We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melas Holiday Village
Ranked #31 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel & location”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks from 7th sept. the two last reviews on this hotel are good.
The melas village and melas hotel are on the same complex. Which ever you stay at you can use the facilities but not have food or drink .
We stayed at the melas village and thought the place was lovely.
We arrived on a late flight , we were checked in quickly, the lady receptionist is the best. we were taken to our room by a helpful porter in a golf buggy who showed us the bits in the room and we tipped. We had a room in the main block above the restaurant . Comfy beds put together as a double, wall mounted TV, only BBC world news but that didn't matter, not there to watch TV. Hair dryer, beach towels supplied and changed for a small fee down by the main pool, no kettle but we took our own with tea bags and bought the milk from across the road. Plenty of wardrobe space, balcony with drying rail, fridge that was refilled every other day with fanta, coke, water and beer. Bathroom towels changed , bed changed and room cleaned everyday plus the odd flower arrangement , could not fault. Our maid never expected tips so we tipped her at the end of our stay. The beach and pools were lovely , great sand , clear water and free beds and brollies but as said in other reviews unfortunately the Germans and Russians did tip the attendants to reserve the beds which is wrong , but saying that we had no problem getting sunbeds at the pool or beach whatever time we got there and didnt have to spend a penny. We actually helped ourselves a few times to the cushions, that way we could have 2 on each bed , a lot more comfortable ! We did not tip the attendants, our thoughts are that it's all inclusive and this is part of it, never had to do it anywhere else.
The food was plentiful a lot of variety! Hot and fresh. Drinks are included, the rose is the best out of the wines. There is no bacon or pork but it is a Muslim country. You have three extra restaurants to use within your all inclusive, the Turkish, the Fish and the International. Book these as soon as you can. We didn't try the Turkish but the FIsh restaurant which overlooks the beach was lovely, the International was ok , they served Fahitas without the wraps just meat and dips, so a bit different.
Again in the main restaurant we only tipped one waiter at the end of our stay who we thought
gave us a good service, they are a bit hit and miss but if you eat inside opposite the bread station at breakfast and lunch you will be served by a waiter called Bullent , very good English , polite and very efficient .
The evening entertainment was good, mostly done by the animation team, everything was introduced in English first followed by about 5 other languages so you knew what was happening. Good acts from outside too, such as Kenyan Acrobats and Turkish dancers.
Opposite the hotel are plenty of shops to wander around. Do not hire a car , the driving is horrendous in Turkey, it's so cheap to jump on a Dolmus just outside the hotel, 2.25 lira for 2 people to go into Side and you don't tip. They do cram you in though , all part of the fun , it drops you off into the bus park and it's a short 10 mins walk past the ruins into the centre but if its too hot or your legs are tired , just down to the left of the bus park is another bus pickup which takes you right into the centre for 1 lira each and does a return journey. Last Dolmus bus back is 12 pm.
We recommend you use Lira as you get better value for money but they do take euro and Stirling . Be warned the shop assistants are VERY persistent .
Side market is on Saturdays and undercover , worth a visit ! , the Dolmus takes you straight to it. We also went into Manavagat where the green river is and Kumkoy with a small shopping centre, all pretty much the same and if you want fake designer clothes and bags the towns are full of it .
Bartering is a must ! Offer them half the asking price and go
from there.
You can also walk into Side along the beach promenade which is very safe and takes
about 30 minutes. All in all a great location , hotel and
holiday .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shopaholic700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, 1 June 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and we value your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your first stay at the Melas Holiday Village.
Feedback from our guests is really important for us so we can improve the services for our customers. Your comments are noted and we will be happy to pass them on to the different departments.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    90
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
187
55
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel is one of the most difficult I have had to review, so many excellent aspects but quite a few disappointing ones I would of liked to award it three and a half.

First the positives....

A few people have mentioned Brits being in the minority we found generally everyone we met during our weeks stay extremely polite and very well mannered we never had a problem getting sun beds on the beach or by the pool and being late risers we usually made our way down to the beach around 11am.

I don't think I have ever visited a cleaner hotel, the village hotel gardens, pool areas and private beach are immaculate everyone works tremendously hard to maintain such a high standard.

The animation team work tirelessly throughout the day and we found the evening shows very enjoyable and professional making sure despite the multi lingual audience everyone was included with introductions in all languages.

Some good and some negatives....

The food was good the range of choice was very good however we found it was the service which let the restaurants and bars down which varied depending on which waiter was allocated to your table, just like the bars pool attendants and reception some where outstanding some where OK and some were plain ignorant.

The food variety and choice was excellent in the restaurant, however the snacks available at both the pool bars were poor, offering hot dogs one day, hamburgers another and meat pizza, all of which were not pleasing for my vegetarian wife. When a vegetarian option was requested on our first evening none was offered, just a shrug of the shoulders and the assistant carried on texting on his phone.

This theme of good and bad service was reflected throughout or stay, great friendly service every time in the reception bar, not so good service at both pool bars, it wasn't unusual you had to shout over to the waiter for service finally you get his attention you got a very abrupt drink thrown together without any smiles, I found it hard to believe how so many had great customer skills and so many did not deserve a job, we eventually got smart and avoided these bars.

The beach and sea was beautiful. The sun bed tender, the guy who brings the cushioned mats for sunbeds he was excellent, whilst the aqua park pool attendant clearly expected tips each time for setting your sun bed.

We asked reception to move us from our older family room due to a noisy air condition unit this was eventually sorted by reception despite three sleepless nights and a visit from the technician with folded pieces of cardboard and sticky tape!
Eventually it was resolve and we where eventually moved to a refurbished room for the remainder of our stay with a sea view which was wonderful.

The Village is in a very good location within walking distance of Side it's well worth either a walk dolmus ride or Taxi, to see the Roman ruins Temple of Apollo and visit the bustling market streets.

All in all an enjoyable holiday which could have been made perfect with a few little improvements.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to speak to reception if not happy with your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rauschaxleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. The Melas Holiday Village staff are always trying to deliver excellent customer service at all times, we appreciate your feedback and this wil be passed to the relevant department.

We would be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked this wonderful holiday. We were very pleased as the staff were very friendly and the good was incredible. Staff would bend over backwards to help you x very clean maid service everyday. They too up mini fridge every other dAy.
Great entertainment for the kids x
Highly recommend x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, 7 June 2015
Dear Chris,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment.We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. The Melas Holiday Village staff are always trying to deliver excellent customer service at all times, we appreciate your feedback and this wil be passed to the relevant department.
We would like to note that the guest structure is international and also english speaking. As you will surely understand we are a family hotel and there are some periods of school holidays with more guests from the same country. Many guest are tipping the staff for the service they provide. But it remains up to you and is not a rule of the hotel or somebody else.

We would be glad to welcome you again.

Kind regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sijsele, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Nice family hotel. We went with 3 children (12, 9 and 7). The first family room we got was old and not cosy at all (802), but thanks to the very helpfull attitude of Irina (very friendly reception manager) we got a new room (844) that was really nice (with small balcony). The hotel is perfect for kids, nice pools and the all-in formula is perfect for them. We stayed for 15 days and got a bit bored with the hamburgers/hot-dogs/pizza at the pools. The food at the main restaurant is nice and the theme restaurants are worthwhile booking. Especially the Turkish restaurant was good. The international restaurant is classy, but the food is just ok (Eastern was not so good, Italian night was better). The staff at the reception and reception bar is very friendly, but staff at the seaside pool and main restaurant can be impolite. The hotel was fully-booked, so some stress was clearly present. The only real problem in the hotel is the reservation of the seats at the pools. After 06am all the seats are taken. Mainly because of the tipping of the pool boys who reserves all the seats for those who pay. So getting a seat at the pools (meanly the seaside pool) means getting up before 6am in the morning, that is not our definition of a holiday. And paying the pool boy shouldn't be obligatory in order to get a seat at an all-in hotel. We complained and managament told us that they would look into this. This was a frustration for many visitors. Nice gardens (filled with flowers) with plenty of space for the kids to play soccer or to just wonder around. Small village atmosphere. Photographer wants to make way too much money, absurd pricing for family shoot. Nice beach with nice walkway to Side (3km.). The languages in the hotel are German and English. Occupation mainly by Germans, Dutch and Belgian people. The shops outside of the hotel are fun, the shops in Side are more expensive. Overall great location, correctly priced and kids friendly.

Room Tip: When you book a family room (2+3), do know that there are old and new ones. Don't hesitate to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just back from two weeks at this resort. Overall very good but a few points tarnished it for me.
1. During our stay (August) my family and I were amoung only 20 adults from the UK the rest of the guest were almost entirely German. I have nothing against the Germans however it also meant that the staff mostly talked German as a second language and all entertainment was mostly catered around the Germans (this was not advised to us by our tour operator).
2. Smoking - Turkey are not yet part of the EU I guess as smoking is allowed everywhere which can prove to be extremely annoying if your not a smoker.
3. Tipping - During our transfer from the Airport to the Hotel we were advised by our rep that Tipping was the norm in Turkey and that we should start by tipping the bus driver to ensure that we got the correct cases off the bus I guess. So in fact tip him to do the job hes already paid to do on an all inclusive holiday. Then we were taking from the reception of the hotel to our apartment where once again we were expected to tip the bus boy. The there was the daily cleaner who also expected a tip and even left a helpful envelope on the bed to esnure that we had something to put it into. Then of course the waiters and chefs and bartenders who all had handy boxes out for the tips to be placed into.
4. Unfortunately the age old adage of getting up early to beat the Germans to the pool to put your towels down is 100% correct at this establishment. Even at 6.00am in the morning you are still not early enough to beat them or did they just grease the right palms of the pool attendants the night before (yes) we later found out that for a sum of €5 per day the pool attendant would kindly put your towels down for you (wasn't that nice of him).
5. Food was excellent and plentiful.
6. Wine is awful (apart from the rose which is served warm so ask for some ice) I have had better red and white vinegar on my chips.
7. Apartment was very nice and quite large although I agree with others on this site that it appeared quite dated and one day our cleaner left the door open and unlocked whilst we were out so invest the €1 per day on a safe.
8. Wifi is not free (again not advised this in advance just told there was of course wifi, silly me for not asking if its free) you have to purchase it at €2 per day and its not great in fact its very slow.
9. Entertainment is very poor and consists mostly of the in house entertainment team miming to one musical or another whilst doing a dance my dad would be proud of at a family wedding. However one night we were entertained by bingo where each number was read out in four languages (superb fun) at 2€ a ticket whith a first prize of yes you guessed it a bottle of the fabulous local house wine. Not a bad return with 300 guest playing at €2 each and only coughing up for a bottle of wine as a prize. thats great commercial business sense.
10. Beach is fantastic and very clean. There are always plently of beds.
11. TIP go to the splash park (or there excuse for a splash park which consists of four slides which are sometimes looked after by a lifeguard if he can stop taking bribes long enough to concentrate) around 12:30 as all the Germans go to lunch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris19682013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Arrived back last week and spent a great week at this complex. Arrived in around 6 in morning and cart took us to our room in the village. First impressions dark small and very old fashioned in need of revamp. Felt a bit cheated as had seen pictures on site and was expecting 5 star accomodation. Went for quick walk around and went for breakfast at 7 am. WOW what a spread and everything and everywhere was spotless. I put the room behind me and moved on to have a great holiday. I am the fussiest person regarding cleanliness and good quality food (I own a gourmet company so expect the best). The food was always very hot and cooked perfectly. Great range of food everynight to suit all tastes. My partner was a bit annoyed as no bacon for breakfast but everything else was there pancakes, fried eggs, omelettes freshly cooked. Few negatives but as only staying for a week was able to overcome. Limited beds around pool but used private beach which was very well managed. Pool towels not changed unless paid for. Entertainment naff and gave it a miss. No other English speaking in hotel. Mostly German and French. Not a problem but kids didnt meet any friends. Very surprised that the Euro was shown on goods and restaurants and not the Turkish currancy. Having brought Turkish currancy had to ask for bills etc to be converted. The staff in all the bars were very well mannered and helpful. No issues with providing drinks having had bad experience with other A.I hotels when you felt the staff begrudged providing you with alcohol. The complex was fully booked yet never had to queue for food or drinks, tables cleared immediately and food replenished immediately trays going low. I would recommend this hotel but dont expect good wine, marble floors and a touch of glamour.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more modern rooms which also have better views and balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My husband and I and our 2 children, aged 3 and 8 spent 14 nights at the Melas Holiday Village in June this year. It was our first time in Turkey and we were unsure what to expect.

After an awful journey with a 5 and a half hour delay we finally arrived at our accommodation at 5am. Check in was really fast and we were delighted with the Delux Family Room we had booked. It is based in the block of rooms above the main restaurant. It is beautifully decorated with a fantastic walk in shower, very comfy beds and steps down to 2 sofa beds/sitting area. The air conditioning was excellent, sometimes too cold! The rooms were cleaned daily and the cleaner we had was lovely, so friendly.

The village itself is lovely. We have never seen such a clean place. There were teams of staff cleaning everything in sight! The village is very green with lots of trees and flower beds.

There are 3 swimming pools. We spent all of our time at the water slide pool which the kids just loved. The pools were very clean and a life guard was on duty at all times and was very conscious of people's safety. There is also a lazy river too.

The staff were brilliant, from the poolside bars to the main waiting staff in the restaurant. Plates were cleared very quickly and drinks were served as soon as you sat down! The quality of food was exceptional. There was so much to chose from and everything was freshly prepared. There are cooking stations in the restaurant with flame grilled lamb, chicken, fish etc being served. Plenty of choice for fussy children too. My kids ate very well and were certainly never hungry!

You are allowed one meal per week in one of the a la carte restaurants. We chose the Turkish restaurant the first week and the Western the second. Both were amazing. The Western one is based in the hotel with beautiful views.

The location of the hotel was good. Just across the road is a large selection of shops selling everything you could want. We found the sellers very friendly and my husband soon got into the swing of haggling! We came home with an array of football tops, sunglasses, jewellery and watches!

We ventured into Side Old Town one night. It was beautiful but we found the restaurant and shops owners a bit pushy and aggressive when they were trying to get you to eat in the restaurants etc. They certainly didn't like being told 'no thank you'!! The ruins were impressive and and was a lovely little place.

The village is right on the beach across a beautiful promenade. It is very clean and safe with lots of sun loungers. The promenade is lovely to walk along in the evening.

The entertainment in the village is amazing. The entertainment team put in so much effort and produce high quality shows. We saw Mongolian and Kenyan Acrobats. They were out of this world! The staff worked so hard.

There are kids clubs that looked busy every day but my kids didn't go. My son was asked to join in a show one night and after him begging us to let him go we agreed. I wish we hadn't because it ended in a bit of a disaster. To cut a long story short, the kids were left on their own when the entertainment staff were meant to be supervising them. My son ended up being beaten up by an older German boy and drinks poured over his head. He also had chairs thrown at him. When he came back to us sobbing we confronted the guy from the entertainment team that was meant to be looking after them. He said he had to leave the kids on their own for 5 minutes while he went to check something. We pointed out that the kids should never have been left on their own (it was at night). With regard to my son being beaten up- the response was 'that's life'. That didn't go down too well with my husband but even after a lengthy heated discussion with him we still didn't get a satisfactory answer.

Most of the visitors to the village were German and Russian with a few French and Norwegians. British were certainly in the minority but the was not a problem for us. Everyone was very friendly apart from a few very rude Russians. The staff made everyone feel welcome though.




We absolutely loved this place and are in the process of booking again for next year. I would recommend this place to anyone. I could not say anything bad about this place. Best holiday we have ever had.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this review, 6 August 2015
Dear Julie,
thank you that you took a little bit of your time to write a small comment for us.
We are glad to hear that your first stay in our Melas Holiday Village was such a success and it
would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Resort Hotel
Melas Resort Hotel
#15 of 227 in Side
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#21 of 227 in Side
1,122 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
9.2 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Holiday Village

Property: Melas Holiday Village
Address: Selimiye Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bul. No:5 | 07330 Side / Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Side
#24 Spa Hotel in Side
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#28 Luxury Hotel in Side
#31 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Holiday Village 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Melas Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Holiday Village Side
Melas Holiday Village Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing