We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melas Holiday Village
Ranked #33 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Just returned from Melas Hloiday Village with my best friend.We are in our fifties and go away once a year together leaving our husbands at home,and I must say we had the best time ever.We had room 432 and it was amazing.The housemaid,her name was Nilufor was wonderful and so were all the other staff.Everyone spoke when they saw us and from the start of our holiday till the end we had a wonderful time.The entertainment at night was fabulous,and we even did the club dance at the end of each night.It was hilarious.And as for the Gala evening,well what can I say except that it was magnificent,everyone worked so hard to make it a wonderful evening.Never before have we stayed at such a lovely place. everyone at Milas Village were wonderful it was a beautifully kept place.The gardens were kept immaculate,in fact everything about the village was out of this world.So well. done to everyone that works so hard to make the village what it is.We have already told our families all about it and they all want to go next year.And my friend and I look forward to coming again.So well done to Milas Village.

Room Tip: Room 432 just behind restuarant .New room and really quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moegloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    96
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
207
56
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2011

we travelled with friends who had visited before, from checking into newcastle airport to arriving home was a perfect family holiday.
spotlessly clean, great service and 1st class food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moo200297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Lovely setting and spotlessly clean, our room was in a great location overlooking the swimming pools. It is advisable to take an alarm clock though as a serious lack of sun beds around the pool areas meant we had to get up at 7 to beat the "Germans" for any sun beds!!! Around the childrens' pool they were all gone by 6 o'clock (not my idea of a relaxing holiday). The food was fabulous and lots of variety. The Turkish a la carte and the Gala night were especially good. The activities were organised by the Animation Team, who were very friendly and multi lingual. The hotel is closing in October to be refurbished and I think it will be even better after this.
If you are reading this, Melas Holiday Village, here are my suggestions for improvement; more sunbeds around the pool with a rule of NO RESERVATIONS BEFORE 8 am; tablecloths on the tables at dinner with extended dining time from 1900 to 2200 so that its not like queuing in the staff canteen at work, and all the families with older children can eat in more 'grown up' surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived in the early hours and were greeted at reception by a very helpful receptionist, who spoke excellent English and booked us in, it was at this point we were informed we had been upgraded to a deluxe family room a statement that we didn't really believe. We were taken to our room on a golf buggy with our cases, and what a surprise when we opened the door it was a split level room with a large double bed on the upper level and 2 single beds on the lower level which lead out on to the balcony. the bathroom was large and had a walk in shower toilet and sink and was very clean. the whole room was decorated to the highest standard.
The next morning we set about exploring the village and found the whole place to be spotless. there are 2 main pool areas in the village. the pool bar area were most of the days activities take place this has the bar, snack bar and amphitheatre around it. the other pool area is the aqua park which has 4 slides a lazy river pool that connects to a shallow pool at the far end. the slides were shut during the lunch time there was also a bar in this area but no snack bar which inst a problem as the restaurant is only a few minutes walk away form were ever you are in the village. you are given beach towels on you arrival in the room theses can be changed for new ones when ever you liked for a charge of 1 euro which was taken when you checked out.
other facitites we found was a games room, internet area, tv lounge, crazy golf, bowling lane, basket ball court and 2 tennis courts equipment was supplied for all of the sports actives for a 20 euro deposit. next onto the beach area which is across a newly built prom at the back of the hotel here they were areas with sunbeds on the grass our the sand the mini club is located here along with another bar and an area where a lady make Turkish pancake though out the day, the sea is crystal clear and warm, although there are few rocky areas it is mostly sand under your feet.

food was always hot and plentiful with a good selection everyday children had there own little area in which they could get there own food. although the food bit become a bit repetitive by the end of 2 weeks which is the same as other all-inclusive we have been too. we didn't eat at the snack bar but the food always looked good, ice cream was served at all the bars from 12 until 5 and cake was served form 4.30 until 6 at the snack bar which then reopened at 1130 till gone midnight serving late night snacks. we recommend the Turkish pancakes as a great snack. you can also eat at the a la cart fish restaurant or Turkish restaurant once a week but book early as they get booked very quickly we couldn't get table in our first week.

entertainment was a bit hit and miss in the evenings with some shows better then others but all worth seeing mostly the entrainment finished at 1130 but you could use the disco bar in the hotel if you wanted to party some more we didn't use this as we had young children with us. during the day all sorts of actives were put on if you wanted to take part shooting, water polo,darts, aerobics to name just a few. there are 3 kids clubs a mini club for 2 to 8 yr olds a maxi club for 8 to 12 yr olds and a club for tanagers these ran various activity's though out the day and a mini disco at night were certificate were given out for the days activity's.

the village is located about 30 to 40 mins walk form Side town and the Roman ruins a taxi will cost 15 lira and a dolmus 1.75 lira. the shops in Side are quite expensive but are cheaper near the harbour and in the side streets off the main street. the shop oppersite the village are also cheaper then the town and the shop in the hotel.

we only did 1 trip during our stay which was a trip rafting which we all enjoyed and would recommend to everyone. we travelled with Thomas Cook and found there trips double the cost of the ones offered in the shops outside the hotel we booked the rafting form a shop tour shop across the road form the hotel.

overall we had fantastic holiday and would recommend this hotel/ village to everyone don't go here if you are looking a holiday full of other English people and English food and English pubs. this hotel/ village and indeed the area is very much an international location with people form all over the globe. which we believe makes for a better holiday experiences.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davisfamily_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have to start by saying that we stayed at a fabulous hotel last year and we couldn't help but compare it to the Melas. All in all the hotel was fine. It is clean, the food is absolutely lovely, there is plenty of room for everyone and the location is good. We had booked 2 rooms and were upgraded to a family apartment on arrival. This seems to be quite common. I have to start by saying that there is a very definite difference between the Holiday Village and the Hotel. For example, people staying at the Hotel can use all the facilities in the Holiday Village but if you stay in the Holiday Village you can go over to the Hotel to use the pool but you will be unable to get a drink (not even water). The Animation Team organise activities through the day and these are displayed on a board by the main pool. Unfortunately it doesn't tell you where the activities take place so if you want to join in, you'll have to go looking for them. I expected the water gym to be in the main pool, but the morning one was in the sea, and the afternoon one was at the hotel next door. The beach is lovely but the sea is full of rocks so it's very easy to scrape your shins or bang your toes - not a great place for the water gym! Whilst we were there I would say that the majority of guests seemed to be from Belgium, there were a few from Germany, a few from Russia and a very small number from the UK. This doesn't bother me at all but it was very apparent that the staff were more used to visitors not from the UK. English wasn't very well spoken and sometimes we were ignored because I think it was easier to go and speak to different nationalities. The evening entertainment was ok but seemed to be a work in progress. We saw quite a few rehersals which surprised me because I would have expected that everything would be organised by now as it is well in to the season. The dance shows were good but there were quite a few comedy shows and some were definitely better than others! The lack of an air-conditioned reception or lobby area was a big let down. The only place that you could go on an evening that was cool was your room. There are no areas to sit and have a drink, mix with the other guests or just sit and play cards that are cool. This was a problem in August as most evenings is was around 30 degrees. I also need to let everyone know that although there is free wi-fi in the hotel reception but you will not be able to connect to it using your i-phone, i-pod touch or i-pad as the button which needs to be clicked to accept the hotel terms and conditions is a 'flash player' button. Another little niggle was the number of power cuts. They were very frequent and sometime very inconvenient, especially if you are in the shower or queuing for food in the restaurant at night, the whole place would go absolutely pitch black! There is a small aquapark with 4 slides and a lazy river. This is not near to the other areas so if you go and get your sunbeds there for the day you do feel very isolated from the rest of the Village. You also need to pack up to go and get some lunch as there is nothing to eat at the aquapark. The final thing is the lack of shower facilities for when you leave to come home. I appreciate that August is very busy and I was not aware of anyone who was able to keep their room on but, the shower facilities are next door at the Hotel so once again the people at the Village got the rough end of the deal. The hotel definitely has the potential to be absolutely perfect but there were too many niggles for us to return to it. I certainly wouldn't worry if you've already booked, but I wouldn't return or recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dairymilkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hotel

The hotel was quite large with approx 100 rooms in a variety of bulidings spread over a large area with lots of space left open for lovely gardens and playing areas with no high rise buildings in sight the majority of the building are in a sort of alpine style. The hotel was extremely clean and the grounds, buildings and gardens were constantly being cleaned during our stay and there were no problems with bugs or the like.

The range of nationalitys at the hotel was the most varied I have ever come across and not a problem at all. English, Scots, Welsh, Germans, Moldovans, Russians, French, Dutch, Turks, Belgians off the top of my head although I would say the majority of guests are German.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Location

The hotel is around a one hour transfer from Antalya airport and is around a 30 minute walk into Side town. Side ampitheatre, Museum and the Temple of Apollo are all definitely worth seeing and are 10L or about 4E to get in with the Temple being free for all, so get out and see what Side has to offer unlike some people at the hotel who never left the pool bar in 2 weeks! Get down to the temple at sunset to get some fantastic photos and watch the sunset over the Taurus Mountains. The hotels private beach is right in front of the hotel and no more than a 5 minute walk even from the farthest rooms. There are supermarkets around the back of the hotel where if you have the nerve you can also barter, these provide much better value than the shop inside the hotel which is very expensive.
We did 3 excursions but would have liked to have done more but our provider Thomas Cook did not provide a very good range compared to other operators who use the hotel. Also they wanted payment in Pounds Sterling for which we had none and paid in Lira with a ridiculous exchange rate so take £150 in Sterling if you are with Thomas Cook and anticiapte doing some trips. There are many other excursion operators which are much cheaper than Thomas Cook however they can be in the habit of including a compulsory gold/leather factory trip to offset the discounted price! The trip to the anicent cities of Perge and Aspendos with lunch and a trip to Kurunsulu Waterfalls was extremely good value. The waterpark in Belek "Troy Aquapark" was very good but a little dangerous ie. very slippy worn wooden surfaces, loose rope fences on very high buildings, lack of lifeguards controlling the flow of riders going down the slides resulting in collisions etc.... keep an eye on your kids.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Service

The staff were very friendly some being a little more abrupt than others. Some did struggle to speak English although we always got by. The staff on reception were excellent speaking many languages fluently.
Our room was always cleaned and the towels changed on a daily basis. A fridge in the room was refilled with 2 large bottles of water, 1 bottle of coke, 1 bottle of Fanta and 2 cans of Beer every other day.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gastronomy

All food and drink was completely free the hotel being all inclusive.There was a restaurant which served Breakfast from 7-10am, Lunch from 12-2pm and Evening meal from 7-9pm. As well as this there was freshly made Pizza and Burgers served from the pool bar from 12.30-4.30, pancakes from the beach bar from 11-3 and between 4.30 and 5.30 its cake time! The food was of a very high standard and there were no upset tummys on the whole trip although the food did get a little repetitve after 2 weeks. The dining areas in keeping with the rest of the hotel was spotless.The food was a mixture of western and turkish diets.

Drinks were served from 4 bars and were plentifully available being served either over the bar or from an aditional self service area.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sport & Entertainment

A good variety of sport was available being arranged by the entertainment staff including beach volleyball, football, water polo, pool handball and others. The pools were very good. There were two pools on near the front of the hotel overlooking the beach and another pool at the back of the hotel which incuded four slides and a lazy river. Both pools were very clean.
The beach was fantastic there being a plentiful supply of sunloungers although you will have to be up very early to reserve one at the front. The sea water was very warm and crystal clear and it is possible to walk a good way out before the water is even at waist height.
The entertainment provided at the hotels ampitheatre at night can be a little hit and miss although the animation team try unbelievably hard and all of the shows are worth watching some of them being unmissable, the Western night was especially hilarious. There is free wifi access available in the reception although its more dial up than broadband and also a small cybercafe near the aquapark which is 2Euro for 30 mins.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Room

The room was very nice and very clean with a small balcony. The television had a good range of channels if you were German with only BBC World News although I don't go on holiday to sit in and watch television. The room had and excellent remote control air conditioning unit with no charge for use, a digital safe (16Euro for 2 weeks) and a free mini bar fridge which was refilled every two days.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Tips and recommendations

The weather was fantastic with only half a days cloudy weather in 14 days. We arrived at the end of a short heatwave with the temperature being 43c, luckily it cooled to a pleasant 30c every day after this. Temperatures in the 40s for long periods are not uncommon so it is advisable to pick your visit date accordingly. Turks will take all currencies including UK pounds, US dollars, Euros and Turkish Lira. There is a definite preference for Euros as most shops price everything in the currency however if you have Lira they simply double the figure so if its 2E then they will want 4L but the exchange rate is around 2.5 Lira to the Euro so you are making a substantial saving if you pay in Lira.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cricketer400no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed for one week at the end of June with a child aged 8. Lovely clean and spacious rooms with 2 bedrooms and kitchen area and good sized balcony (we were upgraded to a suite which was possibly a self-catering unit in past times.) The food was of a good quality HOWEVER we went to book our restaurant reservations on Day 2 and there was no availability for either restaurant so please book early. ALSO the Thomas Cook brochure claimed the galas were weekly. Technically they are but actually alternate one week for the hotel, one week for the apartments so we missed out. So, coming back to the food, yes it was good but it did get rather tedious for breakfast, lunch and dinner. If we'd managed to break this up with the restaurant reservations then I'm sure I'd be singing from the roof-tops about it as there was a good choice and it was fresh and plentiful! The beach was lovely and, the hotel's section was of a far better quality that the stretch leading up to Side, and sunbeds were ten-a-penny with lovely powdery sand. It shelved out very gradually and there were life-guards on hand. There are a few rocks around though so I'd recommend sea shoes. I didn't and hurt my toe quite badly! The pools were nice and clean (including the pool loos which always seem to take a hammering). One pool at the "back" of the complex was a fun pool with slides and lazy river. The slides are guarded and any mis-behaviour is picked up instantly. This area was very easy to get sunbeds at. The slides open at 10 and close at 12 ten re-open at 2.30. If you arrive at anytime before 10 you pretty much had your pick of the beds (which, are very good quality and all come with decent matresses). This pool has a bar serving beer, soft drinks and help-yourself juices. At 12, they also serve amazing ice creams. The other, larger pool is near the beach and has a bar serving a full range of alcoholic drinks, ice cream and snacks. This is a very busy area however, and if you want to get a sunbed then Best of British to you because guess who got there first... every day. I've never really subscribed to stereotypes but blimey what a nuisance those Germans can be. If you want to get up and join the pack of bed hunters then you're looking at getting there for pre-8 (poss earlier). The frustration is the beds are often not used ALL DAY LONG so it really is not fair and I feel the hotel should have a policy regarding this. We had a count up and regularly about 75% of the beds were not used. Along the same lines, you will find a lot of barging into the food queues. I just joined in in the end - sad though it is, in certain situations, if you can't beat 'em join 'em!! All staff we met were very friendly and courteous - certainly didn't find anyone rude in the slightest. We always learn the very basics of the language though so that might help a little bit. Some we saw were a bit lecherous towards older teenager girls though so be ware if you're 16+! The evening entertainment ranged from bearable to dire but our German *friends* seemed to think is was outstandingly hilarious so I guess they're going with the majority of clients. On the upside though, there was no late-night rowdiness and kids screaming and running wild that you'd associate with popular British hotels/family resorts. We didn't hear a single person on any night which was good seeing as we used to return to our room earlier than most. On our final night we took a walk out and there is a huge variety of other entertainment going on along the prom towards Side. I was disappointed to have discovered this so late. Finally, there is a little lady who sits at the rear of the beach near the loos and a bar who makes little sweet and savoury flat breads between 12 - 4. These were lovely and a great snack for beaching days. Out and about: it takes about 40 mins to walk to Side. We did this on a hot day but walked most of it along the shoreline which was nice and cooling. We also took the dolmus (1.75 lira pp (no reduction for children) to Side then walked back on the last night which was lovely. We had a traditional "break the pot open" meal in one of the restaurants looking over the sea and watched the sun set and the party lights to start to twinkle. Side is great for gift shopping but Manavgat market is signifigantly cheaper (and highly recommended - I browsed on my own and had no hassle whatsoever) and you can get a really good bargain there. We went on an organised tour which cost TL29 (for all 3 of us) from a guy called Mohammed who has a little shop in Side. You walk right along the prom into Side, past some restaurants with turtles outside (to attract tourists!) and the slope rises up a hill. He's on the left and the cheapest around for all tours. The tour we booked was a boat trip with swim stop, lunch, Manavgat Market, coach to the water falls (cost another TL5) - these are very nice especially on a hot day as there's a standing platform in the river - then boat back. All with transfers. The tours available to book through the hotel are signifigantly more expensive (at least twice if not 3 times the cost for exactly the same thing! In fact, even worse than that, we know some people who went on one and everything was more expensive on their tours even crisps and sunbed charges and these were the same boats, just chartered by the big tour operators!). Traditional Turkish ice cream can be bought in the square directly in front of the harbour in Side and the little cobbly streets house a lovely mix of little shops. Many are all the same but the further towards the temple, the more authentic they seem to be. Regardless, it is an idyllic place to lose yourself wandering around. Back at the hotel, we were told there is a well-stocked shop in the lobby however please consider using other local businesses as the huge waft of all-inclusives is having a detrimental effect on the local economy. There are plenty of shops and a couple of pharmacies just outside the hotel. There is now a law preventing shopkeepers from agressive selling so you should find no-one badgers as they had done when I visited Turkey 12 years ago. Currency: we took Lira but they really want Euros. Everything is priced in Euros and the Dutyfree at the airport doesn't advertise anything in Lira - a pain when you want to get rid of the last few bits of currency. If you plan to eat at the airport do it before passing through security - there is very little option and what there is is extortionately priced - we ended up with a Burger King - 2 adult meals and a child's meal came to £28!!!! All in all, a lovely holiday in the main - plenty to do for adventurous types, lots of history in the area and a lovely beach and pools for sunworshippers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HBBEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Resort Hotel
Melas Resort Hotel
#8 of 227 in Side
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.6 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#23 of 227 in Side
1,183 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
5.0 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Holiday Village

Property: Melas Holiday Village
Address: Selimiye Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bul. No:5 | 07330 Side / Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Side
#25 Spa Hotel in Side
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#30 Luxury Hotel in Side
#31 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Holiday Village 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Melas Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Holiday Village Side
Melas Holiday Village Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing