We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great from start to finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melas Holiday Village
Ranked #30 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2012

first time in Turkey after lots of hesitation... back from holidays I don't know what took me so long to decide :-)
Tunis was OK, Egypt very nice, but this was outstanding. Fast check-in with a drink on the house while waiting after which we were lead to our room... wow... exactly the room as the one you see on the website (http://www.melashotels.com/v2/HV/En/Rooms.asp)... located in bungalow-like buildings surrounded by a beautiful garden. Dropped of the luggage and went for lunch with our two kids... another wow... never seen a buffet like this: appetizers, main courses, desserts as far as the eye reaches... with an incredible variety. We stayed 9 days and never ate the same thing twice! Really outstanding... which also goes for the Turkish restaurant on site and the Fish restaurant near the sea where you can go and eat once during your stay (though in all fairness I have to say that the 4 courses are being served too fast one after the other).
Swimming pools are extremely well maintained and clean. And though the place was fully booked, you never had the feeling of a crowded place due to the different compartments in the restaurant and its huge terrace and the choice guests have between two swimming pools and the nearby private beach separated from the hotel by a beautiful promenade which goes whole the way to Side and beyond.
As far the entertainment... I've never been a big fan, but this was an unforgetable experience: a team of 15(!) animators with spectacular dance, magic and music shows with scenes coming straight from broadway! Really spectacular!
And yes, there are many Germans and Russians - though I saw more Belgians :-) -, but I honestly can't confirm those reviews stating how obnocious they are - it is true that you won't cut it very far with your English and basic German will help you more when talking to Turkish citizens.
Only one negative observation: the early-bird towel race: despite the fact that I hate it, hotel management does nothing to prevent the "reservation" of pool seats... so if you want a seat near in the aqua park, you have to get up at 7:00 to go and put your towels... or even at 5:30 if you want to enjoy a seat at the pool nearby the sea. Something the hotel really should look into...
Other than that, we would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: upon reservation, ask for a renovated room!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2015

Dear Dirk,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village. We value your comment.
We are glad to hear that your first stay at our hotel was such a sucess and you were
satisfied with our concept and the service.
Your comment about the reservation at the pool will be passed to our Management. Thank you for that.
It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
There are newer reviews for Melas Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

We arrived mid-afternoon and there was a german speaking couple checking in before us. They were given what looked like a large information pack on the hotel. We received a piece of cardboard with the mealtimes on. This was the start of a "them and us" type experience, mainly due to the lack of English spoken Or understood by the staff. We were driven by golf buggy to our rooms. I had emailed the hotel after we booked asking for adjacent or adjoining rooms which were provided. The rooms were of a good size and the maid kept them spotless, she was also very friendly. The only downside to the rooms was the lack of seats/chairs in the rooms. We could have used a step in the bathroom to climb into the shower as the bath was so high. the balcony door lock didn't work but as we left nothing of value in our room this didnt bother us.
We spent most days by the waterslide pool, it was quieter than the main pool area and also was in sunshine throughout the day. The main pool was very shaded on one side during the morning and into the afternoon. There was a bar by the waterslide pool and a bar and cafe by the main pool. The only downside to the waterslide pool was one of the waiters seemed to like the song "shortie got low" and played it over and over again on the couple of days he was there.
We didn't really know where anything was and found various places by just wandering round. There is quite a bank from the main pool/beach to the room areas which my mother found quite hard to navigate which is why we only went to that area once.
The majority of the staff were very pleasant although none could speak English very well and we had problems understanding and being understood every time we spoke to any of them. This was quite frustrating but after all we were in a foreign country!
Food wise there was a lot to choose from and it was ok, just not very warm. Breakfast was strange without toast! The only place I've been to in the world with no toast maker ;) managed to get by on the pain au chocolates though! Also the dinner time was advertised as from 7pm but on our first night we wandered down early as we were not sure how far it was and they were letting people in at twenty past six. We ended up going at this time most nights, the 2 times we went at a later time it was absolutely manic.
After dinner, if you didn't want to watch the entertainment (we never saw any) the only places to go were the main pool bar or the lobby bar. Whilst we were there the nights were rather cold and both bars are open to the elements. We thought it strange that there were no inside bars. If it was raining there would be nowhere to go. Also, as mentioned, my mother found it difficult to walk up the bank from the main pool so every night apart from one (when there was a very cold wind blowing through the lobby) we spent our evenings playing cards in the lobby bar. This area was very popular and you had to arrive early to get a table. For how large the hotel was we thought there should be more seating in this area. People would stand around waiting for a table to vacate then run to claim it. There was never any music playing but we didn't miss this.
There was also a games and tv area bythe waterslide pool, the internet area was also there but there was no information on how to log in. You have to go to reception and pay for how long you want to go online for then they give you a code to log in with. There was free wifi in the lobby but For some reason it wouldn't connect to my iPhone. Other people were using laptops though.
Side town was lovely, half an hour walk (slowly) or 17 lira in a taxi. The ancient ruins were fascinating and covered a huge area. The amphitheatre was fantastic and the museum was also well worth a visit.

Hope this review has been of some help. Any questions or queries please message me.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val_and_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I found the hotel very big with nearly 900 rooms in different blocks spread over a well manicured garden. Room was very good and well cleaned every day. The staff were polite, efficient and very helpful but with the majority of the guests being German or Dutch I found it easier to speak my limited German but it was good practice. The food in the self service restaurant was very good with something for all tastes (the saffron fish was superb as was the grilled turkey). The hotel is on a sloping site so it made me keep fit and the walk along the promenade to the old town was good. I found the sunbed situation was OK and there were always some available by the promenade or on the beach. The mini bar in the room was well stocked with water, cola, fanta, mineral water, bottled water and a couple of cans of beer. restocked every 2 days. No complaints but Side can be a bit like Benedorm with wall to wall sunbeds on the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davefire49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Spet 2011 - Just back from one week in the Melas Hotel (as opposed to the Holiday Village).

1 hour transfer by coah from Antalya airport - arrived mid afternoon, took 25 minutes to check in and not even offered a drink, despite 40 degree temperatures.

To summarise, pretty much what I expected Turkey to be - Hotel tired and styled typically middle continental, and I say with a good understanding given that my wife is German. No difficulty therefore with the language as most of the staff spoke German and little English. That being said, the Hotel is being gutted and re-fitted over the Winter of 2011, which will no doubt improve things. Our room, which was a two bedroom apartment, not attached to the Hotel, with one shower and toilet for 4 adults, was poor and certainly not what was expected, the 'kitchen area' was in fact a sink in the corner of the 'lounge' and a two ring portable electirc cooker - On a par with a reasonable Travel Lodge in the UK.

As mentioned, this was our first time all inclusive - OK really, food was good, but don't expect anything special if you book for The Fish Resteraunt - Average really, but billed as being something special. Lunch time snacks OK, and drinks whenever needed.

Do not get fooled by the statement 'If you stay in the hotel you can use all the ameneities' - Not true - what this means is that you eat in the Hotel or the Hotel Beach Bar at lunchtime, and have use of the Aquapark - That's it - you DO NOT have free use of the other areas.

I would rate this as a decent 3 star - Room was poor, service levels could do with improving in some areas, food was good, no trots for any of use.

Side, is a bustling little town with plenty of history, but beware the dreaded vendor trying to sell you their wares.

Would I go back? Maybe if if keeps the Mrs quiet.

Room Tip: Do not be fooled by the rooms billed as Hotel Apartments - Not good !!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sendgridover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Staff - excellent very smiley and friendly although some only speak German not English
Pool - Good but you had to get up about 7 to get a sun lounger as the families grab them!
Food- Amazing, full range everyday, always salads, pizza, pasta, bread, and then meat and fish which changed then whole cake table and fruit for pudding. This was at lunch and dinner. They come and refill your drinks at the table. If you have a special occasion they will even decorate the table with flowers, we saw it for a few people.
Beach- Great, always possible to get a lounger on the beach, beach bar for ice cream and non alcoholic drinks. See very clean.
Room- Fine not luxury but clean and comfortable, everything you needed, cleaned and fridge filled daily.
All in all a great holiday, the only thing is this is a holiday place, it is great for sun and 1 or two trips but it is all tourists (mostly German) so do not go here if you want authentic Turkey.

Value - I paid about £450 including flights and transfer all inclusive and was happy with the value but drinks in the local town are expensive (€8 cocktail) so just drink in!

Tip:There is a luggage room and showers if you have a late flight and want to change as you have to check out at 12.

Tip:Take a laptop/net book as wifi is free(get code from reception) but internet is extortionate

Room Tip: We had one at the back which seemed to be away from the families and was very close to pool and beac...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satc_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We arrived in the dead of the night and the welcome was great. Well spoken reception staff and food prepared for you. The room was amazing, like we were the first visitors to embrace the new modernised delux room. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were good but very boring after ten days, very similar, day in day out. The entertainment was good and the hotel staff tried very hard to please you. There were alot of German's but they were pleasant and friendly. No problem finding a sunbed either by the pool or on the beach. To summurise the hotal was above average, but side was just on your doorstep and made the holiday experiance that much better. The main town was just a 20 min walk away, walking on the promenade which was lively with shops, bars and restaurants. Side with the roman ruins and the shops, bars and restaurants, haggling your way a busy harbour was fun and exciting. Overall with the hotel and the area made the holiday worth while.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_Sue_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Hoilday of a life time
Food, room, entertainment excellent.we are going back next year as it was the best holiday wev,e had in years.
chris/norm bristol.

Room Tip: any room all very nice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Resort Hotel
Melas Resort Hotel
#15 of 228 in Side
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
9.3 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#21 of 228 in Side
1,214 reviews
2.2 mi away
Side Crown Palace
Side Crown Palace
#90 of 228 in Side
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Holiday Village

Address: Selimiye Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bul. No:5 | 07330 Side / Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Side
#23 Spa Hotel in Side
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#28 Luxury Hotel in Side
#32 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: £84 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Holiday Village 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Melas Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Holiday Village Side
Melas Holiday Village Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing