greeted warmly (and in very good English!) and whilst we were advised that the 10L per day aircon charge was required in advance, we were allowed to go to the room to see if we actually did need it that night. As their restaurant was shut they offered to get a pide (pizza) delivered for us. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and scrupulously clean. The kitchen is basic but we only wanted it for breakfast prep anyway. In fairness, it's possible the "technical fault" stories were genuine. On our first morning the electricity in our block cut out and we were moved to a room on the other side of the building - where we experienced no other problems and actually had a better view. The pool was always clean, the gardens with orange trees were lovely, the staff helpful (those that did not speak English always went to find staff who could). The shop was expensive but there are plenty of others nearby. Similarly, we only ate at the restaurant once - the food was fine but more expensive than many other very good and better priced/placed local restaurants. The location is great too - only 5-10 mins walk to huge sandy beach and bus pick up, shops/restaurants on the doorstep, ruins scattered everywhere and very helpful pharmacies nearby. The apartments are next to a mosque that starts morning call at around 6am - you'll need earplugs! We made overnight trips to Antalya and Cappodoccia, and spent days in Antalya, Manavgat and on boat trips. Side is a great location for a variety of holiday experiences, the Turkish have a genuine warmth and humour and the area is clean and easily explored. Side resort has the typical good-humoured hassle you get in many places but is amazing for the archaelogy/history that exists everywhere. This hotel is a budget option and you get what you pay for. We look for a clean, comfortable base for holiday adventures and got this.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of rooms/hotel, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Music round pool, bar prices a little steep
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LuluSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

The Cats Garden Hotel is a lovely hotel and we could not fault the Hotel in any way. Very clean, lovely gardens with orange trees. Do not be put off by the name if you don't like cats, I only ever saw two cats and they were very well looked after.

The swimming pool is a good size and there are plenty of sun beds. The hotel staff are friendly and nearly all speak english.

The location is perfect for exploring the shops and restaurants all of them just a short walk away.

Make sure you go on a boat trip up to Alanya. Also always compare the cost with the boat operators we paid £12.00 for the trip and that included lunch. one wanted to charge us £25.00 and got stroppy because we would not book straight away so do not book with the first one you see.

Side itself is a lovely resort with a safe sandy beach

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Having to pay for aircon 10 lira a day
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.4 mi away
Hanay Suit Hotel
Hanay Suit Hotel
#43 of 227 in Side
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunbird Hotel
Sunbird Hotel
#128 of 227 in Side
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#32 of 227 in Side
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Side Tuana Hotel
Side Tuana Hotel
#165 of 227 in Side
52 reviews
0.5 mi away
Side Hill Hotel
Side Hill Hotel
#99 of 227 in Side
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Irem Garden Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cats Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cats Garden

Property: Hotel Cats Garden
Address: 1008 Sokak no 1, Yali Mah, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#85 Spa Hotel in Side
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cats Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cats Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cats Garden Aparthotel Side
Cats Garden Aparthotel Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing